Window film tint – is darker cooler and safer? How dark should you go? VLT, UV, IRR and TSER explained

It has been a week since the transport ministry announced new vehicle tinting guidelines, in which amendments were made to existing regulations filed under Motor Vehicles (Prohibition of Certain Types of Glass) (Amendment) Rules 2016.

The new ruling sees changes to the permissible minimum visible light transmission (VLT) percentage for the rear windows and rear windscreen in private vehicles. Previously, this was set at 30% VLT following the 2016 revision, but that cap has now been removed (supposedly, in line with international regulations), and with no minimum VLT percentage a motorist can theoretically go to 0% VLT and entirely blacken out (or panelise) the rear of his/her car.

With no minimum VLT percentage stipulated, it’s expected that many vehicle owners will be seeking to darken the glass on the rear half of their cars, both for improved privacy – and security – as well as a cooler mobile environment. According to news reports, there has been an unsurprising increase in automotive window film installations following changes to the ruling, with many going for darker tint films.

However, it’s worth remembering that darker doesn’t necessarily mean better, at least not in terms of performance, based on opacity. The general perception is that a darker window film will offer better protection from the harsh effects of sunlight and offer lower temperatures inside a car’s cabin, but this doesn’t always hold true.

Let there be light

Much depends on the quality of the window film, and just basing it on getting the darkest film possible might only lead to issues of visibility without any worthwhile heat rejection performance worth speaking of.

By nature, the glass surfaces – or glazing material – on a modern motor vehicle consists of laminated glass for the front and rear windscreens and tempered glass for the side windows. Here, the VLT level is the amount of light in the visible portion of the spectrum that can pass through the glazing material – the higher the VLT figure, the more light that gets through. That unfortunately also introduces solar heat.

Modern automotive glazing materials – primarily laminated windscreens – usually have some level of coating or tint to reduce the effects of solar heat, and this brings down the VLT level of that particular surface. Depending on automaker, this could be marginal or noticeable.

Of course, this isn’t enough in a harsh climate like ours, and so that’s where window films come in (because there’s also tempered glass on the sides, which usually doesn’t have any real solar gain control performance to speak of). A good window film doesn’t just reduce the amount of light transmitted into the cabin, it also reduces the harmful effects of solar energy.

Not just a simple, dyed plastic film

A high performance film will reduce the percentage of these effects, and include the ability to offer a high degree of the following:

Ultraviolet (UV) light rejection: UV radiation is present in UVA and UVB forms, the more prominent longer-wave UVA being responsible for the fading and deterioration of exterior paint and materials such as fabrics and leather inside a cabin, while the latter contributes to sunburn and other harmful skin conditions. The higher the percentage of a film’s UV rejection, the better, and most high-performance films accomplish a 99% UV rejection rate.

Infra-red rejection (IRR): Infrared light is primarily responsible for the heat you feel when inside a car, so the higher the percentage of rejection, the higher the level of infrared rays rejected. Nonetheless, a high infrared rejection rate isn’t the only thing to look at – the IR wavelength spectrum is wide, but most window film specifications only table a segment of the overall envelope and yet list a 99% IR rejection.

Total solar energy rejected (TSER): Representing the percentage of total solar energy rejected by the filmed glass, this is a more accurate – but by no means an absolute – measure of a film’s performance. The higher the percentage value, the less solar heat is transmitted into the cabin.

While the measured percentages of many high-performance films show higher TSER in darker variants of a particular range, lending credence to the belief that a darker tint is cooler, it is usually limited to a like-for-like comparison and is range specific.

What this means is that if you take different range window films from the same manufacturer, you’ll find that the TSER (and IRR as well) of a range-topping 60% VLT film is far better than 40% VLT mid and entry-level series offerings, despite the latter having darker properties.

Glare reduction: Although it is not a prerequisite measure, some companies list this aspect, which is tied in to opacity. The only noticeable area in which a darker film offers better performance than a lighter one is in glare reduction aspects, simply because more light is filtered from entering the cabin, much like how sunglasses reduce the glare for a user wearing them.

Still, opacity isn’t a parameter to measure the efficiency of solar gain control, because it again boils down to how good a film is. A low quality dyed film with poor or nonexistent UV and IRR rejection may keep light transmittance low but won’t keep the heat out, and the adage of you get what you pay for holds true – cheap films don’t last (fading, bubbling, waviness), and visibility through them isn’t going to be great, more so as they age.

Darker windows = better safety?

At this juncture, the fallacy of darker tints being safer also needs to be debunked. Aside from keeping away prying eyes, a dark tint isn’t “safer” or more robust. A darker window film by itself won’t make access into a vehicle more difficult for rescue services personnel in an emergency, despite that suggested by a recent news report.

The tensile strength of a window film is down to its construction properties, and security films of course exhibit stronger impact resistance. Opacity alone doesn’t determine how strong a film is, because security films can be colourless.

How dark is dark enough?

Going super dark might make your car look cool, but consider the issue of road safety, where visibility is paramount. In a recent news report, Malaysian Automotive Accessories Traders’ Association president Lim Bee Choo voiced the association’s concern about road safety if the rear windscreen was blackened out, and while there is little issue of visibility during the day, the same cannot be said at night.

She added that many users regretted installing overly dark tint film on their rear windscreens, because it made it difficult to see the road clearly especially when driving at night or in the rain. Lim also said that a darker tint film did not mean greater heat-reflecting capability.

A couple of window film installers we spoke to said they would not recommend totally blackening-out the rear windows and windscreen, citing the same difficulties of reduced visibility. They said that while a VLT level of around 10% for the rear side windows is still acceptable with regards to driving safety, reduced visibility when moving out of side parking should be taken into consideration when making a decision.

As for the rear windscreen, that should have a workable level of clarity, with a reduction to 15-20% VLT being the suggested minimum for customers wanting to darken the rear. At this level, a rear-view camera should firmly be part of the equation.

Darker isn’t always better

They added that a high quality window film provides enough solar gain control performance without the need to blacken-out windows, and there was very little beyond the reduction in rear cabin glare, increased privacy aspects and cosmetic appeal in going the particular route.

They stressed that customers should look at the quality and performance of the window film and not use mere opacity as the defining parameter to measure performance, and added that consumers should go for the best film possible within their budget and not opt for something from a lower, less performing range just because it has a version with a higher opacity.

So, consumers need to ditch the perception that darker shades of window films provide better heat rejection and safety, because that really isn’t a measure of how it works – a cheap, heavily dyed film won’t keep the cabin cooler than a high quality film with strong TSER aspects.

The professionals’ advice? Go with established brands and the best possible film you can afford, even if it’s not the darkest one you can get your hands on. If a company has an infra-red heat-emitter to do a side-by-side comparison of their window film, make sure you try that out to understand things better.

There’s also the option of removable window screens, which provide an additional measure of VLT reduction without the hassle of a fixed installation. It’s a route worth exploring for those with existing window film that is relatively dark, for example that which is already within the previously established 30% VLT level for the rear.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• JustSaying on May 15, 2019 at 8:40 pm

0% VLT rear goin on? Even front 50% 30%, still gonna look dark. So this can encourage more driver to play phone while driving.
    And…encourage more maksiat in car in this wonderful country? Lols.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Ariff on May 16, 2019 at 8:32 am

I don’t mind the maksiat… Its the texting/talking whilst driving that gets me every time I see it. I have a front and rear dash cam that can record these idiots playing with their phones and driving recklessly. With almost full tint, youll just see reckless driving only. 4 out 5 times you’ll see msian drivers doing this. Try see this yourselves. Anthony Loke should look at making *better law abiding Malaysian drivers* as a transformation program instead of giving all this leeway rubbish. Malaysia has one of the world’s worst drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • JOACHIM on May 16, 2019 at 11:30 am

Malaysians have one of the worst driving habits and attitudes in the world, and the Government is making it harder to spot them. Brilliant.

• DOT MOT ECE UN on May 16, 2019 at 1:17 pm

Try spot them via paying attention to their vehicle registration plate, vehicle make model and color.
          Also best to have in car dashcam fitted and recording.

• JOACHIM on May 16, 2019 at 5:33 pm

Spot them not paying attention and be prepared when they are on a collision course. Not just spotting the car.

• safety view on May 15, 2019 at 8:45 pm

will the rear drivers clearly seen the third brake light lit up if the car rear windscreen tinted film is 0% VLT ?? (except those car third light install out side of the rear windscreen such as proton waja (at rear boot) / first batch toyota avanza (roof top spoiler)& etc ).

• Thanks but not ok. on May 15, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Then, it’s time for me to install ship horn in the bonnet then? I found the lorry one’s, not the ship.
      No need for total dark for the rear windows. I know some would say it’s for breast feeding time. Then, can’t they just put up the black plastic pop-up on the windows? After finished the business, just pull it out. Cheap and easy.

• Safety First on May 15, 2019 at 10:16 pm

Great article once more by PaulTan & the gang. Really shed light on the subject of tinting once more & debunk those nonsense by our clueless Transport Minister and his equally useless megaphone, the JPJ.

You hear that Loke? Darker tints doesn’t mean it is better. It is much more productive to mandate tints with minimum levels of TSER, IRR, & UV rejection instead of lowering the VLT until it is opaque. Think safety first, and not think of your pocket first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Using TSER as the guide should get you good tint but most of the tint on the market does not show it. Raytech film show it on their site.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 16, 2019 at 10:00 am

Established brands will promote their TSER & IRR capability. Capalang brands will promote how dark is their tints.

• redpilled on May 16, 2019 at 12:34 pm

and cheating installers would install BS stuff for the price of the real thing…

• tatu880 on May 16, 2019 at 9:12 am

Loke & JPJ is useless. All they care is money and all those useless number plate series they’re raking money in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • UVA penetrates deeper into the skin but does not cause sunburns. UVB causes sunburns. Please check your facts before writing.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 15, 2019 at 11:08 pm

Lol, absolutely correct, UVA damages the surface of a structure, but goes under the skin for carbon-based life forms. Reworded to correctly denote the effects of A and B. Radiating thanks.

• Cheat by Vkool after sales service sucks

• Jusup on May 15, 2019 at 11:09 pm

Skang brader2 Jpj mmg susah cari makan weh… dulu cermin tinted gelap boleh lg acah2 bikin kacau kat car owner. Cari makan kene yg halal brader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Jo-Jo Joget on May 15, 2019 at 11:48 pm

Exactly!!
    The film tested doesn’t seem to be the film installed. Betul-betul con-job!

Benar sekali!!
    Filem/Tint yang digunakan untuk demonstrasi tidak sama lansung dengan filem/tint yang dipasang pada kenderaan. Betul-betul tertipu!

• Go google: What’s the Difference Between Conduction, Convection, and Radiation? before commenting.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on May 16, 2019 at 8:37 am

So, which brands are recommended? Raytech, Llumar, Vkool etc.?

IMHO, in this Malaysian climate, darker is not important, but heat rejection is.

• JLT8119 on May 16, 2019 at 9:44 am

The ‘established’ brands are the ones full of bullshit. I spent more than 3K for an established brand’s tint on my car, and always felt the heat. Now changed to a lesser known brand installed at car accesory shop, paid 750 for full car tint, and dont regret it at all. Gonna change wife’s car’s ‘established’ brand tint to the same lesser known brand.

My advice, avoid those ‘established’ brands. They may have been good in the beginning, but now you’re just paying a lot for the brand, the tint quality is crap. You can get good reliable tints for way less…

• You probably got a fake. Happens all the time, so next time do install it at their authorised installers.

• Mr. Octopus on May 16, 2019 at 9:46 am

As for me, dark tint is priority. Having been in 2 smash n grabs previously, I decided to install 20% VLT films all round and since then, no more such incidents. Not even a hint!

If can’t see means they have no temptation to steal.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 16, 2019 at 10:02 am

Making it darker doesn’t have a causality effect of being safer. Otherwise, cars around you with clearer tints would have suffered smash and grabs more often. Did that actually happen?

• Clang town break in hotspot on May 16, 2019 at 1:22 pm

Also make sure you do not parked your car in secluded spot or high crime area, even with darkest tint the crooks will still smashed and tear out security tinted windows just to grab all available belongings inside!

• gerald on May 28, 2019 at 5:30 pm

Agreed on the smash & grab as they are opportunistic but just dark enough for them to not be able to make out anything is good enough..
      Alternatively, don’t leave anything valuable in the car that can be carried off easily

• Sunlight on May 16, 2019 at 12:34 pm

Level of knowledge is important by the salespersons. But sadly we have the infamous kedai “tinted” mushrooming everywhere trying to squeeze the most bucks out of you. Most of them are not even familiar with the TSER ratings. What they tell you is “ini tahan panas, tambah sikit lagi upgrade ini tambah lebih panas”. LOL

• MakOih on May 26, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Recently my neighbor also “black” his front screen – end up need to roll down his driver window to say “Hi” – U know what coz he also knew that we can’t see driver “waving” back their hands to us.

At H.Way can see night time some car driving like “Fast n Furious” – now with all “black” windows – not sure they will “flying” their car to road divider or not. Worst innocent road user kena buta.

Road Minister – this round U r announcing really “Shit” stuff.

Hope we dun see more “bad news” due to black tinted windows.

• safety view on May 30, 2019 at 8:35 pm

with the 0% VLT tinted film will defeats the purpose of third brake light for road safety.

• So, which brands are recommended? Raytech, Llumar, Vkool, HO etc. I’ve done google all the brands but makes me more confuse and hard to choose a better ones.

• Want to ask i want.to buy new innova 2.0 x. If order to put security solar film cost rm 2120.00. From the toyota fartory .Is that tinted got any complaint from u all guys?? Thanks

• RoadUser on Dec 01, 2022 at 8:14 pm

Very funny for all those complaining.
    1. You’re not the Minister, so YOUR talk is cheap.
    2. Minister have the power, and so is JPJ top heads giving their advice. Minister didn’t request for it, did he?
    3. Maksiat or play phone, no need tint also happening. It’s mentality issue. Tinting increase the stats? Prove it where you get the stats. Or maybe your dirty mind only think of it.
    4. Rear mirror too dark caused accident to back car? Hello. Kopi license? Never heard of 2sec or 12sec rule? Suka tail gate much? You ram you pay. Guess what? If there’s a bus or lorry in front, you also can’t see front right? What you do? Drive a distance, be more careful. But if it’s a car, bet you wanna touch that guy’s number plate.

This article is effective only to highlight one thing. Dark doesn’t mean effective on blocking heat or rays. That itself is enough. No need to hantam minister lah, and talk all the trash that suits your own view. Respect other view as well.