Perodua Myvi launched in Singapore, from RM197k

The current Perodua Myvi has been officially launched in Singapore. Two variants of the third-generation hatchback are available in the island state – the 1.3X AT and 1.5H AT, priced at S$64,800 (RM197,093) and S$69,800 (RM212,301) respectively, inclusive of GST and the country’s mandatory Certificate of Entitlement (COE).

The launch event was held last Saturday at Perocom Auto’s outlet in Ubi, attracting some 250 customers. Perocom Auto has been the sole authorised Perodua distributor in Singapore since 1997. Previously, it sold the Kancil, Kembara, Kelisa, original Myvi, Viva, Axia and Bezza there.

“The current-generation Myvi’s foray into Singapore is significant in terms of brand presence despite the high barriers for entry into this mature market. This also marks the model’s first export destination under the Perodua brand,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

Perodua started exporting the current Myvi to Indonesia last year, but the car is badged as a Daihatsu Sirion there. Launched in Malaysia in November 2017, Perodua has sold 110,000 units of the Myvi in its home market to date.

The number of new cars registered in Singapore varies by a fair amount year to year – 80,281 units in 2018, 91,922 in 2017, 87,504 in 2016 and 57,589 in 2015, according to Land Transport Authority statistics.

“The Perodua Myvi has been very well received by Malaysians, and the enthusiasm has also found its way to Singapore, where there is a niche yet loyal cult following eagerly awaiting the arrival of the third-generation model,” said Perocom Auto’s MD John Ng.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Typical Malaysian on Apr 15, 2019 at 10:52 am

Lucky we Malaysians… nah ambik u, jgn hari2 tau komplen je… Hahahah syukurla geng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
    • Mr. Loba Loba on Apr 15, 2019 at 3:56 pm

don’t be a stupid. it is about SGD65k. if you are earning SGD5K a month, you can easily afford this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
      • Back in 1957, 1 Ringgit = Sgd 1. Wasted 60yrs

• Basher logic on Apr 15, 2019 at 5:25 pm

Of course, when comparing cheaper car price in other countries, simply convert the exchange rate and bash. Never take into account other hidden costs (petrol, insurance, tax etc.) or cost of living. Worse, simply assume the B40 income group in Singapore is SGD5K (or that they could afford a car with that income).

But when car price is clearly more expensive in other countries, suddenly becomes aware of other factors.

Ever think about why Singapore had to implement CoE in the first place?

• john Thanos on Apr 15, 2019 at 6:24 pm

The Game Changing Perodua Myvi is like “Thanos”. Only one snap of a finger, half of Iriz sales disappear and Game Over. Same goes to other Perodua models that took over half of each Proton Game Over models sales.

• okwhatever on Apr 15, 2019 at 8:26 pm

u see not everyone earn 5k over there lol

• Add A Comment on Apr 16, 2019 at 7:16 am

If you earning RM5K a month, u can easily afford Myvi also…

• Don’t do stupid. If I earn SGD, Why in the world would i buy a MyVi?? I might as well buy a Japanese or European car with a similar pricing.

• Jeremy on Apr 15, 2019 at 4:34 pm

Someone said SG cars are cheap but from this article, it is clear he was lying. It is most definitely NOT CHEAP!!!

• You failed to analyse Singapore.

Singapore discourage car ownership because of their limited land space to cater for cars couple that Singapore had a very good and efficient public transport unlike Malaysia where buses and trains service are not punctual and not connected to places where people would like to go.

Furthermore 1SGD is worth 3 MYR. When you compare dollar to dollar , the price of vehicles is actually normal for Singapore of higher income unlike Malaysia with low income , high vehicle prices and no value Ringgit.

• suomynona on Apr 18, 2019 at 11:49 am

IS NOBODY GOING TO TALK ABOUT THE BROWN LEATHER IN THE BLACK MYVI THERE :O

• jiaji on Apr 24, 2019 at 10:04 am

stupidddd….myvi is made in malaysia…mmg patut pon kalau masuk singapore or others country the price will be higher..becoz tax n etc….apa la bongokkkk

• Celup King on Apr 15, 2019 at 10:53 am

HAHAHAHA! Even more expensip than a topline Camry here. Siapa mau beli?

Perodua shiok sendiri to have an outlet in Singapore just to pay Sinkie salaries to workers who sits around doing nothing. How many sales did Perodua Sinkie did last year? Most likely ZERO!

Better sell in Pakistan that case. LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
    • Rajoo Selvam on Apr 15, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Singapore BMW 530i is SGD200k (with COE included)

Malaysia BMW 530i is RM380k

Singapore Average Government Servant earn SGD8000 pe rmonth

Malaysia Average Government Servant earn RM1200 per month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • JasonX on Apr 15, 2019 at 7:34 pm

You talk with no data. There’s some bezzas on the road here. Small operation don’t need large sale numbers

• Ghani on Apr 16, 2019 at 1:53 pm

And you talk without facts. The only Bezzas I see in SG are Malaysian number plates. I have never seen a SG plated Perodua, and I travel in and out daily.

• PrZemsyl on Apr 16, 2019 at 4:28 pm

You’re talking to a singaporean dude. I’m another sinkie and i can testify that there are indeed some Singaporean registered peroduas here, however they are very small in number compared to the huge number of hyundais and kias… perodua is not that popular

• john (Roti) on Apr 15, 2019 at 10:56 am

Habisla Iriz Game Over! Myvi go international!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
  • Who in their right mind would pay S65k for a car that can be seen all over across the causeway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • anonymous on Apr 15, 2019 at 10:57 am

Seriously, Perodua can never sell good when it is out from its kampung land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Ghani on Apr 15, 2019 at 11:00 am

Failed venture. Crossing over daily, I have seen Proton cars with SG plates but I have never seen Perodua cars with SG plates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • pengguna ploton kecewa on Apr 15, 2019 at 11:01 am

wow.can buy 4 units here.wow again

• Imran on Apr 15, 2019 at 11:11 am

Even Perodua can sell cars in singapore.

Our proton? malaysia sendiri tak boleh jual dah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Have you ever seen Singapore-plated Perodua? None.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Imran on Apr 15, 2019 at 3:46 pm

I actually saw SG plated Myvis and Vivas before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
        • I have never ever seen one before. Care to share where you seen them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Imran on Apr 15, 2019 at 5:22 pm

I saw them when i was in SG. Rare but Proton now also rare there. Proton cannot even sell cars in SG anymore

• Ghani on Apr 16, 2019 at 1:55 pm

“I saw”. Prove it la. Don’t just talk here like you so fond of doing.

• salgoodguy on Apr 15, 2019 at 9:22 pm

salah negara kot dia pergi

• Hasan on Apr 15, 2019 at 11:13 am

If perodua cars are so bad, why sell them in Singapore?

Even singaporeans prefer a japanese car over a China car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Cars designed for 3rd world countries like the Myvi can never sell in SG with prices like that.

• “The number of new cars registered in Singapore varies by a fair amount year to year – 80,281 units in 2018, 91,922 in 2017, 87,504 in 2016 and 57,589 in 2015”
    In all that numbers, consistently zero for P2 cars registered. I am so sad for our lack of presence there. The Head of Export should have be fired long ago.

• Imran on Apr 15, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Hello, I even saw a blue SG Bezza when i went there. Rare lah, but better than Proton twhich cannot even sell in SG anymore since 2017

• Yellow V8 on Apr 15, 2019 at 11:23 am

197k & 212k ?? hahaha that’s something to laugh about

• J0han on Apr 15, 2019 at 10:52 pm

You should be very sad instead. It’s 212k becase the ringgit is very poor.

They don’t buy the car in ringgit bruh.

• Meng meng on Apr 15, 2019 at 11:30 am

Wow! Finally im driving a rm200k car.

• God bless the citizens of republic.. Visit ur neighbor often to really enjoy driving if u ever own a car.. Don’t bother to take our public transport though..

• Bravo.

• Compare the prices locally. not convert the $$ back to your MYR.

• Darren on Apr 15, 2019 at 3:58 pm

Even local pricing is still topkek. Here the most expensive variant is 52k, there the most expensive is 70k. Siapa mau beli?

• salgoodguy on Apr 15, 2019 at 9:27 pm

what s the cost to make 1 myvi here in malaysia? we sell to them for rm200k? wow nice business… unless this myvi from japan or ckdied there.. dont knowthe reason behind the selling price

• cslee on Apr 15, 2019 at 12:08 pm

That price in the COE cost about SGD 30k to 40k around RM90k to 120k. Somemore the COE is entitled for 10 years period, means no need to pay again if change car in 10 years time for same segment. Malaysia excise duty you got charged every time change car even in one month time. Also the funny thing is Malaysian pay insurance for this tax figure.

• OMG Singapore really needs to lower their vehicle prices! on Apr 15, 2019 at 12:25 pm

Walao RM 197k for a Myvi… How much do they pay for pickup trucks then? RM 500k for a Ford Ranger!? 1 Mill for an E class? They really need to do something about this or Singaporeans will be the most expensive countries to buy cars FOREVER! RIP Petrolheads like us :(

• thomas on Apr 15, 2019 at 12:33 pm

in Singapore any car becomes a luxury car. Including this myvi

• Sonyman on Apr 15, 2019 at 12:39 pm

Why would any Singaporean buy this.

• Just saying.. on Apr 15, 2019 at 12:51 pm

Who would’ve guessed a Myvi costs an arm and a leg in SG. Now somehow feeling lucky to be in MY despite inflated car prices.

• SG plat MYVI is driving faster than MY plat and blue paint

• Wow 200k for a myvi jeez man

• Ben Yap on Apr 15, 2019 at 5:01 pm

RM200K myvi. the car better be fitted with a twincharged engine else it’s a total rip off.

• Life is good in SG on Apr 15, 2019 at 6:30 pm

Don’t forget SGD65,000 only to use for 10 years.
    If you want to use longer must pay some more.

• Malaysian Singaporean.. time for you contribute to your home country by purchasing one. Don’t always complain how bad traffic at bridge and yourself zero contribution to tax in Malaysia

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 16, 2019 at 8:52 am

Price is inclusive of COE. So it stupid to buy a cheap car because the COE is the same even if you buy a Merc. Do remember in SG one can do away with driving unlike here.

• kallayil sathyanathan nair on Apr 16, 2019 at 7:38 pm

Cars must be designed by experts not others.Many aspects need consideration.Cannot give best at low price then cost overrun.Musy study market trends in terms of features and design.

• kallayil sathyanathan nair on Apr 16, 2019 at 7:40 pm

Cars must be designed by experts not others.Many aspects need consideration.Cannot give best at low price then cost overrun.Must study market trends in terms of features and design.

• GHOSTRIDER on Apr 16, 2019 at 10:08 pm

Haha… U all crazy about car.. just steel.. steel.. after 6 years no value at all. U bought hundred thousand dollar.. but when it wife ask u some money.. u sooo kedekutttt maaaa..

• Chia jiunn bin on Apr 18, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Singapore loan only can up to 50% only and a lot more terms need to follow and pay also. We are Malaysian is very very good here.