Honda HR-V Sport debuts in Europe with VTEC Turbo

Earlier this year, Honda announced that the HR-V would be given an update for the 2019 model year in Europe, which includes a new engine option in the form of the Civic‘s 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine. This is now being presented in the HR-V Sport, a new variant that differs quite a bit from a regular HR-V beyond what’s under the bonnet.

We’ll focus on the obvious first. The HR-V Sport gets a 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo four-cylinder unit, which is paired with either a six-speed manual or CVT transmission. With the manual, peak horsepower of 182 PS arrives at 5,500 rpm, and at 6,000 rpm with the CVT.

The manual option also gets a higher torque figure of 240 Nm from 1,900 to 5,000 rpm, while the CVT gets just 220 Nm from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm. Here in Malaysia, the Honda HR-V is powered by a 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine with 142 PS and 172 Nm of torque, for comparison.

Honda says the new (and sportier) model is targeted at those who want a more dynamic driving experience, and so, the HR-V Sport gets ‘Performance Damper’ technology. Essentially, the car comes with adaptive roll bars at the front and rear to counteract the relative lateral and torsional movement through the chassis to keep it flatter through corners and enhance stability.

The variable ratio electric power-assisted rack-and-pinion steering system is also unique to the new model, and is claimed to provide a steady response at on-, near-, and off-centre steering angles.

Mechanical changes aside, the HR-V Sport gets a high-gloss black chrome panel for its ‘Solid Wing Face’, plus a black honeycomb finish for the front grille garnish and fog lamp surrounds. Other styling revisions include a slim front splitter, side skirts, wheel arch mouldings and a more aggressive rear bumper – all with a black finish.

The model also comes with black door mirror caps, dual exhaust pipes,18-inch alloy wheels in a unique design, LED headlamps, black chrome tailgate garnish and smoked taillights. As for the interior, the seats follow a black and dark red colour scheme, coupled with black roof lining. Production of the HR-V Sport is slated to start in December 2018, with the first customer deliveries in spring 2019.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• time to milk some cash from same old car model ^^

• hope is not too long on Nov 30, 2018 at 10:52 pm

Hold on to buy… until Honda Malaysia brings it in

• Bring this car here and it will be eligible for petrol subsidi. Will be top seller variant later, together with “poormans” Civic 1.5T and CRV 1.5 TCP.

• pokmang on Nov 30, 2018 at 10:34 am

1.5 vtec turbo paired with 6 speed manual transmission…will reach malaysia soon or not?

• lorlor on Nov 30, 2018 at 10:09 pm

Manual cannot sell lor

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Dec 01, 2018 at 7:58 pm

In Malaysia, when you try order for any brand new manual cars, you will get an awesome reply “You Stupid idiot, why you still want manual car, for racing ka?”. Oh wai, our driving standard is actually makan taik kucing one but pretend to have skill like tiger.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 30, 2018 at 11:07 am

I hope Honda Malaysia bring Honda Sensing to this car too. We need extra safety features to keep us safe.

Pity though Honda quality now gone down the drain. This is because GLC DRB assembles the car and you cannot expect much from a GLC in Malaysia. They are lazy and not enterprising to improve themselves.

I hope Honda Japan opens up an assembly CKD plant in Malaysia directly to keep quality control and standards high like the CBU Japan or Thailand units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • https://paultan.org/2017/11/07/honda-accord-2-4-vti-l-advance-now-with-sensing-safety-package-rm170k-base-2-0-vti-dropped/

• John Minum Teh 8X Fake News on Dec 01, 2018 at 12:29 am

John Minum Teh 8X, This is a car blog. PLS KEEP YOUR ATTACKS PRIVATE. We want to read on car news here. We have no time for personal attacks. Moreover, John Minum Teh 8X, IT IS NOT FUNNY

TAKE YOUR ATTACKS AWAY FROM THIS BLOG

John minum teh 8x, pls take your issues elsewhere OR ELSE I WILL ASK PAULTAN.ORG MEMBERS TO FORCE JOHN MINUM TEH 8X TO KICK OUT FROM PAULTAN.ORG WEBSITE

Don’t make me SHOUT AT YOU, MR JOHN MINUM TEH 8X

• Dun get angry bro. The only way to counter is with the truth. Continue to pound his comments with truth and he got nothing to say anymore. Cheers.

• PlainBS on Nov 30, 2018 at 11:17 am

Malaysia must bring in this model to compete with Binyue

• Turbo with Torsion beam on an SUV… That’s really a “performance” car…

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) (Member) on Nov 30, 2018 at 11:37 am

Turbo and manual. Yums!!

• Basri Talha on Nov 30, 2018 at 11:45 am

I better buy this car because Honda is sold in 200 countries worldwide.

How to buy X70? Cause Geely 98% sold in China only and all Geely cars rejected in every first world country in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • panjang on Nov 30, 2018 at 5:24 pm

Weed is sold all over the world…its better u get some weed too. Even its rejected all over the world even 3rd world country but people still wants it.

• There are no 200 countries on this planet, so yeah, you are a liar and an idiot.

• Meanwhile jepunis cars no RV in Europe!

• John Cry Like Baby on Nov 30, 2018 at 11:52 am

This car sure make the Proton X70 masuk dustbin. Yes, HRV is B segment and X70 is C segment but this car sure make X70 sales masuk longkang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Autobahn on Nov 30, 2018 at 11:52 am

After being pressured by hyundai kona 1.6turbo with 204ps 265nm..now honda try to catch up..altho still lacks in power and definitely lacks in drive feels with that cvt gearbox.

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 30, 2018 at 12:14 pm

Over here, HRV facelift still teasing since July 2018. Honda Malaysia don’t dare reveal pricing, prefer to play chicken with Proton-Geely X70.

Go Honda Malaysia website. No price listed for HRV.

• Bring this to Malaysia and it will sell like hotcakes!

• Honda Malaysia will sure no giving u this. Our malaysia spec is kosing spec even worst rhan Thailand. Tehy even takd our Honda sensing.

• Car enthusiast on Nov 30, 2018 at 1:27 pm

Damn, b segment suv with turbo 6 speed manual!!!

• benzs on Nov 30, 2018 at 1:35 pm

Malaysia set will be forever never arrive… Only 1.8 NA

• kk looi on Nov 30, 2018 at 2:13 pm

CHR killer ! When Honda Malaysia, when is it coming??

• abesla CHR on Nov 30, 2018 at 5:08 pm

If this car comes here, Toyota salesman for sure goto kedai minum teh 1000X

• Ben Yap on Dec 01, 2018 at 12:06 am

Honda cars are the fastest in its class beating all the slow and backward brands like proton, perodua, toyota and kia.

• Suv compact on Dec 01, 2018 at 4:43 pm

Turbo…?…with this power surely can tapau harrier..

• stastasta on Dec 04, 2018 at 12:35 pm

hrv has 1.5 turbo with 180bhp. harrier has 2.0 turbo with 240bhp.