2019 Proton Exora RC launched in Malaysia – MPV gets ‘Hi, Proton’, new kit, lowered price from RM59,800

As teased by the carmaker yesterday, the 2019 Proton Exora RC (RC for running change) has been launched. This is the third update for the seven-seater MPV that has been around since 2009 – the Exora Bold made its debut in 2011, followed by an enhancement two years ago.

Unlike the recently-facelifted 2019 Iriz and Persona, there’s no comprehensive rework for the long-serving MPV that’s into its last legs now, just enhancements in terms of equipment. Most of the new stuff is in the cabin, and we’ll start there.

The Exora is the latest recipient of the seven-inch touchscreen head unit based on Geely’s Global Key User Interface (GKUI), with “Hi Proton” voice commands and 4G internet connection via an embedded eSIM card (1GB free data per month for five years). A version of the system that made its debut on the X70 SUV, it has functions such as online music streaming, live navigation, smartphone connectivity, mirroring for Android and WiFi hotspot, among other things.

The MPV (a full-size C-segment one, Proton reminds) also gets the new instrument cluster as seen on the Iriz and Persona facelifts, and there’s ‘Proton’ lettering on the lower section of the new headunit housing.

Speaking of that, the centre stack has been redesigned – the dashtop clock is gone and the whole panel is now rendered in piano black with a silver bezel for a classier appearance. Below that, there are now two USB ports in front of the cupholders, and a 12V socket – an improvement on the previous single USB port.

There’s also a “borderless” rear view mirror, as found on the latest top-tier Iriz/Persona. The seats get new semi-leatherette upholstery with a quilted pattern, which is repeated on the door cards. The exterior receives a new Rosewood Maroon colour option and a shark fin antenna on the existing black-painted roof.

The Exora – which rolls on 16-inch two-tone wheels – is powered by the familiar 1.6 litre Campro turbocharged engine making 140 PS and 205 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 4,000 rpm, paired with a CVT. The SAT (stepped automatic transmission) button for the latter has been deleted as Proton found that few used it. Other under-the-skin improvements not listed in the brochure are improved suspension tuning and engine mounts for lower NVH. Proton also worked to reduce cruising wind noise.

While the improvements are welcome, the biggest news is the price reduction and packages from Proton. The Exora is available in two variants – the Executive at RM59,800 and the Premium for RM66,800, OTR without insurance. That’s a RM2,208 and RM2,547 reduction in price, respectively, compared to the outgoing Executive/Executive Plus.

Proton is throwing in a service package with three times free labour service, and free 1GB of data for five years. There’s also a special insurance coverage package and low interest rates from 2.76% per annum. Check out the images of the slides below for details.

That’s not all. Those buying the Exora this year (before 31 December) will get five years (or 11 times) of free labour service. In addition, the first 1,000 buyers get a bonus of two years free road tax (one year for company registration). Include the value of the freebies and packages, the lower OTR price, and the early bird bonus, and the total value added over the previous Exora is RM4,233 for the Executive and RM5,652 for the Premium.

On the safety kit front, there are two airbags, ABS and EBD. ESC is only for the Premium. Opting for the Premium over the Executive also gets you LED daytime running lights, a rear fog lamp, electric fold wing mirrors, side skirts, rear spoiler, black roof/rear garnish, leather steering, steering buttons, cruise control, semi-leatherette seats, driver’s vanity mirror (vs front passenger only), front row seat fold-down armrests, reverse camera and the seven-inch “Hi Proton” head unit.

For the full list of specs, and to compare the 2019 Exora side-by-side with other budget MPVs, check out CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2019 Proton Exora RC Premium

GALLERY: 2019 Proton Exora RC Executive

GALLERY: 2019 Proton Exora RC official photos

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• So no improvement over OCH, engine oil leak issue that has been VERY COMMON PROBLEM to CFE’s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • Locar on May 28, 2019 at 2:56 pm

If not mistaken all of those issues were mended in the previous iteration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • atano on Jun 02, 2019 at 7:09 am

Proton exora is just ok lah. For those have a small budget but need a big car mybe can considered to buy. Other than that pls just go to any 2nd car shop buy japanese recond.

• Md Hashim Al-Attas on May 28, 2019 at 10:40 am

This is a good price. Very cheap. Not like the X70 at RM123k.

This is what you call Malaysian pricing. It is absurd to sell a car to the masses in Malaysia for RM123k.

After all, according to EPF’s own statistics, 78.3% of all its contributors earn only RM1500 and below

Thank you Proton for giving us a car that the masses can really afford finally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
    • What’s absurd is your idea of a carmaker only selling cars to a specific segment of society. If PROTON was only to make cars to appeal to those that can afford cheap cars, they’re ignoring other segments.
      The X70 is not targeted at the the lower or middle-imcome group. It is targeted at the higher middle to high income group.
      When PROTON sells fewer cars, the public gets upset. WHen they sell more cars (30k bookings for the X70, which in context is slightly less than half of their entire sales in 2018!) also you people hantam.
      Learn to do business globally, Hashim. Learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • YEBWOY on May 28, 2019 at 5:40 pm

yawn

• John L on May 28, 2019 at 11:09 pm

You’re the one who is absurd. The X70 is already the no. 1 selling SUV of the year. Instead of saying Malaysians can’t afford the X70, you should be asking where are all these rich Malaysians hiding?

• Almostthere on May 28, 2019 at 10:43 am

Hi, where did you get that pricing from as I’ve checked your earlier post for the earlier facelift, the difference should be closer to 9k

• Won ton mee on May 28, 2019 at 11:10 am

They better fix the “Hi Proton” voice command. The last time people use voice command in their X70, it doesn’t end well. That time 1 guy activate the voice command and say : “Hi Proton, can you show me the nearest gas station?”. Instead of taking the guy to the nearest gas station, X70 suddenly masuk parit and game over. I hope this incidents doesn’t happen with this new (boring) Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 66
  • (Like) 2019 Proton Exora RC .
    (Dislike) 2nd hand Toyota Estima/ Alphard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • Not Toyota Fan on May 28, 2019 at 11:37 am

Stop gap measure until the VF11 Jiaji arrives in 2021.

• tokmoh. on May 28, 2019 at 11:49 am

Safety kit?

• Anang Zain on May 28, 2019 at 11:55 am

Terbaik Proton Exora. InsyaAllah laku keras.

• SK, Lim on May 28, 2019 at 12:03 pm

Kegemaran MPV rakyat continues the legendary journey.

• VeCtOrIaN on May 28, 2019 at 12:08 pm

OMG… please just bring in Geely Jiayi (Exora replacement) already. Will surely wipe the market when they launch it I’m sure.

• panjang on May 28, 2019 at 12:19 pm

Its not the best package Exora for me.
    The best is the model with 4 airbag and ESC.

• anonymous on May 28, 2019 at 12:46 pm

inb4 the haters starts to bash Proton on improving their cars rather than be a typical car enthusiast who appreciates the improvements that our local car manufacturer made.

• Ariana John Grande on May 28, 2019 at 5:22 pm

Don’t get me wrong. Proton did a good job with the Persona and Iriz.

But for the Exora, it seems like they barely did any improvements at all other than some interior bits and that “HI PROTON” thing. If that’s the case, the car shouldn’t exist in 2019 at all to begin with. Sure the Exora is cheaper than the Aruz, but the Aruz would still be a better car at this point and I believe the amount of Aruzes on the road right now proves that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • tokmoh. on May 28, 2019 at 8:45 pm

They sure had done their cost-benefit analysis and decided it benefits more to give Exora this one last update before incoming Jiaji rebadge.

• To be honest. I haven’t seen one Aruz on the road in Klang Valley yet. Either there are too few or they all happen to out of my sight.

• Ariana John Grande on May 28, 2019 at 12:49 pm

Unlike the other cars that has been updated under Geely’s hands. The Exora shouldn’t have and need to exist anymore in the market in 2019.

If all they’re doing is just pretty much changing some interior bits here and there, and putting that “HI PROTON” headunit, but keeping most of the car the same, why would someone pick this over the Aruz which is selling pretty well at this point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • You can consider this as a temporary measure while the Jiaji is being developed. Proton can’t just leave the segment while waiting for the Jiaji. Exora is actually one of Proton’s most popular models before the arrival of X70.
      Exora is MPV competitor to the Alza. Aruz is labelled as a ‘SUV’ so they are not in the same segment. And Exora is bigger than both the Peroduas.

• Aikon on May 28, 2019 at 3:20 pm

More horsepower and torque? Price?

• badz149 on May 28, 2019 at 4:09 pm

Aruz is more expensive, yet has smaller cabin, narrow 3rd row seat, 30HP less power and too high because it’s an SUV. and Exora has better handling than Aruz and now it’s cheaper with better entertainment unit too compared to Aruz

• Ruslan Bahari on May 28, 2019 at 5:32 pm

Maybe because the Aruz is not in competition with the Exora? Duhhh

• MastaGuru on May 28, 2019 at 1:43 pm

Chop it off already. This mpv is a sore to the eye in 2019.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Campro? Eeeuuuwww!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • tatu880 on May 28, 2019 at 2:41 pm

No elaboration on what’s the difference between Exec and Premium specs? What are the colours available?

• Setifu on May 28, 2019 at 3:44 pm

Good Proton, for launching new package.
    I’m using exora for many years and happy with it. Big enough to accommodate my family and considered affordable in term of cost.

Some of my wish list for exora are included in this new package.

• rally_fan (Member) on May 28, 2019 at 4:16 pm

exora might be a little long in the market now, but i still see its relevance.. and with the new price, makes even more sense. where else can you buy a full sized mpv at this price in the malaysian market? best of all, the exora has a very ‘car-like’ behavior on the road.. doesnt feel like you’re driving a tall, long, big MPV. Proton news MPV expected next year will definitely be above rm100k looking at the specs and looking pretty premium as well. the exora will comfortable cover the lower end of the market for Proton where the demand for an MPV will always be there.

• pakaiperodon on May 28, 2019 at 4:23 pm

Could u believe this big packages car are like rm20k cheaper than aruz?? The simple reason and the true facts is campro engine tak berapa bagus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Who says campro engine tak brapa bagus? I ,ve used campro engines since 2006. Never miss a beat. Never breakdown.

• Aekak on May 28, 2019 at 5:30 pm

Boooo

• YEBWOY on May 28, 2019 at 5:42 pm

What makes you people thinkg the Jaiyi is gonna be as cheap as this hahahahaha. Suddenly launch all crying for exora to come back

• My present exora last year has VSC, leather seats as well as auto cruise and 138 horsepower. Where can you get a mpv that can carry 7 adults cost less than 90k? The others only can carry 5 adults and 2 primary school kids.

• busybody on May 29, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Driver:” Hi Proton, How’s the…”
    Lady voice:” Shut up and focus on your driving”

• VSC Mandatory? on Jun 23, 2019 at 1:10 pm

I thought VSC should be mandatory since June 2018?
    or only for completely NEW MODEL , not applicable for facelift model?

• Rosbis binti razali on Jun 26, 2019 at 6:59 am

Proton Exora RC

• Buck Yunos on Jul 28, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Why does malaysian passenger vehicles going all black interiors? Tak kisah la local car or imported brands, mostly black. Duh… creative la sikit. Been years, trend yet to change.