Fee to be imposed on vehicle window tints above legal limit – exemptions for those with medical conditions

The government says a fee will soon be imposed on those seeking to have vehicle window tints above the allowable limit, The Star reports. However, not everyone who applies to have darker window tints will get it, according to transport minister Anthony Loke.

“There is no automatic approval as they must be eligible to use the tint and apply for it and pay a fee,” he said. He added that exemptions will be given to vehicle owners who need to utilise a darker tint because of medical conditions.

There is no approval or fee involved if film tinting is carried out to the permissible specification. “If you tint according to the standard, no approval is needed,” Loke said.

There are no revisions to the current vehicle tinting guidelines, which were last revised in February 2016, when updated regulations, filed under Motor Vehicles (Prohibition of Certain Types of Glass) (Amendment) Rules 2016 replaced the previous 1991 rules.

The current regulations stipulate that the minimum visible light transmission (VLT) percentages are 70% for the front windscreen, 50% for the front side windows, and 30% for the rear windows and the rear windscreen.

The updated rules for vehicle window tinting is part of the Road Transport (Amendment) Bill 2018 that was tabled in parliament yesterday. The amended bill is expected to be passed and gazetted for implementation by January 2019.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Matchy on Dec 11, 2018 at 1:08 pm

The government could set up national window tinting centres all over Malaysia and appoint authorized agents to install standard legal tints. Higher revenue for public coffers and vehicle number plate issued at JPJ only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • This Gov is all about making money. Rakyat interest diketepikan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Tax holiday i got new Civic beb. Hidop Gov!!

• But now u, me and everyone else have to pay much much more for petrol prices. Hidop Gov!! Matilah the pipu!

• Yeah more government bureaucracy. Because government is so efficient right?

• Abcdef on Dec 11, 2018 at 4:56 pm

Your suggestion most likely will create monopoly or oligopoly just like Puspakom.

• lol at national window tinting centres. you mean puspakom?

• Dr Strange on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Suddenly, Loki have became a doctor. He seemed to have discovered a new medical aliment called “too much money” syndrome. I don’t recall the medical community discussing and vetting this “new” aliment of his.

• Ongtk on Dec 11, 2018 at 1:29 pm

The move to impose a fee is baffling. To apply for tint above the approved limit, are medical reports needed to apply. Why make things complicated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • Slamet on Dec 11, 2018 at 4:58 pm

Correct. Why make things complicated?
      Keep calm and enjoy football the unifying factor among Malaysians of various races, religions and backgrounds.

• Badrul on Dec 12, 2018 at 9:21 am

We need more people from Mainland to run Putrajaya. At least we won’t get absurd laws like this

• panjang on Dec 11, 2018 at 1:36 pm

U can break the rule but u have to pay officially.
    Its like legalize bribe.

• Vader on Dec 11, 2018 at 1:39 pm

Exemption for darkened Vellfire & Alphards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
  • Michelin on Dec 11, 2018 at 1:50 pm

JPJ kurang kerja ke apa? Sistem r tax zaman purba bila mau revamp?

• mazlanFriedRice on Dec 11, 2018 at 2:17 pm

Good lah. Now the rich can tint their car black black.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Submechanophobia on Dec 12, 2018 at 9:51 am

They said “a fee” and we don’t know how much. You said the rich can’t tint their windows black, but they’re rich. If they can purchase MALAYSIA 1 plate numbers or X70 plate numbers for tens and hundreds of thousands, do you think a simple “fee” would stop them?

I have mixed feelings about this. Being a car enthusiast and designer, we all love the asthetics of cars with near black windows and its purely for design rather than privacy. But they cause severe problems for both enforcement (police at roadblocks) but even more so if you park next to a blacked-out Hellfire (Assphard) and trying to peek through the windows to see if there’s another Idiot zooming past behind you. Yes, i do not own a car with Rear-Traffic Cross Alert with Mitigation *cough* Infiniti i love you *cough*

• U-Tun on Dec 11, 2018 at 2:25 pm

This is even worse. It’s like protection money. Those who pay can have dark tint otherwise follow the rules. Why there’s double standards? What do you mean by not everyone who apply will get it because this sound really suspicious and subject to abuse of power. Seen enough of this gomen pattern liao liao already

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 6
  • Clearly a separation of the classes based on those who can pay to legalised and those who can’t will be fined.

• Hahaha! Din I say Loki is only here to make money? Everything is legalised and will be plotek as long u pay the kongsi money. This is like back in the Yap Ah Loy days. So nostalgic.

• JokoWi on Dec 11, 2018 at 3:19 pm

Just allow the use of dark tints in sunny malaysia. Fullstop!

U go to UK and US, no such problem. Why are malaysians always arguing about tints?

• turborider on Dec 11, 2018 at 3:24 pm

Rubbish

• azrai on Dec 11, 2018 at 3:27 pm

You don’t to abide the law if you have enough money. US has done this so. Fine misappropriate bankers instead of jailing them. Stole USD200m can settle for USD40m. I don’t get this.

• Lim Sa Man on Dec 11, 2018 at 3:47 pm

Saman = govt get money.
    Paying fees also give gomen money.

So fee = saman.

Clever.

• Ntahpe2 on Dec 11, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Mann.. other site of the globe they are moving to electification and self driving while we here are still talk about tint film..come on lahh…many other thing is more important to improve other than this lahh..aiyooo…PT also seem like no issue to write ..Aihyooo !!!

• ya right, money can solve things.

• Johnnas on Dec 11, 2018 at 4:41 pm

newfound medical condition; wealthy and well connected.

• Ben Yap on Dec 11, 2018 at 4:43 pm

Don’t vote for PH in the next GE. they are squeezing more money from the rakyat. even this small thing like tinting also want to make a fuss. i don’t see anything wrong with the old ruling.

• Chongbs on Dec 12, 2018 at 7:15 pm

I’m no voting them again for sure, conlanfirm. I also don’t see anything wrong with the old ruling, atleast it allow pulis officer to cari makan

• halimi on Dec 11, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Mean the rich who can afford a fees can bypass the law apply to those who can’t afford to pay a fees, 1 Malaysia 2 law, rich can ignore the rules.

What a wonderful NewMalaysia, but as usual no one is allowed to critics NewMalysia minister especially DAP Minister.

• YB Albert KUNTA on Dec 11, 2018 at 5:13 pm

YB Anthony…we have been hearing of so many new undang undang,and now tints…but sad to say…we usually end up seeing JPJ questioning foreigners or ‘EXTRA LONG CONVERSATION” with lorry drivers,at emergency lanes.
    Everyday…Vellfires,Alphards with blackish hell tints zooming in and out of traffic,with no regards to your tinting laws.
    The rakyat is beginning to see all the talk but lack of proper effective enforcement.
    Corruption is being tackled mostly against the IMDB bandits,but your ministry still stands out as a damn sore ministry.I prefer u remain unelected,than got elected but just talk 3 talk 4…just pathetic,Mr.YB Anthony.

• kaizen on Dec 11, 2018 at 6:19 pm

very good job anthoni. one finger up for the excellent creativity. NEXt, i can choose to opt for a fee, to have a licence that allow me to drive above speed limit!. bravo!. now i can drive 200 km/h.

• calcutta on Dec 11, 2018 at 7:16 pm

we’ll see many rich people running around in totally black tinted car with “medical condition”permit

• Privilege of rich on Dec 11, 2018 at 10:08 pm

Got change mei? if you are rich you can tint as dark as you want, if you are poor better follow the rules

• Ahmadjr on Dec 12, 2018 at 8:32 am

I kinda agree with this as long as we charge the rich kaw2 for super dark tint. Before this they just bribe the jpj and police to get pass, now they have to bribe us all

• vVivi Zurianti on Dec 12, 2018 at 9:03 am

how come VVIP cars allowed to be heavily tinted??? They got skin problems from head to toe, izit??

• New medical condition discovery: Wealthy & connected.
    Gets ur windows dark legally. Pay and go.

• richard on Dec 12, 2018 at 10:20 am

Money is king!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 12, 2018 at 10:25 am

another problem. each carmaker standard glass got different VLT, and the tint even though legal becomes not legal once u put on the glass

• Mr. Octopus on Dec 12, 2018 at 10:31 am

For those who are against dark tints, wait until the day your wife, sister or daughter driving alone and get the windows smashed at the traffic lights.

I don’t think you will feel the same way after that.

You can argue that by having security tint is safe enough but it does not deter the thieves from trying, which will cause a traumatizing life changing experience for the driver.

If the thieves can’t see what or who is in the car, they most likely will not even dare try.

Smash n grab crime is still a huge problem for us and we have to do what we have to do to protect our loved ones…

• Amer Amera on Dec 12, 2018 at 10:38 am

Semua kereta orang politik, Menteri, Ketua Jabatan, gangster yg dilindungi, mengunakan tinted yg terlalu gelap. Apakah mereka ini melebihi undangx2. Harap kementerian boleh menentukan siapakah yg layak mengunakan cermin hitam. Agung, Sultan, PM mungkin layak, lain? Harap dapat penjelasan.

• johnissohai on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:15 pm

i see alot of car owners had their windows tinted very dark…as shown as the above comments..LOL…

• ng cheong keat on Dec 12, 2018 at 3:49 pm

They made something illegal to become “legal” just because some money is paid.

• Passerby on Dec 13, 2018 at 12:41 pm

Loke is probably thinking people are going to have dark tint either way and pay kopi when caught so might as well give legal kopi directly to the govt. And when people register, the govt can ensure the person applying do not have any criminal record. Just hope the rules are not strict to allow ladies driving alone to have dark tint.

• Scott on Sep 14, 2022 at 1:18 pm

Eh, saman tint shop also lah.. then no one will use those tint.. makes 3x the revenue instead of just 2x..