DRIVEN: 2019 Toyota Vios – old hand learns new tricks

For as long as I could remember, the B-segment sedan market was the epicentre of the Malaysian automotive industry – it was the segment that commanded the most attention and one that had the greatest impact on our buying habits. And while plenty of segment players have come and gone, two titans remain etched in consumers’ minds – the Honda City and the Toyota Vios.

Both cars battled it out for decades as king of this hotly-contested segment, each taking turns to deal blows with every passing generation, and each seemingly unwilling to back down. In recent years, it was the more modern, more competent City that secured the lead, helping Honda break Toyota’s stranglehold on the non-national sales title, as well as becoming the second most popular brand overall.

Not a moment too soon, the new Vios was introduced just last month, here to reclaim the ground it lost. This time, however, there’s more to the battle than just its arch nemesis – in case you haven’t heard, the SUV is the new “in” thing, and with the emergence of the ever-popular Honda HR-V and with models from Proton and Perodua encroaching into the segment’s price range, it’s getting very crowded indeed.

So, seconds out, round four – is the new Vios good enough not just to overcome its bitter rival, but also fend off the more desirable crossovers in the periphery – and make buyers overlook that enormous front grille? Toyota was eager for us to find out, so it got us to drive the latest heavyweight contender all the way to Desaru and back for a proper test.

Toyota may bill this Vios as all new, but it actually rides on the same platform as before, dating back to the second-gen model from 2007. It doesn’t even have a new model code – instead, it continues the same NSP151 designation as its predecessor. Not to matter, because pretty much everything you can see and feel (except the engine and transmission, which we’ll get to later) has been revamped in one way or another.

Not least of which are the looks, and it’s here that the company decided to throw caution to the wind, its Keen Look design language reaching cartoonish levels. It’s the front end that is divisive, with a humongous lower grille giving the car an absolutely massive grin, and a slim central inlet acting as a “moustache”. The effect is amplified by the vertical fog light surrounds that sit at the far corners of the bumper, flanking the grille.

The rest of the design is pretty straightforward, with broader, slimmer and sharper head- and tail lights contributing to a wider look. Along the side, a new shoulder line sweeps upwards aft from the front wheels and stretches towards the rear doors, and there’s also a second line that crosses the door handles on its way towards the tail lights. The beltline also sweeps up more elegantly than before.

Instead of offering a tarted-up TRD Sportivo model at the top of the range, UMW Toyota Motor is providing a bodykit as a standalone option on all models. I never liked these kits as they always added a lot of visual bulk, but I’ll admit that the front grille garnish on this one does disguise the size of that grille somewhat.

The interior is more conventional, with the only controversial bit being the Lexus NX-esque protruding centre console. The fake stitching on the hard plastic dashboard is just as offensive as ever, but the presentation is at least a little more tasteful here, and it’s all screwed together in typical Toyota bombproof fashion.

A new feature is the standard-fit automatic air-conditioning, which was previously only offered in other markets, although you still don’t get rear vents. Corolla Altis owners will be familiar with the redesigned three-spoke steering wheel, which loses the outgoing model’s slightly flattened bottom but still has a rim that is just a touch too thick for my liking, and which still doesn’t adjust for reach.

Behind it sit a pair of clear, legible dials (somewhat obscured by reflections) that do a fancy sweeping motion on startup, as well as a new 4.2-inch colour multi-info display that has been seen on everything from the Camry to the 86. At the back, the rear cupholders (there are now two of them) have been moved into the rear armrest, and the new USB charging ports are a godsend – even if they look like complete afterthoughts.

Don’t expect any miracles in terms of cabin space, as the exterior dimensions remain largely identical. Sure, at 4,425 mm long and 1,730 mm wide, the new car is 15 mm longer and 30 mm wider, but it retains the old car’s 1,475 mm height and 2,550 mm wheelbase, so no packaging breakthroughs here.

Indeed, you’re not gonna find rear legroom that would put D-segment sedans to shame – that’s still the City’s party trick – and rear headroom is also a little tight due to the sloping roofline. But it’s not what you’d call cramped by any stretch of the imagination, and you’ll still fit four adults comfortably.

The boot, which measures the same 506 litres as before, is likewise not class leading but it’s plenty for groceries and luggage. Do bear in mind, however, that the 60:40-split rear seats do not fold completely flat, the resulting bump making loading longer items a pain; the pews are also fixed on the base J variant.

One area that sees a much-needed improvement is safety. All models now get seven airbags as standard (up from just two before), joining stability control that was introduced across the range in 2016. What’s more, the top G model receives blind spot monitoring, but unfortunately you still don’t get autonomous emergency braking. Come on, Toyota – you can get a Perodua Myvi with this kind of technology!

The engine remains unchanged for 2019, retaining the 2NR-FE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i naturally-aspirated four-cylinder mill that makes the same outputs as before – 107 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. It’s now paired exclusively to a continuously variable transmission with a seven-speed mode (and new paddle shifters for the G), meaning that, for the first time, there won’t be a manual option, not even on the J.

Yes, before you rush into the comments, it’s yet another carryover engine and gearbox for the Vios, but at least here they are both fairly up-to-date, being only three years old. Indeed, the powertrain doesn’t feel at all outdated – it’s responsive and creamy smooth, and I’m pretty sure it will deliver the kind of fuel efficiency that buyers have come to expect in this segment.

What it does feel is underpowered. Sure, a deficit of 13 PS and 5 Nm over the City may not seem like much, but when both power and torque outputs are barely into triple figures, you’re going to notice the difference. Especially if you compare the two cars back-to-back, like what Toyota let us do during the drive.

Whereas the Honda will almost leap off the line, the Toyota struggles to get up to highway speeds, even though the engine itself is perky and willing to rev. It needs all the help it can get, and thankfully the CVT has been retuned to mitigate the relative lack of pace.

I’ve previously criticised the transmission for being sluggish, and the recalibration goes some way towards addressing that, the CVT responding noticeably quicker to throttle inputs. The City is quicker still but at times it feels a little overeager, so it can be a bit difficult to drive smoothly. The Vios counters by reacting in more gradual and progressive manner, which is a benefit in stop-start traffic.

Of course, you can play around with the new Sport mode (conversely, an Eco mode is also available), which actually does a commendable job in making the car feel more sprightly, keeping the engine at higher revs and operating more like a stepped automatic transmission.

The snappy seven-speed function also does a better job of mimicking actual gears compared to other similar systems – even though the paddles themselves feel disappointingly cheap. I’d leave it as it is, however; this is still a family car, after all, and there’s only so much the CVT can do to mask the shortfall in power.

It’s just as well, then, that Toyota has not tried to chase a sportier driving experience, and instead sought to improve the Vios’ already impressive ride comfort and refinement. To that end, torsional rigidity has been increased thanks to a greater number of spot welding points and the use of underbody reinforcement, and spring and damper rates have also been updated.

The car’s deputy chief engineer Akira Kasamatsu told us Toyota not only benchmarked the new Vios against the City but also larger, more sophisticated C-segment models – and it clearly shows. Next to the Honda, this is a much more relaxing car to cruise in on the highway, with much lower road and wind noise even at speeds well over triple figures – undoubtedly helped by the acoustic windscreen found on the E and G models.

It also has the more absorbent ride, with soft springs and reasonable damping helping to iron out much of our pockmarked roads, even though it can’t quite shake off the cheap, hollow feel of most Japanese B-segment models. The result is a calmer drive, whether you’re just pootling along or travelling at a faster pace.

Out on the open road, the City’s sharper steering makes an immediate first impression, but a lack of body control also means that it feels more nervous as speeds climb, an unfortunate Honda trait in recent years. The Vios, meanwhile, is more composed and stable – but two things count against it.

Firstly, the car oddly tends to get affected by crosswinds, even at the national speed limit, causing it to meander around in its own lane. Correcting its trajectory isn’t such a straightforward task, either, no thanks to the steering that is so slow and vague as to give you no sense of connection to the front wheels.

As you’d expect, this also counts against the Vios when it comes to going around corners, with the numb helm and excessive body roll discouraging you from driving in a more spirited manner, even though the chassis itself is more than capable of coping. Despite its sporting pretensions, this is a car whose comfort-oriented character nudges you into taking things slow in order to appreciate its strengths.

Don’t let the stylistic overhaul fool you – the new Vios isn’t a wholesale revolution. Rather, it’s a surprisingly nuanced rejuvenation that leans heavily on the things that made this segment stalwart such a favourite for family buyers in the first place. However (and this is a personal thing), I’ve always felt that UMW Toyota’s practice of offering bodykits and its insistence of turning it into an amateur race car sends mixed signals.

For this is no longer the sportiest offering in this segment, neither possessing the most powerful engine nor the most dynamic of handling characteristics. For better or for worse, it’s the City that will give you what little enjoyment that can be had in this price range. But then, if performance and driver involvement is what you’re looking for, what on earth are you doing shopping for a B-segment sedan?

More worrying for Toyota is the emerging brigade of crossovers looking to steal its lunch money, and we’ll have to wait and see if the market will shift away from the humble four-door. Be in no doubt, however, that the Vios has never been better equipped to take them all head on. But you’ll have to get over that big mouth first.

The new Toyota Vios is on sale in Malaysia, priced at RM77,200 for the 1.5J variant, RM81,200 for the 1.5E and and RM87,300 for the 1.5G. Browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• The best B segment sedan Proton Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 50
    • Habisla Toyota! on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:42 pm

Habisla! When people walk in to Toyota showroom, they’ll be shocked to see this ugly monster sedan. Without even looking at the specs they already went to another showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 23
      • VtecKickin'Yo on Feb 21, 2019 at 3:47 pm

Toyota Supra konpom masok mesia! Hidup umw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 21, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Don’t worry about the fact many of us find this car pricey. There is a way out of this.

Buy the 2018 Myvi. It uses a Toyota engine also. Similiar to the Vios. So, in other words, you pay only RM50k, you enjoy a Vios in disguise that is worth RM90k.

Malaysians are so happy. This is why in just 3 months, Perodua sold 110,000 Myvis compared to Proton only selling 300 Proton Iriz in the same period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
          • Optimus on Feb 21, 2019 at 5:44 pm

I want to buy a Japanese car, I dont want to buy a car that tumpang glamour from Toyota, & what’s worse is the fake news that it uses Toyota engine. Toyota engines are made using aluminum block but Perodua engines are made using cast iron block. Perodua engine is not from Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 35
          • John Bin Palat on Feb 21, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Paul Tan himself quoted in article that Myvi uses Toyota engine.

Are you saying Paul Tan tipu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • Patriotic Malaysian on Feb 21, 2019 at 6:09 pm

I want to buy a Malaysian car with engines invented by Malaysians.

I am patriotic. I feel disgusted when I buy a Malaysian car that uses a China engine and a China body.

It makes me sick to know my National Car company has no cars of their own

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
          • Optimus on Feb 21, 2019 at 6:28 pm

@John Bin Palat
            Please link the article or I’m calling your bluff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
          • Copy Paste on Feb 21, 2019 at 6:38 pm

Copy paste: “I want to buy a Malaysian car with engines invented by Malaysians.

I am patriotic. I feel disgusted when I buy a Malaysian car that uses a Toyota ASEAN engine and a Toyota ASEAN body.

It makes me sick to know my National Car company has no cars of their own”

• Shazwan on Feb 21, 2019 at 6:49 pm

Last year, MAA figures show Toyota sales is higher than Proton.

Despite being so expensive, Toyota can beat Proton.

Despite getting so much of Government orders, Proton can still lose in sales to Toyota

• Abdul Ghani Osman on Feb 21, 2019 at 6:58 pm

Toyota got RV. China car got no RV

People gonna get shocked when their RM123k Proton X70 becomes RM60k when they try to sell it next year.

Haval also, new RM100k. one year later become RM30k

• Pengikut Ajaran Sabit on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:34 am

LOL Toyota got RV.
            New Alphard RM450k. years later become RM150k

• Copy Paste on Feb 21, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Copy paste: “All new Vios: Uglier As Never Before”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 24
    • Papagonek on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:05 pm

Vios bestest safety. All models now got 7seven airbags as standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rr on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:42 pm

What? No eev engine, no turbo, no hybrid.. Just campro vvt..

• Speak for urself. Vios Joker oso no tebo, no hybrid. Just dinosar fuel guzzling VVTi

• Sam Loo on Feb 21, 2019 at 6:43 pm

Ur proton got no RV! Belilah toyota je. Confirm got RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • The only RV a Toyota sees is Ravine Valley when it inevitably loses control and goes into RV.

• Copy Paste on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:23 am

Copy paste: “Toyota ?? Only the Hilux can sell these days. The Camry and CHR is freakin expensive. The Vios cannot compete with City. So its just a matter of time before Toyota become like Ford. Sell pickup trucks only.”

• Copy Paste on Feb 21, 2019 at 4:34 pm

Copy paste: “Abesla Vios! The exterior is weird, the interior is outdated and cheap, the specs looks nice on paper but upon closer scrutiny, it lacks rear seat space due to unchanged chassis, lacks rear aircon vents, lacks LED headlights, lacks front parking sensors except G, and worse no Hybrid variant.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • binyue on Feb 21, 2019 at 4:45 pm

Correct , slow or fast it feels planted on road not to mention iriz

• SK, Lim on Feb 21, 2019 at 5:01 pm

With Proton Binyue/X50 going to come in at similar price, who will still buy this outdated car? Even Jonathan kept pointing out time and time again all those carryovers from 2nd and 3rd generation. Toyota are fooling prospective buyers by calling this an all new car.

• Toyota Management: “We are losing so much market share, our products can’t compete with Honda & Proton, what can we do?”
      Toyota PR: “Let’s change the Vios body to something everyone likes, weird alien looking design! people love weird alien looks”
      Toyota Management: “Weird alien looks?! That’s genius!”

• almighty car on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:13 pm

vios is king of the road smack down suv up to cx-5
    myvi is queen of the road smack down suv up to pajero sports

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
    • Vios is king of driving into the ditch.
      Myvi is queen of driving into the ditch.
      Both cars are different brand but dunno why like driving into the ditch.

If drive along NS highway will noticed a lot of cases.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • benzs on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:57 pm

Wow. Small car smack bigger SUV car while sedan car smack medium size SUV.

• Tepat skali bro… Vios eligible Ron95 petrol rebat

• Pyraxle on Feb 21, 2019 at 5:34 pm

Of course. Big brother is Vios & little brother being Myvi.

• Celup King on Feb 21, 2019 at 8:56 pm

Both are just as dangerous and attracts the reckless crowds.

• Kunta kentut on Feb 21, 2019 at 8:38 pm

Typical Myvi driver.

• The new Vios looks disgustingly ugly. The best looking Vios was the first-gen one.

Also, I still don’t see any compelling reason to get this when a Myvi is even better value. (Looks forward to the facelift)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
  • mazlanFriedRice on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:18 pm

I like your writing more than I care about the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:20 pm

the performance is no match for civic’s 1.5 turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 47
    • Ben Yap Hondang on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:52 pm

You crazy or what? Go have a race with your 1.5 turbo Civic vs Bugatti Veyron

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:53 pm

What the f….

• benyaptalkcock on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:42 pm

civic’c 1.5 turbo is no match for ford focus…

so your point it?

• Everest on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:43 pm

Is weird that you don’t used the word “Smoke”……

• Jealousy Honda SA and Nissan SA on Feb 21, 2019 at 8:07 pm

Looks like there are many bored Honda SA and Nissan SA again who talk badmouth about Proton, Toyota and Kimchi Cars and including other carmakers

• kanazai2001 on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:22 pm

forget bout toy brand since it has no longer offered MT…

• anonymous on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:26 pm

i don’t see any review messages from the article and boring reading, merely a spec elaboration essay. anyway, a good try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • viosman on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Is it really necessary for Toyota to plaster those ugly stickers all over their test drive fleet? It makes the photos look damn ugly and messy.

• Pemimpin Amalan Seleweng on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:50 pm

LOL Don’t you know every inch of sticker on the car will increases the RV ?

• As we all have known for years, UMWT has no idea how to market their cars. Name me one model which they have marketed successfully?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on Feb 21, 2019 at 4:57 pm

Some said RV and FC. I will agree if only I can find any these cars.

• Lookman on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:36 pm

Uglier than previous vios ikan keli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Copy Paste on Feb 21, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Copy paste: “It’s rare for a new model to be uglier than the previous one, but Toyota managed to do just that with this Vios. So, kudos to the Toyota designers for getting the dubious distinction.”

• Avatar Toyota No 1 in many countries on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:00 pm

I liked the CVT transmission commentary.

And it is not easy to sustain Toyota BRAND which long time established and well-known worldwide.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:03 pm

Gosh it’s still using a decade old platform (maximum milking of profits) which leads to a cramped interior. Steering input is numb, it is afraid of crosswinds and let’s not mention it will struggle going uphill and there still no LED headlights in 2019. It’s only saving grace is its comfy suspension. What’s there to like about the Vios? Develop a new platform and the Vios will have a better chance at its rivals. As for the SUV invasion, I believe there will be people like myself who prefer at least one sedan in the family ownership apart from the rest of the SUVs.

• The dampers on the Vios are sweet and sour ownership experience. Yes, they give the car a comfortable ride. But they are not durable and certainly not cheap to replace. Newer Toyotas just don’t have that robust feeling chassis anymore.

• dong gor on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:07 pm

No a chance for Toyota. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Msians have no choice but to look at these lousy cars as car prices are sky high!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Amran on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:41 pm

Terbaik! Habislah city, persona & preve!

• Copy Paste on Feb 21, 2019 at 4:36 pm

Copy paste: “Junk car old engine old technology and some poor Malaysian still hard up for this 1/2 past 6 car hahaha :-)”

• Watcher on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:55 pm

Review Paultan ni sangat jahat dan tak fair. Lepas ni tak baca dah Paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
    • Fatso on Feb 23, 2019 at 4:52 pm

if i were the reviewer, my comment will be why should we spend 87k to buy a junk!

Paul Tan sudah kasi banyak muka la Encik.

• benzs on Feb 21, 2019 at 3:06 pm

Many automotive company scare of losing sales. In order to combat this issue, they butt lift as well. Unlike last time only face lift. Look at MMC Triton, whole body lift. This vios looks very different compare to previous one. Next, Honda City, Nissan Almera and Mazda 2. Come2, pls butt lift as well.

• Dylan Chng on Feb 21, 2019 at 3:31 pm

what’s up with the colour grading

• Chyan on Feb 22, 2019 at 4:10 pm

I know right?

It doesn’t fit with the overall feel of article.

• YOU WAI YAP on Feb 21, 2019 at 3:57 pm

My choice in that price range is a PerO Aruz, same engine but can sit more ppl? ;)

• “What it does feel is underpowered.” If it’s underpowered with a lighter body and seats 5 person, what do you it will do when used on a heavier body and seating 7?

• Easy. Just continue to drive at most left lane. You will see many powerful mpv and suv with 7 pipu inside overtaking you so easily on the right side

• Would be quite awkward for Aruz owners to struggle at left lane while watching X70s zooming pass them like a bawwss.

• “Toyota may bill this Vios as all new, but it actually rides on the same platform as before, dating back to the second-gen model from 2007. It doesn’t even have a new model code – instead, it continues the same NSP151 designation as its predecessor.”

In another words, this just yet another reskin of the ancident junk dinosar Vios. It was outdated when it launched as 2nd gen, its freaking outdated now coming again as 4th gen. Toyota and ancient junk dinosars, berpisah tiada

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Anonymous on Feb 21, 2019 at 7:50 pm

When people bash, it’s either
    A: the product in question is really subpar
    B: (due to) a feeling of insecurity, an instinct evoked upon perceiving a threat. Hence the need to establish dominance and defend one’s prior choice.

• It depends, bash with facts points to A, bash with lies points to B. From Jonathan’s writeup, can see he is trying the best to put good words thru but tempered with a lot more criticism than I normally see in a review.

• Joker The Great on Feb 21, 2019 at 9:47 pm

I am owning the last batch VIOS TRD last year. So far the best fuel consumption I get is 12cents @ km. Average is about 13 cents. Based current fuel price RM1.98 @ Liter

• blind spot monitoring system sometimes unable to detect the new vios

• Ahhh toyota try to copy hyundai

• vVivi Zurianti on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:05 pm

Ah Beng’s favourite Vios car…..More Ah Beng than ever before

• Fatso on Feb 23, 2019 at 4:45 pm

the only reason to buy this car is reliability.
    look wise… not to say teruk but have plenty of room for improvement lo. i think the current outgoing City model looks more appealing.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 24, 2019 at 4:37 pm

This review mirrors my thoughts, and possibly the general segment buying customers, which is why we see Honda shifting loads of City instead.

I didn’t like the cheap shiny interior plastics, made worst by the horribly fake stitching. Toyota could have done a whole lot better just by making plastic look like plastic instead of something else…which would be an improvement. They could have very easily made some extra effort in improving the driver “touch” interfaces slightly higher quality and soft touch for improved perceived quality. Not having rear vents is a huge ommision in our market.

The CVT gearbox has been a huge disappointment, very laggy and “soft” making the entire car feel sluggish and more underpowered than it really is…and a far cry from the original 4 speeder.

Steering is extremely numb and the example I drove didn’t self centre properly, following every minor rut and camber on the road.

The frontal design is tacky and incongruous to the rest of the car looking like it is trying to look different for simply the sake off, instead of making it look harmonious.

Every new Vios seems to get worst than the generation preceding it. The first gen was light on its feet, fun to drive, good on gas and very reliable. I did like the first gen very much in case other people here just think I am out to knock on Toyota.

I did however appreciate that Toyota has now up the ante and made 7 airbags as standard across the range and blind spot monitoring on the E and G trims. So consumer pressure does indeed work.

• Stranger on Feb 25, 2019 at 8:57 am

Easy. You want ride comfort. Non shaky ride on highway especially through LPT2. Your kids can sleep in silence, this is the car you want. Tried City and I spilled my drinks all over