Next-gen Mazda 2 rendered, based on 2019 Mazda 3

Mazda dragged its feet with the new 2019 Mazda 3 for long enough, but it finally unveiled the new C-segment model at the Los Angeles Auto Show last week. Given the sea change this car represents for Hiroshima, we’re interested to see how the design filters down to the rest of the range, and luckily Photoshop wizard Theophilus Chin has given us an idea of what the next generation of the smaller Mazda 2 could look like.

As you’d expect, the renders show a supermini that’s a lot different than the current car, wearing a sportier, less cutesy look. The headlights are slimmer – even though they’re a bit larger here than on the 3 – and the grille is larger and cuts into the headlights. The body side has also been cleaned up with less prominent creases and a greater emphasis on surface volume.

Moving to the rear of the car, Theophilus added the 3’s circular tail light graphics and a larger blacked-out bumper panel on the hatch. On the sedan, the number plate recess has been moved from the bumper on the 3 to the bootlid, although we’d reckon that the real one will keep the recess on the bumper. Overall, it looks like a handsome thing, just like the current car is.

As for the technology, expect the 2 to come with some of the 3’s latest new bits, including the revamped MZD Connect infotainment system and a brace of new engines, including a revised 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine, paired to six-speed manual and automatic transmissions. Also expect the car to be based on the 3’s SkyActiv-Vehicle Architecture that should make it more rigid than before.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:42 am

Mazda work hard….this is why their cars sell well. This car sure sell well because their designers are always working hard to improve themselves.

Unlike some car companies, design once, then next 7 years just goyang kaki in office and don’t bother in improving their designs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Get Mazda2 over fugly Vios & Yaris. Their designer goyang kaki for 10 years coming out with even more fuglier designs every model change.
      Follow Toyota USA tagline: “If u wanna get a gud Toyota, go get a Mazda”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • loler on Dec 04, 2018 at 10:52 am

You mean toyota fridge design, lol

• More like monster design. Camry basking shark face and Vios ikan haruan face.

• Yup, Mazda designs so good that even the great Toyota is rebadging Mazda now. But some troll said rebadging is not what a carmaker should do and Toyota will only be “tumpang glamor” of Mazda. Eating back your own spit, troll?

• Nissan almari designer oledi goyang 10 years

• Anana on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:45 am

Meh..just wait for the new model to come out, should be any time soon.

• I am not swan on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:51 am

This car is just as iconic as apple, makes me wet

• Just lowered cx3 will do

• Ahmad on Dec 04, 2018 at 10:46 am

Yeah i believe 2 will be next. Afterwards, the new MX5 will be redesign again. If we follow they last sequence.

I still waiting for their new 5.

• Hope Mazda can improve the interior packaging. The current 2 feels like a 2+2 inside instead of a 5 seater.

• davidletterboyz on Dec 05, 2018 at 9:11 am

That’s exactly the point. Want a roomy car to fetch people who do not pay for your car? Go get other brand.

• Dude, there are people who have something called ‘family’. Look up the meaning of the word.

• Mazda2 on Dec 07, 2018 at 1:26 pm

That is the point. The Mazda 2 is all about the comfort of the people in front. Its targeted at college students and young adults who just entered the work force and are still dating.

This is especially true overseas where the car sells for $15,000.

• kipKEEP1230 on Dec 05, 2018 at 3:13 am

Yes. This is proper design. I really hate the thicc c-pillar of the Mazda3 hatchback

• Toyota Civic on Dec 23, 2018 at 3:49 pm

The problem with Mazda is they have a cramp legroom and low rv