KLIMS18: Nothing like Malaysia’s own awek and amoi?

It was kinda strange doing the whole motor show thing eight kilometres from home, because it felt a lot like what photographer Sherman Sim and I do at least twice a year in Thailand and Indonesia. Also because we haven’t had a KL International Motor Show for half a decade.

But KLIMS is back for 2018, and at a shiny new home too – one that does not require river crossings to get to the other half of the venue! The car brands that were present put on a great show, giving us a decent variety of cars and entertainment.

Speaking of variety, Hyundai had it all – the Korean brand’s booth housed everything from new models for Malaysia (Santa Fe, Grand Starex facelift), cars that are coming soon (Kona 1.6 Turbo), eco-friendly tech showcases (Nexo FCEV, Kona Electric), interest gauging models (Accent) and even a performance corner with the i30 N hot hatch – that, and not the K-pop dance crew, is giving me inappropriate dreams.

However, the most significant displays were over at Perodua. The market leader showcased the X-Concept, which is billed as “The Perodua of Tomorrow”. The X-Concept is as stunning as it is surprising, but it was the kitted-up Myvi GT – Brembos and all – that generated more saliva from showgoers. Perodua’s new SUV, which will debut early next year, was present at KLIMS, albeit hidden in a box. Not long now.

Across the aisle, Proton’s booth drew big crowds wanting to touch and feel (and knock) the new Proton X70. The company’s first SUV, which launch is just around the corner (finally, December 12), was in full public preview mode in various variants and colours. Also on the way to showrooms is the refreshed Mitsubishi Triton, which wears the macho Dynamic Shield face with real purpose.

Toyota and Lexus did more than their part. The mainstream brand launched the new Toyota Camry, which doesn’t look very mainstream these days. The “Beautiful Monster” was joined by the new Vios – now open for booking – and the stunning FT-1 “Supra” Concept. Lexus’ bright white stand was contrasted by a bevy of black-clad beauties, the new Lexus ES 250 and the UX compact SUV.

The most masculine line-up belonged to Ford, which launched the RM200k Ranger Raptor pick-up truck and previewed the Mustang facelift. Over in the Naza enclave (Kia, Citroen, DS, Peugeot) sat the next-generation Kia Cerato in a curious chrome wrap, the DS7 Crossback (check out its extravagant cabin), the facelifted Kia Sportage and the Kia Picanto GT-Line.

Honda had a relatively quiet motor show, with only the HR-V RS facelift (second preview) and Mugen-kitted versions of the Jazz and CR-V on display, alongside regular showroom cars. Upstairs, Nissan showed the second-generation Leaf electric car (launching mid-2019) and the Note e-Power range extender EV. No plans yet for the latter, just testing the water.

Other interesting displays include the UiTM AVII autonomous driving project and Isuzu’s 1.9L Ddi BluePower engine, which we’re still yet to receive. D-Max and MU-X dress-up concepts sandwiched the turbodiesel.

Before we let you roam free with the ladies, there were a couple of new motorcycles on display at KLIMS 2018 as well. Boon Siew Honda launched the 2019 Honda PCX Hybrid, Honda Forza scooter and Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade at MITEC, while Benelli previewed the TRK 251, Leoncino 250 and 502C bikes – all will be here in mid-2019.

Next to the bikes, Petronas carved out a large portion of the upper hall for itself, constructing a mini Mesra store with plenty of snacks and Starbucks coffee. It also launched the Setel e-wallet app, which you can sign up for on-spot.

That’s quite some list, isn’t it? We may be speaking in past tense, but KLIMS 2018 is still ongoing for the public this weekend all the way till Sunday night. You might even meet some of the pretty ladies below at the show…

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hondaman on Nov 30, 2018 at 8:55 pm

Nothing like Honda bike cewek.. hewhehew

• The models at the Benelli stand were attractive too. Isuzu models got my vote for most skin shown.

• azrai on Dec 03, 2018 at 8:32 am

Are you sure those photos came from KLIMS instead of MAHA? Because so many type of ‘fruits’ can be seen here.

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) (Member) on Nov 30, 2018 at 10:12 pm

Got one of the girls digits from swiping on Tinder when i went to KLIMS last Sunday and got myself a dinner date tomorrow night! Hope i can ike ike after that!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Yeah right on Dec 02, 2018 at 10:54 pm

And then, you wake up and realise it was only a dream…

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) (Member) on Dec 03, 2018 at 2:35 pm

Ahahahah yes bro, that is absolutely right!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 30, 2018 at 10:36 pm

sorry la really CMI

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 01, 2018 at 1:46 am

There are more beauties for sure as this collection does not reflect all the girls that were there!

• Equality on Dec 01, 2018 at 2:52 am

As it is, more people are calling the use of ladies in shows as unneeded, and you can see why. Using the vernacular terms ‘awek’ and ‘amoi’ merely adds to the belief that all they are really viewed as is meat. It’s derogatory and cheapens women, especially in this day and age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
    • modern lifestyle on Dec 02, 2018 at 11:21 am

I have to agree with you, being a Muslim nation with majority are Muslim (please don’t get sidetracked with extremist, or old-fashioned perception) it is clear to see that Islam uphold the women with high respect, to cover aurat, to show dignity, and above all as the very part of the Nation that made it modern and advance through their intelligence. This showgirls is a hark back of jahiliah era (dark ages), this are backwords and does not represent modern Malaysia. Imagine bringing young kids, children & parents to this motorshow to see scantily clad women posing around like nobody business. Muslim or not, this is unethical from a moral standpoint. I Was previously a huge fan of KLIMS, now I’m glad I didn’t go there, just to add sins to myself. Maybe PaulTan could tune to the local sensitivity next time, unlike Thai & Indo who are much more revealing, perhaps theyre are more open minded by opening up their dresses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • kelantan darul pedo on Dec 02, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Uniform baju kurung.noktah

• oh weally on Dec 03, 2018 at 8:53 am

oh really? tell me more about how this gals were pointed guns and told to parade themselves… they werent victimised by any syndicate btw…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Tatata on Dec 01, 2018 at 7:49 am

Pheeweet! Didn’t told my wife I went there…

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 01, 2018 at 11:46 am

Malaysia never had car show for half a decade because people got fed up of KLIMS before.

In KLIMS all you see is accesory selling, credit cards selling and engine oil selling.

Hardly any new launches. Even the very few launches, all the cars are locked up. How to go in and see?

In proper International shows, you can enter every car and have a feel of the car.

I hope KLIMS learn from other International Car shows how to run a good car show. Charge RM25 but give so little to the public.

To be honest, this KLIMS is only worth RM5 entry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
    • hahaha on Dec 02, 2018 at 8:31 pm

You and dupes only know to sembang kencang, no wonder ended up being a keyboard warrior!

Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) (Member) on Dec 03, 2018 at 2:39 pm

But what he said is true tho. This year’s KLIMS18′ are worst than KLIMS13′ nor KLIMS10′. Not worth my RM25 IMHO.

• Focus on the cars not the showgirls. This is a car show, not a girl show.

• Jasmin on Dec 01, 2018 at 11:50 am

I am disappointed. As a woman I feel why can’t there be male models? We women also want to see men.

So why PT talks about awek and amoi? Pls cater for your female readers also and talk about macho men.

Anyway, this motor show was a disappointment. I think I rather save my money next time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • Harvin on Dec 02, 2018 at 10:12 am

Sorry to hear that Jasmin…. I’m willing to take u out to dinner to make up for ur dissapointment fir lack of male model at the show

• Johnissohai.. on Dec 02, 2018 at 9:48 pm

Women belongs to the kitchen

Kidding..lel

• No Education KLIMS on Dec 01, 2018 at 12:06 pm

KLIMS was a mess for me. Nothing much to see.
    MAI also malu. they should have a booth to explain EV and hybrid technology to the public as well as emissions.

Our KLIMS so bodoh. No education. Nothing to teach rakyat about latest technology. About car making. About EV making. About EV batteries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • tarakbaca on Dec 02, 2018 at 8:42 pm

Said spoonfed basher

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Dec 03, 2018 at 8:01 pm

Whatever latest technology also useless to our Rakyat as they don ‘t know what is turn indicator, how ABS and ESC works etc. (if ASA, based from my point of view is too complicated and too many limitations) plus they also don’t know what is temperature gauge (the very basic thing also don’t know). Teaching rakyat about EV and other latest technologies (such as Rear Cross Traffic Alert and Blindspot Info System) is like teaching pigs how to fly.

• Brenda on Dec 01, 2018 at 8:49 pm

Arent the terms awek and amoi derogatory terms?

• Hmm, theres less emphasis in women this round. Gud! This is a car show not a women show. So the focus shud be on cars, this unlike the other regional car shows which just focus on women. If the cars displayed is gud why need to focus on the showgirls?

• Musang on Dec 02, 2018 at 12:00 am

Really Disappointed KLIMS…no European car participate, except Peugeot and citroen…better go bangkok motor show and jakarta more exciting and more car…not forget only 2 brand benelli and Kawasaki make appear…Klims ‘syok sendiri’ event..next² coming year hope no more klims… better go showroom if like that..

• Yah to label the brand promoters and ambassadors amoy and awek not nice la. Lets evolutionise our thinking and morality. Get first world status pun tak guna if lost world thinking. Plus require these promoters and ambassadors to have meat on their knowledge and communication skills so their participation would be more meaningful and equal to the company suits who are mostly men. Need to change public perception through rethinking these women’s role at events such as these and training them to fill those enhanced, respectful and meaningful role. The corporate world should take the lead to do this. Not easy but let’s start the evolution.

• azrai on Dec 03, 2018 at 8:15 am

Tosay I accidentally surfing Paulboy website.

• Where are the hot handsome and muscular hunks? Car exhibition shud not be sexist and only show beautiful sexily dressed women. Men shud be given the equal opportunity to show their bodies and muscles together with the handsome and muscular cars. No to gender inequality and sex discrimination! Hope the next year show will feature both men and women

• bahomet on Dec 03, 2018 at 9:51 am

i honestly feel that you guys shouldn’t process the photos of such beautiful ladies using the same method you used on cars, it ruins their skin tone and make up.

• passion on Dec 03, 2018 at 11:08 am

well PT saved us lots of money. thanks. clap! clap!

• Actually not worth RM25 to buy ticket at all, should be free entrance instead.
    I spend RM10 for a hot dog with bread and RM9 for small cup of coffee.
    Parking fee also RM15….