Proton Invictus spotted – Preve-based concept for the Proton & DRB-Hicom U Creative Car Challenge (PD3C)

Earlier this year, Proton and the DRB-Hicom University of Automotive Malaysia (DRB-Hicom U) launched the Proton & DRB-Hicom U Concept Car Challenge (PD3C), where 15 teams from various tertiary education institutions would compete to design a concept car for the future.

We now have a good look at one of the submissions which carries the name ‘Invictus’, thanks to paultan.org reader Zheng Yang Ooi, who spotted the vehicle near Asia Pacific University (APU). The university is among the participants in the competition, and this concept is likely their entry for PD3C.

The Invictus is based on the Preve, albeit with a significant amount of custom work done to it. For starters, the entire front end is completely new, with sleeker headlamps flanking a more upright and slimmer grille that has vertical slats within it.

The front bumper also protrudes further out than on the stock car, and there are diagonal features that lead into the muscular wheel arch lines. This also isolates the blacked-out triangular “inlets” from the lower intake. The latter has a notched section at the lip, which could house sensors for possible autonomous driving tech.

Along the sides, skirting has been added to complement the wider body, while the door handles have been tucked away, or possibly replaced with a remote release instead. The decorative trim piece just behind the rear window is also larger in size, plus there’s a roof-mounted spoiler.

At the back, additional body panels placed on the sides of the rear windscreen help provide width to the vehicle’s hatch, which houses the Proton badge and Invictus name, framed by slim light bars. The bold lower apron meanwhile, appears to mirror the front, and features large “outlets” in the corners, a featureless space in the middle, and finished off with a hexagonal-shaped exhaust tip.

The judging session for PD3C will take place on December 6 this month, which is where we’ll probably get to see more of the Invictus and the submissions of other teams. The overall winner will be announced during an award ceremony later on December 8.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Andre Ng's Automotive Channel on Dec 04, 2018 at 3:53 pm

Front bumper looks like the old axia G spec though…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • KLIMS Concept car

• Proton designers celup teh on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:46 pm

Habisla Proton! john got heart attack after seeing this fugly beast. Even John Minum Teh 8X spewed his teh after seeing this disfigured monster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
      • John Minum Teh 8X Fake News on Dec 04, 2018 at 6:46 pm

Don’t be pretend “John Minum Teh 8X”. Everyone knows that you always using many fake names such as “Proton designers celup teh”, “John crying like a baby”, “Edi John Rejang” and etc. We already suspected that this username as”Proton designers celup teh” relates to John Minum Teh 8X. So don’t think we don’t know that you are always using fake names

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Basher spew his teh, being furious how come this uni kid design looks better than the millions they poured into his X Concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Same L0rr on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:01 pm

Still campro engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • layman on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:30 pm

just budak2 uni punya design competition bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 05, 2018 at 8:56 am

30 years, Proton can only make the gas guzling Campro engines. Look at BMW, they make new engines every year.

This means research and development just goyang kaki in opis and never do any work

• John Minum Ketum je lebih on Dec 05, 2018 at 12:17 pm

New engine yang sentiasa bermasalah

• Kenneth on Dec 10, 2018 at 10:21 pm

What can you build? Since you only know how to criticise people’s work. Why don’t you try to build one yourself and shut Proton up? If not please don’t just talk cock. Please give some praise to our young generation. Don’t always compare to other people. Settle your ownself problem first . Don’t ownself talk and ownself syiok.

• More like Evict-us. Back looks like someone built it in a shed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Wow! Smexy looking! It carries the triangular theme much better than Hyundai Elantra facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Akira on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:17 pm

D.I.S.G.U.S.T.I.N.G.!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • agree

• johndoe on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:49 pm

these kids are lucky its just a competition, if it is their final year projects, they better start looking for a job at their respective nearest McDonald branch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • --CR--- on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Very busy, super bulky, super ugly. Look like Iriz being pulled vertically & horizontally

• Dylan Ch'ng on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:32 pm

I thought i was looking a Peugeot

• Leafable on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Need to go back to school for more design education.

• John Snow on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:38 pm

P.L.E.A.S.E S.T.O.P!!!!!

• Lol 321 on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:39 pm

Rear bonet look disgusting

• Spawn from hell on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:52 pm

The front desgin still acceptable… But the back, looks like lunar calender july those paper made car, lack of 3D design look.
    Damn what a ugly back design.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:29 pm

Good god.

Is this what they teach students to design at design school nowadays?????

What happened to form follows function and simplicity??? Whats the design language????

• Its just one of 15 teams. Relax. Not like they are the winner. There’s 14 teams with different design and base alredi. Don’t judge for now. Lets just watch.

• DeeArBee on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:36 pm

That rear gave me cancer.

• Jeffrey Chew on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Ouch, my eyes!

• alldisc on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Why didn’t whilst building the car.. They stop a while and Take a step back to realise how hideous is the car they are making.

• Looks like cutting out from cardboard.. maybe it’s from the same designer who design the “Visit Malaysia Year 2020” logo…

• Not bad la for uni students to come up with this. If proton really come up with this design, i don’t know what to say other than “what the fu*k was that?”

• Pakcik on Dec 04, 2018 at 8:53 pm

No hope already..if uni student punya mind pun fikir macam ni je

• Kill it! Kill it with fire!

• Ñone œf ür bu$ïne§ on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:48 pm

Y u all getting so digusted about a concept car. Have yall tried to make a concept car in uni before at least their trying unlike yall who just give complaints y not give them ideas on how to make it look better give suggestions not critisism u dont like just tell where is wrong finish getting angry for no reason

• Leonardo on Dec 05, 2018 at 10:44 am

1.The overall design is not in harmony and looks too busy
      2.To front design and rear design don’t match
      3.The detailing of components are not refined

• benzs on Dec 04, 2018 at 10:04 pm

Good Try. Perodua Concept is better than Proton Concept. But both have a good try. Nothing to shame since it’s just a try. Wonder how much being spend…

• Aiyoo..This is Uni student’s work..Not Proton Concept car.
      Obviously you don’t read the article before commenting.

• I.D.O.N.T.L.I.K.E.I.T

• Still plagiarizing Honda’s Accord (Perdana),tries to build a concept car.

Kids, this is what running before you can walk looks like.

• Did you read the article or just like to make blind comment? This is done by a group of uni students, not official P1 concept car. Make a fool out of yourself only.

• Squall.dx on Dec 04, 2018 at 11:12 pm

That will surely spark some debate. My university also taking part. Currently the team is shaping the car.

https://www.facebook.com/protonenvysage/

• Hadi75 on Dec 05, 2018 at 12:06 am

Sorry to say this….it’s ugly. No direction in the design whatsoever.

• Papa jake's on Dec 05, 2018 at 1:11 am

bullshit design

• Ksatria on Dec 05, 2018 at 8:19 am

Post all the submission of design projects from all 15 teams & let us here in Paul tan decide..
    Or make it interesting & let Paul tan crew make a short review of em..what say you??

• Kalkulatorkasio on Dec 05, 2018 at 8:30 am

Thick A pillar so blindspot is more larger, rear trunk is to high, putting luggage in is more of a hastle. The rear is 80 % bumper which beggs the question- why? Lastly Body lines, which is too much

• speed on Dec 05, 2018 at 8:41 am

Proton seriously need to overhaul its design department and people.

• layman again on Dec 05, 2018 at 11:22 am

did you read the whole story? its the uni student design competition and they got plenty other design from other uni as well

• Bashers/trolls where got the patience to finish reading the whole article. As long as got ‘Proton’ in the title, straight go to make comment first.

• oldman on Dec 05, 2018 at 9:05 am

more like Proton Hodoh Giler?

it’s either go back to school to re-study design or just burn down the design faculty.

• This is done by a group of uni students. Read the article first.

• The front looks promising and quite nice. The back…. Just need more tweaks on the design and could be better. Overall the design quite suit Preve’s big body. Want it to be a bit slimmer actually. But great job from them. (Provide more encouragement and critics, not hatred pls)

• Citizen on Dec 06, 2018 at 1:28 am

It’s hideous, no one would buy this car

• Dylan Ch'ng on Dec 06, 2018 at 8:57 am

I just re-read this post. It looks more like a Persona then a Preve.

• The Envisage in PD3C really captured my eyes. The body and design, sporty and futuristic yet not too futuristic. You guys can check PD3C in Facebook. Its some designs really are eye-catching. Some are…..somewhat not expected. Hope paultan can cover the PD3C

• Aiman dino on Dec 07, 2018 at 12:56 am

Awat belakang macam tu

• unmistakably designed locally, hideous looking