New window tint ruling for Malaysian vehicles – darker rear windows now allowed, pay RM5k to go full black

The government has announced revisions to the current vehicle tinting guidelines, which were last revised in February 2016 when updated regulations filed under Motor Vehicles (Prohibition of Certain Types of Glass) (Amendment) Rules 2016 replaced the previous 1991 rules.

At present, current regulations stipulate that the minimum visible light transmission (VLT) percentages are 70% for the front windscreen, 50% for the front side windows, and 30% for the rear windows and the rear windscreen.

This has now been amended for the rear windows and rear windscreen, with the new regulations allowing VLT percentages to be reduced below 30%, provided there are two side mirrors (as in left and right) attached to the vehicle, according to the transport ministry.

No baseline percentages were defined, which means that a vehicle can theoretically have its rear windows and rear windscreen darkened to 0% VLT (effectively making it a panel vehicle. Panel SUV and sedan, anyone?). The defined legal VLT percentage for the front windscreen remains unchanged at 70%, as does the percentage for the front driver and passenger side windows, at 50%.

The ministry added that the new regulations apply only for private vehicles, and will also cover vehicles used in ride-hailing. Transport minister Anthony Loke said that although a ride-hailing driver needs a public service licence (PSV), the car he/she uses remains classified as a private vehicle. Motor vehicles registered and used for public transport and goods however will have the permissible VLT levels for their windows and screens continuing to be set at not lower than 70%.

Motorists looking to darken their vehicle completely will be able to lower the VLT levels of the front windscreen and front driver/passenger side windows, but will need to specifically apply for this, and it will involve cost.

In its statement, the ministry said that any individual may apply to darken their vehicle’s front windscreen and front side windows (either through the use of darker privacy glass or window tint film) for specific reasons, be it safety or health factors.

For applications based on safety/security purposes, a service fee of RM50 will be charged for each application submitted. If approved, a successful applicant will have to pay RM5,000 to be able to lawfully darken the front windscreen and front side windows of his/her vehicle below the permissible 70% and 50% levels.

The outgoing VLT rules, which will be replaced by the new one as of tomorrow, May 8.

Each permit that is granted is valid for a period of two years, which means that those with approvals to use darker front windows and windscreen will need to re-apply when the validity period for that use expires, and they will need to pay the fee again for another two years of use, and so forth.

As previously reported, exemption will be given to vehicle owners who need to utilise a completely darkened vehicle because of medical conditions, but applications for exemption on such grounds need a written confirmation from a government physician.

The ministry said that the amendment has been aimed at providing all motorists with the convenience of darker rear windows – and cooler vehicles – but will also contribute to improving government revenue. According to Loke, the government projects that the annual income from fees is expected to be worth around RM6 million annually.

The new window tint rules will be effective from May 8, 2019. The ministry said that any application for exclusion may be submitted from the effective date of this amendment, and enforcement of these new rules will commence three months from the date the rules come into force.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• thykrupp on May 07, 2019 at 4:07 pm

This is really a good news. Especially recond cars buyer with dark tint at back passenger windows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 35
    • lithium on May 07, 2019 at 5:51 pm

mixed feeling on this. there is a reason why the rear windows are see through. when you are tailing a vehicle you can see through it to the car in front of it, the higher 3rd brake lights of cars further up can be seen so you can react faster. tinting it completely will not allow this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 30
      • Manual Swift Sporter on May 07, 2019 at 7:06 pm

I had the same issue too, until I learned not to tailgate.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 14
        • Lithium on May 07, 2019 at 10:09 pm

Tailing doesn’t mean tail gating. I don’t tailgate when I drive. Maybe I should say following :)
          However don’t you think it is easier to judge the cars infront if the rear windows are not darken out completely?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
          • Full credits to Minister Anthony and govt. Global warming is a real threat. Our Gen ready to save the Earth, right now – turning the tide on climate battle. Kriks3

• JPJ Officer on May 08, 2019 at 1:49 pm

So you must have problem driving behind a bus or lorry? I suggest you to retake the driving course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
          • Tailing any vehicle from behind still have to follow the 2 sec or 12 sec rule if you didn’t pay kopi for your license and take it genuinely. Secondly, can explain how you tail Lorry or Bus? Same way you should tail a car.

If you cannot follow, well it’s no longer a tint problem but more of personal problem.

• Damon Lee on May 07, 2019 at 10:23 pm

If you can’t see the front car brake lights it doesn’t matter if you are tailgating or keeping your distance, you still won’t have enough time to brake and avoid an accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
          • Maszlee on May 08, 2019 at 1:59 pm

So you must have hit many vehicles in front of you when you are driving behind a bus or lorry? I won’t feel safe to have a driver like you on the road. Looks like Malaysian motorist need to be reeducated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
          • Damon Lee on May 08, 2019 at 3:17 pm

Puspakom yearly inspection mandates that lorries and buses must have working tail lights to pass inspection. They don’t have such ruling for private cars. So I am assured I can rely on the tail lights of lorries and buses to be functional. Cars? Yeah right. Looks like you need to be reeducated on how unsafe a car can be when it doesn’t have functional tail lights.

• Maszlee on May 08, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Pls enlighten me where did Puspakom mandates for working tail lights only for buses and lorries? There is no where in Puspakom website that shows what you said. Perhaps people should just read more and stop making up stuff to bash the Gov, which is normally the work of opposition.

• yapyw on Sep 13, 2022 at 11:50 am

Good lah that U learned on time, otherwise cannot read your post(s) already looh

• People who tint usually have something to hide. We need to be an open society. No more secrets like 60 years of secrets.

Better to keep it clear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 25
        • Poesface on Jun 20, 2020 at 9:29 pm

Moronic statement.Some people just want to be COOL,protect their seats ,not die in heat ,because it looks good,because they want to f%#* inside ,theirs a multitude of reasons other then your old fashioned opinion., where’s your mentality at ?grow up

• Krish on Nov 14, 2020 at 12:14 am

Do you die with 70% visibility at the front screen? If no why not use the same for the rear screen.

• Morons on Sep 13, 2022 at 4:58 pm

U better say that your house no need have walls and doors

• Have you driven a regular sedan/hatch/coupe behind a bus, lorry, MPV, SUV, van or pick-up truck before? You can’t see anything in front of it anyway.

• Copy Paste on May 08, 2019 at 12:15 pm

Copy paste: “Sometimes some cars are going real slow on the road for no reason. With complete dark back window, how to tell if the front got long queue / slow traffic or simply the front car is taking his sweet time crawling on the road?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • Copy Paste 404 on May 08, 2019 at 2:23 pm

So if a bus or lorry taking his sweet time crawling, what are you going to do?

• Mat Rempit on May 08, 2019 at 1:30 pm

Thanks JPJ. Now i don’t need to fear for being recognised in my Proton. Time to Vroom-Vroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Did you not read the article? Only applies to the rear windows and windscreen. Are you perhaps a backseat driver scum?

• Dato Tan Aik Sim on May 08, 2019 at 1:01 am

Those people who commented JPJ / Ministry of Transport Minister blind or stupid please take twice with your comments. Think again why would those Japanese recond cars have such tinting regulations? All neighbour countries like Thailand, Indonesia and Singapore have already followed this international regulations. Wake up you Jakun people! Those who claimed that Third Brake Light could not see through under dark tinting film are those Low EQ people! No one asked you to tint that portion. You can always cut this third brake light portion out without any film tinting. Some cars even have their 3rd brake light mounted on the car body or rear spoiler already.

Pls think before you make any brainless comments here!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 19
    • ShameOnYou on May 08, 2019 at 8:20 am

This new jpj boss memang not professional n matured enough. Instead of doin this useless tinting stuff, or myb try to make money from it yang rm5k for those who wanna go all black, why not catch those traffic offender n saman them, u make more money from thr. They dont wanna pay, court case, surely they will pay after. Nobody wanna go jail. People now a day are more ignorant n denial, even they at fault they still dying defends that they are right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Are you an idiot? There are already too many JPJ roadblocks now you’re asking for more?

• Betul ke ni the rear windows and rear windscreen can go to 0%? I want to make an appointment at tint shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Aalldisc on May 08, 2019 at 10:23 am

If you want 0% visibility in the rear windows, Toyota has something in offer. It is the Toyota have panel van. 100% cannot see through

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
  • Good job Anthony Loke ! on May 07, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Finally! So jealous looking at all those Vellfire and Alphards with 100 percent dark window tint… Now I can tint my God-car Vios and Myvi the same way too (only for the rear passenger lah :D )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
  • Saysaysaja on May 07, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Getting more samseng will be.
    If full black got accident at night time? Who to blame? Jpj allowed full dark rear or full windows after pay rm5k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
    • thepolygon on May 07, 2019 at 5:11 pm

JPJ will give full 0% VLT front and rear after pay RM5k and see if you dare to drive. Haha…

• Ongtk on May 07, 2019 at 4:25 pm

Frivolous change indeed. How are they to monitor the 2 years period for those who successfully applied for 100% tint? In a way, this will provide opportunity for dishonest enforcement officers to make quick money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Your question is same as asking how r they going to monitor whether everyone is renewing their driving license…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • orang biasa on May 07, 2019 at 11:06 pm

After applied and approved by JPJ, the permit need to keep inside the car, in case roadblock to check the full tinted dark windows…. Ini macam roadtax.

• Jeffrey Chen on May 07, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Support 100% on this decision.
    Best move so far seen from JPJ.
    Bravo!!! JPJ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 59
  • Dylan Ch'ng on May 07, 2019 at 4:52 pm

They used the side of the facelifted Iriz but the front and back of the pre facelifted Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • vVivi Zurianti on May 07, 2019 at 5:00 pm

JPJ should charge more for darker tint. make more morney

50% tint = RM1000
    Every additional 5% tint= add RM200

hahahahahah

Valid for 1 years only. I am sure Velfire, Alphard Big-fat-boss owners can afford them easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Jo-Jo Joget on May 08, 2019 at 11:35 am

Err…JPJ are already charging RM 5000 for any tint above the regulation limit.
      That’s way higher than your proposed incremental value.

However, I do agree that they should charge even higher…perhaps RM 8 ~ 10K.

• John Low on May 08, 2019 at 2:19 pm

And one Alphard owner is a famous VVIP which appears on the TV quite often. You can see how dark it is without even paying 1 sen to the JPJ but guess who?

• Avenger on May 07, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Legalising what was once illegal. How nice this government. Soon highway robbery might be legalised as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 55
  • alihms on May 07, 2019 at 5:08 pm

Somehow, I got the feeling soon the Gov will reverse back this ruling again.

…after most of us have tinted our rear screens black.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
    • Ntah hapa2 on May 08, 2019 at 12:13 pm

Oit datuk… Have u been to Japan or not?? I live in Japan for 2 years.. I’ve never seen any car tinted tht dark… Whose the jakun now?

• thepolygon on May 07, 2019 at 5:09 pm

I will apply for the fully tinted 0% VLT all around the car, pay for it and leave the car at home. Hehe…

• Vincent on May 07, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Paying 5K to get the windscreen fully tinted with dark….I wonder this will affect the safety and security of enforcement officer! Please think of them and their family who is waiting them home!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • panjang on May 08, 2019 at 10:07 am

While i like it as my windows can be darker for comfort…i seriously think its tok dangerous for enforcement agency even during a routine stop. Some short thinker will say ‘they got guns&rifle etc’ but its the unseen weapon is the most dangerous.

• JPJ Boleh on May 07, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Good job JPJ! Although I support this move, I still would like to see through the back of the car I’m tailing to see the front car’s brake lights.
    Maybe max 10% VLT and not 100% tinted?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Black Tail on May 07, 2019 at 8:15 pm

100% support and confirm this is 100% STUPIDITY.. how to see car in front is rear screen is black? want to promote accident is it? more accident.. collect more insurance claim.. if got total loss.. can sell new one.. more sales.. more tax.. no BRAINER!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
      • You drive behind a bus or lorry and can see what is in front or not? Keep your stupidity to yourself.

• this is not stupid.. this is a really intelligent way to teach you guys to drive according to the law. don’t drive to close to the front car. The rule is that a driver should ideally stay at least two seconds behind any vehicle that is directly in front of the driver’s vehicle and in European countries, if you tailgate even one car distance, they will already feel offended. not like Malaysia, tailgate til bumper to bumper. erghhh

• dong gor on May 07, 2019 at 5:16 pm

i don’t understand this sentence:
    ” provided there are two side mirrors (as in left and right) attached to the vehicle”…why side mirrors come as a prerequisite for u to darken the rear windows?

5K for 2 years… too costly and in turn promoting more kopi settlement. Run unlucky once a month, and each settlement 100, u still have 50% left!! woohoo

• willie on May 07, 2019 at 5:21 pm

Guess good news for many whom is waiting to this day. must warn with unlimited dark tint, especially during night, the driver need to be extra careful as old motorbike/car with deem light, one will not be able to see them coming.

• “contribute to improving government revenue.”
    Follow the law? Pfft! This is what they were really after. Maybe should make Loke as the Finance Minister since he can find so many ways to get money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Veyron Owner on May 07, 2019 at 5:27 pm

I hope next JPJ can allow speeding soon. I need to unleash my beast. It hungers for the need to speed. Anthony, make it so yeah. I don’t mind paying 5k biannually, that’s deda.. opps.. chicken feed to my income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Fully agreed. Vehicles above certain horsepower rating must be allowed a higher speed limit.

• In New Malaysia, soon the fast lane is only allowed for the rich who got high horsepowered cars. Separation of classes at its best.

• common sensor on May 07, 2019 at 5:30 pm

Read closely .. its NOT free for all. RM50 for application and RM5000 for 2 years .. don’t get too excited braders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Not Toyota Fan on May 07, 2019 at 5:31 pm

Frivolous rule change. Again the PH gomen missed the mark & opportunity to cut red tape & reduce wastage.

If they had also lowered front windscreen to 60% vlt, then majority of cars tinted with 70% tint film will pass the Puspakom test for second hand sale. This alone would save the need to tear out existing tint before inspection.

It is time this country look back at some legacy legislation & revamp it to 21st century standard. Legacy tinting rule was enacted for security purposes during the Communist insurgency (1968-1989) which has zero bearing today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • JPJ bodoh on May 07, 2019 at 5:35 pm

This Man is slowly but surely deviating from more important things. This is a STUPID and DANGEROUS policy. When i drive anticipate 1-2 cars ahead every step of the way. And usually cars with super dark rear windscreens hinder the view of the front car especially so if the front car is smaller then the car with the dark tint. SO if i m driving behind an idiot (which happens way to often) or behind the millions of idiotic drivers with a non functioning 3rd brake light( bloody perodua perpetual problem), i can t even see the car ahead braking and prepare myself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 26
    • amatku17 on May 07, 2019 at 6:12 pm

You should apply the minimum 2 second gap rule behind any vehicle for your own safety. You cannot blame driver in front of you for emergency braking. Calling other people stupid doesn’t make you any smarter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 27
      • Safety First on May 07, 2019 at 7:43 pm

Really? So if the person ur tailing had tint 0% VLT at his rear windscreen and you are unable to see his 3rd brake lights and so happen his other brake lights aren’t working, who are you going to blame when he brakes and you ram into his rear? The person in front? JPJ bosses? Loki? Or you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • amatku17. on May 08, 2019 at 7:25 am

Safety First, your name contradict your statement. What if you tailgate a lorry or bus? You want to blame them for emergency braking because you cannot see the third brake light? In most cases, who ever rear ended any vehicle is considered guilty due to negligence. So please keep your safety distance.

• Betui. Gov bashers will just bash anything the Gov does, not realising that other countries have followed this international regulation. They still stay in kampung hoping that their leader will soon come back to them.

• Damon Lee on May 08, 2019 at 3:23 pm

Lorries and buses are mandated to have working tail lights during Puspakom inspection. Not so for private cars. 2 seconds or 10 seconds behind doesn’t matter if you can’t see the car in front is braking!

• Crazy on May 07, 2019 at 8:42 pm

Maybe you can enlighten us the need for 3rd brake light if its not for safety?
        The 3rd brake light is so that the cars following behind to see through the rear windscreen… If you tail with 2-3 seconds gap it still helps to see what is happening ahead of the immediate car in front.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Haidi on May 07, 2019 at 6:26 pm

Agree with you.

• Low VLT good for bright and shiny day. But when come night, raining etc, is seriously not easy to drive. , Especially tough during parking, unless you have outside camera all around the car. Not advisable for inexperienced drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Money on May 07, 2019 at 5:49 pm

It’s all about money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Safety First on May 07, 2019 at 7:43 pm

When they only think about the money, they don’t care about the safety.

• Bags First, Rakyat Last on May 08, 2019 at 2:50 pm

Yeah, else why would majority of JPJ officers be charged with corruption if not for money?

• gaviny on May 07, 2019 at 7:10 pm

finally not get harassed by jpj or polis

• Stupid regulations. Full black? You know how hard is it to see through those big cars hogging on the highway with the current 30% vlt. Those cars like vellfires alphards estima are already so huge that they block the view of the road ahead of them. Now with full black tints, it would be worse.

5k? Might as well make it 15k per year for that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • You can see what is in front of the bus or lorry driving in front of you?

• Jo-Jo Joget on May 08, 2019 at 11:42 am

Buses and Lorries doesn’t usually drive on the right lane of highways though.

• How about the regulation for LED/ bright headlights?

• mr1031 on May 07, 2019 at 7:55 pm

money over safety..this is wrong and going backwards yet again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Sharon on May 07, 2019 at 8:02 pm

Money come for JPJ. All about money, More road bully, gangster, bad guys on the road,

Get ready for this one! Too bad for Mr. nice guy on the road

• tricycle on May 07, 2019 at 8:07 pm

Yes, finally the best decision JPJ and YB Loke. Keep it up.

Bashers, if you go to some other countries which have really warm weather like in Malaysia, it is normal to see their cars tint until you cannot see anyone inside the car.

Wake up bashers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • Ghani on May 07, 2019 at 10:09 pm

YOu can paint all your car windows pitch black and you would still feel the heat when you park outside. It is what having aircon is for.

• Peter Soo on May 07, 2019 at 8:20 pm

I suggest that JPJ should give free testing of the tint. Then issue certified tested so that we can show the authority that the tint has been tested without inconvenient during tint operation along the road.
    If the test failed, then the owner should be informed to ratify it. Thank you.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 07, 2019 at 9:13 pm

i rather they crack down on those bogus tint shops whereby their tint is no more effective than cling film

• Ricky on Dec 07, 2022 at 9:21 pm

The authorities need to ensure that the products sold by these tint shops conform to the regulations before their business licences are approved. Alternatively, the products that fit to the rules must bear JPJ approval/certification. This saves the user from hassle with JPJ/Puspakom.

• Money talks on May 07, 2019 at 10:04 pm

Please JPJ make new law if your tint approval expired and car still driven, license to be revoked

• Convenience only for the wealthy on May 07, 2019 at 10:24 pm

How will they check who paid the RM5k during a roadblock?

• Dato Tan AS on May 08, 2019 at 12:59 am

Those people who commented JPJ / Ministry of Transport Minister blind or stupid please take twice with your comments. Think again why would those Japanese recond cars have such tinting regulations? All neighbour countries like Thailand, Indonesia and Singapore have already followed this international regulations. Wake up you Jakun people! Those who claimed that Third Brake Light could not see through under dark tinting film are those Low EQ people! No one asked you to tint that portion. You can always cut this third brake light portion out without any film tinting. Some cars even have their 3rd brake light mounted on the car body or rear spoiler already.

Pls think before you make any brainless comments here!

• Danny on May 08, 2019 at 8:03 am

Sometimes some cars are going real slow on the road for no reason. With complete dark back window, how to tell if the front got long queue / slow traffic or simply the front car is taking his sweet time crawling on the road?

• hahaha you must be a newbie driver if you think something like this is such a big issue. imagine a panel van, or bus/lorry, with *no* rear windows. it’s taller and wider than most cars. have you ever complained to the gov to ban these vehicles just because you can’t see through them?

• Gabriel on May 08, 2019 at 10:01 am

The main question here is who will pocket that RM5000 and what the money will be used for?

Other question that pop into my mind is how police can monitor any illegal activities (robbers that are in the back seat carrying guns)? The police will be defenseless, not to mention us the public. I’m worried…

• imagine yourself a robber with guns, in a car without tinted windows. will you be holding said guns in plain sight for any cops to see?

• Which mean rich pple can tint to max and just because of 5K you put policeman lives at risk!!!

• this is an old, existing law. you’re just ignorant.

now, knowing that people have been able to fully tint cars for a 5k fee long before this, how many policeman do you know have lost their lives because the car was fully tinted?

• POLICE on May 08, 2019 at 4:33 pm

There are pros and cons other than the heat beating properties:
    Cons:
    *Can’t see through the glass to drive for other drivers
    *Could aid in crime
    Pros:
    *Could also stop crimes like breaking through when parked
    *and also stop smash and go crimes with motor bikes

I think they should just make tinting the windows darker as the car price increases for the car.
    * Might safe the men or women inside these car so there are no one following you to your house or smash and go crimes.
    * Its not like someone in a Mercedes C-class going on some rampage of breaking the glass and stealing stuff or robing a house. It’s always these sketchy old cars or Malaysian cars.
    *Lastly more people buying good cars LOL

• R-TDT on May 10, 2019 at 1:31 pm

This act is already going backwards to “stone-age” generation. Sooner or later there will be more criminal acts such as kidnapping, robbery, road-bullies, violence, loan shark activities, and etc.

Instead of implementing dark tint to increase JPJ income, why not imposing controlled vehicle number plates like what China, Singapore, and other developed countries do. As a result of this action, I believe social ill like robbery, snatch thief, and other violence cases will be significantly reduced; and yet the controlled number plates can generate more income than the so-called RM6 millions as targeted.

• Ralfeal Tea on May 13, 2019 at 4:15 pm

tinted windows do not exempt car from being stopped to check. the heavier the tinting, the more likelihood of being flagged down to be checked. so what’s the big deal? if don’t like to be flagged down, don’t tint.

enforcement fellas, just flag down and inspect if any vehicle looks suspicious. stop ‘spying’ over the cars (esp to catch seat belts usage). looks funny, stop the car and check. of course the risks might just be stopping the DG’s car and get the sack the next day.

• charles on May 30, 2022 at 9:56 am

what is the allowed height for front car screen dark tint, puspakom check he say ia 195 mm only, please advise

• charles on May 30, 2022 at 9:58 am

what is the allowed height for front car screen dark tint, puspakom check he say is 195 mm only, please advise

• Tom Law on Sep 13, 2022 at 12:36 pm

Well, JPJ has to work together with Puspakom in implementing this ruling. JPJ and Puspakom relationship right now is left brain not working with right brain situation. How many times have us tear off the tint before sending to Puspakom for inspection and then spend money to reinstall again?

• Jimmy on Sep 14, 2022 at 1:32 pm

I am made to understand that when a car were to sent to Puspakom for inspection, the tinted films will be torn & remove. Does that mean Puspakom do not recognise all sorts of tinted film in whatever degree or level of the tint?

• Ricky on Dec 07, 2022 at 8:47 pm

I had my Honda HRV 2018 window tinting done when I first purchased the car. As I am engaged in e-hailing business, the Puspakom Inspection was required. This year, being the 3rd annual inspection yesterday, failed on VLT for the front windscreen. I enquired with the Company that originally did the tinting and was informed that their product was JPJ compliant but not Puspakom compliance. This appears odd/puzzling. What is the difference between JPJ and Puspakom compliance? Should there be any difference in the first place? I was informed to remove the tint on the front windscreen and reinstalled following the Puspakom inspection. This does not make sense…can not be doing this every year.

• Scouge on Jun 14, 2023 at 11:47 am

I respect the current JPJ rules on the VLT but pls take into consideration when we stuck in the highway jam for hours. We need at least 50% VLT at windscreen. Think about it as it will really helps everyone. RM5k to be charged for fully black and need to renew every 2 years, we are not reach people. This is money making method by JPJ.