Mazda CX-8 arrives in Malaysia for first official preview – 4 variants listed, six- and seven-seat versions, CKD

The Mazda CX-8 has arrived in Malaysia as part of an official preview, and we’re being treated to preliminary details of the SUV that offers seating for up to seven people.

For now, four variants of the CX-8 are being listed, with only one being powered by a 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D four-cylinder turbodiesel engine making 188 hp at 4,500 rpm and 450 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. The diesel option is also the only one that gets all-wheel drive system.

As for the remaining three petrol variants, they all use the same 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G naturally-aspirated four-cylinder with 192 hp at 6,000 rpm and 257 Nm at 3,250 rpm – drive goes to the front wheels. All variants use a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission.

In terms of specifications, all the CX-8 variants are almost identical, with the only difference being the seat layout and material. However, keep in mind that the equipment list is tentative and could be changed moving forward.

Getting back on track, all four variants are fitted as standard with 19-inch alloy wheels, automatic LED headlights, LED fog lamps, LED taillights, keyless entry and start, triple-zone climate control, 10-way powered driver’s seat, MZD Connect, six airbags, Dynamic Stability Control, ABS with EBD and brake assist, traction control and Hill Launch Assist.

Any i-Activsense active safety systems have yet to be decided upon, but Mazda’s G-Vectoring Control technology is present here, along with its i-Stop idling system.

Focusing on the seating situation, the base variant will come with seven seats spread across three benches (2-3-2). Moving up a peg is a six-seat variant with two captain chairs in the middle row (2-2-2), which uses fabric seats along with the base variant.

The remaining two variants both offer two captain chairs in the second row. The difference from the variants below them are the use of leather upholstery and the addition of centre console armrest for the second row.

Once again, these details are not finalised as this is not an official launch but merely a preview. We’ve been told that the CX-8 will be a locally-assembled (CKD) model, with plans to export to other markets in the region. Interested?

Mazda CX-8 2.5L (seven-seat version)

Mazda CX-8 2.2D (six-seat version)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• (Like) Mazda CX8
    (Dislike) Nissan X-Trail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 12
    • Leafable on Feb 17, 2019 at 10:53 pm

Just top up a bit for Harrier 2.0 Turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • meladam on Feb 18, 2019 at 10:40 am

i think this is a better option for me instead buying huge vellfire. I love the captai seat at the back

• papa got big neck gomo on Feb 18, 2019 at 12:31 pm

You will lose your super bengness without Vellfire with 100% black tint and emblem on your car plate.

• Voting Here Please on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:04 pm

– If you press like means you like Hyundai Santa Fe, Kia Sorento and new Mazda CX8 but you don’t like Nissan X-Trail

– If you press dislike it means you like Nissan X-Trail but you don’t like Hyundai Santa Fe, Kia Sorento and new Mazda CX8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Feb 17, 2019 at 3:33 pm

Don’t forget the Mitsubishi Outlander. I heard it’s in demand now since the 3rd row seats are more usable than the Nissan X-Trail. Leatherette seats, Apple Carplay & Android Auto compatible entertainment unit, 360 camera & 4WD as standard for all variant. Currently the most affordable 7-seater 4WD in Bolehland.

• Daryl on Feb 17, 2019 at 11:51 pm

PlaySafeDriveSafe… sadly I do not feel its a viable comparison as the Mitsubishi Outlander doesn’t come with many advanced features, especially for the CKD 2.0 variant. To be precise as well, the Outlander doesn’t come with Android Auto but only Apple Carplay. Furthermore, I just can’t accept there are no rear aircond vents for the back passengers in the Outlander especially for our hot weather.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Feb 18, 2019 at 3:18 pm

Actually, the Kenwood player in the Outlander is compatible with Android Auto as well. I think the only reason for MMC not to advertise the feature is due to the fact that Android Auto is not officially available via Google Playstore in this region. But we can install the Android Auto .apk file via other websites.

To be honest, the lack of rear aircond vent is not a big deal, since the aircond unit is quite powerful. Just tilt the front vent upwards and the whole car will be adequately ventilated, including the 3rd row. Set the temperature to 24 degrees is just nice. If you set it lower, the rear passengers, especially small kids will be complaining of coldness. Honestly. Been there done that to debunk the myth of hotness due to lack of rear aircond vents.

• The only drawback is the omission of the rear air-cond vents and to make things worst, the front vents are angled facing the front driver and front passenger. Feature like blind spot monitoring and rear traffic alert are also missing which are important nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Feb 18, 2019 at 3:26 pm

Mika, no problem with the aircond, honestly. But I agree with you about the lack of active safety features like automatic emergency braking etc which is good to have nowadays, even the MyVi & Aruz have it. However, the 360 camera system will display the rear left/right side view of the Outlander when you turn on the signal indicator on. The alarm will also beep if you turn on the sensor if other vehicles are nearby.

• Mario and Bros on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:08 pm

Looks better Mazda CX8, sure people will buy this CX8 because it is more sleeker design and looks inspiring design

• Alfred Soh on Feb 17, 2019 at 11:21 pm

Jx gotten my wifey a silver Proton X70 premium spec @ 123k. Same hp power and way nicer features than my own Benz GLC200 @ 290K , so the Proton X70 takes the cake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • U made the right choice.

• according to proton showroom, in fact many patriotic mesian bought the X70 to celebrate their right choice to change since mid last year. good biz for our national car

• diss-illusions on Feb 18, 2019 at 3:24 pm

In my fair share experience buying cars… one thing I’ve learnt is that what is on paper may not necessarily mean it’s good in metal. Good luck with the X70 ownership. The best part is with buying cars, there is no right or wrong until you sell them off.

• At least paying Rm123k you don’t suffer much if paying for the same features at Rm200k, yet both turned out to be lemons.

• Zulfahmi Fadillah on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:58 pm

Huh? Seriously? Thats too narrow minded.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:18 pm

Wahh so late into the market I think next year Japan will roll out the facelift liao. Also I think it’s a better idea to have a high spec 2-3-2 config as not everyone will want captain seats. Pricing wise I guess will begin from around 180k for the base spec to compete with the Fortuner

• 180K? You want sell for CX5 2.2AWD game over due to own pricing issue? I don’t think is this pricing, should be above 200k or even 220k.

• khairul on Feb 18, 2019 at 10:02 am

but cx-5 is 5 seater, it’s for different target of buyer .CX-8 with 2.2 diesel with 7 seater, it will have less power than CX-5 2.2 diesel 5 seater.

• Night Hunter on Feb 17, 2019 at 9:02 pm

The car is around a year old only since inception….

• Sell here below Rm130k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • aaron on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:38 pm

BERMAZ,,,,,, ACTIVE CRUISE CONTROL PLEASE PLEASE THANK YOUUUUUUUUU :):):)

• Ahmad on Feb 18, 2019 at 8:45 am

Went to Glenmarie yesterday. Up to 1:00pm, already 40 people booked. Price is not finalised yet. Can be between RM180k to RM205k. Rumors from the sales personnel:-

a) No HUD
      b) No MRCC [Sorry bro]
      c) All feature of CX-5 will be available in CX-8. Yes, still TOYO tires.
      d) Notice the roof racks :-p.
      e) Headlight washer might only available in High Spec [Which is Diesel] – Diesel could be same as per Mazda6 instead of CX-5.
      f) The weight of the car is OMG. Estimated 1.8MT.
      g) No aircond vent for third row.
      h) Is a second KODO design, luckily.

The one feature that I want is the e-Loop. WHY NO E-LOOP MAZDA?????.

• Heng F on Feb 15, 2019 at 9:00 pm

Will the cx5 get the same 188hp diesel engine as well? And will the 2.5turbo make it to cx5 too?

• bieight on Feb 15, 2019 at 9:43 pm

the person who spec it must be an imbecile, no 2.5t no buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • pricing is key….
    but its nice to have more options in the market

• Brian on Feb 15, 2019 at 10:54 pm

Pergh lawa gila merecik. Ada kaler soul green dak

• Wow, is that the radar for adaptive cruise control on the Mazda badge???!! Nicee

• Mazda cars now getting very boring as the designs all look the same throughout the other model range. Its was so much better 10 years ago when car manufacturers got different designs for different models. They getting lazier by the day all to maximise profit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Will be exp as heck. Probably be above Rm200k. X70 is the better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • Not Toyota Fan on Feb 16, 2019 at 9:37 am

Awaiting Mazla fanbois to say “Habis lah X70” LOL

• So how much will this ‘affordable’ vehicle be…..RM500k?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 16, 2019 at 10:51 am

Wow, this is a brilliant car. Mazda, you have done well. Just 10 years ago, Mazda was really dead globally.

But then, the Mazda company started to work hard and produce something unique. They slogged and put in the hours to invent the SkyActive engine which was a great invention.

Today, Mazda is selling extremely well globally and in Malaysia. This shows, hard work always reward you finally!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • John Papagomo on Feb 17, 2019 at 11:10 am

Correct. When workers work hard, there will be great results one. Cannot just lepak and goyang kaki all day

• papa got big neck gomo on Feb 18, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Still waiting for RX9. Enough car models for slowpokes.

• zulkifli on Feb 16, 2019 at 11:07 am

hope the price would be more or less the same as pug 5008…

• John Bin Palat on Feb 17, 2019 at 10:13 am

This car is less problematic than Peugeot or VW which is constantly in the SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Wydle on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:02 pm

Less Problematic cos most japanese cars like CX5 and CX8 emphasis more on dinosaur technologies in their cars compare to VW and Peugeot.

Not worth paying RM200K for a Mazda badge as it is not a premium brand .

• Ben Yap on Feb 16, 2019 at 11:20 am

The civic 1.5 turbo output almost can match the 2.5 engine, punching 1000cc above it’s belt. No wonder honda sales for the civic is breeze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Nicholas Lee on Feb 17, 2019 at 11:07 am

Not related to this post at all…

• He is a primary school kid, it’s very obvious he knows nothing about cars.

• DK = Dupe King on Feb 18, 2019 at 2:34 pm

You are the same as well, it’s very obvious you know nothing about cars and talk nonsense in every P1 articles

• redpilled on Feb 16, 2019 at 11:55 am

Cheap car all over the world, but in Malaysia become RM200k

• John Bin Palat on Feb 17, 2019 at 10:10 am

Is this car any bigger than CX5? Or is it below CX9 in terms of size?

• Been waiting for it since last year when news to launch in 4Q18. Looking for one with 2-2-2 setup.

• Newme on Feb 16, 2019 at 1:38 pm

Of course this is just preview. Need to seek permission from protector of proton so that the old baby can continue to grow without hindrance.

• tishaban on Feb 16, 2019 at 7:26 pm

I would prefer the 7-seater 2-3-2 option for the higher end model as well. With 5 people in the family, the rear 2 seats are there when I need the space for more people. My Santa Fe is > 5 years old already, this would be a contender if Mazda Malaysia brings the 2-3-2 option for the higher end models as well, otherwise it’s another Santa Fe for me.

• Waksegan on May 02, 2019 at 6:08 pm

Agree. Need 7even seater with 2.2 diesel. If not santa fe or sorento

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 16, 2019 at 9:12 pm

would like to have a cbu version…the ckd cx5 is quite watered down from the ones in jakarta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • intermilan on Feb 16, 2019 at 11:36 pm

Seven LEATHER seats spread across three benches (2-3-2) for top spec also.

• Prefer 2-3-2 seating for top spec!

• Same L0rr on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:35 am

Fuh.. Far better than x70

• Unknown on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:49 pm

Other than able to fill more people, pls define better in what sense.

• myvifan on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:24 am

Yeah my alza with 7 seater is far better than ferrari

• Leonardo on Feb 18, 2019 at 8:32 am

Local Mazda distributor always put a premium pricing for a not so premium product. Other than nice styling, the other equipment level and interior material quality and feel is nothing to shout about.
    Wake up Mazda. Very soon the Chinese vehicles will catch up and overtake you.

• It’s all about pricing. If Bermaz prices this above RM200k, then expect this model to sell like CX-9

• flipper2uman (Member) on Feb 18, 2019 at 10:59 am

Visited the show room in yesterday and it is quite a decent proposition for a SUV carrying 7 pax. If the 2.5L is priced correct, it may just sway buyers with families looking to buy the 4-5 year gray market Estima or Alphard which are selling around the 180k-220k price point.

Personally, I would get the diesel engine as it would be more fun to drive given that this suv is not exactly light.

• Berma$ no good on Feb 19, 2019 at 1:57 am

What mazda bermas not telling you.
    I didn’t want to get a Cx-5. here is why?
    they been selling out the pre-updated CX-5
    (non-tuned transmission gear)
    and thought consumer is stupid enough yet they not planning to bring in updated CX-5 ( tuned transmission gear). Hoiii BERMAS, you have forgotten that we been living on internet era. too bad to the current consumer.

• Osaka Boyle on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:56 pm

XC60 is anytime more premium & win over this CX8

When comes to safety technology, Cx8 is always below XC60

• Reboot on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:07 pm

I do not think the ride quality of CX8 will be as good as
    XC60, X3 & Q5.

It is till a Japanese car famous for bad ride quality and less supple to those of Europeans.

Not worth to pay RM200K for this non premium badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9