Toyota to make TRD and AWD standard for all models?

If you’ve noticed the increasing number of Toyota TRDs recently, just know that it’s no coincidence. In an interview with AutoGuide at the Los Angeles Auto Show, Toyota said that it is considering adding a performance-oriented model to the entire family.

Contrary to the common thinking, future TRD-badged Toyotas won’t simply be a standard model with slapped-on body kit. The most recent model to receive the TRD touch is the 86 TRD Special Edition, albeit without any enhancements made to the engine.

Group vice president and manager of Toyota Division at Toyota Motor North America, Jack Hollis told the publication: “I love the TRD brand, I love what Toyota Racing Development does, and I like learning from our motorports teams and putting it into our cars. And if we can bring it to every car and SUV and every truck, I think we should.”

Apparently, Hollis hinted that a Corolla TRD is pretty much confirmed, which makes sense considering its more sophisticated Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) GA-C platform. The Corolla Hatch will even compete in the 2019 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship, which speaks volume of TNGA’s capabilities. Could Toyota finally give the Civic Si or, more interestingly, the Civic Type R a run for its money? Only time will tell.

For now, Hollis said the Corolla TRD – which was a SEMA concept that received numerous positive feedbacks – is definitely being considered. “It’s not in the plans yet, but there’s intention and development happening,” he said. Is this the rumoured Corolla Hybrid hot hatch? Maybe, maybe not.

Besides the standardisation of TRD models, Toyota is also considering adding all-wheel drive across the line-up. All models except the C-HR could get AWD in the near future. “We’re looking at the all-wheel-drive application for all of our products. Not necessarily on C-HR today, but you have to stay tuned because some new things are coming up.”

An example of this is with the 2019 Prius facelift – it’s now available with an electric all-wheel drive system that features a separate high-output motor to drive the rear wheels. It engages automatically when pulling away up to 10 km/h, and in low-grip conditions will operate at speeds of up to 70 km/h. The system is identical in operation to the E-Four system found in Japan.

“We’re taking each model and we’re giving more choices for the consumer,” Hollis said, adding that TRD and AWD models are a smart way to do that. What do you think? Are you excited for what’s to come?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Toyota Motor North America seems to be rather oblivious to the direction from his HQ. TRD is no longer the “sporty” arm but was replaced by Gazoo Racing. In the rest of the world, TRD branding have been reduced to a sticker and bodykit supplier.

• Donno on Dec 03, 2018 at 1:01 pm

Yes bring back the TRD badge and dump the silly Gazoo Racing monicker!

• henna on Dec 03, 2018 at 2:49 pm

Whatever Toyota is developing, Malaysian not getting it. Thanks to UMW Toyota Motor Malaysia.

• Avatar on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:48 pm

In Japan, saw many CHR and Lexus.. Hardly see any Honda cars on the road.. Opps, Nissan and Madza sales are more than Honda in Japan.. Only in boleh land, Honda is having good sales, but compromised quality and hope not safety features when we need it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3