Perodua releases second D38L SUV teaser – different face from Rush, ASA 2.0 with pedestrian detection

Perodua has released the second teaser of its upcoming new SUV, codenamed D38L and referred to internally as the NSU (New Sport Utilitymobile). The first one showed the SUV’s silhouette – which matches the Toyota Rush – and revealed its identity as a three-row seven-seater vehicle.

While the first teaser focused on size and space, this one zooms in on safety. “Your family’s safety comes first. What is coming will elevate their safety further,” the social media caption reads.

Following the precedent set by the Myvi, the upcoming Perodua SUV will also feature six airbags and the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite of safety features, but here, the latter is an upgraded ASA 2.0 with additional pedestrian detection.

The recently released Toyota Rush, which is a sister car of the Perodua SUV, has what Toyota brands Pre-Collision System. PCS is an improved version of the Myvi’s ASA with a working range up to 80 km/h (from 30 km/h) and pedestrian detection/braking up to 50 km/h. The ASA 2.0 mentioned here should carry the same software upgrades.

This time, Perodua is showing us the upper part of the NSU’s front end, which reveals similarities and differences with the Rush. The bonnet with two prominent humps (let’s not call them power domes here) are similar, as are the general shape of the LED headlamps and grille. That makes it clear that both cars are related, but the details set both apart.

The Perodua grille has one extra slat (five vs four, including top border) and the third bar acts as the signature “wings” to the Perodua badge. Neatly, the chrome bar (it’s lighter than the other slats) bridges the LED daytime running lights with the same thickness. Now that we’re there, upon closer inspection, the DRLs aren’t the same as Toyota’s – here, it’s a double dash versus the single stroke of the Rush, which points upwards into the body.

We see hints that the lower bumper is a unique Perodua item, too. There are faint “whiskers” on the space between the headlamps and lower intakes; this is not present on the Rush, which also comes with chunky lower body add-ons in Malaysia. The P2 SUV’s face is also different from that of the Indonesian market Daihatsu Terios, which is closer to the Rush in appearance. The Terios’ grille is very heavy on chrome and has the same slat count as the Rush (four).

From L-R: Toyota Rush in Malaysia, Indonesian market Daihatsu Terios

In the ad, Perodua says that the D38L is “petrol subsidy friendly” with a 1.5L engine (that’s if the proposed 1.5 litre engine cap for targeted fuel subsidies is confirmed by the government). The Rush comes with the Myvi’s 2NR Dual VVT-i engine and we’re expecting this car to carry the same powerplant as well. Toyota claims fuel economy of 15.6 km/l, which qualifies the seven-seater as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV).

It’s safe to assume that “Perodua’s Rush” will be priced lower than Toyota’s, which is pegged at RM93k to RM98k (est). The Honda BR-V‘s price range is from RM81k to RM88k.

There are two ways to view a possible RM70+k price tag for the P2 SUV – a seemingly popular one is that you can “top up a few k” for a Honda (despite the fact that the Perodua is subjectively better looking and will come with more kit, including ASA 2.0), but how about the same car as the Rush, with almost identical kit, for RM20k less? What say you?

GALLERY: Perodua SUV teaser at KLIMS 2018

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Rush 1.5S

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The difference between dominance and slacker.

• Stick Badge job on Dec 12, 2018 at 8:07 pm

What did Proton do ? Take some one else’s product and called it theirs … Protoniamah

• meladam on Dec 13, 2018 at 11:55 am

so now if we buy perodua equals to buying toyota (japanese)

if we buy proton, equals we buy Geely (china)

well, i go japanese for sure

• Your family’s safety comes first. What is coming will elevate their safety further

• Good job P2! Family’s safety first. For sure make this car the best choice for family as this car prioritised safety. Look at the X70, safety the last and not important! For sure make X70 the best choice for suicide as the X70 prioritised money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • Yeah right on Dec 12, 2018 at 8:26 pm

It’s the other way around. P2 and UMW only cares about fat profits. And idiots like you are their most ‘prized’ customers.

• Get your own nick. 2.0 ASA also fake one like 1.0?

• See you on Dec 13, 2018 at 4:10 am

Fake? Do you own myvi advance? If I don’t any myvi advance that have ASA then call ur self fake people.. only know to talk..

• alldisc on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:02 pm

If Toyota sells a unit of rush, they make profit.
    If perodua sells a unit of d38L, Toyota still makes profit.. As a shareholder thru daihatsu and also as royalties for patent usage.

No difference in any way whatsoever.

• ducatiscrambler on Dec 12, 2018 at 7:02 pm

2005 Myvi vs Savvy.
      2017 Myvi vs Iriz.
      2018 P2 SUV vs X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • azrai on Dec 13, 2018 at 9:50 am

If you buy Proton DRB-HICOM made profit.

If you buy Honda still DRB-HICOM made profit.

When people buy P2 and T, Malaysian gain by their shares in PNB UMW.

• Dylan Chng on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:06 pm

NSU, was a German manufacturer of automobiles

• YH Chuah on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Same $$$, rather buy Proton X70 turbo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • roti john on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:12 pm

x70 price announced oredy?

• Pak Tampung Tayar on Dec 13, 2018 at 12:36 am

Can you just Google it? P1 official site got them already!

• john finally nangis on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:19 pm

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, each teasers made john heart beat faster. Habisla, habisla X70! Please have mercy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • John Minum Teh 8X will start crying anytime on Dec 12, 2018 at 4:52 pm

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, each teasers made John Minum Teh 8X heat beat faster and faster. Habisla, habisla Perodua Terios! Please have mercy!

• john and John Minum Teh 8X started crying on Dec 12, 2018 at 5:38 pm

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, each teasers made john and John Minum Teh 8X heart beat faster and faster. Habisla, habisla Proton X70 and Perodua X8! Please have mercy! Habisla national cars!

• Mat Bond on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:20 pm

Ugly…

• Axia – RM22k-39k
    Bezza – RM33k-46k
    MyVi – RM41k-52k
    Alza – RM51k-62k
    Lasaq/Aruz/Impax – 62k-75k?

• John Otak Labu Siau on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:24 pm

Perodua, nooo! Please don’t release the X70, Mitsubishi X70 for sure finished if Projohn release the new X70. Perodua habislah if Honda release new BRV, for sure can tapau Suzuki sales if this new SUV terbakar! Moreover, so many accidents in road and so many johns! Suddenly, I saw pipu at kedai eat tea 10X!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • You finally went crazy, huh? Go sell other things if your showroom always empty and sales so bad. Selling cars is not your thing.

• Another crazy guy on Dec 12, 2018 at 8:52 pm

This guy seriously needs to be in a mental hospital

• azrai on Dec 13, 2018 at 9:51 am

The otak labu mean something really..

• Under power car,better minimize the length and made it to 5 seater and reduce weight

• Safety First on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:40 pm

At 30 km/h detection range again?! Sorry, but I can brake faster than that. Please give me X70’s safety features instead.

• Fadzili Rahman on Dec 12, 2018 at 7:25 pm

Proton is no longer proton . It’s a backwards Chinese car which is not even approved for sale In Europe or USA. Everything geely has is stolen or taken or bought from others. No innovation or achievement.

• Air'mez on Dec 13, 2018 at 4:14 am

30 meter brake to avoid collusion.. then u want 100 meter brake meyh?.. u can brake faster if u alert on the road but u will heat front car bumper if u are not alert when driving.. that why it call “Assist” duh…

• guan yin ma on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:42 pm

1.5 litre 4 speed auto rear wheel drive @ ladder frame with spring suspension. Prepare to bounce until your ass blow up for rear passenger.

• Rushterrios on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Klon pun klon la. Beli saja. Lols.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Would any of you pay 70k+ for an ancient 4-speeder…?

• Isaytalksaja on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:51 pm

I dont knw wat others think, but the design of rush n terrios isnt much suv style, more like jacked up mpv. And yahh…this rush design is not everyone favourite too. I hope p2 can sell well for their 1st suv wannabe. Seriously they need to design better than this.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 12, 2018 at 12:56 pm

LOL “top up a few k”

So you guys do read LYN /k

• This will surely exterminate the tong san made X70. Heard from my proton friend many customers have cancelled their X70 order and will wait for this Toyota SUV. This will sure be another best seller like the Axia, Bezza and Myvi.

• Projohn telah Perojohn on Dec 12, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Habisla Projohn! He already knew the X70 for sure habis if this comes out. Now he became Perojohn! Perodua Super Fanboy! Habisla X70

• Will it be the exact same spec as the Toyota Rush? If I can buy from Perodua at a cheaper price, who would buy from Toyota?

• Juika on Dec 12, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Simply put it should be priced below RM50k.

• thomas on Dec 12, 2018 at 1:30 pm

terios with perodua symbol

• TongHoi on Dec 12, 2018 at 1:47 pm

Habis lah boyue. Can tapao go back China

• TQ P2 on Dec 12, 2018 at 1:54 pm

It’s 12.12 and 2pm already. When Proton gonna launch the x70?

• Rozie si pencuri hati on Dec 12, 2018 at 4:11 pm

At night you idiot…. Tu lah baca malas, tahu questioned je… SAMPAH….

• TQ P2 on Dec 12, 2018 at 6:08 pm

Give me the link in paultan.org that stated it launch at night. All those x70 articles i read stated 12.12 only. Sampah punya nabila razali fans pencuri telur ada laa

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 12, 2018 at 2:55 pm

This car come out, habis lah Proton X70. Although Proton is higher spec but it is still a China car.

Toyota and Daihatsu engined cars are sold in 200 countries worldwide. Geely cannot sell their cars in first world countries because too low quality. And 95% of their cars are only sold in China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • potential buyer on Dec 12, 2018 at 6:04 pm

4 speeder ancient engine no thanks

• Dude, stop the lies and bullshit. Rush and Terios only selling in 3rd world countries.

• Ben Yap on Dec 12, 2018 at 3:22 pm

surely it will not be turbocharged and will not be faster than the civic turbo.

• UMW Jual Mahal on Dec 12, 2018 at 3:24 pm

Ladies & gentlemen, please meet the all-brand new Perodua Aruz.

• Why waste money on this? You know very well all Perodua cars will go into SC in few months later and never return.

Better go for BR-V.

• Axxx salah on Dec 12, 2018 at 7:28 pm

Salah! Better go for X70 as the X70 is the best choice. Moreover, better go for Toyota Rush/Perodua Terios instead of BR-V. BR-V have a terrible quality and will never return after going to SC. BR-V already habis!

• Toyota is very smart. They are aware of the low sale volume of Rush, and immediate introduction of perodua SUV will beat his competitor flat especially the coming proton X70.

Perodua Myvi is a very good example on how the toyota strategies done to help them to increase their sale if Toyota Vios fail.

• P2 fan on Dec 12, 2018 at 6:14 pm

Can the current myvi ASA system upgraded software and become to this ASA 2.0?? PLS be fair to all the new myvi owner.

• Same L0rr on Dec 12, 2018 at 8:25 pm

I hope that is DRL. Not position lamp..

• I hope it will not be “tail happy” when we take the corners and on wet roads like the “Toyota rush”, coz it was a nightmare to drive fast and on rainy days. How many have become turtle because of it…

Oh erm….. seriously, still with 4 speed since the rush was introduced? At least add another gear. Driving at 100km and wanting to over take another car seems to be like “4ever”.

• will there be 4wd option? what a shame if 4wd is not offered. i’m looking forward for a 7 seater 4wd vehicle within the below 100k price range.

• azrai on Dec 13, 2018 at 9:53 am

Perodua tergesa-gesa. Can we buy Toyota Rush or Daihatsu Terios in Japan?