Gov’t says VEP enforcement to begin on October 1

The transport ministry has announced that enforcement of the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) will begin on October 1. This will require any foreign motor vehicle entering the country through any route, landing place, check point, or point of entry to have a valid VEP from that date.

The ministry said via a statement that VEP enforcement will be implemented in phases, starting with entry points from Singapore. All foreign-registered vehicles entering the country through Bangunan Sultan Iskandar and Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar will require a VEP from October 1. Vehicles without a VEP then will not be allowed entry into Malaysia.

The second phase will involve all entry points/land borders between Malaysia and Thailand,while in phase three, VEP will be enforced at all entry points/land borders between Malaysia-Brunei-Indonesia. The enforcement dates for vehicles entering and exiting through these entry points/land borders will be announced in due course.

Registration for a VEP, which is issued by the road transport department (JPJ), can be done online here. Once registered, the owner of the motor vehicle will receive an e-mail notification to schedule an appointment for the installation of the VEP-RFID tag, for which all required documents need to be brought along.

The VEP-RFID tag can be installed/collected at four designated centres in Johor Bahru, these being:

• Gelang Patah Southbound RnR
  • Plaza Angsana Open Carpark
  • Pandan RnR
  • Lima Kedai Toll Plaza

The ministry said all vehicle owners who have yet to register for the VEP are reminded to do so as soon as possible. The VEP for each registered motor vehicle is valid for a period of five years.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kiasu on Apr 25, 2019 at 9:28 pm

Singapore cars with outstanding saman must be confiscated and compounded. Then lelong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • panjang on Apr 25, 2019 at 9:30 pm

Maybe secretly they plan to only issue VEP after owner settle outstanding summon?

• U-Tun on Apr 25, 2019 at 10:05 pm

There’ll be reciprocal enforcement by neighbouring countries upon Malaysian-registered vehicles then everyone starts making noise so eventually our government has to make a sharp u-turn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Anana on Apr 26, 2019 at 12:20 am

Speak a good word or remain silent –

• Onono on Apr 26, 2019 at 10:51 am

Freedom of speech mah..that was how rakyat voted out previous gomen. If u wanna remain silent go disappear into jungle meh.

• Vader on Apr 26, 2019 at 12:43 pm

It’s great, foreign motor vehicles paid us yo ;)

• Frozen on Apr 26, 2019 at 5:20 pm

And we paid the extra to foreign countries when we cross there. How is this great?

• azhar on Apr 26, 2019 at 7:58 am

VEP already in place from previous govt laaa

• Tun Pirate King on Apr 25, 2019 at 10:06 pm

The only ones to suffer is the rakyat Malaysia travelling to these countries on a dialy basis for work. What a sortsighted, numbskull, kneejerk, circlejerk, policy-making-in-a-silo. They should just negotiate with those respective countries on a vis-a-vis VEP so it doesn’t burden either party but as well all know, this government is daily thinking of ways to squeeze more cash from the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • john bodoh again on Apr 26, 2019 at 8:59 am

rakyat Malaysia drive foreign registered car meh?

Article said only foreign registered car kena. Otak mana otak? takda otak also malu apa kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Md Saidin on Apr 26, 2019 at 11:08 am

Correct. Myself a gov civil servant for past 25 years, just grateful to the govt keeping my rice bowl. I can take care my wife and young kids. Even the sad state of financial left by old govt, we knew how bad it was. All sorts of shenanigans, you just name it. Syukur laa msia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • EDITOR on Apr 26, 2019 at 12:44 pm

You call other bodoh but the real bodoh is you. You think if Malaysia ups the VEP, Singapore & Thailand will remain silent. Of course they will raise their own VEP! So who will bear the brunt when they raises their VEP, the foreign registered cars? To them, we are the foreigners. Please use the grey matter in the head before you want to shoot.

• Tun Pirate King on Apr 26, 2019 at 3:30 pm

Editor dah marah lettew. Jangan kasi chance. Tu dah buat bodoh lagi mau tunjuk kebodohan kat dunia.

• Even with VEP in place, most Singaporeans are jostling in to come here to see our beautiful country. Some recalcitrant locals too ingrained with their previous gov corruptive ideologies. Thanks Gov for listening to the people. Syabas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Apr 25, 2019 at 11:45 pm

Boss entering Singapore is free for the first 10 days of a year and u can get in free after that on weekdays after 7pm.

• Mr. Octopus on Apr 26, 2019 at 9:16 am

People complain Singaporeans dont pay anything when entering Malaysia… So we now decide to charge them VEP.

What happens if Singapore increases their VEP cost in retaliation?

I guess the big question is who needs who more?

Then we will know who will win this VEP war.

• kona baring cecah lutut on Apr 26, 2019 at 10:35 am

A free market, if out of equilibrium.
      Tends toward equilibrium.

• Together with the coming airport exit tax, this VEP will affect the country negatively.

• To Seancorr: VEP charged everytime you entering singapore. No free 10days.

• Those who travel across the border are Malaysians driving SG Car coz Malaysians (Singapore PRs) cannot drive/ride foreign registered vehicles. Registering the VEP in JPJ website is not a hassle but when you hit with a problem then the aduan@vep could not help you.