Recipient list for RON 95 subsidy almost ready – report

According to a Bernama report, the government is in the final phase of identifying eligible recipients for the targeted RON 95 petrol subsidy system, which will be implemented in the second quarter this year.

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs minister Datuk Seri Saifud­din Nasution Ismail, who disclosed this, said a series of discussions had been carried out with gas station operators and consumer associations. He said the finance ministry, which is in charge of developing, testing, implementing, studying and operating the system, would announce the selected vendor to develop the targeted subsidy programme.

Speaking at the opening of the BHPetrol Sepang-Lukut fuel station owned by Seng Group of Companies recently, Saifuddin said it was the government’s hope that the targeted petrol subsidy system would take off smoothly. At a press conference later, he said the successful vendor would be responsible for developing the system not only involving targeted petrol subsidies, but also targeted subsidies of other items.

“When the finance ministry identifies a vendor, our ministry will work with the selected vendor to ensure smooth implementation of the targeted subsidies. On the part of the ministry, discussions are ongoing with oil companies, small and large petrol station operators, agencies like the National Registration Department and Implementation Coordination Unit of the Prime Minister’s Depart­ment handling the e-Kasih data,” he explained.

The ministry would also ensure that the lists of those eligible to receive the targeted subsidies were in accordance with household incomes, Sai­fuddin said.

During the tabling of Budget 2019, finance minister Lim Guan Eng said the fuel subsidy was targeted at the B40 group (salary of below RM3,000 monthly) and that a mechanism of the scheme would be worked out to prevent abuse. It was announced that owners of multiple/luxury cars will not benefit from the fuel subsidy.

The scheme will offer a subsidy of 30 sen per litre up to 100 litres a month, for cars with an engine capacity of 1,500 cc and below. Meanwhile, motorcycles with an engine displacing 125 cc of capacity or less will be allocated the subsidy at the same rate of 30 sen per litre, for up 40 litres a month.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:29 am

30sen subsidy from RM1.98 meant we still subsidising Pakatan goverment to the tune of 18sen per liter. For an average full tank of 40 liters, each car is subsidising RM8.00, THAT’S PER CAR PER WEEK! Based on car ownership statistics about 1:1 per population, each week Malaysians are subsidising Pakatan in total RM240million (yes millions!) PER WEEK.

Is the government helping us, or are they helping themselves to the tune of RM240million per week? From our money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
    • Bikin on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:25 pm

try harder… damm cold brrrrr lolzz

• Razali on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:54 pm

john does not give up. Still waiting for his dedak as a BN Cybertrooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • mee udang tambang on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:49 pm

You are right bro! Wonder why the bashers stop at RM1.50/L petrol mana? when Venezuela pay only $0.01 seliter !!

• Razali on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:56 pm

In Malaysia, majority is very lazy and always asking for cheap this and diskaun that.

Work hard please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
      • redpilled on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:32 pm

ya so lazy that nowadays husbands and wife work 8-10 even 12 hrs/day for their <3k/month salary while towkay drives off with brand new 5er after 2 hrs in office while yelling "biznes talak laku, untung talak" when a worker ask for salary advance.

so lazy in fact after 12 hrs of underpaid work, balik rumah pikup anak from nanny, trus buka burger stall around the corner untill 12am. later 5.30 oredi dah mandi and off to another day…. so lazy one

• No need reply a dupe bro. Take advice from this genius, which I did:
          “Weak people revenge. Strong people forgive. Intelligent people ignore.” By Einstein

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:29 am

Aiseh, Malaysia got lots of cheat cheat one lah. Many people will use their abah and ibu IC cause they are old and retired

Than most families also got like 5 to 6 kids each, they will use their kids IC also to get subsidy.

How to enforce like this? Got 8 people in 1 family can get subsidi for just one car…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Hafiz Hisham on Feb 19, 2019 at 1:34 pm

Hmm, never knew kids can drive cars in your country. Which country are you from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • UTurn M on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:10 pm

They learnt early by learning it from the best: PM Atuk.

• Razali on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:55 pm

find out from the majority who do fake degrees. they are lazy and want easy way out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Majority of fake degree holders supported UBAH. And your point is…?

• redpilled on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:35 pm

golden!

• Angry Voters on Feb 19, 2019 at 9:51 pm

His point is, some of them rise up and become their ministers. However rubbish input, up rises is still rubbish.

• Aziz Mahmood on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:45 pm

Many people here very lazy one. Always rely on bantuan kerajaan. This is the side effect of 60 years of corruption and dedak

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 20, 2019 at 12:12 pm

Many people never ask for those fantastic promises, but since your politicians made those promises, it’s high time for the rakyat to demand for it.

• Hafizal on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:30 am

Wait and see whether it going to work or not. Personally think it is a hard thing to implement.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:31 am

Even in JB also, got so many petrol stations quietly sell petrol to Singapore cars. They sell Ron 95. They are not supposed to.

How to implement this when petrol station owners are not honest?

• Hamdan on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:34 am

This would rely a lot on the integrity of PDAM members. But we have seen in the past, PDAM members are all lazy and always waiting for bantuan and tongkat because they are greedy.

So, how if PDAM members tipu bersubahat with the public??

• U-Tun on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:36 am

What’s the difference between BR1M and the upcoming targeted petrol subsidy? One is dedak the latter if unused can sell to others so the money become dedak also.

• U 4k salary drive vios, now need to downgrade to bezza to afford driving a car to work. Welkum to real world.

• So this means we the regular taxable citizens would have to fork out more for daily driving?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • apamau on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:50 am

1. RM100 monthly unlimited pass for all MRT, LRT, Monorail, BRT
    2. Abolish 2nd Link bike tol

3. And now this, RON 95 petrol subsidi!

Syabass Malaysia Baru !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 29
    • Do you really read the news completely??? Then have you done simple calculation based on the figures given???

• manifestotototo on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:52 am

Tbh, i doubt the mechanism will be smooth and foolproof.

• Hey NO PHONES while filling up

• The scheme will offer a subsidy of RM0.30 per litre up to 100 litres a month, for cars with an engine capacity of 1,500 cc and below…. That is only RM30.00 a month.

Those who ride motorcycles with an engine displacing 125 cc of capacity or less will be allocated the subsidy at the same rate of RM0.30 per litre, for up 40 litres a month, which is only RM12.00 a month.

It not really helps the B40 group, government better increase the BSH for them.

The one who really get the benefit are those who got the contract to develop and install the system. How many petrol station do we have in whole country? For each petrol station, how many pump need to be installed?

Obviously, the cost of implementation is higher than the benefit rakyat will get. Well… The rakyat lose and the cronies win again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • Crony on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:21 pm

In this government, they won’t do anything unless me and my kin gets a cut. That is our rule.

• John Baoteng on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:14 am

No choice but sell your old Waja 1.6L for Axia.

• NadurnSignature on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:31 am

Why hafriz look quite fit in that picture. Do atkin diet aa?

• Jack Sparrow on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:35 am

The government need to remember that B40s are not the only one that voted them. If they are not smart then we will remember them in history as the one term government. May they rest in pieces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Kray brothers on Feb 19, 2019 at 12:56 pm

Howbout for those who use car inherited from parents? Car still registered under parents’ name but monthly installment/petrol/maintenance paid by the son/daughter?

• sudah dpt kereta free lagi mau komplen harga minyak..how low can uu get??

• Jibby Mah on Feb 19, 2019 at 1:53 pm

Hurray! My Mercedes C200 can get subsidy. Huhuhu..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:08 pm

pay taxes all these while, now i retired u ask me fork out for petrol….

• Spin Too Much on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:52 pm

You voted for this, right??

• Bungalow-More-Value on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:40 pm

yaloh, bodoh punya PH. Waste time and money to appease B40 and betray m40 who voted for them.

• BOB• on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:55 pm

Do i need to be 18+ to register? I’m 17 who rode a 110cc kapcai, but my parent’s salary is above RM3k. I wanted to know if i can register or not.

• BMW i8 and Mazda rotary owners will be happy

• panjang on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:27 pm

The amount is not significant and implementation will cost a bomb as surely there is ‘someone’ maintaining the database to keep track.
    I will gladly pay the extra 30sen a liter anyday. No need to subsidise anymore just be honest with the people how the fuel cost is calculated.

Or better, let the station priced their fuel.

• Then we can see that goods price will go up like a ROCKET. Thanks to Malaysia Baru by Pakatan Harapan (Alliance of Hope @dream)

• Pak cik on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:41 pm

Here goes the subsidy to mat rampit…It’s stupid economic planning why subsidy when building MRT and free busses, counter the objectives and put more cars on the road and many more money wasted in cars , a depreciating thing

• Jgn mengelabah kawan2, najib da jatuh. Kite undi BN balik ye.

• Just cut taxes on cars….why so difficult!!

Ohh, cronies affected oh yes, so cannot la!

• Appoint a vendor to carry out the process. Vendor from which crony, are they being choose by open tender.
    Why call B40 if for income below RM 3000.00 only.
    Change to B30 then.

• Daddykasi on Feb 20, 2019 at 11:53 am

No r.m1.50/l petrol? Ubah ini kali PRU15..

• Same L0rr on Feb 20, 2019 at 12:55 pm

Ooo really? I can smell the next u-turn..