G20 BMW 3 Series launching in Malaysia on March 28

BMW Malaysia will officially launch the all-new G20 BMW 3 Series on March 28, 2019, and you can now register your interest via this dedicated website. Additionally, a video teaser for the seventh-generation model has been posted on the company’s social media websites.

As before, there’re absolutely zero details when it comes to specifications (for now), but based on G20 units that were sighted recently, the 330i M Sport will be an available option to buyers.

The 330i features a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine offering 258 PS from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm, with drive going to the rear wheels via an eight-speed automatic transmission. Performance-wise, the zero to 100 km/h sprint takes 5.8 seconds.

The cars on the transports also appear to be fitted with 18-inch bicolour Orbit Grey (Style 790) M light double-spoke alloy wheels, as well as enhanced LED headlamps with U-shaped daytime running lights, the latter being present on the ROI page. Also included is the M Sport kit that consists of more aggressive bumpers and other cues that differentiate it from Sport Line and Luxury Line models.

With an official launch date now revealed, it won’t be long before we welcome the latest 3 Series. The obvious rival here is the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, which was recently given a facelift earlier in November last year. Which side will you pick?

GALLERY: G20 BMW 330i M Sport at the 2019 Singapore Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• digidigi on Mar 22, 2019 at 11:27 pm

320k plus ….new malaysia we all higher income, good luck guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
    • Peaceful Article Please on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:18 am

But despite in what you are saying, Many people will still go for G20 BMW 3 Series than Mercedes C Class. Confirmed sure. Cause as I see many people said that G20 BMW 3 Series is better than New Facelift Mercedes C Class. Moreover, many people also said that, G20 BMW 3 Series looks younger design and more sleeker design. Whereas, New Facelift Mercedes C Class looks like old grandfather design. Furthermore, G20 BMW 3 Series performance and technology are greater than New Facelift Mercedes C Class. Well that’s my opinion including many other people’s opinion too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
      • digidigi on Mar 23, 2019 at 9:42 pm

u just wait and see lo, this g20 don’t even have autonomous braking, anyway good for f30 buyer, their car retain better value at at least for another year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • Oh dear on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:02 pm

Mercedes Salesman Detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • iCare on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:35 pm

Young execs earned RM7.5K/mth can afford BMW 3 Series. Instalment 2.5k only,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • Mohd Mansor bin Hj Yeop on Mar 24, 2019 at 10:55 am

Enough of BMW for me. I have been using BMWs past 10 years, it is problem after problem. Pay RM300k but visit SC every month to sort problems. Even used the new 530e, headache after headache.

I have gone back now to just a Accord. No breakdowns. No problems, No nothing

BMW – Banyak Masuk Workshop
          BMW – Banyak Makan Wang
          BMW – Buyer Must Weep

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
          • Mario and Bros on Mar 24, 2019 at 1:22 pm

Looks like YB Kunta Kinte is using his fake names. Paultan.org members, pls ban YB Kunta Kinte and his dupes AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. We already fed up with YB Kunta Kinte comments

• Jimmy Took on Mar 24, 2019 at 2:39 pm

More like a story made and problem of affordability. Work harder Sam loo

• Selempang on Mar 24, 2019 at 4:50 pm

BMW – Boss Manyak Wang

• Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2019 at 12:27 pm

@Jimmy Took, no need to accuse others of being me la! i only promote high class toyota cars, not AH BENG hondas.

beli toyota camry je guys!

• Bobby Han on Mar 28, 2019 at 12:31 pm

Japanese cars less breakdowns. BMWs with so many warning lights makes us feel afraid to drive long distance. If these warning lights come on wouldn’t know to continue journey or turn back. BMWs however drive and handle well

• kairud on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:24 am

new Accord is coming … price RM 180K and above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • But new Accord very ugly and look like old grandfather design as New Facelift Mercedes Benz C Class W205. Moreover, don’t forget, new Accord price will be slightly nearly RM200k due to New Accord will be fully imported as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Jiban Zakra on Mar 24, 2019 at 12:02 am

new Accord rides on the stretched platform of Honda Civic FC. Priced same to Crv

• Omg. Can’t believe you mentioned Accord. Totally different level. Not to mention unreliable H.

• Henry on Mar 25, 2019 at 11:46 am

Another dead-in-the-water model. Mid size sedans are passe. It is an SUV world.

• Goodluck you 2 bro. It ain’t we mistake if we born poor , but it we mistake if we die poor. So we study hard & work veri smart. We all hope Proton the bmw of Asia can copy the sukses & marbeles of euro Bmw. Peace all yo’ #takmalu

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 23, 2019 at 1:47 pm

All over the world, the 3 series is a cheap and affordable car. In the US, it is about US$30k. Super affordable.

Fresh graduate in US earns US$4500 starting pay. It is easy to own a 3 series.

In Malaysia, the 3 series like RM280k. Starting pay of a fresh graduate is RM2500. Here it is a super luxury car for the rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Veyron Owner on Mar 24, 2019 at 1:08 am

If you cannot afford it, please work harder. If you want to remain lazy, go get a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • abc123 on Mar 25, 2019 at 10:41 am

fresh graduate in US earn USD4,500, dream about it bro

• The Truth About BMW and Mercedes in Malaysia on Mar 23, 2019 at 2:44 pm

Our BMW and Mercedes prices are going higher and higher. Both are greedy companies in Malaysia

They know, BMW and Mercedes are status symbols in Asia, especially in Malaysia. Mati mati also, people will take loans just to own a BMW or Mercedes just to berlagak and to show friends they “have made it”.

In overseas, even the super rich also treat Mercedes and BMW as Biasa. To the rich, some even just buy a Ford Focus as their car as they don’t believe in a car being a status tool

BMW Malaysia knows the perangai of Malaysians. They know Malaysians like to lagak. So, they keep on putting the price higher and higher because everyone strives to own a BMW or a Mercedes to show they are successful.

My advice to Malaysians….you can even own a Myvi and also be very successful and accomplished. A car is just a car.

Don’t be gullible Malaysians and fall into the luxury car trap that BMW and MBM are trying to get you in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 32
      • Henry on Mar 25, 2019 at 11:25 am

The banks are also very happy. :)

• Simply because you cannot afford, and you want us to agree with your statement , Bro I dream of it daily as 1 day I can afford it. cannot means cannot don’t lar angry with ppl who can….

• anonymous on Mar 23, 2019 at 12:41 am

I heard there is no Harmon Kardon speaker comes this round but HiFi in this CBU G20 330i. It is a big disappointment man.. haih..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 32
    • Radzmund on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:27 am

really? was just thinking to upgrade from Civic.

• U mean there’s a car speaker brand called Civic? Probably no good for u that u wanna get a Harmon Kardon speaker?
        If you are upgrading from a Civic to a 3 Series, the speaker brand should not be a deal breaker. If u care for the speaker brand, just install Harmon Kardon speaker to your Civic. That’s the logical and CIVIClised thing to do!

• Henry on Mar 25, 2019 at 11:28 am

Make the banks happy. Upgrade with a 9 year HP plan. Way to go. LOL.

• anonymous on Mar 26, 2019 at 12:15 am

Hey @wth, everybody has a different demand in the aspects of a car when they are considering before making purchase, be it after sales values (warranty etc), performance, technologies, design, you name it.

Of course, you may sound right but down to typical prospect who definitely will be picky about the equipments that they get especially forking out 330k for this car segment.

Considering you get a premium branded speaker in the rival (Mercedes Benz’s Burmester), it definitely felt sad for a prospect.

• Hope when it ckd, they add more features. Very disappointed if they not bring adaptive cruise control for this variant.

• anonymous on Mar 24, 2019 at 11:22 pm

@Radzmud

BRO, SAME! I’m using Civic now too haha.

True bro, at least for the CBU version.

Talked to their sales representative.

I do hope they are false too hahaha

• Izzuue on Mar 23, 2019 at 12:55 am

The G20 is a decent product by BMW. But still lacked the flawless build quality and premium finishing of Volvo S60, the World Car of the Year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 41
  • Mari kita curi boss on Mar 23, 2019 at 1:06 am

Much sportier drive can be expected just like the new G30 5 Series, the new G20 3 Series is built upon the modular CLAR architecture.

All round CFRP components and higher proportion of aluminum, the platform weigh lesser

• BMW using CFRP component parts in the 7-series, not yet on the 5 and 3.

• Obviously 3 series performance and technology is better. Comfort and luxury wise Mercedes is better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 23, 2019 at 7:57 am

This is BMW bread and butter car. Let us see whether BMW launches the 330e.

Last time, BMW pushed so much for diesel. Then they told everybody their Diesel technology ie Efficient Dynamics all so great and clean and this was the way the world was moving forward.

Then one day, all disappeared. No more 320d, no more 520d, no more 730Ld etc

The same with Hybrid and EV. BMW started pushing EV and Hybrid heavily. Now suddenly, everything seems to have stopped.

Looks like BMW has a lot of hit and miss with trends that they say will be the next In Thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
    • Copy story again kunta on Mar 23, 2019 at 9:50 am

C class has to give more discount now

• Kunta Kinte GTH on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:37 am

What stopped? You living in your own dream world? Diesel models are still being pushed out in Europe. Not available in Malaysia bcoz disagreement with our B10 biodiesel implementation only.

PHEV is still BMW key model in Malaysia. F30 330e, X5 40e, G30 530e.

• People buy because it’s cheaper than the non phev here. In europe it’s more expensive. That’s why maintenance more expensive. I’d rather get f30 328i or 330i can get around 100k to 150k now. Higher top speed than 330e x5. 250kmh vs 225kmh. X5 owners don’t dare to drive about 200 tho. Top speed is just 210. Even 100k+ vw car has higher top speed

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 23, 2019 at 1:55 pm

Don’t worry the 330e will come later in the year. The rest of the world is pushing for electrification so it will arrive whether u like it or not.

• yapwailap on Mar 23, 2019 at 2:24 pm

dude, even benz stopped their hybrids (malaysia) . this is due to the price of hybrid batteries price which range from RM50k to RM80k. Same goes to BMW’s hybrid batteries. You dont wanna fork out that money just for batt replacement even tho you can afford it.

• Kadir Ramlan on Mar 23, 2019 at 3:04 pm

BMW ask Malaysians to buy their EV and Hybrid cars. Now their EV and Hybrids cars have such bad RV because of battery scandal

I think BMW Malaysia should pay compensation to all their EV and Hybrid owners.

After all, it is BMW Malaysia salesman that told buyers all their cars will be EV soon and better to buy EV.

Salesman also said long run can save so much of money

• Major disappointment when BMW Msia drop the 320i and 330i in favor for 330e and 318i..

The 2.0 diesel has some flaws especially on the timing chain failure..

Hope they bring back the petrol version in the G20..

• spock1976 (Member) on Mar 23, 2019 at 8:41 pm

Diesel ones are still being offered overseas. Maybe this is just a quirk for Malaysia. Which is sad cos we have so many Euro5 diesel stations now. In that case maybe i shd keep my f30 320d for now cos it could be endangered species here.

• 320i please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Henry on Mar 25, 2019 at 11:38 am

Unlikely because BMW Malaysia is pushing their Hybrid market niche with the 330e. They do not want to offer another model priced more or less the same. This would result in cannibalising their own sales.

• All the best G20

• Oppai on Mar 23, 2019 at 5:39 pm

Which one should i choose Bmw or Mercedes if save petrol?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Oppai on Mar 23, 2019 at 5:48 pm

Which one should i choose mercedes or bmw if i want safe petrol?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • They should sell the 320i. Confirm beat c200 facelift smaller engine 1.5 slower car from 7.2 secs 0 to 100 to 7.7.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 24, 2019 at 7:44 pm

The dash is a vast improvement over the F30, which was its weakest link. The F30 dash looked dated the moment it was released. Now its all up to BMW Malaysia to give the G20 better specs than the current F30 and to offer more than just 2 cars.

• Bobby Han on Mar 28, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Japanese cars less breakdowns. BMWs with so many warning lights makes us feel afraid to drive long distance. If these warning lights come on wouldn’t know to continue journey or turn back. BMWs however drive and handle well