G15 BMW 8 Series launched in Malaysia – sole M850i xDrive variant; 530 PS 4.4L twin-turbo V8; RM1,088,800

The new G15 BMW 8 Series Coupe has made its launch debut in Malaysia, just a few days after BMW Group Malaysia began accepting bookings for the flagship luxury coupe. There’s just the sole M850i xDrive variant available here, which will cost you RM1,088,800 (on-the-road without insurance) to buy.

For that money, you’ll get a N63B44T3 4.4 litre petrol V8 with twin-scroll turbochargers, Valvetronic fully variable valve control, Double-VANOS variable camshaft control and a sports exhaust system.

The mill, which is also used in the updated G11/G12 7 Series, delivers a maximum output of 530 PS (523 hp) from 5,500 to 6,500 rpm and 750 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 4,600 rpm.

As a result, the M850i will take just 3.7 seconds to get from a rest to 100 km/h, before hitting an electronically limited top speed of 250 km/h. The rated fuel consumption here is 10.4 litres per 100 km, to whom it may concern.

Paired with the V8 is an eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission, as well as the German marque’s proprietary xDrive all-wheel drive system. The rear-biased setup modulates torque between the front and rear wheels to maximise traction, while an electronically controlled rear differential lock (part of the standard M Performance package) further assists in these efforts.

On the chassis side of things, the M850i employs double wishbones at the front and a five-link setup on the rear axle. It also gets the Adaptive M suspension and Integral Active Steering as standard – the latter being rear-wheel steering.

Stopping power is provided by four-piston fixed calipers at the front, and single-piston floating calipers for the rear, which clamp down on 395-mm vented discs. As part of the M Performance package, the calipers are painted blue and bear the M logo.

Exterior highlights that also come with said package are an additional front splitter, bootlid lip spoiler and Cerium Grey exterior highlights. There’s also BMW Laserlight headlamps (with BMW Selective Beam), which are the slimmest to be put on any BMW model to date, and BMW Individual high-gloss Shadow Line trim.

The M850i comes fitted with 20-inch M light-alloy Y-spoke wheels (style 728 M) in a two-tone Cerium Grey finish, and staggered tyres – 245/35 at the front and 275/30 at the rear.

However, a Jet Black finish is applied on the wheels when the Sunset Orange metallic body colour is chosen, which is one of six available options, the others being Carbon Black metallic, Black Sapphire metallic, Sonic Speed Blue metallic, Barcelona Blue metallic, and Mineral White.

Moving inside, you’ll have the following colour options – Black, Cognac or Ivory White – for the BMW Individual Merino full leather trim sport seats. The seats are electrically adjustable (with memory function) and come with active ventilation to help your bottom cope with the local climate. Side note: the rear seats are 50:50 split-folding just in case you need to increase the 420-litre luggage compartment.

Other interior items include an M leather steering wheel, anthracite BMW Individual headliner, M seat belts, M pedals, unique floor mats, a head-up display, dual-zone climate control, soft-close doors, Comfort Access System, ambient lighting system and Crafted Clarity Glass application on the gear lever, iDrive controller, engine start/stop button and volume knob.

There’s also the BMW Live Cockpit Professional that features a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster display and 10.25-inch centre screen, which are both linked to BMW Operating System 7.0 and a 16-speaker Harman Kardon sound system. As with some BMW models, owners will get to enjoy the BMW Connected service thanks to a built-in SIM card (unlimited data volume), allowing access to the Concierge Service, Remote Services and Intelligent Emergency Call.

There’s more too, as the 8 Series is the first BMW model in Malaysia to debut the BMW Intelligent Personal Assistant, which is BMW’s idea of Apple’s Siri and the Google Assistant. With it, you’ll be able to access certain functions and information simply by speaking in a natural manner rather than having to use trigger words.

Also making its first appearance here is the BMW Digital Key, which employs near-field communication (NFC) technology so you can lock or unlock or car with your smartphone. With the BMW Connected App, the Digital Key allows you to share the “key” with up to five people you trust most with your M850i.

Safety and driver assistance systems that are present on the M850i include active cruise control with stop & go function, Parking Assistant, as well as Driving Assistant Professional. The latter has systems such as Lane Departure Warning, Lane Change Warning, Pedestrian Collision Warning, Crossing Traffic Warning (front and rear), Emergency Stop Assistant, steering and lane control assistant, Lane Keeping Assistant with active side collision protection and Evasion Aid which now reacts to pedestrians.

Each purchase of the M850i xDrive will come with a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty with free scheduled service programme, two-year tyre warranty programme, BMW Roadside Assistance and Accident Hotline, BMW Group Loyalty+ Mobile App (with the accompanying BMW White Card) and BMW Service Online.

You can find full specifications and details about the 8 Series on CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mario and Bros on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:32 pm

Looks nice and sporty. Lots features and very powerful M 8 Series Car

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:03 pm

Looks good. But if you really want one, buy it 2nd hand. In 2 years time, it will be RM400k. So you save RM700,000 buta buta.

Still got 3 years warranty left, so no worries also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 33
      • Digidigi on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:15 pm

Rich people won’t care abt the 700k la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
      • Veyron Owner on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:37 pm

Only poor people look to secondhand market for luxury cars. If you are poor, please don’t over exert your financial abilities and then struggle to repay the loans for that luxury car and don’t later come to complain about the high servicing cost and high prices of replacement parts like the batteries.

Too many people like yourself only want “face” especially during Chinese New Year, then later Ah Long come to chase. If you don’t have the financial means to keep up with us genuinely rich, please don’t embarrass yourself and foolishly chase after “face” when us genuinely rich are laughing at these kind of people.

Keep to your means and you will live a happy life instead of everyday miserably coming here to complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
        • Eugene on Mar 24, 2019 at 2:27 pm

Rich people is rich because they know where to spend and what to spend. It’s not like what u said they won’t care 700k. Go and find a few otr urus is all Langkawi registered in kL. Why? Because one year can save 300k in tax.

• Only poor people who tries to buy expensive stuff will think about the 700k

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 13, 2019 at 12:03 pm

Alamak did you ever bother to see how much value the i8 has after 4 years? It’s a bloody hybrid and its still expensive as hell so no, your logic is of people who can’t afford but still want to shoot for one.

• Holy macaroni. The Lexus LC500 5.0 litre V8, 10-speed seemed a great bargain now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • digidigi on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:16 pm

This 8 series smoke your Lexus any day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 13, 2019 at 12:11 pm

I think it’s the other way around. The Lexus gets slaughtered on a straight line and into the corners with BMW’s xDrive.

• According to BMW, the 8-series is a replacement for the 6-series. The M6 GC was cheaper than this M850, and that one is a full-blown M car some more.

• I think our rakyat’s Myvi and Wira are faster than this.
    Still, BMW has done a great job in the 8 Series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • Bodoh on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:18 pm

Bro, been reading the same comment about how myvis are faster than any super car all and I’m cringing. Be creative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Vincentwoo on Mar 12, 2019 at 9:24 pm

M5 or 8 series

• CanOnlyDreamAboutIt on Mar 13, 2019 at 1:25 am

Someone please buy this beauty! Wanna see it on the road

• benzs on Mar 13, 2019 at 8:37 am

Its look good for now. Lets keep it this way, snap this article and save in your phone. After 3 years. U look back at this article and search for use M8. The difference is a huge gap. This mean depreciation causing loss.

• FilthyPeasants on Mar 13, 2019 at 11:29 am

Executives are those who earn your annual salary in a month. You as in those who needs 9 years to buy a Myvi and mod it out so that it is supposedly faster than this car. Executives would still need some 3-5 years loan to afford this.
    Us Elites who actually buy these kind of cars earns your annual salary daily, while lounging in the Bahamas. You would think RM 1 million would make a big dent in our finances?

• Brokey on Sep 12, 2023 at 9:18 pm

Don’t forget too many broke kid pretend smart,they can bought 20 myvi instead.lol

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 13, 2019 at 3:40 pm

i cant bear the look on those owners face when the M8 comes out and renders their m850i worthless

• Lao Yee on Mar 13, 2019 at 10:32 pm

Looks stunning in Barcelona blue

• Awesome car but it’s better to wait for the Grand Coupe version

• Sufiyan Ansari on Mar 16, 2019 at 4:12 pm

it’s my favourite car’s BMW