Nissan to recall another 150,000 vehicles in Japan as a result of improper testing done during final inspection

Nissan has announced that it will recall an additional 150,000 vehicles in Japan due to improper testing being carried out during final inspections.

The automaker said via a press statement that it had found several non-conformities that may have caused inaccurate pass/fail judgments during the inspection process, which were related to brakes, the steering and speed-related measurements.

The recall was prompted following cases of misconduct being uncovered during on-site checks by regulators at a major Nissan plant. It was reported that several employees admitted to the regulators that they had not been following protocol in tests.

Nissan said the issue resulted from ambiguity regarding final vehicle inspection procedures and a lack of understanding of non-compliant practices.

The automaker revealed that the vehicles involved in the recall were produced at the Oppama and Auto Works Kyoto production plants. Models that are set to be recalled include the Note, second-generation Leaf, Juke, Cube and Sylphy, all produced for the domestic market.

This is the fourth time Nissan is reporting such misconduct since the issue broke in September last year, leading it to recall over one million vehicles sold in Japan. Then, in July, the company admitted to improper emissions and fuel economy testing on 19 of its models – including the Note and the Juke – sold in Japan.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kokokoko on Dec 07, 2018 at 9:00 pm

Nissan on the way down down down…

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:18 am

Carlos maybe a crook but at least he made Nissan healthy again from near bankrupt. Despite making Nissan healthy again, he still songlap duit.

So I wonder how clean past Proton directors and management are. Cause the company lost about RM20 billion in bailouts and it is still losing RM4 million per day.

I think MACC and our Government need to open an investigation on Proton cause before 2010, Proton was doing very well and making lots of money.

• John Bin Dedak on Dec 09, 2018 at 5:56 pm

Nissan got GTR. World top sports car, highly accredited. Proton got what? Biggest accomplisment is Suprima, a car that failed.

• Batu celup john on Dec 07, 2018 at 9:36 pm

Good job Nissan for recalling 150,000 vehicles as it shows that Nissan cared their customers. Unlike Proton, so many technical problems until now still no recall whatsoever.

I’ve seen so many cases that their Proton breakdown after 1 year in use then go in and out from service 20X. Moreover, Proton cars have no RV at all, forcing the owner to use their Proton until it completely breakdown. Furthermore, I’ve saw so many Proton cars when climbing Genting suddenly can terbakar!

In conclusion, everyone should avoid buying Proton and go buy other carmakers as Proton has faulty technical issues, no RV and can terbakar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 56
    • Wierdo on Dec 07, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Betul ke?

• I loled at this cool story, brrrrrrrr

• John Bin Dedak on Dec 09, 2018 at 6:00 pm

These kind of stories very normal for Proton. Dont bilip? Just go to all the Proton forums.

All complaints complaints complaints…….100000 complaints

No need to prove…just go to any Prootn forum yourself

• Damon Lee on Dec 08, 2018 at 9:51 am

Of course not! He is still sleeping & dreaming up fairy tales in his dreamworld where Proton was a failure.

• S.Ibrahim on Dec 08, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Kalau hang sukak cerita dongeng, betul la tu.

• Safety First on Dec 08, 2018 at 9:34 am

150,000 is nothing compared to how long this QA misinpection have been going on. What I heard, that unqualified inspector have been on the job for 10 years. 10 years!!! That means Nissan should be recalling 1.5 million cars, read again, 1.5 million cars(!!!), not just a pitiful sum of 150,000.

Nissan is still sleeping on the job hoping their courts case with Ghosn will draw attention away from their failures. In this case, they’re and absolute failure even when compared to Proton. Even Proton manages to solve all their recall problems. I rather buy a Proton than any Nissan cars, moreso when it’s distributed by lousy ETCM.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 08, 2018 at 10:57 am

Don’t foeget also the many Exoras that bakar. The one main incident is the one that went up Genting. The poor owner complained on facebook because the SC did not want to layan him.

Then Proton got angry and sued the owner. Wow wow wow. Hello Proton, you cannot sue the owner lah because your engine bakar. Customer always come first.

Now you know why nobody buys Proton. Owners are scared to complain because Proton might sue the owner who complains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Aura89 on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:15 am

Funny how I rarely seen any new Proton breaking down as you claimed.

It sounds like you have a lot of opinions about something you don’t know anything about and therefore don’t have experience with, or had a bad experience with because you didn’t know what you were doing.

You seem to have a lot of negative feelings for something you just made up to tarnish their image.

• Ini Proton la Bang....what you expect? on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:38 am

You cannot compare Nissan service to Proton. Nissan in Malaysia all layan your complaint. Proton SC never layan your complain.

Proton SC still tell customers when you go complain to SC Technician, “Ini Proton la bang, what do you expect”

How I know? I just send my Proton for servis last weekend and I heard this famous saying again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Dec 08, 2018 at 1:18 pm

1 year masuk workshop 20 times, terbakar while climbing up Genting in Proton… Something is very wrong or you just make a fairy tale story which shows your pure STUPIDITY (ya, previously i don’t really like Proton after Waja due to premature wear of absorbers, door handles and ‘complicated’ power window replacement – but it’s common issues that time, but older Saga 1.5S and Wira 1.5 GL manual without accessories serve my family well without major issue, even climbing up hill frequently, because my late father diligently maintain his car). Even Kancil and older 1st gen Myvi 1.0 SR can go up Genting normally without issues, as long you take good care of it.

You go buy other carmakers, there is NO GUARANTEE it will not have faulty technical issues, no RV and can terbakar (which increasingly happen for new cars with taik QC and doesn’t have a temperature meter), somehow my point is carbuyers also stupid, keep buying their new cars and let them get away with major flaws, if they united and don’t buy from them, they wouldn’t design such way coz i personally wouldn’t buy a new cars without a temperature meter (all Poodua and lower end jepunis cars currently out of my buying list).

• One who reads on Dec 08, 2018 at 2:20 pm

Dei, next time, read the article first. It clearly states the Nissan cars in Japan, not Malaysia.

• Copy Paste on Dec 08, 2018 at 2:43 pm

Another fake news from dupe troll, pls post truthful things dude. We are not interested in your hatred towards Proton.

Tolong bertaubat.

• Nissan ETCM not affected.

• wrongly inspected but still more reliable than fully inspected VW,Peugeots and all the garbage that comes from europe.

• Lets See on Dec 10, 2018 at 10:41 am

Someone said we should learn from contis but they are unreliable, then he said we should learn from Japanese but they only cheat. So how now?

• Didn’t get proper final inspection but more reliable than the contis for sure which are supposedly inspected properly..lol

• Lorna Smith on Sep 12, 2019 at 11:35 pm

Is there a specific year’s batch of Nissan sylphy being recalled?