Earlier this year, Proton and the DRB-Hicom University of Automotive Malaysia (DRB-Hicom U) launched the Proton & DRB-Hicom U Concept Car Challenge (PD3C), where 15 teams from various tertiary education institutions would compete to design a concept car for the future.

We now have a good look at one of the submissions which carries the name ‘Invictus’, thanks to paultan.org reader Zheng Yang Ooi, who spotted the vehicle near Asia Pacific University (APU). The university is among the participants in the competition, and this concept is likely their entry for PD3C.

The Invictus is based on the Preve, albeit with a significant amount of custom work done to it. For starters, the entire front end is completely new, with sleeker headlamps flanking a more upright and slimmer grille that has vertical slats within it.

The front bumper also protrudes further out than on the stock car, and there are diagonal features that lead into the muscular wheel arch lines. This also isolates the blacked-out triangular “inlets” from the lower intake. The latter has a notched section at the lip, which could house sensors for possible autonomous driving tech.

Along the sides, skirting has been added to complement the wider body, while the door handles have been tucked away, or possibly replaced with a remote release instead. The decorative trim piece just behind the rear window is also larger in size, plus there’s a roof-mounted spoiler.

At the back, additional body panels placed on the sides of the rear windscreen help provide width to the vehicle’s hatch, which houses the Proton badge and Invictus name, framed by slim light bars. The bold lower apron meanwhile, appears to mirror the front, and features large “outlets” in the corners, a featureless space in the middle, and finished off with a hexagonal-shaped exhaust tip.

The judging session for PD3C will take place on December 6 this month, which is where we’ll probably get to see more of the Invictus and the submissions of other teams. The overall winner will be announced during an award ceremony later on December 8.