Touch ‘n Go RFID – what to do when you sell your car

As of last month, Touch ‘n Go (TNG) revealed that more than 200,000 motorists had registered for its radio-frequency identification (RFID) electronic toll collection system, which is still running trials in its public pilot project phase.

With installation now having been opened to walk-in customers, more motorists are signing up, and an expanding user base also means that the number of motorists switching cars will eventually rise, with some already starting as early as now.

An example of this is Hafriz Shah, who was one of the first pilot testers in the country. He has sold off his Mercedes-Benz C-Class, and that means he can no longer utilise the RFID tag attached to it. That’s because the system’s sticker-based passive tag is permanently fixed to a vehicle, and is uniquely identified to it – it can’t come along with a user should he/she sell the car, unlike a SmartTag reader.

Users need to be aware of this if they decide to sell off their vehicle. You’ll need to terminate the association with the particular RFID tag on your car, because if not, the toll fare will be deducted from your TNG eWallet account even though the toll usage is made by the new owner. Likewise, if the car is stolen, of course (duh!). There’s no compensation for deducted toll fare if a customer has failed to terminate his/her RFID tag.

The only way to do this is by calling TnG Careline – there’s no online method or doing so through the eWallet app. The reason is security – verbal verification of the user’s identity needs to be established in order to complete the termination process.

Here’s how it works. Call the Careline at 03-27148888, cycle through the automated response and press #4 for RFID related matters, where you’ll be transferred to a TNG personnel. The termination process involves disclosing a user’s full name, MyKad number, phone number, the registration plate number of the associated vehicle and the available eWallet balance.

Hafriz says that the whole process takes under five minutes to accomplish. To verify that the tag termination has been completed, all you have to do is check your eWallet app to see if the car has been removed from your wallet. You can then register for a new RFID tag with your next car.

A point to note. Those buying a used car with a RFID tag still attached to it won’t be able to use that exact tag, because TnG says the old tag will need to be removed and a new one installed when a fresh registration of the vehicle is entered into the system.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Oliver on May 16, 2019 at 9:31 pm

Changing what car, hafriz?

• isengard12 on May 16, 2019 at 9:58 pm

Call TnG hotline? Tried. Call 100x, 100x won’t pickup. Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • I don’t understand what security risk there is with being able to disable the tag from your App? Why so much hassle to opt out?

• TheDark Cartel on May 17, 2019 at 1:38 am

just peeled off RFID tag & dump it. no problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Mr belacan on May 17, 2019 at 3:49 pm

I know right. Rfid tag is a security risk. But you can add and remove any tng card easily that can do the same exact thing through paydirect. Lol

• Alamak on May 16, 2019 at 10:14 pm

Just don’t install it in the first place. Saves you a lot of hassle.

Seriously, when it comes to people here implementing latest tech stuff like e-wallets. My experience has so far been between bad and horrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • Why did u sold the c class,hafriz?Im intrigued by your reason to do so,if u dont mind to share.Anyway i respect if u dont/cant,im just curious,thats all..

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 16, 2019 at 11:18 pm

Reason? Got it on a three-year Agility Financing plan, and three years went by ;) Loved every minute of it.

• Tun F on May 16, 2019 at 11:26 pm

Then, now change to? Come on dude… We are so excited to know

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 17, 2019 at 9:07 am

Will post about it when the time comes, buddy. But it’s another Mercedes ;)

• paparadzi on May 17, 2019 at 2:28 pm

If I may guess, it will be an E350. The only logical Mercedes to choose, locally.

• ganni on May 17, 2019 at 3:57 pm

Mercedes-AMG E53 4Matic+ more like it.

• zul95 on May 16, 2019 at 11:25 pm

Recently saw him driving a 2019 Toyota Camry 2.5V , I guess he got a soft spot for Red color

• Smokey on May 16, 2019 at 10:49 pm

But but but, the problem is tng hotline cannot call in!!!!

• Yeah, it took me multiple times to call and waited like hald an hour each. Dumb system.

• Alan Chung on May 16, 2019 at 11:28 pm

Why not just peel it off and destroy it in the process?

• Jerry Ng on May 16, 2019 at 11:41 pm

Forget about all these RFID stuff.

Utter rubbish when it’s connected to toll payment only. What’s the point of having T&G card integration when I can only use it for pay toll. Might as well reload the card physically lah. Can use for MRT, LRT and parking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Typical Malaysian on May 17, 2019 at 8:47 am

Mere kondem & bashing again. Nothing constructive to share , biasa laa frus oppo trolls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • The future is eWallet, the RFID is link to your TnG eWallet. in future you will use the eWallet to pay for everything.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 17, 2019 at 9:34 am

The way the RFID is being implemented is beginning to look like more of a hassle. Since it’s locked to the car physically. Can’t you just remove it and put it in the new car?

On another note, sad to see that Hafriz had to let go of the C300. Hope you get another cool car.

• Aniki on May 17, 2019 at 9:59 am

They should allow the used car with RFID to re-use back the old RFID to another e-wallet, why wasting stuff?

• David on May 18, 2019 at 2:59 pm

The bad habits of previous gov. Spend more than the “related” person can earn more

• michaelooi on May 17, 2019 at 11:14 am

that’s a lot of hassle. no thanks.

• Henry on May 17, 2019 at 11:47 am

The main reason this sticker RFiD (passive) system is chosen is cost. With it comes the so-called “inconvenience.”

There are better types with an in-cabin system (active) which would cost much more than a SmartTag to purchase. Even at RM100+ price so many highway users are still without a SmartTag. Would they then buy a more expensive system?

• rjmsfire on May 17, 2019 at 1:02 pm

Since TnG doesn’t allow the existing RFID strip to be used by the subsequent car owner, might as well the previous owner peel it off before selling.

• chiewwl on May 17, 2019 at 1:33 pm

Rather peel off the rfid bfore sell off the car

• Oh gosh, it never crossed my mind! Now I should be mindful if I’m lending my car to someone since there is no way to block the RFID temporarily….

• Yellowperil on May 19, 2019 at 5:44 pm

It’s also a hassle to register for RFID for a car not under your name. You have to provide the full personal details of the owner together with a signed letter of authorization. With smarttag just bring your smarttag

• Yellowperil on May 20, 2019 at 6:14 am

What a load of crap! It’s also a hassle to register for RFID for a car not under your name. You have to provide the full personal details of the owner together with a signed letter of authorization. With smarttag just bring your smarttag

• How is I bought a secondhand car and number plate is registed

• Hey i also encounter this problem, the previous owner is not fond with technology and don’t even know how to terminate it. Whereas Tng careline or hotline don’t even bother to answer and solve the problem

• Ashraq on Mar 01, 2022 at 1:58 pm

Do I need to buy a new rfid tag once I terminated the old one ? Or it’s free

• TOPEK BIN OMAR on Mar 24, 2022 at 8:22 pm

Funny.. can register online but to cancel need to call care line.

• Ooi sheng fung on Mar 08, 2023 at 5:27 pm

What if people borrow my car? how to temporarily disabled it?