Next-gen Perodua Axia rendered based on X-Concept

At last year’s Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS18), Perodua unveiled the X-Concept as a design study for a compact hatchback. Touted as “The Perodua of Tomorrow,” the show car features futuristic styling that is matched with modern connectivity.

While the national carmaker did not reveal if a new model based on the concept would be made, some believe that the X-Concept is a preview for the next-generation Axia, which is well into its fifth year.

Should that be the case, these renders may serve as an indicator of what an all-new Axia might look like. Examining the renders closely, the “new Axia” retains the overall shape of the concept, albeit with significant revisions to its design.

Up front, the upper grille and lower intake does without the X motif, and adopt a more conventional appearance instead. In terms of the former, you can see hints of the Aruz, with a multi-slat grille whereby the centre bar that hosts the Perodua logo is thicker.

That chrome piece leads into the sleek headlamps, which feature black trim just below the clusters to better frame the grille. Meanwhile, the concaved sections at the corners of the bumper accommodate the front fog lamps, themselves with black surrounds.

Along the sides, there’s a set of wheels from the latest Alza, and you’ll also noticed the updated paint scheme. Rather than the three-colour look on the concept (black roof, white C-pillars and red body), there’s only two colours here, with a red body and a black C-pillar to retain the “floating roof.” Other details include door handles and side mirrors from the Aruz, while the lower black trim piece between the wheels are carried over from the concept.

It should be noted that the X-Concept measures 3,750 mm long by 1,665 mm wide, with a 2,460 mm wheelbase, placing it squarely between the Axia (3,640 mm long, 1,620 mm wide, 2,455 mm wheelbase) and Myvi (3,895 mm long, 1,735 mm wide, 2,500 mm wheelbase). As the X-Concept’s designer revealed previously, this package size is for a global compact car that fits in the A-segment.

We’re sure many of you will have your own opinions on what you see before you; so voice them out in the comments below.

GALLERY: Perodua X-Concept at KLIMS18

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Striking awesome!!!
    This will be a real game changer, habisla Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • EDITOR on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Axia supposed to be small city car but this design apes the SUV looks Totally out of place, I don’t think this design will work to carry on the Axia sales.

• Clark Kent on Jan 23, 2019 at 3:06 pm

x-concept SUV is too obese mimicking the size of mini countryman.

• kereta_lembu on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:58 pm

I’ve got to say, Perodua has shown steady growth/improvement in their vehicles over the years. Of course they are no where close to the Koreans in terms of growth but at least they are showing signs of maturity as a company. So, good job and well done to Perodua. They are making ‘most’ Malaysians proud.

• Akira on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Would consider this if the final product is similar to the rendering.

Wouldn’t think of Axia will look that matured.

• Veyron Owner on Jan 22, 2019 at 3:01 pm

Yucks! And they say my Veyron was ugly. Take a look at this!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Tak payah fikir, tak payah pening P2…. beli je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 22, 2019 at 3:47 pm

This car come out, habis la Saga and Persona. Already Aruz is wiping out China made X70.

Malaysians prefer Japanese Toyota engined Perodua cars anytime. At least Toyota engines are sold in over 200 over countries including all first world countries.

Geely cars cannot be sold in all First World countries because rejected due to low quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Looks like a winner

• Zhariff on Jan 22, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Looks like honda hrv and mazda cx3 made love and had a children

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Shah Jawa on Jan 22, 2019 at 4:52 pm

Wish that P2 would make a car that can fit Malaysians .. in general, we are an obesity country ..

Myvi is good, for the youglings .. but for the one who are still young at heart, like me (hehe) i have no real choice ..

• auntoe on Jan 22, 2019 at 5:38 pm

Wow…Perodua models getting better & better. Hopefully it is still within d affordable range.

• Lee Chin on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:20 pm

nice photoshop. who did this? credit goes to who? i wonder…

• John Ulat Lalat on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:23 pm

Mau angkat satu la ini mcm

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 22, 2019 at 8:05 pm

Fanbois be jizzing in their pants.

• Imho… Axia is one of the best mini-car designs. It’s a long way from the horrible Kancil, the almost as bad Viva and the abomination that was the Juara. Kelisa was and still is nice though.

• Safety First on Jan 23, 2019 at 10:00 am

Not really. It doesn’t have ESC & stability control, making it an unsafe car.

• Dogbert on Jan 23, 2019 at 1:53 pm

Kelisa is the best ‘go-kart’ i have ever driven from Perodua

• Hentamajela on Jan 23, 2019 at 5:53 am

Tak payah fikir tak payah pening p2…..kompom terbabas…masuk line org…

• Maria on Jan 23, 2019 at 11:47 am

Hopefully next generation axia will have esc and 6 airbags as option on certain variant. ASA 2.0 perhaps??

• Please bring back Kancil with 1.5l

• Chong wan kee on Jan 23, 2019 at 3:31 pm

Perodua bezza new

• chong tan on Apr 25, 2019 at 4:02 pm

im waiting for the new 2019 perodua axia..who knows when the exactly new facelift of axia will be announced ??

• Edward on Jan 12, 2020 at 10:40 pm

Look like CX-3

• Forrest on Feb 02, 2021 at 6:33 pm

The front styling is heavily inspired by the Aruz. To be honest I don’t like it’s styling, I like the one in the ASA 2.0 vehicle in the video..

• Why so obsessed with suv… Nonolah