QUICK LOOK: 2019 Toyota Yaris 1.5G – est RM84,888

Okay folks, we’re nearing the official launch of the 2019 Toyota Yaris here in Malaysia. The ‘Vios hatchback’ will be locally assembled at UMW Toyota’s new plant in Bukit Raja, Klang, and there are three flavours to choose from – base model J, E, and this top spec G. All models share the same 1.5 litre petrol engine and is paired to a CVT gearbox with seven virtual ratios.

There’s no official pricing as yet, but the entry-level J is tipped to cost around RM71,888. One rung up is the E, which costs RM RM77,888, and the range-topping G you see in the video goes for RM84,888. You’ll have five colours to choose from, that being the Citrus Mica Metallic, Super White, Silver Metallic, Attitude Black, and Red Mica Metallic.

In terms of kit, the Yaris is pretty much on par with the Vios, with features such as projector headlights, LED DRLs, 16-inch dual tone alloys, seven airbags, ABS with EBD, hill-start assist and blind spot monitoring with rear cross traffic alert. However, the top-spec G won’t be getting leather seats, settling instead for fabric seats. What do you think of it?

GALLERY: 2019 Toyota Yaris 1.5G

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2019 at 5:55 pm

If you wanna impress your kampong relatives, buy the Yaris.

If you wanna make them laugh at you and view you as a wannabe racer boi, then go ahead and buy the Jazz.

Toyota cars are always better than hondas. It’s more reliable and has higher RV. (resale value)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 311 Thumb down 91
    • Dilbert on Apr 12, 2019 at 6:04 pm

This is a crap car with still poor features and horrible design. What do I care about RV? What people like you don’t understand is that I don’t want to buy a car for some theoretical future that may or may not come in 5 or 10 years. I buy a car for things that I do with a car right now, and in 2019 or 2020 that still requires a car that gives me value for money and with excellent safety. I don’t see that in this Yaris or the stablemate Vios. By the time I change car, whatever RV it has remaining can’t make me feel any better than disappointment throughout the years of ownership for such a poor car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • J0han on Apr 15, 2019 at 11:06 pm

And who are you again sir?

• “requires a car that gives me value for money and with excellent safety. I don’t see that in this Yaris or the stablemate Vios”

Are you that blind sir? Yaris and Vios gets top safety specs. And the Vios price is same as before.

• After involved in a total lost accident, I now understand that resale value cannot simply be put aside, unless you are somewhat rich. Cause insurance would only pay according to the current value of the car at that particular time.
        Well, the best is to try avoid getting involved in an accident in the first place if you can.

• Barry on Apr 12, 2019 at 6:07 pm

If you want to impress your kampong relatives, try not to bring the Proton X70. Even kampong people know it is a rebadged car and fully Made in China.

Kampong people are patriotic and particular about Barang Buatan Malaysia. They want their national car to be fully made in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Imran on Apr 15, 2019 at 5:29 pm

That’s right. Even in 2017 also, when i go balik raya, all my relatives say “Alamak, Proton bukan buatan malaysia lagi lah, rugi je beli kereta China”

Cannot impress them with the X70 bro

• john Loo on Apr 12, 2019 at 6:41 pm

No, if you buy the Jazz and Yaris, kampong relatives will be proud because they will say that you’re smart for picking the Game Changer. If you wanna make them laugh at you and view you as a guy like john, then go ahead and buy the Game Over Iriz

• Sam Loo on Apr 15, 2019 at 5:31 pm

OK lah, Jazz is still better than any Proton. Proton X70 is now selling well, but it’s only a rebadged car

• Susukotak on Apr 12, 2019 at 6:41 pm

For a family man like me. If you wanna impress your kampong relatives, buy the Toyota Sienta…

• panjang on Apr 12, 2019 at 7:33 pm

No…nowadays, even kampung people not impress with Toyota, even your supposedly super Mpv.
      I will settle with a 2nd hand E class for that money.

• Flying Sampan on Apr 12, 2019 at 7:56 pm

IMHO kampong peasants will mistaken Yaris is another model of new Myvi pasted with T badges later.

• Ricky on Apr 12, 2019 at 8:53 pm

Well Sam, reliability apart, this thing is butt ugly.
      The previous generation were much better looking.

• My kampong relatives dun know Yaris.

• Ben yap on Apr 12, 2019 at 9:30 pm

Anytime a honda city can smoke a vios or yaris. All Honda cars have better and more powerful engine. Only those uncle and old school people drive Toyota. The ultimate driving machine among the Japanese cars are Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Adam Yee on Apr 16, 2019 at 10:56 am

I think not. Just the other day, I witness first-hand a Honda City with its wheel coming off while it was cornering.

• stroll on Apr 17, 2019 at 3:18 pm

Yeah. Would you stuck with 7-9 years loan with car of 3 years quality? Yes, buy Honda you will get the best design and poorest quality

• myvifan on Apr 13, 2019 at 6:53 am

Kampung folks dun impress coz it looks like cheap myvi

• Whatever you buy doesn’t impress anyone other than your own self. Simply said shiok sendiri. Buy whatever you can afford and you want. Living in other people’s eye is never live your own life.

• AyaMAS on Apr 13, 2019 at 11:23 am

Probably you are right, but if its going to be priced at 80+ dont you think that a tad expensive?

• 2016 Vios cost RM49k only, very good RV?

• admin permaban john on Apr 14, 2019 at 12:43 am

Hello Sam, your son use Proton Saga right?

• Looks like someone been liking his own comment for the whole weekend.

• Lolzors on Apr 14, 2019 at 10:50 am

Hello Toyota salesman, please don’t waste time here and go start selling more overpriced cars such as this Yaris

• Redpilled on Apr 15, 2019 at 4:17 pm

Yup, this ‘thing’ definitely fell off the ugly tree and hit every branch on the way down… Fell face flat into a pile of dogshit some more…
      Geez WTF was the designers were thinking? It’s not like it’s got wierd physical proportions to hide like say, the Persona (sorry people, it is what it is and my company owns one and I drive it often so can’t call me a blind basher…).

The only current model Toyota that I can say is good looking is the new Corolla. Yg lain semua hampeh…

• Car guy on Apr 15, 2019 at 7:04 pm

If you want to let your kampong people feel a bit tak halal vibes, then choose Toyota. Why ? Thanks to the pig mouth look alike Toyota loga lolololololol

• toyota fan on Apr 12, 2019 at 6:38 pm

The Yaris do not have leather seat or higher quality fabric sport seat for the range topping G spec, but the Vios have leather seat for the G spec.
    J and E spec Yaris only comes with manual Aircon, but Vios J , E and G spec have full auto aircon console.
    Vios have bodykit included, but Yaris you need to pay extra RM2800?

• Same L0rr on Apr 12, 2019 at 6:53 pm

Habislah jazz

• too many ugly cars on the road. be patience & stay safe guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • panjang on Apr 12, 2019 at 7:27 pm

That interior and no leather are the wrong move they made in these times where consumer are getting picky.

• kanazai2001 on Apr 12, 2019 at 8:22 pm

still no sign of MT?

forget bout Toy…

• Ahmadjr on Apr 12, 2019 at 8:35 pm

Toyota is really specialise in making ugly cars. They even put the ugliest colour with the ugliest car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • CZ4At on Apr 12, 2019 at 8:52 pm

Is it me or this new Yaris and Vios is as ugly as it could be?
    Was the designer high on drugs or what?
    Wouldn’t keep that crap even if they would give it to me FOC.
    Feeling like throwing up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Better wait X50 launch

• F-U-G-L-Y

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • John Bin Palat on Apr 12, 2019 at 10:24 pm

New 2.5 Toyota Camry so mahal also got quite a few on the road.

Now this car around, sure will sell like hot cakes! Habis lah Persona!

• Err okaayyyy….. I will wait for you to confirm when new Yaris will get 8,000 bookings first.

• Satu Jalan on Apr 12, 2019 at 11:40 pm

Great. Expect to see hot hatch wannabes on the road soon.

• Kermit lives on

• naChe on Apr 13, 2019 at 7:24 am

Childish red lines

• MyNewToy on Apr 13, 2019 at 11:56 am

Toyota always goes for Quality and Reliability and Honda is for Quality and Technology. Actually, they are a complement to each other in the market to make a choice.

• CrazyMobilo on Apr 13, 2019 at 2:14 pm

Chopped of butt with a moderate interior sister Vios… Welldone UMW Toyota….
    But why no Leather seats? Why prices as high as a Entry level Polo? So is Yaris a VW model now..

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 13, 2019 at 10:21 pm

Will be a bestseller…no doubt about it

• newme on Apr 14, 2019 at 3:09 am

If you want people to laugh at you wherever you go, buy a Proton.

• Dude, you think driving this Yaris makes you cool? Keep telling yourself that while others laugh and question your eyesight and taste.

• Lolwhut? on Apr 15, 2019 at 4:09 pm

If you want people to laugh even louder at you whenever you go, buy a Toyota.

• Autobahn on Apr 14, 2019 at 4:31 am

Kia rio looks a lot classier than this. That after market 1990’s front lips….and not to forget a slot in radio where you can replace it with pioneer aftermarket head unit at accessories shops….dem son…are we still in that era

• Dayak Mechanic on Apr 14, 2019 at 11:08 pm

The same chassis platform that P.2 Myvi had based on. Engine might differ technology as Myvi powered by 2NR-VE while Yaris is 2NR-FE but both have their similarity. But Yaris have better tranny, accessories & technology. Quality & Aftersale Service, I dont know which one is better, 50-50 kot.

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 15, 2019 at 10:48 am

only problem with this observation is, Honda is currently outselling toyota.

• Sohai (not ori) on Apr 15, 2019 at 12:07 pm

Agreed. Many Jazzes driven recklessly

• Daddykasi on Apr 15, 2019 at 10:34 pm

Toyota Laris.. Memang laris.. Habislah iriz

• Kit Liang Chong on Sep 29, 2021 at 10:38 pm

Wanna impress go buy falali la.. Talk