International Engine of the Year 2019 – Ferrari for four

Ferrari has again taken the International Engine of the Year award with its F154 CB/CD, making it four titles in a row for the 3.9 litre twin-turbo V8. The 2019 gong makes it the engine with the most IEOTY wins in the awards’ 21-year history – it previously shared the triple crown honour with Ford’s 1.0 litre EcoBoost, the 2012-2014 winner.

The Ferrari mill, as seen on the 488 GTB and 488 Spider in CB guise and on the 488 Pista and F8 Tributo in CD form, amassed 425 points to finish comfortably ahead of Jaguar Land Rover’s full-electric powertrain (328 points) from the award-winning I-Pace and Mercedes-AMG’s M178 4.0 litre V8 (280 points) as seen on the automaker’s GT family.

The Italian engine also won the Best Performance Engine and the Above 650 PS category awards, essentially mirroring the three titles it managed last year. This year’s awards saw revisions to the competing categories – previously, these were grouped under displacement or capacity (Sub 1-Litre, 1-Litre to 1.4-Litre), but the classes have now been altered to reflect output, with 12 categories in all being contested.

In the Sub 150 PS category, the Ford 1.0 litre EcoBoost emerged as champion ahead of BMW’s 1.5 litre B38 three-cylinder turbo and PSA Peugeot Citroen’s 1.2 litre three-pot turbo. In the 150 PS to 250 PS segment, Audi secured top spot with its 2.0 litre TFSI, which is seen on a variety of applications across the VW Group brands.

The winner in the 250 PS to 350 PS category was Porsche’s 2.5 litre turbo unit as seen on the 718 Boxster S and Cayman S, while the 350 PS to 450 PS winner was the JLR full-electric powertrain, which also ended up taking the Best New Engine and Best Electric Powertrain awards, signaling the intent from the electric brigade. Expect more on this front in the coming years.

The Mercedes-AMG M178 secured the title in the 450 PS to 550 PS class ahead of rival offerings from Porsche and BMW, and in the 550 PS to 650 PS segment Ferrari took another award, this time with another variation of its F154, the BB as seen on the Portofino and GTC4Lusso T.

Finally, the Best Hybrid Powertrain award went to the system found on the BMW i8, where the B38 1.5 litre three-pot again features, but in its K15 variation.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Singarajah on May 23, 2019 at 7:57 pm

Why all Mat Salleh brands only? Where are the China brands?

People say China brands are so happening, so where are they in this list?

Not even one China brand?

• More importantly, where is the 1.5 engine in Avanza? Didn’t you (Rj the Raja jamban dupe) say that engine is award-winning?

• karam singh on May 26, 2019 at 4:30 pm

best engine doesnt mean it reliable
      remember VW 1.4 engine in the list couple years back,
      yet it got very good power band & tech but it easily went kaput. piston crack & everything else.
      I would say, this award mainly for engine tech but not reliability

• Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on May 23, 2019 at 9:57 pm

Some said no matter how many awards it wins, this Ferrari lump is not a successful engine if it cannot outsell standard Toyota engine like 2NZFE. Ferrari is a failure in his PoV. This I agree.

• panjang on May 24, 2019 at 2:13 pm

As much as i hate how expensive they still sell cars equipped with that stone age engine, i agree with you 200%.

• Serene palace Lodge masonry on May 26, 2019 at 12:18 pm

Sale by Quality over Quantity
      Sell a baby ferrari equals to 50 cheap toyotas.

• The engine that inspired the F8 Tributo.

• Award ceremony syok sendiri by the westerners. Pffft

I believe many Asian engines can do better than them. Nissan GTi can smoke all these cars anytime

• Sammy on May 24, 2019 at 3:45 pm

Still kena sapu from Mercedes-AMG, maybe their F1 team engineers need to swap places with the engineers for this engine.

• Unta Aunty on May 27, 2019 at 11:00 pm

Piston cracked? Are you kidding me? That 1.4 unit is the most reliable engine out there. Maybe your piston cracked?