G20 BMW 3 Series debuts at Singapore Motor Show

The latest G20 BMW 3 Series is another car that is making its debut at the 2019 Singapore Motor Show, albeit as a preview. A core model in the German carmaker’s line-up, the sedan being presented here is the 330i variant trimmed with M Sport items.

Compared to its predecessor, the F30, the G20 is 76 mm longer (4,709 mm), 16 mm wider (1,827 mm), 1 mm taller (1,442 mm) and has a 41 mm longer wheelbase (2,851 mm). Under the skin, the new 3 Series benefits from an increased use of aluminium and high-strength steels, so it’s now up to 55 kg lighter than before.

Styling-wise, the new 3er gets larger kidney grilles at the front that are now joined in the middle, which are also linked to the headlamps. The latter on this unit features U-shaped daytime running lights, which are an option in certain markets.

As for the rear, new LED taillights feature a three-dimensional L-shaped design and tinted clusters. The rear reflectors are positioned higher and merge with the base of the boot lid, while the dual exhaust are highlighted by bulges in the lower apron.

The interior follows in the footsteps of recent BMW models like the G15 8 Series, G05 X5 and G29 Z4 by adopting a similar dashboard layout. This particular unit comes with the Live Cockpit Professional package that includes a 10.25-inch centre screen and 12.3-inch instrument display, with both powered by the new BMW Operating System 7.0.

Under the hood, the 330i comes with a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder making 258 hp and 400 Nm of torque, paired with an eight-speed automatic transmission.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I will just stick to the F30…. G20 is just getting bigger which I don’t prefer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 11, 2019 at 1:11 pm

F30 is a flawed 3er unless u get the M3 Comp pack. The G20 addresses almost all of its issues save for some cheap plasticky bits. But yes it’s too huge for a 3er.

• dooop on Jan 11, 2019 at 2:37 pm

Correct. G20 is even bigger then my seken E39.

• musangKing-originalz on Jan 11, 2019 at 4:21 pm

one of the most boring interior of recent released model…where did they learn to do that?

• Johnny Johnny Yes Papa on Jan 10, 2019 at 8:23 pm

Voting time !

Like for BMW G20
    Dislike for C class

• Grandpa is Old on Jan 10, 2019 at 8:28 pm

Good on the exterior front.. But wait a minute.. is that a Lexus trademark tail light? Wow that dashboard is so retro or the old 90s design.. Someone would be sacked soon..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • It is best to say nothing if you know nothing.
      Lexus copied the BMW tail light and now you said it is Lexus trademark. BMW X5 2010 already had the L-shape LED tail light, when Lexus has it, 2018?

• The 3er selling for RM488,000 in Singapore.

• hazamiey on Jan 11, 2019 at 12:45 am

When reached bolehland, we only get the sombre looking dark grey interior as loved by most Malaysians. Why? Bcoz tahan dirty maa.. if want to resell, still got higher value somemore.. Yucks! Our people really has bad taste in cars. Ughh..

• Kalo92 on Jan 11, 2019 at 6:33 am

Liking the new front. Looks aggressive af!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2019 at 9:12 am

I don’t now why this car and many other cars are launching in Singapore Motor Show.

What is wrong with our KLIMS? Is our International Motor Show just to showcase credit cards by banks, engine oils and wiper blades?

Pity, it looks like Singapore Motor Show has overtaken our KLIMS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 11, 2019 at 1:12 pm

Yep went to KLIMS 2018 and was utterly disappointed with the cars on display. Better don’t do 2019.

• donthavename on Jan 11, 2019 at 1:17 pm

i went to Singapore Audi show last year, they let me sat in almost every cars they displayed except the really exclusive and limited one.

Sales guys also patiently explained every details of the car to me even thought i told them i can’t afford and no need to waste their time.

• Digidigi on Jan 11, 2019 at 2:46 pm

Singapore is first world country, we are third world

• When is the launch date in Malaysia?

• passion on Jan 11, 2019 at 9:29 am

gorgeous as always.

• Golfer on Jan 11, 2019 at 10:12 am

Easily the most desirable Sedan of the year. I cant wait to test drive it.

• Zaidee oilgas on Jan 13, 2019 at 11:32 pm

Very desirable indeed. Plan to trade in my 2013 316i, but only max offer 93k. Bought new 203K

• Bernard on Jan 11, 2019 at 10:46 am

This new 3 series going to make the current C class look like an old uncle.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 11, 2019 at 4:53 pm

Handsome and sporty design. Won’t mistake it from anything but a BMW. Maybe at first would be a tad bit difficult to differentiate it from the F30. But you’ll get used to it. Dash looks OK, way better than the F30. However, not a fan of the anticlockwise rev counter. But guess they did it so that you have more space in the middle in between speedo and tacho. Would be better if they have option for rev counter to sweep across clockwise, with the speed in digital number below it.