LokaTAG built-in Touch n Go card reader launched – no battery, plugs in to socket, for all cars, RM499

Are you using Touch n Go’s RFID to pay tolls yet? If like me, you’re not on-board yet for whatever reason, here’s a convenient alternative that requires no learning of new habits. Launched this morning, LokaTAG is basically the SmartTAG that we’re all familiar with, but the device is fixed permanently to your car.

Like the built-in Touch n Go card reader in the current Perodua Myvi, Haval cars and the optional accessory from UMW Toyota Motor, the LokaTAG device has a slot for your TnG card, and a backlit screen that shows remaining card value, card error and low credit alert (below RM10). Unlike SmartTAG, it doesn’t need a battery and draws power from your car’s power socket, which means it’s compatible with virtually all vehicles.

The card reader module is connected by wire to a small antenna, which is stuck on the windscreen (inside the car). This means that LokaTAG users will no longer need to physically take out and “show” the SmartTAG device at toll booths, and store it after use. Like the portable MaxTag, which is similar to the discontinued SmartTAG, LokaTAG uses infra-red technology by Austrian company Efkon.

With RFID now available, is IR-based electronic toll collection a dying tech? Not at all, according to both MaxTag sales figures (it was launched in September 2018) and Efkon Asia director Helmuth Blasch.

“Market response to the portable MaxTag has been excellent with average monthly sales of about 12,000 units. As for our built-in toll readers, we currently have five major car brands featuring our customised products with more coming on-board soon. The combined total monthly sales of the portable and built-in units are about 25,000 units,” Blasch said.

“We expect the infrared electronic toll collection system to continue playing a significant role in this country for years to come. It has proven to be the most reliable, efficient, convenient and cost-effective cashless toll collection system in facilitating multi-lane traffic flow on Malaysian highways,” he declared.

Blasch added that Efkon is constantly investing in R&D to enhance the features of IR toll readers, and we can look forward to voice alert and Bluetooth functions in the future. The latter will enable interaction with smartphones and the car’s media system, for instance.

“LokaTAG is the first and only authorised built-in toll reader for the aftermarket, and we believe there is a high number of car owners who will appreciate the peace of mind and convenience of a seamless ride. For a start, we are targeting sales of about 1,000 units a month,” said Lokatech Engineering’s GM Ng Shyh Kang.

As for installation, it’s already factored into LokaTAG’s RM499 purchase price, if you’re in the Klang Valley, Penang or Johor. The company has teamed up with Maxx N Go, which offers door-to-door car servicing. Maxx N Go will arrange with the LokaTAG buyer for the free installation to be done at his/her home or office. If the purchaser is located outside of Maxx N Go’s range, a LokaTAG dealer will be in charge of installation. There’s a one-year warranty.

LokaTAG is sold on Shopee Malaysia, and there’s a 0% easy payment plan available for just RM1 extra, taking the price to RM500. So, what do you think of this aftermarket built-in toll card reader? Are you sticking with the IR-physical TnG card team, or switching alliances to the RFID-eWallet side?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pharkchiq Along on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:07 pm

The problem is too many cars already pasted dark tint on windshield that impaired IR blast of these so called smart tag devices. Too often seen they wind down door windows and wave their smart tag in vain but toll IR reader failed to receipt and open boom gate therefore many car queues behind got stuck!

• ganni on Jul 10, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Go free RFID sticker *

• The problem here is you’re not even reading the article properly. It’s a built in device. Hence the problems you mentioned will not even exist in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Built in means you’re unable to take it out the car and wave at the boom sensor if your tint is blocking the IR signal. Basically, you’re screwed when it says: “Thou shall not pass”.

• Helmuth Blasch on Jan 18, 2024 at 6:16 pm

The problem is that you do want to stick your RFID sticker at the head lamp because it face the same problem like the portable IR reader. The built in reader is on a space of the windshield where you do not have tinted glass and it is inside the car, cannot be damaged except by your own clumsiness. So the only reason you will see the message ‘Thou shall not pass’ is if you have no money on your account

• Dredd on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:14 pm

RM499?! Only the rich can afford so no problem,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Ghani on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:18 pm

So just another Smart Tag reader device. With the convenience of TnG app wallet and online reloading via credit card, I see the usefulness of Smart Tag diminishing as more and more highways open to TnG Directpay and RFID.

Still, this Lokatag is a nice system to have… too bad it came 10 years too late at 10 times more expensive than reasonable.

When PLUS Highway eventually switches over, it will be the end of this idea.

Then again, supposedly highway tolls should have been abolished by now, making either systems moot…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • hmmmm on Jul 11, 2019 at 9:10 am

I don’t see the benefit of owning one besides not using battery. Price very expensive, stuck to one car. Better just buy smart tag and buy batteries. RFID free also people afraid to try. RM499??? crazy

• bro 2023 smart tag is still dominating you can queue in ur tng or rfid

• MeToo on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Does it work with 3M tint?

• newme on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Looking at the queue at T&G lanes, most people don’t even willing to spend RM100+ for an ordinary smart tag, what’s more spending RM500 on an in-built smart tag that sticks to only one car. Do you expect people to buy one for each of his car? This is like people still selling land-line home phone in the era of portable mobile phone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • I wouldn’t mind paying for convenience to install them in my 3 cars if they work well. However my concern is that the cable can’t be hidden which looks terrible.

• Newme on Jul 11, 2019 at 9:00 am

Do you also install landline phone to every room at home?

• Wrong. The cable can be hidden . I bought similar item from UMW Toyota for less than RM400 and installed in a Lancer GT myself. It works. Those wires can be hidden and end product looks like those that come oem with new myvi.

• Ollie on Jul 11, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Queue at SmartTag lanes are longer than TnG lanes. Open your eyes next time.

• super expensive on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:38 pm

stupid expensive price, free for me I also don’t want.
    dismantle my news car’s dashboard and install this, no no for me.. rather stick to my old smart tag, why need pay extra for them to earn
    it is dam overprice, their margin super high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • the driver on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:45 pm

Unless it has been endorsed by PLUS, it might be a decent (albeit expensive) product. If not, then it’s taking motorists for a ride. What if, PLUS decides to phase out IR readers and go fully RFID? Nice LokaTAG you got there shortly.

• Yaksa on Jul 10, 2019 at 5:09 pm

The quality of smart tags are very bad. The display fails only a month. The button is terrible to press. Now RM400 for a piece of junk. You gotta be kidding.

• Yaksa on Jul 10, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Hooo crap! RM500, not 400

• panjang on Jul 10, 2019 at 5:24 pm

How much for the DIY alligator clip display stand?
    Its more innovative compared to the item it display

• go fly kite .. dude, dont u ever do research before deciding to put that price? mahal la weiii ..

• lao yee on Jul 10, 2019 at 5:44 pm

don’t know why, i just felt this was invented in the 80s.

• Helmuth Blasch on Jul 10, 2019 at 6:13 pm

Because you are not so far off, the base technology was developed in a project for the MIR Space Station 1991. In 1997/1998 people in Malaysia pushed for RFID as choice of medium to do the electronic toll collection system – but surprisingly the IR system won against the, at that time, quite old looking RFID system. Touch N’Go decided around 2 Years ago not to sell the IR Tags anymore. However, people still buy that *****. The new LokaTAG is the premium product line of the IR system and nobody is forced to buy it. Most of the costs are from installation. Additional you have as choice: a product of the RFID line. You can also look out for the new MAXTAG line with rechargeable batteries coming up in the next few weeks…

• Interested on Jul 10, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Does it work with S450L, 530i and the S90? If so I’m interested because it seems very convenient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Helmuth Blasch on Jul 10, 2019 at 7:06 pm

Cant say that, but having these three cars to dispose I would make a helicopter license, and would not queue at a toll station…

• Reply to sohai on Jul 11, 2019 at 2:16 am

Bro, don’t pretend that you have all the Mercedes, BMW and Volvo. This is just a device use your car battery for the power, regardless whatever luxury car you have.
      I’m doubt that do you know how to drive a car or not because you don’t even know how to read an simple article.

• Matchy on Jul 10, 2019 at 8:49 pm

Very expensive for a product that is sunseting…

• idiot on Jul 10, 2019 at 9:20 pm

ASK them create better sensor better la!. more than 50% is smart lane sensor problem .

• Penew on Jul 10, 2019 at 11:37 pm

Go for RFID. It’s free. Multiple cars. Auto reloads by apps. No more queue. RM500 for the archaic system? You decide.

• Useless

• newme on Jul 11, 2019 at 8:38 am

No. Only S560e and above. As for BMW, its 7 series and above.

• Leonardo on Jul 11, 2019 at 9:34 am

Expensive device for an ancient technology. I will keep my SMART Tag, thank you.

• It will be good if it can be hybrid system with RFID. Active RFID is superior to current passive system. With this kind of price, if it’s hybrid I’m in.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 11, 2019 at 11:03 am

LOKATAG is too outdated, and too expensive. Enuf said..

• if it’s outdated , why are people still using smart tag and people using tng still queuing like idiots. RFID also have some sensing issues i don’t see your foolish ass could’ve thought of

• azlin on Jul 11, 2019 at 11:13 am

Old car use power socket for phone charging as they dont have usb charger. New car use power socket for dash cam. Sadly this old technology sell today with expensive price where you can buy smart tag chepper than that. On top of that RFID is FREE and no need power supply.

• Gavin on Jul 11, 2019 at 4:59 pm

To be honest, most people are using the Smart Tag wrongly. Smart Tag work best when it is parallel to the windshield (or 45 degree angle) for faster detection. Been speeding at 30km/hr everytime passing through each toll booth nowadays. Not much but still better than slowing to almost complete stop before Smart Tag is detected.

• Ollie on Jul 11, 2019 at 6:00 pm

Its not an alternative to RFID stickers. Its a inferior solution for a crazy price when RFID is free. I can’t believe this is not a joke.

• according to the price this device is like 5 smart tag with 1 slot TnG card, nothing special

• Curious on Jul 12, 2019 at 11:05 am

Does this have better radar sensor then battery powered maxtag?

• Huawei Back Door Bouncer on Jul 12, 2019 at 12:28 pm

LOL No radar! It’s based on ancient technology named Infrared-Radiation aka IR same light your typical tv remote control LED.

• toll fee no reduced, still want to pay 499 and pay the expensive toll fee, how stupid if somone pay 499 for this shit