Tun Mahathir envisions the possibility of Malaysia producing its own supercar, with foreign cooperation

The new national car project (NNCP) continues to progress quietly in the background, with new names continuing to pop up in the picture, but something more exotic is being eyed as a possible future development – sports cars and supercars. Prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has pictured the possibility of Malaysia producing its own supercars to further enhance the capability of the nation’s automotive industry, the New Straits Times reports.

He said this following his recent official visit to Turkey, adding that technical cooperation could come from a Turkish supercar maker Onuk. Dr Mahathir was shown the Onuk Sazan and Onuk S56/G models, and said that the company had indicated its willingness to cooperate with Malaysia to produce its own supercar.

The prime minister said he had long been aware of Turkish companies’ capabilities, but now saw it first-hand. “I was aware of their capability. But there was no follow-up at the time as I was not the prime minister then, so making progress would have been difficult. And now they are ready to collaborate, not only with that type of car (super car) but also with other cars,” he said.

Collaboration with Turkey might turn out to be a two-way street – the news report added that during a dialogue session with Turkish captains of industry, Dr Mahathir had offered them Malaysian expertise to produce their own national car, based on the success achieved by Proton and Perodua.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• digidigi on Jul 31, 2019 at 10:26 am

his lotus is a fail case d, with Malaysian standard even u buy out Ferrari you will make it turn into loss making, this old man just go for his dream, Good luck new malaysia

• MeToo on Jul 31, 2019 at 10:40 am

Enough with all these pipe dreams pls.

All these is good and well if our economy is flourishing etc, but currently our “national” car project is costing the people of malaysia alot of unnecessary financial burden.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 31, 2019 at 12:42 pm

Fully agreed. Better fully clamp down hard on corruption in previous government & public service. Reduce national debt & renegotiate rel projects. FDI & private consumption strong. All these is good and well if our economy is flourishing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Logical Deduction on Jul 31, 2019 at 4:35 pm

Eh what? Keep to the topic, this is an automotive blog. Got nothing to do with corruption or public service or national debts or renegotiate contracts. Take your agenda somewhere else you PH propagandist.

• Lolwhut? on Jul 31, 2019 at 1:39 pm

No worries. According to Pakatan we have recovered millions so now we can throw billions into this black hole.

• panjang on Jul 31, 2019 at 11:20 am

Hmm…..somewhere in this relationship i think it will involve S&P of military equipment.

• John Doe on Jul 31, 2019 at 11:50 am

Now I know how 14mil was spent. Most Ministers are trying their best to beg for investments, our old man is going around looking at sportscars. Please give us a report on your accomplishments thus far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • john is otak batu on Jul 31, 2019 at 2:28 pm

U won’t get any report…. since Tun already have mandate till next PRU!

• Donno on Jul 31, 2019 at 11:52 am

If those things are the best that turkey can do, Malaysians could do way better. We have plenty of experience is building and R&D of supercars (TVR, Proton Sportscar that went to be the Lotus Europa to mention a few). Those things are just reskin of other cars.

The Onuk Sazan is a reskin of the Ultima GTR

The Onuk S56 is a reskin of speedster replica based on the old aircooled Volkswagen Beetle!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Ted Marlow on Jul 31, 2019 at 3:10 pm

I can see the ultima in that onuck sazan!

The custom Compomotive 3 piece wheels and AP brake calipers are dead giveaways.

Even the carbon fiber rear wing are carried over wholesale!

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 31, 2019 at 12:07 pm

Tun, whatever you do…pls think about the rakyat first. Please give them a car that is decent, affordable, safe, economical, reliable, cheap maintetance and relatively comfy for the humble rakyat and their family. This is not an extravagance. Bread and butter for family to go work and for family usage.

While at it, give them alternative public transportation, safer road ways etc.

Your super car or sports car stuff, other time la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • john is otak batu on Jul 31, 2019 at 2:29 pm

Sorry, can’t be bothered. Anyway he’s happy that he hi-jacked PH’s vote to carry on his dream!

• Celup King on Aug 01, 2019 at 11:50 am

PH hi-jacked him to get the vote numbers in becoming the government so its apt he hi-jacked PH to push his agenda. One hi-jack deserves another good hi-jack but its the common folks who suffers.

• Blackjack on Jul 31, 2019 at 12:12 pm

What are they smoking in Putrajaya recently? Flying cars, drones, UAV, fighter jets, robots etc. Silly ideas keep coming up from them. We once had a chance to develop supercar with famed Lotus but blew it, now contemplating to create one with unknown “Onuk”. Back to real world please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Jonn Dol on Jul 31, 2019 at 12:12 pm

From the outset, the Onuk cars look similar to those low volume British sportscar specialists from the late 1990s/early 2000s era (TVR, Lotus..)

• Afrojoe on Jul 31, 2019 at 1:23 pm

Aduii atok ni

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 31, 2019 at 1:29 pm

There goes our tax monies, proping up some crony company in the name of National Car.

I can see the signboard now “Satu lagi projek Pakatan Harapan”

Isnt any “National” project suppose to benefit the rakyat? And not just that rich, politically connected crony?

• kereta_lembu on Jul 31, 2019 at 1:43 pm

I’m sorry to be party pooper but when Proton owned Lotus, what did we do? Oh yes, we exploited Lotus’ name and put a badge on Proton cars when we could have maybe ‘rebadged’ a Lotus to have Proton’s very first sports car that Malaysians can maybe afford?

Look at Lotus today. Geely has given them the freedom and financial support to come back with a hypercar. If you want to talk about technology advancement, I’m sure Lotus could have shared their knowledge to make Protons much better back then. So why not then? Why now?

• Hahahah anyone remembered Esna Venere the supercar which was supposed to be made in Malaysia back in 2006. No Please No/

• Robinhood on Jul 31, 2019 at 3:28 pm

I see another ‘kan tao’ for the cronies again! When is the govt going to solve the economic woes of the Rakyat first??? People already been starving at the streets and the govt is talking about sports car?????

• Joyce on Jul 31, 2019 at 8:27 pm

Is it the photos angle problem or those cars have low built quality? The doors, bumpers, hood gap lines are large and not smooth. even proton and perodua are better than that.

• Derick on Jul 31, 2019 at 8:49 pm

Of course, we were so successful in producing Proton. Love the vision.

• Zenrich MLM on Aug 01, 2019 at 12:13 am

Turkish descendant master Ungku Aziz promotes Turkey thru Dr M

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 01, 2019 at 9:45 am

While we are at it, and super syoik about it…please make a company for superbike, hypercar maufacturing, mega-factory for EV, formula car company, aerospace development center, drag racing arena, MAG-lev supertrain, automonous submarine manufacturing, Sepang Drift Track, Mat rempit World Cup Series, etc.

Please make sure you say “for rakyat” purpose, Ok?

• Half and easy on Aug 01, 2019 at 2:07 pm

Haiya.. Why bother? Malaysia already has supercar. Myvi! Highway hi beam here hi beam there. Can smash hilux can smash lorry can smash policeman even can smash hardware store. Better think something else lah..