Proton sales breakdown for the first 6 months of 2019

Proton recently announced that it managed to deliver 7,615 cars for the month of June 2019, allowing the national carmaker to command a market share (based on internal data) of 18.1% during the month, which is its highest since July 2015.

Following the announcement, Proton provided a slightly deeper insight into its sales performance for the year so far at a Hari Raya media event, where we got a month-by-month breakdown of the numbers.

For the first six months of 2019, the company sold a total of 43,679 cars, representing a 61% increase from the same period in 2018. There’s no denying the impact the launch of the X70 has had on Proton’s sales figures, as the SUV became a major contributor, accounting for 40%, 53% and 49% of total cars sold from January to February.

Meanwhile, the Persona, Iriz, Exora and Saga (bundled together as PIES), collectively accounted for the other significant portion of the pie, registering 54%, 44% and 50% during the first three months of the year.

The launch of the facelifted Persona and Iriz in April, as well as the new Exora RC in May, saw a gradual shift in these percentages, as the PIES quartet held the majority of total vehicles Proton sold from April right on through to June with a 60%, 76% and 78% share. Keep in mind that the Saga has yet to be given an update since it debuted almost three years ago.

Proton adds that the newer models have resulted in a total of 11,500 bookings being made for the new Persona, which is 108% more than what it received with the pre-facelift model in 2018. This is echoed for the Iriz as well, with 3,500 bookings for the new car (180% more than the 2018 model), and 1,500 bookings for the latest Exora RC (135% more than 2018).

During these months, the X70 conceded its commanding position during this period, with sales of the SUV making up just 36%, 23% and 21%. As for the models classified as “others,” namely the Perdana, Ertiga and Preve, they only commanded no more than 6% of total sales at the start of the year, which has since diminished to 1% in June.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• passion on Jul 03, 2019 at 4:55 pm

PIES needs to be discontinued. aged. horrendous to look at already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • Char koey teow on Jul 04, 2019 at 8:21 am

I hope Proton realise their mistakes and discontinue their game over Iriz, Persona, Saga and Exora soon. With these models still in the market, Proton will lose even more money because of those cars poor sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
      • Amran on Jul 04, 2019 at 3:55 pm

One quick glance at the title , tot seeing – Proton breakdown. Aiyor… mintak maaf ye kui3

• English Teacher on Jul 04, 2019 at 8:53 pm

You have a lot to buck up on your English comprehension and reading skills.

• Isaywat on Jul 04, 2019 at 11:21 pm

Up to date figure, p1 sold 43,679 cars for the first 6 months of 2019, which including 15,175 X70 (including x70 delivered late 2018).
        So if without the help of X70 and China CEO Mr. Li Chunrong, p1 only manage to sell 28,504 cars Jan-June 2019, roughly 4,750 unit per month. Thank you so much China CEO Mr. Li Chunrong for helping p1 before they went down to close shop. P1 almost close shop but you safe the day Mr. Li, thank you thank you.

• Nope
        PIES sale increase
        And hold 78% of total sales

• alldisc on Jul 04, 2019 at 8:39 am

Must get one of the PIES. Indigenous campro,

• aires on Jul 04, 2019 at 9:49 am

Yes. Exactly, people are tired with lousy campro engine and Punch CVT!

• Cooldown on Jul 04, 2019 at 10:46 am

If without x70 and without help of China CEO Mr. Li Chunrong, p1 only able to sell 4-5k cars a month. Once again thank you to Mr. Li Chunrong China for your hardwork your commitment your passion to help p1 sales better this year. If harapkan p1 local staff and CEO p1 have gone with the wind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Alvin Tan on Jul 04, 2019 at 11:19 am

Majority here are lazy. All the car companies all cannot manage one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • Nasi kandar on Jul 04, 2019 at 12:54 pm

Lucky Perodua doesn’t follow the game over lazy attitude and follow Japan’s working ethic so today Perodua become so successful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
          • Celup King on Jul 04, 2019 at 2:32 pm

What do you mean by successful?
            Do they make money? No, they have to give all profits back to Japan.
            Do they make their own cars? No, all are rebadges or reskinned from Daihatsu and Toyota cars.
            Do they give value for money to the rakyat? No, their cars are underspeced in comparison to others.
            If the market was open will rakyat continue to buy? No, majority only buys Perodua because they have no choice.
            So what is it that they’re successful?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
          • Celupar King on Jul 04, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Sales figure dont lie. Rebadged or reskinned, underspeced, still perodua top selling cars for 13 years straight. So what u gonna say? Perodua salesman all rich2 how to say no profit? So u think profit go Japan? Owhhhhhh so u saying x70 profit also all go back China? Icicic. Then without x70 p1 cant sell well their car with cam tak pro engine. If u say people no choice but to buy p2, why not they buy cheaper p1? High spec persona and iriz cheaper than high spec myvi wat. Means p2 alot far far better than p1 lor. Means p2 more successful than p1. Lol. U hard to admit just diam lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
          • Troll Hunter on Jul 04, 2019 at 5:42 pm

Sales figure don’t lie? Tell that to the successful Musang King sellers, hmm? They certainly didn’t sell as many fruit as the rambutan sellers yet they are richer. Why? Shouldn’t they be less successful since they sell less fruit?

Perodua salesman rich? Yeah, that’s rich coming from a Perodua salesman who need to earn a side income as an internet troll. And did you see the increase in Iriz, Persona & Saga sales? No, you didn’t because a blinded supporter don’t see anything when you refused to see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • Copy Paste on Jul 04, 2019 at 5:46 pm

Copy paste ”
            Aiya… You not this dumb are u??… Do you know how to see percentage base on volume background??… X70 still maintain it selling figure but other model also increase tremendously so the percentage shift…. My god man… U need to go relearn how to see math”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • So_Success on Jul 04, 2019 at 11:03 pm

Nasi kandar…yap perodua is really a successful company. Those who not admit and againts ur komen are simple jealous and hate it, so they only can become keyboard warrior who typing with anger and hate toward ur successful komen. Yap very true perodua is so successful. So hatred king n troll u can say watever u want, perodua still successful. None ur word can change perodua success, so go ahead n hate more. The more u see myvis, axias, alzaa n aruzs on the road the more ur hatred burn up. U wanna refused to see? Nop u cant refuse because of ur hatred so eager to see the success of perodua. Better u go sell durian musang king only. Perodua already sold more than 100k cars til June. P1 44k only, can u see? Or u blinded urself? Wah lao ehh…perodua so successful. Face the reality. Ehhh u both are so hating and ignorant type so u wouldnt accept the truth…paiseh paiseh. Perodua so successful lehhhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • Celup King on Jul 05, 2019 at 11:12 am

You haven’t come back to us on what the meaning of success. More on the road means nothing, otherwise Boon Siew Honda would be considered to most successful. There isn’t many Ferrari cars on the road, is Ferrari SPA less successful? Only a fool will say yes. So your measure of success isn’t a certainty. Come back when you have something concrete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Worrying downward trend Proton X70. gameover?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • azrai on Jul 04, 2019 at 8:54 am

Do your math. The sales of X70s still around what it is since Jan 2019, only the sales of PIES increase dramatically make the percentage of X 70 smaller month to month. The amount still the same, the percentage are changing.
      You sell 2 karipaps, 5 cucur in Januari. In June you sell 5 karipaps and 5 cucurs. The cucurs’ percentage drop significantly from 71.43% to 50%! But it it still 5 cucurs sold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Wheres the downturn when marketshare continue to rise?

• Mior Mohd Amin on Jul 04, 2019 at 11:22 am

Go find a caculator. Its increasing from jan to march.
      April and may is almost the same.
      Then a bit drop on june. But still more than half of what it can sell on its highest selling month.

• Malaysiaboyz on Jul 04, 2019 at 2:18 pm

Aiya… You not this dumb are u??… Do you know how to see percentage base on volume background??… X70 still maintain it selling figure but other model also increase tremendously so the percentage shift…. My god man… U need to go relearn how to see math

• Halima on Jul 03, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Thanks to Geely for making Geely great again in Msia. But its sales is still far from the more superior Toyota Perodua which is still more superior than Geely models and still the preferred choice among Malaysians. If Geely continues its budget offerings and sell below the more superior Perodua, maybe its sales can continue slightly to be better. Hopefully Geely can launch more budget models to entice more Msians to buy. They can introduce the X50 and sell below RM40k to compete with the Toyota Myvi. The Aruz is competing very well against the slower X70 and can be seen from the sales as well where Aruz sells much more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
    • M.A.R on Jul 04, 2019 at 8:36 am

X50 below 40K?Are you living in a real world?Do some reading of what X50 to offer. This is high advance tech car. Do you expect this superb looking inside out to be as par as Axia price?Plus Aruz sell much more than X70?Clearly you do know how to read the figure. Keep dreaming then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Chek.embi on Jul 04, 2019 at 9:59 am

Proton hugely profitable from beginning in 1985. Like many Malaysians, I did my patriotic duty to support Proton, owning 5 Protons over the years. I even drove a Proton Wira Gxi when I lived in Chile.

But since Mitsubishi Motors ominous exit in 2004, 10 local CEO after and mgmt ppl had turned Proton business from hugely promising to worse. They thought its easy business and arrogant huge ego could make it on their own. But NO, all of us witnessed their utter failure. Then came 2018, China white knight arrived for Proton salvation , syukur our beloved Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Celup King on Jul 04, 2019 at 2:34 pm

They got kicked out because they didn’t allow Proton to get their newer Lancer platform and instead forced Proton to continue producing Wira for 15 years. China is so much more open and willing to share their high tech cars with Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Stolen on Jul 05, 2019 at 12:46 pm

U mean shared their stolen tech to mesia? So u proud using stolen tech. Be my guess.

• Vader on Jul 05, 2019 at 2:48 pm

You seemed to be so proud that Japan was sharing their stolen tech of 4 wheels and a steering which they stole from Daimler.

• Brandon on Jul 14, 2019 at 3:25 am

Lol..stolen tech?..the whole world that manifacture car is stealing each other tech…if really dont like to copy..try produce flying car..no wonder we are far behind…

• AkooIm on Jul 03, 2019 at 5:02 pm

No mentioning of Suprima S so we can safely assumed it is dead already…

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Jul 04, 2019 at 10:29 am

Suprima & Preve fall into ‘others’ category. which is pretty much dead

• U did not know that production of that model stopped a long time ago?

• Mario and Bros on Jul 03, 2019 at 5:02 pm

Well, Proton has made lots of improvement their sales compare to last year due to New CBU Proton X70, New FL Proton Iriz and New FL Proton Persona. Soon, When launching Proton X50 sales even new CKD X70 which I told you either yesterday or today, Proton Sales will shoot up in the future.

Support Proton, Geely, BMW, Mercedes, Volvo, Peugeot, MINI, Renault, Ford, Borgward and Haval and Mitsubishi > all

• HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! This shows that while X70 had been a strong push early the year, the majority of sales r still from P1 own models and with the increase in sales, that means pipu r once again falling in luvvvv with P1 own cars. Now just waiting for X70 CKD and intro of X50 to lay the smackdown on everyone. Tahniah P1!

P1, Geely, Mesidis, Volvo Cars, Volvo Trucks, Lotus, L&C, Polestar, SMART > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Faris on Jul 03, 2019 at 5:10 pm

I hope they replace their dated cars real soon and give us quality cars

• rally_fan (Member) on Jul 03, 2019 at 5:19 pm

looks like the spillover effect from x70 has given protons brand a boost and helped push sales for the other older “legacy” models and given them a new lease of life.

• KongPunBoyong on Jul 03, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Thank you China. If takda CEO China, p1 lingkup n p1 very lazy lazy. Luckily lahh China can n wanna help. If not memang lingkup lingkup. Now p1 local staff all jadi kuli kuli China. Thank you China but pity local very lazy and congratulation now u all kuli kuli China. Gong xi gong xi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • YB Albert on Jul 03, 2019 at 5:29 pm

At first,it is 60%40%.Now is 80/20.
    So P1 is depending 0n 80 % sales from Saga,iriz,pesona n Exora.The others non saleable ones can be termed ‘obsolete’.
    X70 sales will stabilise to about 15 percent cos not every Proton fanboy can qualify for a rm 100k loan.
    So unless Dr.li can bring in X50 and smaller sedans from Tongsan fast tracked ,it cannot overtake Perodua.Proton,no doubt has stopped bleeding but it will be runners up or third placing in overall sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • Asam pedas on Jul 03, 2019 at 8:05 pm

After being bought by Geely, Proton sales are still dissapointing. I dont know why, maybe Proton workers are to lazy and cannot understand what Geely teach to Proton. My only hope is that Proton can change their game over attitude and really study from the car business expert Geely. Dont be like 20 years ago, Mitsubishi cerai from Proton because Mitsubishi are so fed up with Proton game over attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
      • I am sure you tell yourself every night before sleep “Proton is not getting better, Proton is not getting better.” Stay in your own bubble and let those that live in the real world reading real news that Proton sales keep increasing every month.

• Every nite he goes to sleep telling himself that but everytime he still gets nightmare when he is subconsciously reminded P1 sales continue to go up and up. Lolz!

• Betol Tak?? on Jul 04, 2019 at 6:57 am

Proton finally can compete so now let’s remove the car tax okay? Jaguh global mana boleh takut kan.

• Akira on Jul 04, 2019 at 9:29 am

They don’t dare to do that

Telor tarak

• P1 has previously say they no problem with taxes removal but it is new jaguh kampung P2 that complains about no more plotek. P1 is no more national car maker they now is international car maker like the others in Geely empire.

• Betul on Jul 04, 2019 at 10:08 am

If remove tax cut, the first car company to die is Perodua seeing that its cars are only selling because of being cheapest. Jaguh kampung lah katakan.

• dong gor on Jul 03, 2019 at 5:35 pm

what is that PIES %? read it a few times still can’t related it. thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Deciples on Jul 03, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Nothing to proud of becos the success is not done by local but by China. Thank you geely China for showing local pipu with very low integrity how to do bisnes. If not sell 49.9% p1 bingkerap already. So everyone should thanks CEO from China for hardwork. Local pipu with low integrity only able to learn and learn and learn……but previously even after 30 yrs still nvr learn anything. Only learn how to goyang kaki better and talk kosong in kedai kopi for 30 yrs. So well done to China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 44
    • Brian on Jul 03, 2019 at 8:20 pm

Do you even know how to interpret the numbers or are you just doing the same lazy-assed copy pasting as usual? Try reading the article for even a sec will ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • viva la proton on Jul 03, 2019 at 5:52 pm

To those detractors of Proton, now you know that X70 model is not the only reason for Proton’s mini Renaissance. Proton made cars also contribute 80% of the increase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Mcdonalds on Jul 03, 2019 at 6:03 pm

(Best) Petronas and Petron (better promotions, faster)
    (Good) Caltex (oil quality is good but a bit boring promotion)
    (Ok) Shell (pricey and oil quality not good but better promotions)
    (Dislike) BHP Petrol (less power than Petron and boring promotion)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
  • Mohd73 on Jul 03, 2019 at 6:36 pm

“As for the models classified as “others,” namely the Perdana, Ertiga and Preve, they only commanded no more than 6% of total sales”

The Perdana is an expensive niche car and the Ertiga is too expensive compared to the bigger Exora in my opinion.
    But I wonder why the Preve doesn’t have bigger sales? Even after years, it’s still a nice car?

• panjang on Jul 04, 2019 at 11:06 am

Preve comes out at the wrong time.
      It was the time P1 is struggling and need to ‘prove’ something like what the X70 did in order to gain the loss trust.

Too bad it just died off when Persona, Iriz, and Rexona soldiered on.

Preve and Suprima S are nice cars. The very low 2nd hand price makes it a bargain. Handsome car, nice ride and handling, good build quality, great equipment. FC is so-so.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 03, 2019 at 6:45 pm

Perdana maybe. But Preve and Ertiga out of production hence low sales.

• Susukotak on Jul 03, 2019 at 7:14 pm

decreasing sale pattern of x70
    1. people just aware the ckd is coming waiting for it
    2. people just realise x70 is fuel guzzler
    3. people waiting for x50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • 4. people realised that a hatchback (Iriz), sedan (Persona) or MPV (Exora) is the better choice.

• Mohammad Hafiz on Jul 04, 2019 at 10:47 am

all SUV are fuel guzzlers due to size n weight, sadly Msians buy suv but expect compact car fuel economy

• Pakulupapito on Jul 03, 2019 at 7:43 pm

Haters be like: x70 iS sUrELy gAMe oVeR. fL pErSoNA aLSo GaMe oVer. FL iRiz mOrE gAmE oVeR, bEtTeR gEt MyVI…..

• Get Myvi sure game over, RV bad, FC bad, safety bad, handling bad, otak bad, better get more game master Iriz.

• Pakulupapito on Jul 03, 2019 at 7:48 pm

Hate that name…preve. Proton should reuse their old nameplate like Iswara, Wira, Satria, Waja.

• Hate that Myvi name, Perodua should used their old name like kancil, rusa, tikus, lembu, arnab, kuda, kambing, kerbau.

• azrai on Jul 04, 2019 at 8:57 am

Hi Ploton sure hit hits the target. GKUI is the plus point for Proton today.

• azrai on Jul 04, 2019 at 8:58 am

Not forgetting the most stolen car also a Proton. Wira.

• So PIES is Bundle cars lke baju Bundle.. Ok!

• Dear “Pisang & Jet Pejuang”,
    Vehicle sales data in June 2019:-
    1) Perodua 16000 units
    2) Proton 7600 units
    3) Honda 6100 units
    4) Toyota 5800 units
    5) Nissan 2000 units

• Aura89 on Jul 04, 2019 at 5:55 pm

Very disturbing indeed for Perodua sales team. I can see why their trolls are becoming more active, their sales are dropping while Proton is clawing back market share from them. They are getting worried indeed.

• KickingDust on Jul 07, 2019 at 11:11 pm

The Saga is supposed to relaunched soon. Heard there is a major upgrade under bonnet and they will drop CVT to a AT.

By year end, X70 will be introduce as CKD specs and new powerterrain with 1.5L Turbo mated with 7 speed dual-clutch transmission. This will be the game changer for Proton.

Proton will certainly lead the TIV Malaysia market by mid 2020 as for entrance of B-segment SUV, new MPV’s and hopefully new launches for mid range segment sedans.

• P0 guy on Jul 16, 2019 at 1:41 am

I just don’t get it, Based on each thesis statements whenever P2 people speaks they get downvoted like hell the whenever P1 people speaks they get upvoted like gods… Ay P1 pipu please educate me rationally what is going on?