2019 Toyota C-HR introduced in Malaysia – new colour option, updated styling and equipment list; RM150k

The Toyota C-HR has been given an update for the 2019 model year, gaining not only a new colour option, but also some styling and equipment enhancements. In terms of pricing, the C-HR remains unchanged at RM150,000 on-the-road without insurance, which is the same as what was indicated in UMW Toyota’s post-SST price list.

Starting with the expanded colour palette, the C-HR can now be ordered in Radiant Green Metallic, which joins the existing Metal Stream Metallic, Attitude Black Mica, White Pearl CS, Blue Metallic and Red Mica.

Like the Blue Metallic and Red Mica finishes, the new exterior paint colour is paired with a black-painted roof for a two-tone look, and it’ll cost you an additional RM800 – the black roof is also available with White Pearl CS as an option.

Styling changes include new-design 17-inch two-tone wheels that replace the previous five-spoke set, while silver garnishing adorns various parts of the exterior. These include the corner inlets of the front bumper, side mouldings and around the rear reflectors.

The company is also offering an optional TRD Sportivo Aerokit package for RM3,990, which adds on front and rear underguards. The kit comes fully imported from Toyota’s regional production hub for the C-HR in Thailand, with installation being performed locally – the parts are covered by a warranty.

Inside, the C-HR gains a new infotainment touchscreen that measures 6.75 inches, and the system features Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support. Other items such as six speakers, a dual-zone climate control system, 4.2-inch multi-info instrument display and leather seats remain as before.

Similarly, the rest of the kit is unchanged, and includes seven airbags, VSC, Hill-start Assist Control (HAC), blind spot monitor, RCTA, tyre pressure monitoring system, LED daytime running lights, auto lights/wipers, keyless entry and push start and anti-dazzle rear view mirror.

No changes under the bonnet either, as the C-HR continues to be powered by a 1.8 litre four-cylinder engine with 140 PS and 171 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The naturally aspirated 2ZR-FBE Dual VVT-i unit sends drive to the front wheels via a CVT automatic with seven-speed “Sequential Shiftmatic” manual mode.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dylan Chng on Jan 22, 2019 at 8:06 pm

wow! Apple CarPlay and Android Auto! even USDM toyota’s don’t have both tech in one car.

• The 50 buyers earlier on will curse Toyota for not including this.

• The front of the CHR already looks kinda froggy. Now with the green colour choice, Pepe and Kerokeroppi fans can rejoice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • JOACHIM on Jan 23, 2019 at 11:16 am

Overpriced, underspecced and totally ugly. This is not even a proper SUV. Comparatively Proton X70 is the better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • suomynona on Jan 23, 2019 at 1:57 pm

I’ll never unsee the fact it looks like Pepe now Hahah

• Pyraxle on Jan 22, 2019 at 8:25 pm

That green colour with two tone wheels are absolutely beautiful! Now i don’t mind paying more than HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • The john on Jan 22, 2019 at 9:15 pm

The real game changing update! HABISLA eeX Seventeeeeh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • You Only Live Once. Go CHR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Safety First on Jan 23, 2019 at 11:51 am

With that underspeced safety? In CHR, you only crash once. Then KO.

• Pak cik on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:52 pm

What a price ! LOL

• a a ron on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:10 pm

Hell to the no no.

• Pakulupapito on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:21 pm

The more I look, the uglier it gets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • I’m glad it’s not just me that thinks that way.

The exterior looks like it has been designed by Homer Simpson.

• Sohai (not ori) on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:27 pm

Congrats to previous owners who bought just a few months ago!! And TQ for stating where the bodykit installation was done , as never found out about this issue for the Corolla

• Rm150k you simpan la.

• Jane Doe on Jan 23, 2019 at 1:22 am

wise man buys Aruz get extra monies can spend on other luxury.

• Henry on Jan 23, 2019 at 10:09 am

What you want to do something you’ll have a hundred reasons, but when you don’t want to do something you have a thousand justifications. Yours comment is a good example of the latter.

• Autobahn on Jan 23, 2019 at 7:52 am

20 years ago when i hear TRD the first thing that came to my mind is supra, altezza….but nowadays…TRD = vios, and all other lame sub 150hp wannabes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • The most funny part is:

TRD pickup truck (Hilux) instead of performance sport cars.

• John Woo on Jan 23, 2019 at 8:33 am

Great looking SUV but without the 1.2T or 1.8Hybrid engines, it will just be an okay SUV.

• For young Toyota fanboi, buying this compact crossover is very exciting, but everyone in different stage has different consumer needs. If you are not a person who is needs to take care of the family, even you like C-HR, this compact crossover may not be suitable for you. If you are middle-aged uncle, but you have a young heart and wanna drive yourself without taking care of anybody, then C-HR is suitable for you.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 23, 2019 at 9:38 am

halogen lamps….sedap lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • pirate on Jan 23, 2019 at 2:50 pm

When even UMW’s sister company Aruz have full LED headlamps no matter the specs…

• DeanZ on Jan 23, 2019 at 10:52 am

The more you look, the uglier you get.

• Can Perodua do the same for Toyota CHR like what they did with Toyota Rush for Aruz ? Named it Arz and sell it for RM80k. Oh please Perodua

• Perodua cannot do, compact crossover X50 will do. X50 vs C-HR: exterior look nicer, size bigger, spec higher and more power but price lower. RM80k sure go for X50.

• Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2019 at 5:07 pm

better get a HRV Modulo… as always, it’s a better buy.

• Pricing is ridiculous. Should be below RM50k

• Everyone thought it was beautiful until they saw it on the road….beyond ugly!