RFID system to start at all toll plazas nationwide soon

The government says that the radio-frequency identification (RFID) system for toll collection will be implemented at all toll plazas nationwide soon, The Star reports.

According to works minister Baru Bian, the system will be running sometime in the next couple of years, and will not take longer than three to five years to implement. “Three to five years is too long. But give us time to ensure that it is properly implemented to benefit road users,” Baru said.

The initial plan by the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) stated that RFID system were supposed to start operating in the third quarter of last year, but Baru pointed out that toll plazas without booths could only be initiated when the RFID system is widely used throughout all highways nationwide.

The special lane for SmartTag will only be eliminated after the removal of boom gate barriers and toll booths as part of the multi-lane free flow (MLFF) roll-out, probably in the next two years. Baru added that the government will also need to develop standards and guidelines for the highway industry, particularly in the areas of building information modelling, communication protocol, big data analytics as well as strategic and tactical asset management.

“Communication protocols will ensure seamless integration for machine-to-machine communication. Big data analytics are to help with future planning, while strategic and tactical asset management is to enable optimum asset management and maintenance. In formulating theses standards, we need not reinvent the wheel. We can adopt and adapt those standards that are already available and modify them to suit our needs,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 16, 2019 at 12:02 pm

Mini-Stars Baru Bian, one couple =2, two couple =4 etc … so your “next couple of years” is berapa couple, cos “will not take three to five years” is less than 2 couples to less than 3 couples.

My Engrish not so powderful one like yours.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jul 16, 2019 at 2:01 pm

He said 3 years is too long, but never said what timeframe is acceptable. So what is their timeframe to abolish tolls as promised? FYI too long in my books is one year, so his dateline has edi passed.

• Sohai on Jul 16, 2019 at 5:25 pm

Same shit sohai, need to slow down pay tol, Singapore da best 110kmh pay tol implemented 20yrs ago.

• Which part of Singapore have 110kmh speed limit? Get your fact right before commenting

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 16, 2019 at 12:10 pm

Have they conducted enough trials? I’m still getting stuck even though I slowed down so much it’s slower than SmartTag and I still get stuck and have to reverse.

• Aniki Tan on Jul 16, 2019 at 12:28 pm

Actually now their distance setting is very low as they scare might scan the car next to the lane which also got RFID fitted that don’t want to wait for the RFID queue. Once the toll demolish for MLFF, the RFID scanner will increase the distance so that no RFID can escape from the scan, if one RFID e-wallet got not enough money to deduct, they might have warn 3 times to reload, else will get penalty and for those who doesn’t have RFID will be captured by CCTV just like how UAE did

• It wont work in Malaysia. Fake and non-standard number plate problem not yet solved. You will face a lot of problem

• Ba dumm tssss on Jul 16, 2019 at 12:54 pm

I dont have any problem. Might want to check your eWallet, maybe you dont have sufficient fund

• Henry Also on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:19 pm

You are perhaps luckier than others. I have also experienced the same problem. Sometimes, the RFID successfully captures my tag while I’m reversing my car in compliance to the “Sila undur” advice on the LED display. It can be quite a pain when there is a queue of cars behind you.
        I still wonder why they insists on sticking the tag on my headlamps instead of on my windscreen. Even though the top of my widescreen is tinted, can they not stick the tag on the outside? After all, the tag on my headlamp is also outside the car anyway. I suppose there must be some technical reason that I’m not aware of. Perhaps, someone can give me any explanation.

• Maybe you might want to check with TnG. New RFiD are placed outside the windscreen, but some cars still have to stick on the headlight.

• Michael Gnanam on Jul 16, 2019 at 12:57 pm

Me too. And my RFID is on the headlamp, not on the screen? I have reverted to using the Smart Tag!!!! What can I do about it the not working RFID? Anyone with an answer?

• onepack on Jul 18, 2019 at 2:33 pm

did they tested on your windscreen first? frm what I understand windscreen 1st option now. some tinted screen will hv issue and disturbed the signal. person who install mine said tint wt some metal in it will effect signal

• JOACHIM on Jul 16, 2019 at 3:25 pm

Are you sure you didn’t install that RFID sticker over your tinted headlights?

• Matchy on Jul 16, 2019 at 12:12 pm

I think they need to increase the number of RFID lane first…

• mazlanFriedRice on Jul 16, 2019 at 12:28 pm

‘particularly in the areas of building information modelling, communication protocol, big data analytics as well as strategic and tactical asset management’

Big words that says nothing.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 16, 2019 at 2:04 pm

“Big words that says nothing.”
      A PH specialty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Gabriel on Jul 16, 2019 at 2:46 pm

I’m still waiting for new ideas from this new government. They keep on continuing initiatives from the previous government like this RFID thingy.

• Hafiz Hisham on Jul 16, 2019 at 3:13 pm

Their new idea that they promised is to abolish tolls. So far they still dreaming up newer ideas and not carry through their older ‘new’ ideas.

• Heskey on Jul 16, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Why are they investing in this system since toll will be abolished?

• haha….

still need to slow down to 5-10km/h or sometime complete stop or very near the gate then only can detect…. so stupid…..

why cant the sensor put when car entering the gate? but is @ middle of it??

• 3 years isn’t it too long? already can build a tower with fully tested automated system installed. You guys already have done the testing with RFID, the installation have been tested in so many toll. you just need one team sit in few toll, study the behavior, fine tune it, two weeks is more than enough to come out a standard installation method. if there are some odd case, you just need to fine tune the odd case. 3 years is just too long, and u have already tested it so long.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 17, 2019 at 12:22 pm

Malaysia….land of stooges and U turns. Brought to specially by the new Govt.

• I doubted the rfid syst is ready. So many issues such as not functioning properly as well as the ewallet took 2 days for the syst to synchronise. Reloaded ewallet but cant use at the toll as balance not updated. After 2 days only certain tolls can go thru due to problem w the balance.

• Tee Peow Aik on Jul 20, 2019 at 9:56 pm

Double charged!!