TAS 2019: Honda Civic Versatilist – Civic SUV, anyone?

As you all know by now, SUVs are all the rage these days, and every carmaker worth its salt is getting in on the fun. Honda itself has two strong-selling models in the segment – the B-segment HR-V and the larger, more practical CR-V. But what if you wanted something more, you know, car-like? The company’s accessories division, Access, may have something to say about that with the Honda Civic Versatilist concept.

Presented at the Tokyo Auto Salon over the weekend, the Versatilist takes a standard Civic Hatchback and dresses it up with grey body cladding that makes it mildly reminiscent of the Subaru XV – a jacked-up Impreza in the same vein, let’s not forget. The cutouts in the wheel arch extensions, for example, are carbon copies of the ones you’ll find on the Pleiades-badged car.

Also reminiscent of the XV is the way the front moulding reaches up into the redesigned bumper, which features large round fog lights and a wider centre air intake. The rear bumper has also been restyled and incorporates a slim central tailpipe instead of the usual pair of round exhaust exits.

Capping it all off are 18-inch alloy wheels from the HR-V RS, a fin-shaped door appliqué and a matte grey finish on the grille garnish and door mirrors to match the rest of the car. Inside, you’ll find white part-leather, part-fabric upholstery that is not found in the standard palette and is pleasing to the eye.

The Versatilist is a concept for now, but seeing as it’s been built by an in-house accessories maker, perhaps you might see a similar kit on dealer shelves in the future. Would you want to dress your Civic up like this? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Happy on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:18 pm

More like a Civic crossover instead of SUV. As far as car based SUV goes, XV is still the benchmark. This Civic body shape looks nothing similar.

• Abezla Civic on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:30 pm

Did Ben Yap designed this ugliness?

• tokmoh. on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:32 pm

Woah!! The real game changer! X70 terbakar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • rosli maza on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:39 pm

what theee…..slam some bodykit and call it a concept..well done Honda

• XV copy cat

• Lin Dan Muthu on Jan 14, 2019 at 1:28 pm

Problem is those who can afford it in Bolehland won’t be able to pronounce ‘Versatilist ‘

How?

• idiot lin dan muthu on Jan 15, 2019 at 8:06 am

u want to bash the car..bash the car..dont call name for my country…get lost from this country…idiot…

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:49 pm

If got SUV Civic, this car will sell well. Habis lah the cow dung X70 like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Ben yap on Jan 14, 2019 at 3:00 pm

what the hell did i see? it’s no more a civic. it’s a cibek…. cibek looking car!

• but..why?

• A car with a hatchback and body kits= suv
    I guess kancil can be suv too

• Proud&DelicateBumi on Jan 14, 2019 at 7:43 pm

Wow that butt… Proud is that you?

• Uncle Lim on Jan 16, 2019 at 9:10 pm

fugly