V177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan launched in Malaysia – A200 and A250 at RM230k and RM268k

Six months on from the launch of W177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class hatchback in Malaysia, it’s finally time for the V177 A-Class Sedan to make its debut. The compact four-door will come in the same variants and similar levels of kit as its sibling, giving buyers greater choice in the fledgling premium small car sector.

With the separate boot comes a slight price premium – the A 200 Progressive Line retails at RM229,888, RM2,000 more expensive than the equivalent hatch, while the A 250 AMG Line gets a RM4,000 increase over the five-door version, priced at RM267,888. Both prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

The sedan tacks on an additional 130 mm to the rear end plus a six millimetre increase in height, with measurements totting up to 4,549 mm long, 1,796 mm wide and 1,446 mm wide (the wheelbase remains the same, at 2,729 mm). Mercedes claims that the sedan offers class-leading rear headroom and above-average shoulder and elbow room, while its 420 litre boot is 50 litres more than its five-door sibling.

Design-wise, the sedan retains the hatch’s low shark nose front end, featuring tapered headlights and a trapezoidal grille with a dinner plate-sized three-pointed star. Also retained is the strong shoulder line, simple upswept character line lower down and a sweeping glasshouse, while the rear gets angular two-piece tail lights that decorate the pert rump, emphasising the car’s width.

Both models come with LED High Performance headlights (not the top-spec Multibeam units) with auto high beam, along with visible twin exhaust exits and 18-inch five-spoke alloy wheels. The AMG Line package on the A 250 adds aggressive bumpers, side skirts, larger cross-drilled front brake discs and AMG-badged alloys. The A 200 comes with run-flat tyres, while the A 250 rides on standard tyres and adds a tyre repair kit.

The cabin will again be familiar to hatch owners, with a thoroughly modern design carrying Stuttgart’s latest design language. That means that the wing-shaped dashboard is dominated by a large freestanding display panel – here without an upper cowl, like on the hatch – and round turbine-style air vents. There’s also a 64-colour ambient lighting system with 10 colour themes, or “worlds.”

The twin 10.25-inch instrument and infotainment displays utilise the new Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) interface. The main highlight is a voice control system with natural speech recognition – using the phrase “Hey Mercedes,” users can operate key features such as the air-conditioning and navigation, and the system will also learn their preferences over time using artificial intelligence.

For interior accoutrements, the A 200 comes with black open pore linden wood trim and Artico faux leather upholstery, while the A 250 gains heated sports seats with integrated headrests, a Nappa leather-wrapped flat-bottomed steering wheel, brushed aluminium decor and Artico and Dinamica microfibre upholstery.

Standard equipment is identical to the hatch and includes keyless entry, push button start, power-adjustable seats with memory and four-way lumbar adjustment, cruise control, single-zone automatic climate control (no rear vents), auto-dimming and auto-folding mirrors, illuminated door sill plates, hard disk-based navigation and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto functionality.

Under the bonnet, the A 200 now uses a smaller 1.33 litre M282 four-cylinder turbo engine, developed in conjunction with Renault. It makes 163 hp at 5,500 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,620 to 4,000 rpm, and when paired to a new Getrag seven-speed wet dual clutch transmission, it results in a zero-to-100 km/h time of 8.1 seconds, a top speed of 230 km/h and a combined fuel consumption figure of 5.4 litres per 100 km.

The A 250 gets a revised M260 version of existing 2.0 litre mill, churning out 224 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm between 1,800 to 4,000 rpm. It hits 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds, reaches a top speed of 250 km/h and delivers fuel consumption rated at 6.3 litres per 100 km. This one gets a revised version of Mercedes’ own DCT, which is also a wet clutch unit.

Both models ride on comfort suspension, with passive dampers and a 15 mm lower ride height than standard. The A 250 is the only one to come with multilink rear suspension, whereas the A 200 receives a new, simpler torsion beam setup. Safety-wise, all models get seven airbags, Active Brake Assist (autonomous emergency braking), a tyre pressure monitoring system and Active Parking Assist with a reverse camera.

Browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:01 pm

A250 at RM270k is ridiculously high. MBM must start reducing their prices. Don’t be greedy. A250 is considred entry level Mercedes in most countries in the world.

Parts also cost so expensive because MBM want to maximize margins. Just like the Mercedes Hybrid battery at RM130k, then overnight, after netizens protested, became RM55k.

If there were no protest, imagine the margins MBM is making

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 232 Thumb down 9
    • Albert Yong on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:50 pm

Just 10 years ago E200 also cost this price. Malaysia oh Malaysia…..ringgit tak ada nilai lagi kerana songlap banyak

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 6
      • Wilson Khoo on Apr 09, 2019 at 4:01 pm

Nissan and ETCM service far exceeds Mercedes. Mercedes just so mahal wor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
        • Ab Jalil on Apr 09, 2019 at 6:37 pm

(Like) 2019 Mazda3 2.0 SkyActiv-X RM120k.
          (Dislike) 2019 Mercedes A200 1.33T RM230k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 35
          • A200 kaki on Apr 09, 2019 at 7:09 pm

I wish to have the old exterior design and new interior dashboard. Also… I don’t want the Torsion beam suspension

• Damon Lee on Apr 09, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Yup. 10 months so fast songlap so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
        • Zainal on Apr 09, 2019 at 10:02 pm

You are right. This is because it is the same 1.6 million lazy Government servants as 5 years ago and they like dedak so much.

Cuma cabinet sahaja tukar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
          • Jeremy on Apr 10, 2019 at 1:04 am

I see. So meaning it wasn’t the 1.6 million Government servants which is the problem but the politicians in the cabinet and now we got the worse cabinet that is reaping corrupt profits in record time. We have voted in a monster!

• Joe Isaac on Apr 10, 2019 at 9:56 am

If this is true, then it just shown cabinet weakness where they cant even control their own staff which brings to another question. Is this the implication of hiring ppl with lack of credibility i.e. fake cert issue?

• johnpanjang on Apr 09, 2019 at 6:45 pm

I speculate that most of the buyers of new Mercedes are either:
        1. individuals with car allowance from the company with which they are employed; or
        2. HNW / UHNW individuals

Most of whom (also speculation) wouldn’t be too affected with paying ~RM250k for an entry level Mercedes. MBM knows this.

• Wilson Khoo on Apr 10, 2019 at 9:08 am

Now our currency is stronger than 10 years ago

Also, Mercedes prices past 10 years have gone down in price.

In Malaysia naik so much

• BMW Salesman on Apr 09, 2019 at 4:04 pm

Because of Mercedes and Hybrid Battery Scandal, BMW Malaysia also now cannot sell their 330e, 530e, 740Le and X5 40e

Thank you Mercedes Malaysian for ruining BMW sales completely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
    • Stevensson on Apr 09, 2019 at 4:04 pm

Young corporate execs earning 8k/month qualified to get 7yr loan for range topper A250.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • ganni on Apr 10, 2019 at 9:50 am

still, u will have a problem on spending the money for the maintenance. for me 8k/month salary still not enough to maintain this merc

• thepolygon on Apr 09, 2019 at 5:33 pm

The era of RM180k for the A-Class has passed us so swiftly. With the new price and looks, these might ended up being a rare sight on the road. Should have skipped this and go on straight to the CLA and C-Class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr (Member) on Apr 09, 2019 at 5:37 pm

One can only imagine how expensive the new CLA will be. CLA200 @ 250k and CLA250 @ 300k for sure. Price all up but no value given in return. MBM still stuck with 4 years warranty while Audi and BMW Malaysia now offer 5 years warranty. All the best in selling these models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • You talk like a poor man…

• Err local launch but no local car pics? All just the global LHD car pics only. I am saddings.
    Anyways tahniah MesidisGeely!
    Mesidis, Geely, P1 VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus, L&C, Polestar > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
    • Same Type as John on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Don’t compare Mercedes to P1. This is why P1 never improves themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:37 pm

Geely owns ONLY 10% of Mercedes. So, you cannot call it MercedesGeely unless you syiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Liew Lee Sam on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:42 pm

Don’t complain about no locals pix. We are happy with PT reporting. If you talk so much, go there and take pix yourself and contribute to PT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Lee Kum Kee on Apr 09, 2019 at 5:29 pm

The arrival of Merc marketing genius, Mark Raine has been a revelation to Malaysia premium car segment. Elevating Merc Benz right to the top, a segment which was dominated by grey Recond imports not long ago. Sadly the amazing guy will be leaving Malaysia soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Loo Lian Pang on Apr 10, 2019 at 11:51 am

Every 5 years they change VP ? When was his first appointment date? When I check history 2014 when launch W205 CBU C class was different person. So assume 2015 M.Raine took position means by 2020 he would be ending 5 year term. So gonna be sad to see his departure ……. he revolutionise the whole image of MB to Malaysia . And not to forget his exceptional marketing strategies for launches , events and so on.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Mercedes A250 at RM270k and BMW 330i at RM329k. Something must be wrong in Malaysia

Both cars are Entry level cars in other countries. They are just one of the the cheapest BMW and cheapest Mercedes one can buy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
    • vincy8925 on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:31 pm

The 3 series competes with C class, and the A series goes against the 1 series. Get your facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • Wilson Khoo on Apr 09, 2019 at 4:00 pm

Why buy Mercedes? Better buy Nissan. Nissan quality far surpasses Mercedes.

I can vouch for this because I own both Mercedes and Nissan. My Mercedes always breakdown and maintenance very high. My Nissan never breakdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
    • Better wait for G20 BMW 318i selling at RM218k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr (Member) on Apr 09, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Don’t worry when CKD 330i kicks in it will be cheaper but for the A Class….sorry no plans for CKD so that is the final price. Better off with the CKD C Class.

• Sonyman on Apr 09, 2019 at 7:28 pm

Why not. Camly already 200k. So conti cars also must upgrade price. Else no one will buy.

• anonymous on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:04 pm

A200 is just a crappy car. Why I say so? There are the reasons:

1, 1.3T engine from Nissan
    2, Rear torsion beam suspension
    3, Front wheel drive
    4, As CBU unit, pricy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 5
    • John King of Multiple Dupes on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:31 pm

Too sempit lah this A class

• DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2019 at 6:08 pm

And at that price, they won’t even throw in rear aircond vents! Instead, they leave that big cheap-looking gaping hole there.

• Finally! and Who say only at China? HAHAHA

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:18 pm

C class price range now taken over by A class sedan…where got logic like that…

• Same Type as John on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:19 pm

I hope no Proton fanboys come here and say why buy Mercedes when you can get the Proton X70. Nowadays they claim their Proton X70 uses Mercedes technogy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Brian on Apr 09, 2019 at 6:45 pm

You think Proton fanboys are as delusional like you did to claim driving a Myvi is like driving a Lexus? lmao

• digidigi on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:19 pm

Torsion beam and single zone zircon…..hahahahaha

• Lotek on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:10 pm

220k for a torsion beam. God you’ve got to love the badge a hell lot to plonk that money down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Apr 09, 2019 at 5:44 pm

The multi link suspension on the A250 isn’t all that better either. You need wider tyres to compensate the skidding you get when you enter the corner too.

• power send to front wheels or rear wheels ?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:17 pm

C class price range now taken over by A class sedan…where got logic like that…

• Zacky on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:22 pm

Get a Mercedes Benz.
    You knew you have made it in the society.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Ahahaha true, typical human mentality.. Judge a person by the cloths that he wear & the car that he drives ;p

• Get a mercedes Benz and you have make it in the society by joining the club to become a Taxi and Limousine Driver.

A lot of people buying other Premium Brands that cost more ,higher specs and better looking than any Mercedes Benz dare not even say they have made it in the society.

• Roti John on Apr 09, 2019 at 3:28 pm

Haha… our P1 Persona 100x times better than this junk A Kerass. lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • bieight on Apr 09, 2019 at 4:19 pm

this car damn ugly

• Those dash screen looks like yesteryear’s cheap tab lcd’s.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 09, 2019 at 5:25 pm

C200 vs A200. I think u know who will win. As for the A250 sedan, what’s with the heated seats?? Can MBM delete that option and opt for a power boot or something like lane departure or blind spot monitor?

• Honda Civic TC-P 1.5T with bigger interior space, multilink rear suspension, 100km/hr at 8.2sec only cost 135k….Cannot brain 220k A keras with smaller space, 1.3T, rear torsion beam & 100km/hr at 8.1sec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Civic’s multi link is no much different or better then a torsion beam!! Both are budget (cheap) suspension setup..

• wiLLonLYBuyiFhAve6AirbaGsAndCbU on Apr 12, 2019 at 12:36 am

Seems like you know a lot about suspensions, how about you share which suspension set is best.

• Batista on Apr 15, 2019 at 2:42 pm

Civic runs on a CVT, after 100km/h takes ages to top.. Dual clutch system still wins if u wan talk about acceleration !! Go play with ur civic’s virtual gears!!

• GT boy on Apr 15, 2019 at 2:53 pm

Wan brag about civic’s multilink !! Honda installed cheap dampers on it, after 2+years of use start leaking..

• jonsnow on Jul 03, 2019 at 4:04 pm

Not to mention the renault engine

• Gracke on Apr 09, 2019 at 7:28 pm

Now everyone knows Mercedes is way too over very high price and nothing and paying more for the batch + accessories only!!!
    Salesperson some more action like hell!!

• 280k for an a class? Is this a joke? Whoever pays the price is an idiot.

• RM230k for a glorified torsion beam with Nissan engine front wheel drive… Yay…

Bo bian… Most of the cost has gone to the “big iPad screen” dashboard, Siri like voice command..

It’s trying to make you “feel special inside”, not “feel special on driving experience”… Got look but no substance.. lol

• Is this CKD or CBU?

• Rich N Famous on Apr 09, 2019 at 8:49 pm

Mercedes build this spice for “WAGs” Market.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 09, 2019 at 11:35 pm

chevrolet cruze with an expensive badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Uses getrag gear box, just like Proton manual cars, saga, iriz.

• Getrag also supplies transmissions to Ferrari and BMW’s M cars. What’s your point?

• If you cannot afford to buy expensive german cars. Buy a manual Saga or Iriz, and you get getrag german transmissions?

• Denise on Apr 10, 2019 at 12:45 am

The car looks nice although it’s a bit too expensive. I wish they made it a coupe instead of a Sedan though, would have been a nice upscale rival to the Toyota 86

• Who say BMW G20 330i OVERPRICE?
    seven years ago, F30 328I CBU launch price at RM309K, RM20K less than G20 330I . but don’t forget f30 only offer sport/luxury line not msport .

• A Class Owner on Apr 10, 2019 at 11:14 am

A lot of bashing on this new A Class instead of praises.

Look, if anyone mentioned about P1 or Nissan or even other Japanese brands then I can say that that person doesn’t know how to appreciate a branded and premium car and should put their comment to somewhere else and not condemning the car. Of course branded car is expensive and what do you expect?

Mercedes always being a premium brand or car and yes, they don’t care how you feel about the brand or car and the people that bought the car don’t really bother about the price because of the brand and look.

I do owned the new A Class (hatchback) and BMW at the same time.

Compare to BMW or even Audi, Mercedes looks premium and worth the price. The new A Class offered the technologies that even a base C Class can’t offer. So the price I think is right on. So if you like it and you can afford, then you buy. It is that simple.If you can’t, then don’t bash the brand and buy something you can afford.

But if you are looking for driving pleasure and comfort, then you should go for BMW although their 1 series is a bit old and no longer in stock.

If you think the price of A Class is ridiculous, you should see the price of the face-lifted Audi A3, which also a good car by the way.

The new A Class is fun to drive and the steering is very light, good for city or town driving and the reason I chose A Class is because the fuel consumption is fantastic. The engine sounds a bit weird but potent.

Mercedes always looks premium but if refinement is what you are looking for, then better go for Audi.

That’s what I can advise for those who can afford a premium brand.

For those comparing Japanese Brands of even P1 or P2, please, you are not comparing apple to apple and please give your humble opinion at the relevant page but not here, unless you have “test-drive” the car.

Also, I used to own P1 twice and Japanese Brands. They are good in their own way not I cannot put any single word to compare as I have explained earlier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Khalid on Apr 10, 2019 at 5:54 pm

That is your own opinion

We do not buy it.

There are many better premium brands in the market like Lexus UX and volvo XC40 we can choose from

Q3 is ugly, A Class ride is horrible , X1 does does not handle as well as XC40 and not as good looking like UX.

Why bothered about buying an A class ( just entry level only)

• what rubbish is this? on Apr 12, 2019 at 12:42 am

you are simply uttering rubbish, even we are afford doesn’t mean we will pay for such nonsense.

• Abang Along on Apr 15, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Boss ada banyak kereta, loan sodah bayar ka?

• Outalingam Crap on Apr 10, 2019 at 1:21 pm

Friggin redundant, if you ask me for my opinion – Merc should improve the driving dynamics (especially gearbox) and rear seat base and legroom for the existing CLA-Class Sedan in the first place and that should do FINE instead of adding a new redundant series of the A-Class SEDAN (What the heck man!)

• Ben Yap on Apr 10, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Civic 1.5 turbo can cucuk merc A200 and still cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • Fareed on Apr 11, 2019 at 12:39 pm

Civic 1 5 T is typical Japanese make. This A class is a European make. Pls compare your cheaper 1.5T elsewhere with other Japanese and Korean makes of your Japanese class .

Pls do not dirty this comment section