Driven 2019 Teaser: Proton X70 2WD Premium vs Honda CR-V 1.5 TC-P vs Subaru XV – coming soon!

If you’ve been following us here and on our social platforms, you’d know by now that the Driven Web Series is back. To kick things off in 2019, we’ve lined up the most anticipated SUV shootout yet, featuring Proton’s first ever SUV, the X70.

Priced from RM99,800 to RM123,800, the C-segment Proton SUV immediately positions itself as a hard bargain to pass, significantly undercutting the Honda CR-V (segment leader by way of sales) in pricing and, depending on variant, specs.

From a value perspective, the Subaru XV 2.0i Premium is easily one of the strongest contenders for the money, offering great handling dynamics, road holding characteristics, refinement and ride comfort, all for RM126,788.

So, just how will the Proton X70 stack up against the CR-V (our previous top pick) and the athletic XV? Find out in the next Driven Web Series episode, which goes live this weekend. Stay tuned, folks!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• John Cinta MO1 on Jan 22, 2019 at 6:28 pm

I believe Malaysians will buy the two Japanese cars over the China-made one.

The X70 may be a good car, but Malaysians have a NEGATIVE mindset with regards to cars made in Tongsan.

Also, when you send your Proton at SC for repair, the Proton worker will say ‘Bang, ni Proton bang. Ni biasa lah bang, what do you expect?’

The CRV will remain popular.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 19
    • Really? on Jan 23, 2019 at 8:08 pm

You should ask those CRV and Civic owners still waiting for their steering rack replacement. Honda quality is down the drain because they are chasing sales number at the sake of build quality.

• Konte kote on Jan 24, 2019 at 5:36 pm

I booked X70 over the other 2…. So how ah?

• Abdul Rahman Bin Kassim on Jan 24, 2019 at 10:18 pm

Habisla! Later, when you send your X70 for repair at workshop, the worker will tell you ‘Bang, ni kereta Geely bang, ni problem selalu ade bang, what do you expect?’

• My sister canceled the booking CR-V and choose X70 Premium.

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 22, 2019 at 6:50 pm

Proton X70 vs Honda CRV vs Subaru XV!

I want to laugh so loud HAHAHAHA!

RIP X70…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
  • Curious Onlooker on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:07 pm

There has been a lot of claims by the salespeople and some members of the media; that the X70 has a very “European” feel and even to the point it is better than some of the German stablemates. This reminds me of the time when there were claims the then-newly launched Waja was a “BMW 3-series competitor”. Maybe, a comparo test between the X70 and VW Tiguan, BMW X1, Volvo XC40 et al..? Yes, different price point but interesting to see if the claims are substantiated..! Thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • JOACHIM on Jan 23, 2019 at 3:29 pm

If u want to comparo European feel, why include luxury brands like BMW & Volvo? VW, yes but then comparo should better matched with Peugeot 3008, Citroen C4/C5, Borgward BX5.

• Ah beng on Jan 23, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Shall bring in xc40 for comparison too

• Susukotak on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:20 pm

fuel guzzler x70

• Lee Chin on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:28 pm

…& CX-5 (2nd gen) would have won easily!

• What’s the point, regardless of the actual relative performances of the cars are, they will just say the CRV is the best. Like the previous comparison they did between the CRV, CX5 and 3008.

• stastasta on Jan 23, 2019 at 5:03 pm

crv memang is the best , no doubt about it. if you ignore the price. keep in mind the cheapest crv is 20k more than the most expensive x70.

• Celup King on Jan 24, 2019 at 9:46 am

Cheapest CRV is totally kosong compared to top spec X70 which has more tech than even top spec CRV. Keep in mind that.

• Key-talk on Jan 24, 2019 at 3:05 pm

Ignore the price? For real? Then i pick ferarri

• Dong gor on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:45 pm

Where is cx5? It’s good to have the Xv too but cx5 is a closer contender that needs to in here!
    Paultan pls consider the cx5 Ya…

• Premium Who on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:59 pm

CX5 skyactiv-D > ALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • JOACHIM on Jan 23, 2019 at 11:23 am

Skyactiv-D will have lots of problems with B10 biodiesel later.

• Why not the Forester instead of the XV? Some quarters (OK, mainly the resident troll Kunta Kinte) keep harping that the Forester same price as the X70.

• DPcraft on Jan 23, 2019 at 10:16 am

Buy SUV Guide paling jujur*

Honda CRV – Space
      Mazda CX5 – Drive
      VW Tiguan – Handling
      Hyundai Tucson – Tech
      Perodua Aruz – Practical
      Proton X70 – All the above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • Yes. Meanwhile his Arus & Rush is not welcomed. Kesian, b4 lawan alredi kalah.

• Subaru xv is one class lower. It should be compared to subaru forester.

• It should be fairly straightforward. If you want a good SUV, buy the XV. If you want something bigger, buy the CR-V. End of story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Redkote on Jan 22, 2019 at 9:33 pm

Why XV, but not the Subaru Forester and CX5 ?

• Lolz! P2 SUV was deemed not worthy to enter the ring.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:02 pm

No Mitsubishi Outlander & Subaru Forester? Incomplete.

• Let me guess… overall champion for best value: X70 > CRV > XV. Actually it depends on what you need. If you need a driver car, XV it is; value for money, semua ada; X70 it is, practicality, brand value, CRV it is.

• Raja Kamarul on Jan 23, 2019 at 12:54 pm

If you’ve driven the XV for a few years, you’ll notice suddenly the poor build quality of Tan Chong.

This shootout seems a tad unfair but I guess most of PT’s comparos will have a left winger on board. Can’t wait!

• Brand value doesn’t need to pay more 40k.
      Driver car definitely go for XV.
      Practically and best value go for X70.

• Xeonese Intel on Jan 23, 2019 at 1:36 am

Why no review together with Harrier and CX-5 and Tiguan and Tucson?

• Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2019 at 10:09 am

close 2 eyes also know the best is crv la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Wow, like that other brands should just close shop, why compete with Honda? This expert Ben no need test drive, no need even see (because his 2 eyes closed the whole time, you see) the car already proclaim CRV the best.

• Afeeq on Jan 23, 2019 at 1:34 pm

Nope. CRV got Crap RV

• Dah minum susu belum? Go to bed, it’s a school night!

• Joko Toh on Jan 28, 2019 at 1:46 am

Hahaha… the best in your dream probably

• I have tested these 3 SUVs.
    NVH: X70 > XV > CR-V
    Ride & Handling: XV > X70 > CR-V
    Space: CR-V > X70 > XV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Err. This is compare similar pricing or similar segment? XV seems out of place since its a crossover body, but quite similar in terms of pricing.

Maybe PT intention is to compare X70 with CRV in segmentwise and XV in pricewise but that seems like quite a missmatch fight, like boxing vs muay thai vs kungfu.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jan 23, 2019 at 2:59 pm

We’ve already determined that the Honda CR-V is the best SUV in the Proton X70’s segment, so we thought we’d also provide a comparison with a similarly priced model – and out of all the cars in the price range, we’d pick the Subaru XV. So that’s how we came up with the comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
      • Hmm, I guess better make clear since u guys r comparing with 2 diff criterias. X70 vs CRV in segment comparison and X70 vs XV in price comparison. It wun be a proper comparison since customers for CRV (Rm163k) wun be looking at XV (Rm123k) and vice versa.

All in all, X70 is in the sweet spot and cud draw in both segment customers.

• Thanks Mr. Lee for your response. Is this a completely independent comparison or sponsored by any of the manufacturers?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jan 24, 2019 at 11:00 am

Independent, of course – the X70 in this video was purchased by Hafriz himself.

• Perhaps it would be great to reassure the viewers the same. Often there’s a feeling amongst the common viewers (including myself) that PT is favouring one or two brands against others. (Going too soft on these brands and really picky and harsh on other brands). Hence my request.

• Side Observer on Jan 23, 2019 at 11:51 am

Its interesting so many comments from salespersons and even media, that the X70 “feels European”.. even to the point it feels “German”. This reminds me of the time many coffeeshop pundits claimed the then-newly launched Waja is a “BMW 3-series fighter”. How about putting this point out there and doing a European SUV vs X70 comparo test? VW Tiguan, BMW X3, Volvo XC40 perhaps? Different value proposition and target audience (Proton vs semi-premium / premium), but would put rest that lingering question now; how “European” does the X70 feel..?

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 23, 2019 at 4:01 pm

This one, macam got read before.

Eh, John, why you have so many dupes repeating the same drivel? Still getting paid as cybertrooper meh?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 24, 2019 at 4:31 pm

proton x70. most overhyped car of 2019.

• ASEAN CrossOver Club on Jan 23, 2019 at 12:18 pm

We would like to Suggest “moose test” included into all SUV categories review.

• benzs on Jan 23, 2019 at 1:39 pm

China VS Japan.
    Pricing : China
    Quality : Japan
    Durability : Japan
    Trusted RV : Japan
    Worry Free : Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Quality: Takatagate. Japan winrar.
      Durability: Rear axles detaching. Japan winrar.
      RV: Ravine Valley. Japan winrar.
      Worry free: Early afterlife so no worries. Japan winrar.

• Early KO: Japan

• Noobs on Jan 23, 2019 at 8:50 pm

How about CX5?

• The x70 price should be between 70-80k, then it will be more competitive.

• Ramlee on Jan 24, 2019 at 6:28 pm

Bro dont just buy the body buy the body and soul