Shell launches a new eight-model Ferrari car collection

Shell Malaysia has introduced a new set of limited-edition Ferrari collectible toy cars, the collection consisting of eight specially-curated Ferrari icons from the 1950s on, in conjunction with the Prancing Horse’s 70th year anniversary.

The range starts from the ’50s, the decade being represented by the 250 Testa Rossa, followed by the iconic 250 GTO from the early ’60s. Next, there’s the 365 GTB/4, or the Daytona, which was produced from the late ’60s to early ’70s. The homage to the ’80s comes in the form of the 288 GTO from 1984, followed by the F50 from the mid-90s.

Moving into the current millenium, there’s the 430 Scuderia from 2007 and the 488 Spider, which came about in 2015, and the collection wouldn’t be complete without an F1 race car, and the Scuderia Ferrari representative is last season’s SF71H.

Available from July 1 at all Shell stations nationwide, two models will be released every two weeks, with the 365 GTB/4 and 488 Spider kicking things off. All you have to do is pump RM30 in a single receipt to purchase the collectible for RM15.90.

There’s also a hauler truck model, which can house two of the Ferrari car models. You can get this free if you purchase a four-litre pack of Shell Helix Ultra, but if you don’t want to buy the motor oil, you can purchase the truck model for RM99.90.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 02, 2019 at 6:58 pm

last time have to pump at least RM40. Difficult for a Kelisa driver last time. Now only RM30, easy

• since its not allowed to declare assets, not easy for me to showoff eight-model Ferrari cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Norlia on Jul 03, 2019 at 12:17 am

I have seen plenty of Wira owners showing off their eight-model Ferrari cars. They don’t seem to have a problem.

• alexc. on Jul 03, 2019 at 8:38 am

Nice one bro Faiz…..love the comment

• potato on Jul 03, 2019 at 12:02 pm

that is why they are selling the truck display case so you can close the lid and hide the cars.

• Supra1996 on Jul 03, 2019 at 11:29 am

Hmm…i remember my kelisa full tank is always RM50 though… now fuel cheaper is harder to reach RM50 now haha

• Optimus on Jul 03, 2019 at 4:58 pm

How did you managed that when previously fuel prices were below RM2.00 per liter?

• Hafiz Hisham on Jul 02, 2019 at 7:04 pm

When this is sold worldwide, it isn’t as ‘limited’ as one might think.
    Still, you can probably find many Ah Beng Malaysians would clamour around the station kiosks at midnight just to buy these cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 02, 2019 at 8:01 pm

made by bburago?

• Damon Lee on Jul 03, 2019 at 4:56 pm

No. Bburago is much more detailed than these. When they announced a truck model, I was expecting either a Shell tanker or car transporter model but surprisingly turned out to be a container to store the cars. Very disappointed on that bit.

• Semi-Value, yes, these are Bburago 1/43 ‘models’ (actually they’re just toys) that you can find in your local Toys R Us or AEONs. But being a Shell collectible model range, they just repackage them in special boxes and pass it off as ‘models’. But you and I both know they’re just regular cheaply-made toys.

• Ben Yap on Jul 03, 2019 at 9:58 am

the truck that I got doesn’t look the same as this picture.the one that i got, the wheels can spin and the sides can be collapsed into a track. the truck picture is not correct.

• Why the truck show here is different with the truck i saw at shell station? hmmmmm

• ganni on Jul 03, 2019 at 10:58 am

may i know whether the casing for the models as shown in your image will be offer by Shell as well? any further info for that Anthony??

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 03, 2019 at 4:01 pm

ganni, it seems that the case-style truck that was sent to us is not on sale. The truck mentioned in the story is a collectible toy that can house two model cars. We’re not sure if the display case will be made available to the public.

• y the truck looks like made of paper & bamboo? Looks like offering to my ancestor…

• How to get the display case like in the pictures?

• Ahmad on Jul 03, 2019 at 12:57 pm

Oh I thought it was a LEGO.

LIKE : COLLECTED ALL SHELL LEGO COLLECTION
    DISLIKE : COLLECTED TISSUE PAPER BOX

• Donut on Jul 03, 2019 at 4:56 pm

any sample of the truck looks like??

• Same. Any idea how to get the truck in the picture?

• Dwight w Alexander on Jul 04, 2019 at 8:47 am

Is this going to be available in the United States??

• RM15.90 is a bit expensive. Back in 2008, it was RM5.90/8.90. My favourite model was FXX. Still have some collections in my drawer.

• No F40? Im dissapointed

• Daniel Tee on Aug 11, 2019 at 8:02 am

Where I still can get the first two model car ?

• jeatloh on Nov 03, 2019 at 5:10 pm

wow!!!