Volkswagen Passat facelift, Arteon coming in H2 2019

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) will be introducing two new models in the second half of 2019. One is the facelifted B8 Volkswagen Passat and the other is the new Volkswagen Arteon, the brand’s flagship model. This was revealed by VPCM management at a media roundtable in KL today.

The Arteon made its first appearance in Malaysia at the paultan.org Premium Auto Car Expo (PACE) 2018 show in November last year. The spiritual successor to the CC, unveiled at Geneva 2017, sits above the Passat in VW’s sedan hierarchy. The previewed unit was powered by a 2.0 litre TSI engine with 280 PS and 350 Nm, and had 4Motion AWD and a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch automatic transmission.

The sleek 4,862 mm four-door – borrowed from Singapore – also had Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC), an XDS electronic differential lock and 19-inch “Montevideo” rims. VPCM MD Erik Winter said that they are close to finalising the details and spec for the Malaysian market, and that feedback gained from the preview at PACE 2018 were used in the process. More on the Arteon here.

The other new offering for 2019 is the Volkswagen Passat facelift. Revealed in February this year, the B8 facelift will take over from the current car, which has been sold here as a locally assembled model since late 2016. According to VPCM, the refreshed D-segment sedan will be close to European specs, as the current offering is. For context, VW sells a different Passat in North America – we’ve had the European version all along.

Visually, the understated handsome saloon comes with a new front bumper (the fog lamp surrounds are the most obvious change, they’re no longer straight), new grille (two slats, one less than before) and slimmer headlamps. At the back, there’s a re-profiled bumper, new exhaust trim and new triple-L LED tail lamp signatures. Also, the Passat script logo now resides under the VW badge, like the Arteon.

Inside, the horizontal dashboard is largely unchanged, but the analogue clock between the central AC vents have been deleted. In its place is the Passat logo and a hazard light button. Below that, the small row of buttons have been evicted. There’s also a new steering wheel, while the 11.7-inch Active Info Display boasts shaper graphics and tweaked functionality.

In Europe, the Passat facelift is the first to come with VW’s third-generation Modular Infotainment Matrix (MIB3), an “always on” system that comes with its own SIM card. This need for continuous connectivity is necessary to interface with Volkswagen We (Plus), a new digital platform for mobility products. More on the Passat facelift here.

Two new arrivals, one departure. The one saying goodbye to Malaysia is the Volkswagen Beetle, which has run its course and has been discontinued globally. VPCM will be “sending it off with a big bang” and the farewell party for the Bug will be in July.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Arteon Malaysian preview at PACE 2018

GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ben Yap on May 15, 2019 at 3:52 pm

if no DSG problem, this car is good…. the only setback is that it doesn’t hold the resale value as well as a honda accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • Alex 259 on May 15, 2019 at 4:58 pm

You buy a car based on it resale value?? How sad to hear that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • Vader on May 15, 2019 at 5:05 pm

i personally dont see the resale value an issue. This good VW car is worth to hand down to my son & grandson next.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • DSG okey jer on May 15, 2019 at 5:44 pm

No more bug?

• Bug may be one issue. But having to wait a long time for spare parts may be the other?

• ….having to frequent workshop is another issue, plus expensive spare parts after the long wait

• My God u are still on and on about DSG. The new VWs, they are very very least prone to DSG failure.

• those none vw owner, just be blind and hearing people complain dsg, than they follow the wind keep mention wv has dsg issue, 10year after, they still talk about dsg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • DarthZoom on May 18, 2019 at 11:23 am

Resale value- No continental car can hold strong compared to Jap’s car, no contest – either u love it or hate it, th reward is in th driving, its a different feeling once u own a continental….

• ahmadjohnson97 on May 15, 2019 at 4:05 pm

Bring in jetta GLI please!

• the real game changer, habisla x70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • (Like) Handsome Volkswagen Arteon, Handsome Kia Optima
      (Dislike) Ugly Hyundai Sonata 2020

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on May 15, 2019 at 7:30 pm

Comparing a sedan to an SUV? What are you smoking?

• Benny T W Wong on May 15, 2019 at 4:22 pm

No “new” POLO – the 6th Generation – Type AW launched in late 2017?
    The Type 6R is getting long in the tooth..

• sohhai on May 15, 2019 at 4:27 pm

The Kia Stinger. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • lilytan on May 15, 2019 at 5:02 pm

Still no AEB

• seancorr (Member) on May 15, 2019 at 5:21 pm

This or a C200….I think the choice is pretty obvious.

• There is no market for this, as ppl will go for Bimmer or Benz if they need to fork out more than 200k for a premium car..

Despite the Arteon having 280PS, ppl will still pay for the BMW & Benz badge although their horsepower are lower..

Good example is there are more BMW 318i 1.5L 3-potter on the road than Passat 1.8TSI or 2.0TSI….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Kalimaca on May 20, 2019 at 1:10 pm

Only poor people will choose badge over features for an entry level premium car. You think owning a 3 series or c200 makes you look rich is it?

• Bmw lover on May 21, 2019 at 7:59 am

Yes

• Shame on Jun 25, 2019 at 1:53 pm

I will buy Arteon over C200 or 3 series.
          Driving BMW and Merc entry level car only to show that you not up to the standard 5 series and E class car.

• Sugarhill on May 15, 2019 at 5:22 pm

The Arteon will easily be over 200k price tag

• Merchant and Contractor Associates on May 15, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Hokkien friend name is Ah Tiong, maybe will recommend him drives Arteon same name phonetically. LoL

• Slumber on May 15, 2019 at 8:19 pm

I just hope VW will keep the Passat 2.0 HL in the local line up alongside the Arteon. I know both technically shares a lot in common, but they appeal to different market segment. Fingers crossed the Arteon won’t hit over RM270k when launched.

• Cloud1704 on May 15, 2019 at 10:26 pm

The Arteon will come with updated lights technology and refresh interior as B8.5 or follow existing B8?

• Did I see someone still talking about DSG faulty which had been solved 3-4 years ago? gosh can you guys at least be a bit update with the news or at least ask someone who actually owns a VW recently? stop being a keyboard warrior without getting the fact right.

• Kalimaca on May 21, 2019 at 7:31 pm

OMG why Malaysia get this stupid Honda Civic rim? Please put back the original Arteon rim.

• Passat on Jul 07, 2019 at 8:49 pm

I’ve been eyeing the Passat. Currently driving the civic tcp. The wife and friends says stay away from vw. Kids are still small. Is vw different from before now?

• Allan Jensen on Oct 19, 2019 at 10:29 pm

Any word on when the facelift will launch in Malaysia?