C27 Nissan Serena J Impul in Malaysia – from RM148k

Edaran Tan Chong Malaysia (ETCM) has just launched the new Nissan Serena J Impul, and prices for the new range-topper start from RM147,800 for the single-tone black exterior paintwork (available for the first time on the Premium Highway Star), whereas two-toned models cost RM2,000 more at RM149,800. The standard five-years unlimited mileage warranty applies, and the Impul accessories come with a separate three-year or 100,000 km warranty (whichever comes first).

To start, the J Impul model is essentially an aesthetic upgrade that costs RM6,000 more than its donor car. For the money, you get a chrome-plated front apron which garnishes the fog lamps and lower lip, chrome-plated rear lip, 18-inch Impul Millennium alloys in black and polished finish (shod with 225/40 rubbers), as well as mocha-coloured diamond-quilted leather seats.

The company says the Japan-made genuine accessories offer an additional 10% downforce for better stability. Things are unchanged performance-wise – the Serena J Impul gets the same MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine, making 150 PS at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm at 4,400 rpm. It’s mated to an Xtronic CVT which drives the front wheels. The engine is assisted by a 2.6 PS/48 Nm ECO electric motor that replaces the starter motor, controls the Idling Stop System and energy regeneration.

Fortunately, existing C27 Serena S-Hybrid owners can choose to upgrade their cars with the chrome-plated front and rear lips, although ETCM made no mention as to whether the 18-inch Impul alloys would be sold separately.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Operation Manager on Dec 06, 2018 at 2:03 pm

better wait Proton Jiaji MPV.

• Pipu need more powahh

• Ben Yap on Dec 06, 2018 at 2:10 pm

not worth paying that premium. TCM should stop using the same old trick to sell impul here or nismo there.

this are no-brainer marketing gimmick that is no more working. give some added values to the customer like Nissan safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 06, 2018 at 2:53 pm

I agree with you. Malaysian want more airbags and safety features rather than bodykit nonsense.

• Unker ETCM still sleeping thinking bodykit can still sell cars. Toyota oso the same.

• Arunasalam on Dec 06, 2018 at 3:24 pm

Unker ETCM work hard. Always in shopping mals promoting their cars from 10 am to 10 pm, trying their best to make sales.

Unker Proton never to be seen in any mall. They expect people to walk into showroom to buy car. Enter showroom see all sembang and minum teh

Compare and contrast working hard vs lepak and relax attitude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • So what? I rather they lepak and relax attitude yet give us good, safe cars like Proton did, instead of working hard at hardselling ancient hideous dinosaurs in ETCM showrooms. Whatmore, Nissan cars are prone to major costly breakdowns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • FrankieC on Dec 06, 2018 at 7:35 pm

True. I’d take Exora over Serena anytime!

• Bodoh on Dec 06, 2018 at 10:51 pm

How you know nissan cars costly breakdown ? Don’t make a nonesense statement , you cannot afford buy nissan just you can’t afford , no need Make a such statement .

• I agree with what Raja say above. Oso Almari is now seriously unsafe car, only 1 airbag to share share with 5 passengers.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 06, 2018 at 2:24 pm

No mention of the price for existing owners?

• wei yen lai on Dec 06, 2018 at 3:01 pm

Beware of cvt gearbox failure

• How you know cvt failure bro ? You used ahh ? Or you just a keyboard warrior. Nissan already make a cvt almost 30 years , i think the most reliable cvt now in market , and the most smooth cvt gearbox .

• LOLback on Dec 07, 2018 at 2:14 pm

Google ‘Nissan CVT failures.’ Is that too hard for you?

• Laurie K Gilbert on Dec 06, 2018 at 3:56 pm

When Nissan launched the new model Serena earlier this year, I went to Setia Mall to have a look and the three safety concerns I asked about were the number of airbag, Isofix and whether it carried a proper spare wheel. The salesman showed me and assured me the vehicle would come equipped with a full spare wheel. A visit to a showroom yesterday revealed that management has renegged on it promise to supply a spare wheel – and so I walked out.

• Nissan salespeople where got know how to sell cars? They only know how to bad mouth other brands, as seen above.

• When their car models is as bad as u can see in Toyota & Nissan showrooms, they have run out of ideas to continue selling junks except to talk bad about others. Sack the entire sales staffs!

• Tracks on Dec 06, 2018 at 6:54 pm

Even the previous generation of Serena MC C26 (CKD) doesn’t comes with a full Spare Wheel but instead equipped with a Spare Saver Wheel.

• I am wondering where they would put the spare wheel because originally the Serena only come with a tyre repair kit, so the under boot space must be quite small. On the rear hatch maybe, SUV-style.

• papazola on Dec 06, 2018 at 5:49 pm

CVT gearbox failure is notorious. 20k for replacement. Good luck with that.

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Dec 06, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Good lah… Even rotten CVT or DSG or dinosaur and shitty 4 speed auto gearbox also Malaysian carbuyers will go for it without think twice, as long it’s not manual cars

• Kak Limah on Dec 06, 2018 at 6:54 pm

I don’t understand the fuss raise by a lot of people about this MPV. Safety concern? 6 airbags laa wei….. Equip with 2 isofix at the middle row. Want more airbag? Then better start looking for other vehicle, I suggest Old soviet T-72 tank as a start.

There might some question on the approach by TCM on selling and upgrading this mpv to impul version. But if you don’t want that, normal and
    premium version nissan serena is good choice already. With that price, the closes thing you get for brand new warranty probably either Peugot (reliability in question). A bit more you will get Kia GC, good choice, excellent engine, but need to manage the size. Really worth it if you need the space.

Or else you buy recond, with no warranty, overprice (bloody hell, you spend rm200-250k for technically a 2nd hand car, and that is just plain stupid)…..