2019 Toyota Hiace debuts with new engines, safety kit

Toyota has unveiled the completely redesigned Hiace, which now enters its sixth generation, and will first go on sale in Philippines before being gradually introduced in other countries.

According to the company, the new Hiace is built on a platform specially developed for the model, with a semi-bonnet design that allows for new engines to be fitted. The van also offers a higher level of body rigidity compared to the outgoing model, along with an improved ride, Toyota says.

In terms of what goes under the bonnet, the Hiace is powered by either a 1GD 2.8 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel or a 3.5 litre V6 petrol engine. No output figures were provided, but they should be similar to what you’ll get with the Hilux and Land Cruiser. A six-speed manual and automatic are the available transmissions.

The Hiace comes in two body types – Normal/Standard Roof and Long/High Roof – both with larger dimensions than what you’ll get with the fifth-generation model. The Normal/Standard Roof variant measures 5,265 mm long (+570 mm), 1,950 mm wide (+255 mm), 1,990 mm tall (+10 mm); with a 3,210 mm wheelbase (+640 mm).

Meanwhile, the Long/High Roof version is 5,915 mm long (+535 mm), 1,950 mm wide (+70 mm), 2,280 mm tall (-5 mm); with 3,860 mm wheelbase (+750 mm). A variety of seating layouts are available (29 in total as listed by Toyota), divided into three distinct categories – Van, Tourism and Commuter – the last of the three can carry up to 17 people.

The new packaging, particularly the semi-bonnet, results in a more pointed front-end compared to the previous Hiace, and is more aligned to other vans like the Ford Transit and Mercedes-Benz Vito. Other highlights of the new face are a larger front bumper with grated intakes, along with more angular headlamps.

Along the sides, you’ll spot another consequence of the new packaging, as the front doors have a larger aperture and are no longer over the front wheels, while the cabin is pushed further back.

The rest of the body is like what you’ll find on other panel/windowed vans, with different door arrangements depending on the selected seating layout. Around back, you’ll find a larger hatch due to the vehicle’s dimensions, plus more prominent taillights.

As for the cabin, there’s a new dashboard layout and is made to look more upmarket. The air-conditioning controls are now placed closer to the media head unit, relieving more space beside the high-position gear lever. A new steering wheel and instrument cluster are also part of the update.

Toyota is aiming for a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating with the new Hiace, and states that the Toyota Safety Sense suite of driver assistance systems will be part of the equipment list.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Loppy on Feb 18, 2019 at 6:12 pm

1gd 2.8 engine? Owh yahhh come to Mesia babe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • enstek on Feb 18, 2019 at 6:52 pm

Thats the same 3.5liter V6 petrol engine also used in Lexus LC500, Toyota Crown and Lotus Evora.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 19, 2019 at 9:58 am

Like this Untung, you buy it you get Lexus engine.

Just like Myvi, you are buying a Toyota in disguise for cheap cheap price

• Copy Paste on Feb 19, 2019 at 1:39 pm

Copy paste: “That’s because Perodua only knows how to tumpang Toyota glamour. They have nothing to stand on their own feet.”

Buying a fake Toyota is still buying a fake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 19, 2019 at 9:56 am

I used to own a Toyota Hiace before. It was very good quality!

• Vader on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:55 pm

You seem to have owned every car on the planet based on your past statements. I find your credibility… disturbing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • benzs on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:38 pm

Not cheap. I convert from Peso to RM. commuter at least 130k and 160k for higher end model. Insane pricing, my company bought a commuter for last 6 years at 85k non Gst era. Why all pricing increase, last time Camry low spec only 140k and now 190k model only in Malaysia. Fortuner last time only 130-150k. Now 170-200k. So sad, our salary remain but pricing keep on increase. That’s why P2 sales is good. Last time Myvi 60k over which is the lagi best extreme. Now Myvi high spec only 55-56k. Proton pricing also well maintain. While JPN and other brand keep on increasing.

• casual rider on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:03 pm

nice!

• Dylan Chng on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:07 pm

Never understood why the old hiace never got the newer toyota diesel engines from the latest generation Hilux.

• Dylan Chng on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:08 pm

Hope that this can over throw the mighty but dirty Joylong

• Dylan Chng on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:09 pm

My first impressions on the design was that it looks photoshopped, rendered. Not a design by Toyota. I’ll need to to get used to the design.

• Dylan Chng on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:11 pm

With the Hiace growing in all dimensions, looks to me like Toyota and Daihatsu are working together for a refreshed Gran Max to slot under the Hiace.

• Grandpa on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:25 pm

More streamlined design..it looks more European-esque rather than the conventional boxy design before..reminds me of ford transit / mercedes sprinter

• kebal on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:35 pm

Oh god that’s a gigantic van. Imagine current Hiace drivers cocok-ing your back during highway driving with this new Hiace. Scary.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 18, 2019 at 8:16 pm

Ah Beng’s guide to Toyota Group cars.
    ( Approved by Sam Loo )

Myvi = Wannabe God car
    Vios = God car
    Hilux = God truck
    Alphard = God MPV
    Land Cruiser = God SUV
    Lexus = Ultimate God car
    Supra = Ultimate God sports car
    AE86 = Kansei Dorifto Ultimate God sports car
    2000GT = 007 Ultimate God sports car
    Toyoda AA = God himself
    … *NEW* …
    Hiace = God van, reincarnated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • Not Toyota Fan on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:11 am

Absolutely BRILLIANT guide. Kudos.

• Engineer on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:19 am

In any category, they are still turds. You can’t polish a turd into something desirable.

• hiace lover on Feb 18, 2019 at 10:12 pm

malaysian is long waiting for hiace/toyota van as most of current modal of van esp china made cannot satisfy their need.
    i hope toyota can bring in auto 2.0 petrol engine which available for japan ( lower roadtax)

• At last Toyota Asia understand that they can’t offer existing design of outgoing HiAce van.

Previous Toyota van (except Granvia or ProAce) never give safety a go when driver position ahead of the van’s tires.

Kudos Toyota.

• Rulered on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:27 am

If can convert to campervan would be sweet.

• benzs on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:32 am

Nice. After so many many years of aging model, now they manage to intro newer model. Looks great, just wait for Japan enthusiast to MOD it. It will looks so much better after that. Beside that, Japan manage to squeeze in VR38DETT (Gtr 35) engine into a Hiace. Its crazy…

• Fanboy on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:58 am

Nicely done…Toyota Hi-Phard

• Hamdan on Feb 19, 2019 at 9:09 am

I dunno why Proton never make vans. Even Hyundai got Starex and selling well.

Proton doing what? Sleeping?

• Gee, I wonder why Perodua stop making the Rusa if indeed vans are selling well like you claimed?

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:13 am

Got Juara what? Maximum fail.

• panjang on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:35 am

I wonder why Ferrari never make vans. Even Perodua got Rusa and selling well.

Ferrari doing what? Sleeping?

• High AcePhard on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:43 pm

Why Sony is not making washer fridge refrigerator air-conditioning? Samsung LG Panasonic selling very well.

• Toyota Hiace here RM98k only. Great alternative to the Mercedes-Benz V Class.

• Sparcov on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:20 am

Soon this car will be everywhere in Thailand ferrying tourist :)

• panjang on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:40 am

Experienced the current model and i luv the torque from the diesel engine. The model i drove does not comes with a tachometer so u used your buttorque-feel meter to time gearshift. Now got newer and bigger engine…awsome machine to drive when its empty.

• benzs on Feb 19, 2019 at 1:00 pm

Yeap, the power delivery for current model is nice. Even climbing hill road, u just maintain 5th gear and the power is still available. 2.5 Turbo Diesel engine (2KD) with 5 speed manual, 103-105HP/270-280Torque. It feel enough even with fully loaded. Newer version will be much more refine and better NVH. Due to relocation of the engine from Mid to Front. While getting its front tire located away from driver and front passenger side, it is best to reduce road noise.

• Bling Bling on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:27 pm

Repaint to black + opt for windows (with tinted) + skirting + 19inch sport rims = Vellfire ala Hiace

• benzs on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:07 pm

Yeap, identical. I’ve see Vellfire front portion, just DIY a bit could fit entire face. OMG!! Vellfire everywhere later.

• Pearjai on Feb 19, 2019 at 7:29 pm

It’so funny to compare small malaysian hiace with bigger hiace commuter….even rm 140k still better buy than toyota clone like joylong,farid placer,era etc made in china that priced for more than rm100k…

• albag on Feb 19, 2019 at 9:54 pm

looks good.. potential to convert into Alphard/Vellfire.. budget style

• FWD or RWD ?

• natluap on Feb 24, 2019 at 12:53 am

I prefer the europe version of hiace… called proace

https://www.toyota-europe.com/new-cars/proace/

The handling is superb… check out km77 youtube video.

• Raffie on Apr 28, 2019 at 11:54 am

Can I know where is this new Hiace model is assembled? Philippines? Thailand? Japan?

• Mohamed on May 31, 2019 at 2:32 am

Toyota hiace New model debut’s engine when come out in Malaysia

• Mohamed on May 31, 2019 at 2:35 am

The Toyota hiace debuts engine safety kit RM?

• When will the oyota Hiace 6th Generation be introduced in Malaysia?

• Mohamed on May 02, 2020 at 2:33 am

Looking for new toyota debuts with new engines

• Muhamad faizal on Jan 15, 2022 at 1:19 am

When toyota going release the new latest model in Malaysia….im waiting for new model haice

• MOHD ZULASMUEE on Oct 10, 2022 at 11:09 am

Where New Model Hiace Window Van Can Came In Toyota UMW Malaysia ???
    I Love Toyoto Hiace New Window Van
    Big & Long Same Hiace Commuter Thai & Indon
    Because So Long To Came In Malaysia But Thai & Indon 3 Year Ago Are Came
    Where Malaysia So LAMBAT ???
    Pleasee Toyota UMW Malaysia Come On
    We Proud Toyota Hiace New Window Van Came In Malaysia This Year 2022 or 2023
    I want Buy
    Pleaseee UMW Hurry Up
    New Hiace Window Van Same Thai & Indon
    #InfoMeWhereHiaceNewModelCameInToyotaMalysia