2019 Mitsubishi Triton facelift debuts in Thailand – updated design, new six-speed auto, improved safety

The 2019 Mitsubishi Triton facelift has just made its global debut here in Bangkok, Thailand, and this mid-life update of the fifth-generation pick-up truck brings quite a fair bit of change to the table.

Let’s start with the most obvious change – design. Up front, the new Triton (known as the L200 in certain markets) wears a significantly bolder look, courtesy of the new Dynamic Shield family face. The bonnet line has also been raised by 100 mm, which helps accentuate the sense of presence.

Also new are the slimmer bi-LED headlights (top-spec only) with stylish LED daytime running lights. Both units are connected seamlessly to a brand new dual-bar radiator grille. Below that, the halogen fog lamps and turn indicators sit recessed in a protruding housing (much like the Eclipse Cross), and two thick chrome strips neatly guide the eye down and towards the side.

Completing the frontal revision is a skid plate that’s finished in satin silver, and it features a quartet of air inlets to aid aerodynamic flow. Around the side, the new Triton sits on newly-designed two-tone alloy wheel options measuring 17- and 18-inches (the existing 16-inch rollers are fitted on lower-end models), and the rear end gets a swanky pair of LED tail lights.

Inside, the Triton gets a redesigned centre console with new switchgear and air-conditioning vents. In upping the feel-good factor, soft-touch materials find their way on to the armrests, centre console sides, door inserts and parking brake lever.

There’s a new smartphone tray with USB ports below the central switchgear, and the cubbies are garnished in a new satin silver trim. Rear passengers also benefit from a new smartphone tray with a USB charging port behind the centre armrest, as well as a rear air-con blower with roof-mounted vents.

As before, two engines are being offered – entry-level variants will get the 2.5 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel engine, tuned to produce anywhere from 107 hp and 200 Nm to 134 hp and 324 Nm of torque. Higher-spec models get the latest 4N15 2.4 litre MIVEC turbodiesel mill, producing 179 hp at 3,500 rpm and 430 Nm of torque from 2,500 rpm.

Perhaps the biggest change is the inclusion of a new six-speed automatic transmission, which is an upgrade from the existing five-speed INVECS II unit. According to Mitsubishi, the new six-speeder unit offers smoother gearshifts and more powerful acceleration, as well as improved refinement.

As before, four-wheel drive versions of the Triton come with either the Easy-Select system or the more advanced full-time Super-Select II from the Pajero Sport, the latter automatically adjusting the torque split between the front and rear axles depending on the conditions. Hill descent control has been made available for the first time, although this feature is limited to selected 4WD models.

Both four-wheel drive systems now feature a selection of off-road driving modes, such as Gravel, Mud/Snow, Sand and Rock (in locked low-range 4LLc mode only). When engaged, off-road mode integrally controls engine power, transmission and braking to regulate wheel slip, thereby maximising all-terrain performance and traction levels in sticky situations.

Meanwhile, the brakes have been beefed up with larger front ventilated discs and calipers, whereas ride quality has improved thanks to larger rear dampers which contain more damping fluids.

Now, it may be a pick-up truck, but it’s not shabby when it comes to safety. The kit list includes forward collision mitigation (autonomous emergency braking) with pedestrian detection, blind spot warning, rear cross traffic alert, auto high beam and an ultrasonic misacceleration mitigation system. The last feature reduces accidents resulting from improper use of the accelerator when moving off or reversing in confined spaces.

Also, the top model features a multi around monitor, which offers drivers a 360-degree bird’s eye view of the car’s surroundings when needed. Front parking sensors have also been added. As for colours, four new colours – White Diamond, Graphite Grey, Passion Orange and Red Solid – have been added to the existing palette, raising the tally to nine exterior shades.

The facelifted Mitsubishi Triton will be launched in Thailand on November 17, following which it will be rolled out to 150 countries around the globe. We’ve been told that the Triton is due to arrive in Malaysia within the first quarter of next year.

Ahead of that, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) will be displaying it at the upcoming Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS 2018) from November 23 to December 2, and it’s likely that the order books will open then as well. Alternatively, you may catch the Triton at the following locations as listed above.

MMM will also organise a special display for the new Triton in Johor Bahru at a later date. Like what you see, folks?

GALLERY: 2019 Mitsubishi Triton facelift, global debut in Thailand

GALLERY: 2019 Mitsubishi Triton facelift model range

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Dat dynamic shield face would look good on a new evo

• amirzaheenminhaj on Nov 09, 2018 at 4:58 pm

you may have a rough idea on new evo with dynamic shield….google Mitsubishi grand lancer

• RIP Lancer RIP Mitsubishi on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Grand Lancer is using fake dynamic shield like the US ASX. It’s hideous!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 12:23 pm

Wow, what a beauty. I only wished Proton had their own trucks. I would buy the Proton truck. The best Proton could do was the Proton Arena which failed big time in Malaysia. Hardly can even see one on our roads nowadays.

High time for Proton to come out with a truck. Because we Malaysians will buy it.

Proton research and marketing team are so lembap. Current automotive trends are SUVs and Trucks. Both also they missed the boat. We needed a China CEO to tell Proton that the in thing now are SUVs and Trucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • Rightwinger on Nov 09, 2018 at 7:03 pm

failed here, big hit down under

• For some reasons, the Australians like the Arena/Jumbuck. Mechanically reliable since its running on an old Mitsubishi engine and cheap to run.
      You’re though. The local market here is hopeless for this kind of mini hauler.

• Pakulupapito on Nov 10, 2018 at 9:48 pm

They are too early with the arena. 2nd hand arena really sell like hotcakes nowadays…

• benzs on Nov 09, 2018 at 12:26 pm

T.Hilux being challenge. Now days MMC not only face lift front end but butt as well. New design rear lamp looks better now. Front end looks like another 100 years future car. Not bad MMC, good job. Now we have another Pick up truck which looks better than T.Hilux. Game on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 09, 2018 at 8:58 pm

I know the old Pug 308 had issues and so we don’t really see it on the road anymore especially when there were so many back then because everyone got rid of it. But the Ranger is still a common sight on the road after all these years so I bought there is a major common issue amongst owners.

• Mario and Bros on Nov 09, 2018 at 12:37 pm

Habis la Ford Ranger. Who will buy Ford Ranger now when the Triton is so sexy and high spec?

Triton never breakdown but Ranger always gearbox kaput.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 26
    • You’re right in the Ranger’s gearbox… my Ranger has changed gearbox 2 times.. didn’t wait until the third one and quickly sold the car

• Baby Jonny on Nov 09, 2018 at 4:16 pm

Same here. Had the 2.2 XLT, gearbox kept appearing warning and in safe mode, went to service, bloody technician said no issue and simply by flashing the ecu. Want to sell off this junk soon

• Mario and Bros on Nov 09, 2018 at 4:04 pm

This is fake account which John Minum Teh 8X puts all the other names like “Mario crying like newborn baby”, “Jim cook” and others. To all the readers, I am real account and don’t ever listen to him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Lesson learnt… too much hassle to own a Ranger…

• I luv to play Mario

• Regret Ranger Owner on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:30 pm

Ranger wish Gearbox, clutch n door jammed, damn.

• Regret Ranger owner on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:32 pm

Damn Ranger, full of problems, at 26k clutch kaput, at 40k door jammed. RIP Ranger no matter how hard you try to promote.

• Mario and Bros on Nov 10, 2018 at 7:39 am

One more thing, I know you are coming from John Minum Teh 8X so don’t think I don’t know that you can just put my username or any other fake names. The truth is that I didn’t bash any other carmakers including Ford Ranger, Triton why because Ford Ranger and Mitsubishi Triton are good cars. Not like you. To all the readers, pls be careful John Minum Teh 8X will actually putting stealing my username or any other fake names. He is actually disparaging Toyota Salesman/Perodua Salesman. As I told you, That I type on my comment, this is my real account and real username where John Minum Teh 8X is stealing my username and use other fake names or stealing my username

• No proton no basher on Nov 09, 2018 at 12:47 pm

Will miss the storm trooper helmet fascia

• Truckers on Nov 09, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Will this also be affected by the 6 issues recalls? Kinda disappointed for a Japanese brand known for its 4WD.

• suomynona on Nov 09, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Goodbye to the Reptilian face :( But great improvement on the rear with the bigger & nicer lights!

• mitsu suppok on Nov 09, 2018 at 1:11 pm

rubbish lah. buy ranger better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
  • albag on Nov 09, 2018 at 1:51 pm

wow am impressed.. that is the fiercest pickup truck ever!

• Rightwinger on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:04 pm

speaking for myself here.
    much better ‘face’ (though a bit heavy with the chrome) much more coherent with interior deisgn. not like the Hilux- i love the quasi Tacoma look but sadly paired with a dash that could’ve been plucked out of any of its sedan offerings … ford still wins it in my book- looks like a proper ford truck inside and out.

• AkooIm on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:51 pm

Dunno why… but i think the current model with a pajero sports face conversion looks more appealing to me…
    Or maybe i just need some time to let this new facelift sink in & see it my self… btw, this new tail light design looks bulky…

• My love. I want you now!!!!!!!!

• john Habisla Toyota on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:24 pm

Good bye pig face Hilux

• Gaviny on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:36 pm

Only Mitsubishi bring innovation to the pickup world.

The super select 2 system is the ONLY system with open centre differential so you can engage AWD at high way speeds for better grip during heavy rain.

Others just don’t have this feature for better safety in rainy weather

• The Super Select 2 isn’t exactly new (it debuted in the 90’s) but still pretty hi-tech compared to the current system of 2H-4H-4L in other pick-ups which cannot be used on a paved road at high speed. Basically, it’s an AWD mode when things get slippery and switchable to 2WD for max fuel efficiency.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 09, 2018 at 8:35 pm

Does the rear blower have its own evaporator or just a blower? If it’s just a blower then it’s just sucking hot air from the roof……

Looks good. Especially in that orange hue reminiscent of BMW’s sunset orange on some of its sportier offerings.

Unfortunately for Mitsubishi’s, drivetrain improvements are slow and behind the front runners like the Ranger and Navara.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:02 pm

It’s so major a chance that one might think it’s an all new Triton and pre FL owners will be cursing Mitsubishi for making a drastic change to the design. That’s one thing I don’t like with Japanese makes. The German makes don’t do a drastic change to upset existing owners unless there was a major complaint on its design. The current BMW LCI 1er is one such example.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 10, 2018 at 7:31 am

Habislah Toyota now. All Toyota Showroom in all world can close down. Let Triton Showroom will be open but not Toyota as UMW has been cheated like before

• Elton Sim on Nov 10, 2018 at 3:54 pm

You lucky, my one repair 3 times gearbox overhaul and engine leak from my Ford Ranger =.=

• Mrhukaka on Nov 16, 2018 at 10:57 pm

Super like this design please bring in the full spec comes with real differential lock ,hope to see this spec bring into Malaysia.