Volkswagen Arteon R-Line open for booking – priced between RM290k to RM310k, to be launched soon

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia is now accepting pre-bookings for the all-new Arteon, and the fully imported Arteon R-Line is expected to be priced between RM290,000 and RM310,000. The five-door fastback first made its Malaysian premiere at the paultan.org Premium Auto Car Expo (PACE) 2018.

For specifications, the Arteon will be powered by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder TSI engine producing 280 PS and 350 Nm of torque. These outputs are sent the all four wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch (wet clutch) gearbox and 4Motion permanent all-wheel-drive.

Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC) is available, offering several drive modes such as Eco, Normal, Comfort, Sport and Individual. The automaker’s famous XDS electronic differential lock is standard, too. The R-Line rides on 19-inch wheels, although it’s unclear if it’s the same Montevideo unit (pictured below) from the model displayed at PACE 2018.

Equipment list include the new Active Info Display (fully digital instrument cluster), top-of-the-line 9.2-inch Discover Pro infotainment system with gesture control and Wireless App-Connect (Apple CarPlay, Android Auto and MirrorLink), as well as 360-degree area view camera.

Note that the inbound Arteon comes fitted with interior and exterior R-Line styling package, and is available in eight colours – Manganese Grey, Deep Black, Reflex Silver, Romance Red, Urano Grey, Turmeric Yellow, Oryx White Pearl and Pyrite Silver. Interested to take a sneak peek at the flagship fastback? Well, be sure to click here to register your interest.

The Arteon will also be visiting dealerships for a nationwide tour; click on the image below for the full list.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Arteon at PACE 2018

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Mario Tan on Jul 22, 2019 at 10:17 am

Proton fan boys and sales men will say x70 is better than this car. Even recond 320 People will say better than this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
  • Woot Woot on Jul 22, 2019 at 10:40 am

The Arteon makes the A5 Sportback look like a bargain

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 22, 2019 at 1:50 pm

A non premium non luxury car at a premium price…how silly can that be…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • stastasta on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:11 am

better buy c300 for 10% less

• mr1031 on Jul 22, 2019 at 11:30 am

pui..ade hati nak jual range level 5 series amount..

• The interior is just like any other vw. Nothing interesting

• Golf R engine..expect Golf R performance ayy

• Korean Fan on Jul 22, 2019 at 12:39 pm

Rather top up for the Stinger GT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Add more 30k can buy this rather than 2019 Mazda 3 :D HAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Waiting for some mazda fanboys to say its better than mazda 3

• WhenThisStupidGovWillAbolishToll on Jul 23, 2019 at 1:28 am

Mazda is stupid and Mazda fanboys are even stupid. Did you see the latest Mazda3 pricing? I laughed and all are laughing at Mazda. They are thinking they are Merc or BMW or Audi while some stupids are saying Mazda is going the luxury way.

• Hello bro… Is it the world u living known as earth or anything else? U analyse like pro. But u forgotten 250 outsold the vw. Wonder earth people is idiot o u r just too clever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
    • Mario is just another resident troll la. Probably one of those who just sits behind the computer all day long, looking at paper spec and dishes out on certain brand of cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
  • Nasi Kandar on Jul 22, 2019 at 1:23 pm

Spec is good, sadly but true. This is msia. With that vw badge, don’t bother to bring in this kinda high spec which pricing near the 5er E class. 80% still will buy Bmw or benz . Bolehland ppl buying cars is like buying sports shoe in al Ikhsan . Vw not consider a premium nor luxury car maker. Audi is. Only those who drove a pre reg polo or Passat feel like they are one. Vw shud hire a better marketing director, price below 250k without 4motion, adaptive control, normal 2.0 tsi will sell like hot cake. Executive sedan with compact executive price. Jz my 2 cent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • autodriver (Member) on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:06 am

No idea why you so pathetic on VW. Arteon spec and powertrain are same as Golf R (RM300k) but Arteon is bigger size. Just like Passat 2.0 is bigger version of Golf Gti. I do not agree with you that driving VW or pre reg they will feel the car is luxury. People who choose to drive VW coz they want to drive continental in reasonable price meanwhile greater technology and power.

The biggest issue of VW is mechatronic but this issue already settle after 2014 batch for dry clutch while wet clutch has no problem of mechatronic at all.

• stastasta on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:13 am

normal 2.0 arteon without 4motion will be too close to passat. vw need to clearly differentiate their models

• contender on Jul 22, 2019 at 1:35 pm

530e looks like better value ….

• Honda civic lagi best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Sohai on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Thats what i want to hear… *wet*

• Khairul on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:46 pm

Alaaaa VW service dahlah lambat. Kena queue 3-5 minggu. Spare parts selalu xde.

• Very intelligent strategy.
    They understand their dealer wont bother to waste money buying a showroom unit, they took 1 car all over Malaysia for public to view.

• Old man on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:23 am

The most important thing is reliability of a car, can VW beat Lexus on this ? Imagine outstation to somewhere and broken ? How fast you can go when you compare horsepower ? You thought drive car is playing video game care about 0-100/s ? Does turbocharged really needed ? Comfortable is a must, Lexus give that. When you can afford this category cars, you no longer will care those feature you mention, at that moment you are in different stage people

• Kalimaca on Jul 27, 2019 at 11:48 am

Reliability is overrated lah. Even my old protons don’t face breakdown issues. You think 1990 is it?

Everyone has different needs for a car. If you buy a 500k car, super comfortable but 0-100 same like a Vios, you happy? If you happy then no problem.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:30 am

failure before start selling

• Police on Jul 23, 2019 at 7:29 am

Might as well get an Audi badge’s vw product instead of a vw badge at this price….

• Kalimaca on Jul 27, 2019 at 12:09 pm

By your logic Nissan GTR should have never been sold, cuz it’s just a Nissan.

• Confidence of public to this brand in Malaysia will determine the sales. To achieve that, VW has to have an attractive price to prove and gain our confidence slowly.

• SOHAIGOH on Jul 23, 2019 at 3:30 pm

npc cycle?

• SOHAIGOH on Jul 23, 2019 at 3:48 pm

NPC Cycle?

• Any news for all new Polo paultan team?

• Calvin on Aug 30, 2019 at 2:37 pm

I’ll wait second hand or clear stock car for volkswagen arteon!