REVIEW: 2019 Proton Saga facelift – 4AT’s where it’s at

When it comes to Proton, no car comes close to encapsulating its better days quite like the Saga. The national carmaker’s evergreen first model has remained a significant entry point to its lineup whilst other nameplates have come and gone, and ever since it was relaunched back in 2008, it has consistently been one of the strongest offerings in its lineup.

Despite (or perhaps because of) it being the cheapest Proton, the Saga has always possessed a wonderfully uncomplicated character, paired with a spacious cabin, a pliant ride and well-judged equipment levels. It’s no surprise, then, that sales have remained strong even as the company slipped down the sales charts.

But strong sales are no longer enough. Backed by the might of the Geely empire, Proton has big plans for the future, aspiring to be the number one brand in Malaysia and number three in ASEAN. To do this, it not only has to introduce a slew of new Geely-based models like the X70, but its existing volume sellers will also need to attract more buyers than ever before.

It’s no longer good enough for the Saga to be good, then – it really needs to take the fight to the Perodua Bezza. So this time around, Proton has given the sedan a proper shot in the arm with the latest facelift, giving it a new look, several new features and a new gearbox. Yes, I said gearbox, with proper gears. Are these all enough to see off its sworn enemy? We drive the car to Ipoh and back to see what’s what.

Such is the hype surrounding that new gearbox that it masks just how far-reaching this facelift is. But let’s get the important stuff out of the way first – prices have fallen across the board, now starting some RM800 lower than before at RM32,800. This range-topping Premium model we’re driving here is yours for RM39,800, making this the only car in Malaysia whose entire lineup is priced under the magic RM40,000 mark.

This, combined with the increase in standard equipment, means that the value proposition has gone way up. That’s especially impressive when you look at the RM35,800 Standard AT, which effectively replaces the mid-range Executive variant (minus one or two missing items) at a considerably lower price.

What hasn’t changed are the dimensions. Measuring 4,331 mm long, 1,689 mm wide and 1,491 mm tall, with a 2,465 mm wheelbase, the Saga still offers ample space front and rear. No, you’re not going to enjoy the Bezza’s B-segment levels of legroom here, but trust me, you’re not going to miss it. The boot measures a decent but not outstanding 420 litres, and you still get a folding rear bench instead of split-folding seats.

Now onto what has changed. The reflector halogen headlights remain identical, but between them sits Proton’s now-ubiquitous “Infinite Weave” grille, and they are joined together by a classy chrome strip. The air intake arrangement has also been refined, losing the disjointed “smile” within the lower grille and gaining a gloss black strip that ties it all together. The Premium model even receives LED daytime running light strips.

The wheel designs have been revised across the board, with the Premium being the recipient of handsome twin five-spoke two-tone alloys, still measuring 15 inches in diameter. Moving to the rear of the car, the number plate garnish for the entire range is now body-coloured and sports the “Proton” script instead of the previous shield-shaped badge, tying it in with the rest of the revamped lineup.

The rear bumper is perhaps the most controversial element of the redesign. With the fake corner air vents, diffuser-like lower insert and chrome trim, armchair critics have commented on its likeliness to certain Mercedes-Benz designs, although it’s amazing how many of them looked the other way when BMW did the same thing. Me? I just think it’s a very successful rejuvenation that, dare I say it, adds a premium look.

Inside, the revisions are just as marked as they are on the exterior. Sitting (literally) front and centre is the new floating audio panel, which features touch-sensitive controls no matter which variant you choose. That means that even on the Standard models, you don’t get any physical buttons on the simple radio unit, which could make controlling the system quite, um, interesting when you’re on the move.

The Premium variant adds a proper infotainment system, connected to a seven-inch capacitive touchscreen. Despite also being an Android-based system, it’s not quite the full Geely Key User Interface (GKUI) that you find on the Iriz and Persona Premium models, and it doesn’t come with 4G connectivity or the novel “Hi Proton” voice control. Still, it’s just as smooth, snappy and intuitive as any modern smartphone.

Another big change is the instrument cluster, which gets the far more legible design seen on the new Iriz, Persona and Exora. The indices are clearly marked and the numbers are no longer in large, closely-spaced italic fonts, making it much easier to discern your current speed. There’s also a larger monochrome multi-info display that finally allows you to see your current and average fuel consumption – but more on that later.

Most models also receive new LED map lights (no prizes for guessing where the panel comes from), along with damped grab handles and plusher tricot headlining that lifts the ambience; the Premium’s denim-like fabric upholstery is also a nice touch. Proton says it has also improved the door closing sound thanks to revised sealing, though it’s not particularly obvious unless you put the old and new cars side-by-side.

Safety-wise, Proton has fixed the one glaring shortcoming of the previous Saga – all models now get ABS, an essential safety net that was missing on the previous Standard models. The Premium model still gets stability control and hill start assist, and dual airbags, ISOFIX rear child seat anchors and a four-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating continue to be standard fare.

At this point, you guys are probably fed up with all the formalities, so let’s get to the elephant in the room – the bit you’ve all been waiting for. Yes, as I’m sure you’ve read by now, Proton has replaced the dreaded Punch CVT with – shock, horror! – an old-fashioned four-speed torque converter automatic gearbox. It’s a surprising change, given that the company has spent years cajoling and finessing the stepless transmission into something approaching usable, but there are two reasons for this.

Firstly, Proton is trying to play it smart in the A-segment market – practically every competitor (by which we mean Perodua) uses a four-speed auto, and given that buyers’ preferences are skewed towards that direction anyway, it makes sense to simply homogenise the Saga with the rest of the segment, in line with what the market really wants. It also gives Proton bonus brownie points for listening to customer feedback.

Offering a conventional automatic also gives Proton buyers greater choice, and those who prefer the smooth, easygoing characteristics of a CVT can still opt for the Iriz or Persona, which aren’t worlds apart in terms of pricing. The company says it will continue to offer a CVT on those models – for now, anyway.

The gearbox comes from Hyundai Transys and is likely related to the unit in the Kia Picanto. The Korean supplier was recommended by Geely, which uses the same transmission in its cheaper models, such as the Vision sedan, Vision X1 hatchback and the amusingly-named King Kong sedan. This builds on the synergies that already exists between the two carmakers and should provide cost savings through economies of scale.

I’ve always felt that the pre-facelifted Saga featured the best implementation of Proton’s CVT to date, responding quickly to throttle input and generally going about its business in a smooth and unobtrusive manner. The upshot of all this is that the introduction of a slushbox hasn’t necessarily resulted in an objectively better driving experience.

As four-speeders go, however, this is actually a pretty decent one, dropping down a gear the instant you put your foot down. Yes, the changes themselves are pretty lethargic, so you can’t really rush it; the paucity of ratios also means that the transmission tends to hang onto a gear before shifting up.

But that’s par for the course for a traditional auto ‘box with just four speeds, and these are traits that so many buyers in the segment are used to – so much so that they’re no longer considered faults, just idiosyncrasies. The new gearbox has made the Saga a straightforward car to drive and throws up very few vices, and that’s perhaps the single biggest improvement Proton has made over the 2016 model.

One thing it hasn’t done is make the car feel any faster. The 1.3 litre naturally-aspirated VVT four-cylinder engine carries over practically unchanged, making 95 PS at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Those figures aren’t massive by any stretch of the imagination, so don’t expect a great turn of speed.

That said, the Saga is powerful enough for day-to-day driving, and it will happily keep up with traffic, whether you’re fending off other cutthroat drivers in the city or entering a highway. It’s only when you ask for more – say, when you’re overtaking – that the car sometimes struggles to get up to speed. Floor the throttle and all you get is a loud protest from the engine and a fairly gradual increase in pace.

To make the most out of the modest outputs, the transmission gains a new Sport mode. Flicking the lever into the “S” position locks out the overdrive fourth gear and adjusts the shift points, forcing the gearbox to hold onto gears even longer. In practice, Sport mode makes the car marginally more responsive and hunt for gears less often, but such is the gearbox’s inherent readiness to kickdown that it never really feels necessary.

No definitive fuel consumption figures have been released just yet, but preliminary internal testing showed that on a combined cycle, the Saga performs just the same with the automatic gearbox as it did with a CVT, delivering 6.7 litres per 100 km. However, tests at a constant speed of 90 km/h and 120 km/h has seen a reduction of between three to five percent, due to the spec of the torque converter and final drive used.

That figure is certainly achievable. With the route consisting of a mix of highway and winding rural roads, we managed to average 7.0 litres per 100 km on the first day, despite fairly spirited driving. However, prolonged stretches of high-speed highway driving saw the figure rise to 7.7 litres per 100 km by the end of the second day, which is still respectable by any means.

Proton has also worked on the car’s refinement, touting a reduction in noise both at idle and at a constant speed. Against the 2016 Saga, the company claims a reduction of 3.4 decibels at idle (with the air-con off), 2.6 decibels at a constant 60 km/h and 1.9 decibels at 120 km/h.

While the engine is vocal when pushed, it settles down nicely at a cruise, even though it’s never really quiet – not when the rev counter needle still hovers around the 3,000 rpm mark at 110 km/h, only slightly lower than in the previous model with the CVT. And while road and wind noise is still not exactly muted, the Saga is noticeably quieter than the Bezza at speed.

Another area where the Saga has its rival beat is in high-speed stability. Whereas the Perodua is susceptible to crosswinds and would meander around in its own lane, the Proton remains rock solid at the highway speed limit, and even at speeds well beyond that, there’s just a hint of float coming through the steering. This gives the car a reassuring feel, ideal for newer drivers going on long-distance journeys.

In terms of chassis tuning, the Saga has always gone against the grain at Proton. Even during the sporty “Lotus Ride and Handling” days, this was a car that prioritised ride comfort above all else, with little regard for agility, grip and all that other nonsense. That might not sound exciting for all you enthusiasts out there, but it’s vital for a car that is aimed at reaching as wide a market as possible.

To accommodate the heavier automatic gearbox, engineers have retuned the dampers to suit, with an even greater emphasis on ride comfort – both at low and high speeds. Even so, the changes have not made for an overly cushy ride, instead retaining a surprisingly amount of tautness.

That’s not to say that the ride is at all firm – it’s anything but. There’s still more than enough pliancy to absorb the bumps, but they’re handled in a way that does not upset the car’s composure, keeping it poised and stable. Even a particularly rough section of road along our route failed to throw the Saga off its intended path, and that’s a huge compliment for a car on the right side of RM40,000.

This tautness also pays dividends in terms of the handling. Body roll is pronounced but not excessive, and the car stays planted through mid-corner undulations. On the other hand, the Silverstone tyres generate only moderate levels of grip, and the car feels a touch nervy in the wet. The rollers are undoubtedly the weakest part of the chassis, though that’s an easy enough problem to remedy through aftermarket means.

But that’s not the only sore point. Proton has made the steering lighter to make low-speed manoeuvres easier, and there is definitely less effort needed to navigate through tight multi-storey carparks. But in taking away the heft, it has also removed some of the positive feedback coming through the rim and added a little bit of vagueness, particularly on-centre – despite the rack still being hydraulically assisted.

The Saga also gets bigger brakes this time around, the front discs and rear drums having been lifted from the larger Iriz and Persona. While we don’t doubt the stopping power on board, the pedal feel leaves much to be desired – you’ll have to go through quite a bit of dead travel before the stoppers actually bite.

Proton says it has calibrated the pedal to better suit everyday driving situations, but even after two days of driving we were still finding it difficult to modulate the brakes, making for less-than-graceful stops. Again, this is by no means a glaring flaw, and this is still one of the better handling cars in the segment.

Minor niggles aside, the Saga remains just as affable a daily companion as before, and the facelift has blessed the car with far more handsome looks, even better ride and handling and even greater value for money. The addition of an automatic gearbox hasn’t transformed it into a markedly better car so much as it has more closely aligned it to local tastes, which will hopefully result in the sales Proton desperately needs.

But it’s poignant that, just as the Saga was the first Proton to be fitted with a CVT all those years ago, so is it with this car that the transmission has met its demise. The CVT was a stepping stone for the company’s ambitious plan to globalise itself, starting it on a development path that led to turbocharging and would have eventually resulted in completely new direct-injected engines. Of course, we all know how that turned out.

Through its partnership with Geely, however, Proton has stopped following this near-decade-long rabbit hole, which may or may not have produced world-beating cars. Instead, it has returned to its roots with a car that, while still being mechanically simple, is once again solid and dependable, now sporting a transmission that customers can be sure isn’t going to throw up nasty surprises down the line.

And unlike the Bezza, this is a budget sedan that isn’t afraid to go beyond city limits, with a comfortable ride and reassuring handling giving it a real, tangible advantage over its rival. Throw in the lower prices and the extra kit and technology on board, and it’s easy to see why the new Saga is a winner. It really is.

The facelifted 2019 Proton Saga is now on sale, priced at RM32,800 for the 1.3 Standard MT, RM35,800 for the 1.3 Standard AT and RM39,800 for the 1.3 Premium AT. All prices are on-the-road without insurance and include a five-year/150,000 km warranty. You can browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my, and read our Bahasa Malaysia review here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Saga mivec on Aug 16, 2019 at 7:01 pm

I wanna buy this saga but….wait another 5 years so that some regret owner will give me free or sell to me cheap cheap lelong lelong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 125
    • tikus on Aug 16, 2019 at 9:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 156
      • Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:22 pm

30 years of automotive history and sacrifices from the rakyat and yet, we cannot make our own proper AT transmission

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 30
        • BMW 100 years of automotive history and sacrifices yet still cannot make their own proper AT transmission. So what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Mee goreng on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:39 pm

The most ironic thing is that Proton SA are always badmouthing Hyundai for having poor quality, poor SC, gearbox problem, etc. Today their game over Saga FL is using “Hyundai 4AT Gearbox”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Bak kut teh on Aug 19, 2019 at 12:52 am

Hahaha nice one bro! Now they feel ashamed of what they did and learned their lesson. I don’t see them badmouthing game changing Hyundai anymore.

• Alan Fong on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:41 pm

so shameful. Spent over RM20 billion on Proton also, they cannot build their own gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Even the big manufacturers don’t make all the parts themselves. It makes economic sense. If proton spend hundreds of millions if not billions to make their own gearboxes they need to sell them to other car manufacturers to recover costs or make profits. No chance of that.

• badak on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:44 pm

We have to thank game changing China and Korea for helping Proton. Without them, Proton Saga FL will not exist today.

• Sequerah Pereira on Aug 18, 2019 at 1:07 pm

I don’t know what Mitsubishi taught us. Until today we just use other people’s parts and cars and put our name on it

• redpilled on Aug 19, 2019 at 2:53 pm

you mean how like Mitsu’s SST is actualy Getrag’s? or BMW M Variable Differential is actually Quaife’s automatic torque biasing (ATB) diff? or Porsche brakes are actually Brembos…..

• Samad Abd Rahman on Aug 18, 2019 at 5:10 pm

Mitsubishi tried to transfer technical knowhow to Proton but Proton staff could not understand or comprehend the subject matter.

UiTM, Mara and UIA automotive schools is not up to par

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
          • Oh yeah. Mitsubishi were trying to transfer the whip and chain locks technology plus the slave labouring knowhow but you see, Proton workers are too ethical and respectful of fellow human beings to comprehend what these Japs were trying to teach. Once Proton management board found out, they kicked them Japs all the way back to Nippon and disallowed them to come back for 10 years. Eventually they returned back via Tan Chong Motors, another bloodsucker of their employees. I’m glad Proton didn’t follow their culture of slavery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Oh no waiiiii on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:21 am

Even Abg Gan from Pandu Laju, while review this 2019 saga, teat drive from Subang to Ipoh, had admitted that bezza have alot better fuel consumption than this saga. Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
      • Jeremy on Aug 17, 2019 at 10:36 am

I smelt a rat, oh wait….. now I see why.

• Bezza is noisier badmouthed campro

• Li Peng on Aug 17, 2019 at 8:26 pm

Bezza is also engineered from the same engineers who design Toyota racing cars. You need to drive a Bezza, then you will note immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
        • Chavez on Aug 18, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Toyota racung cars? What are those? You mean those shiok sendiri Vios ‘racing’ cars that not dare fight with Protons? You call those racing cars? I pity Toyota fansies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Ya, Bezza more reliable parked SC few months and no one going to steal. Bezza also better quality in noise level which you can communicate with engine AI voice. Bezza high RV just RM28500 for year 2018 Bezza 1.3 X Premium. No wonder so many SH people go for game changing 1 year life time Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
        • Sequerah Pereira on Aug 18, 2019 at 1:05 pm

People kutuk Bezza and Myvi but Myvi sales alone is 4X the entire sales of Proton

Are you saying rakyat is wrong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Myvi gt turbo on Aug 19, 2019 at 10:10 am

Muahahahaha u damn right man! No matter what basher say, rakyat know what the beat for themselve.
            Whole protong model sales cant even beat myvi sales alone. Paisehhh…basher talk talk belacan only. Muahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • But has P2 fixed the obvious number one defect of the Bezza? About its drivers driving like snails on the fast lane.

• Faris on Aug 23, 2019 at 8:55 pm

Bezza high RV? Joke of the century!

• Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:20 pm

We must thank both China and Korea for helping us.

1) China saved Proton from bankruptcy and have given new life to Proton with their Proton X70

2) Hyundai has given new life to the Saga and because of Hyundai high quality transmission, Proton is now having 500 sales per day from Saga alone (as claimed by Proton}

Thank you China and Thank you Geely for your kindess. Thank you Korea and thank you Hyundai for your kindness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 41
      • Heng Lee on Aug 18, 2019 at 9:10 am

The metal for the door knob is from Papua New Guinea, so you should thank them too.

• Celup King on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:33 am

Hell ya, let’s f-cking get it Proton. Great review as always Jonathan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Basically the review is “the car still sucks but I will tell you it doesn’t because I like Geely”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
        • And your comment is typical “I don’t care how much the Saga improved, I will hate any Proton because I let the hate clouded my thinking. Oh, maybe because I work for for a rival brand too.”

• Geely is Geely not proton on Aug 18, 2019 at 6:38 pm

The thing im worried about more is how there are so many delusional Baoteng fanboys on this site. U wont even find them on other sites/forums, let alone in real life

• Muzaffar Shah on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:36 am

You buy Saga, people always say you are poor and never made it in life. But you buy same price Myvi, people somehow never associate you as poor.

I don’t know why but when you buy Myvi, people just assume you want a small car to downsize.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
      • xem6861 on Aug 18, 2019 at 4:01 am

Pardon me,for people? No matter what you are buying, people would never stop criticize you anyway.So buy or dont buy,to please yourself instead of pleasing others. After all you are the only person whom going to scratch your head to foot the monthly installments, not the other peoples!

• Veyron Owner on Aug 19, 2019 at 6:05 pm

People see you buy Saga they will praise you for being wise to start with something cheaper yet good to use. People will take pity on you for buying Myvi because they think you must have downsized from bigger car due to finances not in good shape.

• Faris on Aug 23, 2019 at 8:58 pm

It’s the same story with Iriz. People said the same thing about being poor and never made it in life, yet they didn’t say the same thing when it comes to Axia. For God sake, the Iriz is way, WAY more advanced than the Axia!

• Bernard Kwong on Aug 17, 2019 at 1:47 pm

What will Proton do without the help of foreigners?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
      • Veyron Owner on Aug 19, 2019 at 6:09 pm

What will Perodua do without the help of foreigners?
        What will Nissan do without the help of foreigners?
        What will JLR do without the help of foreigners?
        What will P3 do without the help of foreigners?

• Don’t worry, next Saga will come from China.

• kaizen on Aug 16, 2019 at 7:14 pm

Terbaik continued improved. I felt the pre FL Saga got the best usage of Proton’s CVT to date.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Bernard Kwong on Aug 17, 2019 at 1:50 pm

Any reason why the CEOS and Board of Directors in Proton never use the Saga as their official car? All use Audi.

If they really proud of their Saga, they must set an example

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Sam Kuntakinte Loo on Aug 18, 2019 at 10:29 pm

Dey, u should ask to Poodua management this question:

Any reason why the CEOS and Board of Directors in Poodua never use the Biza, Axai or Mivi as their official car? All use Lexus.

If they really proud of their celup Toyota, they must set an example

• P1 showed that they truly listen to customers feedback and they continuously improve their cars. They never stop trying to improve which is why export market still value their legacy models. Well done P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 75
    • Bernard Kwong on Aug 17, 2019 at 1:48 pm

They only listened after 10 years people suffered with CVT.

Yes, 10 years! Then when sales went kaput, they had no choice but listen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • Karam singh on Aug 17, 2019 at 3:08 pm

And showed so many weaknesses of the Saga Mk.III – what were the designers and engineers thinking then??

Never learnt, never look at other cars? Never read paultan or other car magazines for feedback. That is really syok sendiri attitude. Damn. Need to wait Geely coming in to change all that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • skodamalaysia on Aug 16, 2019 at 7:28 pm

Proton can only compete with lada (Russia) and tata (India)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 62
    • rally_fan (Member) on Aug 17, 2019 at 10:20 am

confused much? “skodamalaysia”, but showing a suzuki logo, and talking about lada and tata…?

• alldisc on Aug 17, 2019 at 3:13 pm

In the 80s when first launched in UK, those were the brands proton competing with. Lada, skoda, seat, Yugo and FSO.

• patheticp2 on Aug 17, 2019 at 6:28 pm

And p2 can only be exported to indon and 3rd world countries

• P2 is also exported to Singapore, a FIRST world country, still sold there till this day

Meanwhile P1 is no longer officially sold there since 2018

• Sold but ZERO sales, meant that it is a failure there. So what are you saying?

• P1 also ZERO sales until they had to leave Singapore

• Proton also game over and left Indonesia. At least game changing Perodua Myvi have hundreds of sales in Indonesia unlike Proton

• Li Peng on Aug 17, 2019 at 8:34 pm

…while Perodua is successful in big foreign markets like Mauritius.

• Heng Lee on Aug 18, 2019 at 9:06 am

How shall Proton compete with a 560bhp tractor lorry from Tata?

• Beres on Aug 16, 2019 at 7:46 pm

RM 39,800 sahaja for the premium spec… I bought my 1st car on 1998, the 1.3L Iswara Aeroback with solid red paint, ard RM 35k back then. Its without the power stering, with manual gear, no alloy rim, the only safety equipment is the 3 points belt, and what is Infortaiment??? After 20 years, the new version only cost a few K extra, thats v call it market power… Saga, our people’s car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 3
    • The ori saga was a C-segment. Now it has dropped to an A segment. The Civic was a C-segment from the firat till the latest 9th gen. So much for playing the sentimental game. Even persona is a B-segment, coming down from C-segment itself. The true saga today should be the preve, wira, persona, inspira, all should had been generations of the Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 64
      • BOYRACER on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:52 pm

Are you sure the first civic is a C segment car?have you ever seen how big it is?

• Logical Deduction on Aug 16, 2019 at 11:25 pm

Then why you didn’t mention that ori Civic cost (RM50k) the same as other C segmenters then but now cost RM110k? You pay more, you get more. Nothing strange there but for Saga, you pay nearly the same but get so much more.

• rally_fan (Member) on Aug 17, 2019 at 10:20 am

the term “C-segment” did not exist when the first saga came out. but i suppose car companies have their reasons for choosing which model fits into which segment based on their studies on customer requirements. but i can understand why they retain the saga for the entry level proton, as it still represents the car for the people, and that means making it the most affordable as well.

• Anonymous on Aug 17, 2019 at 12:56 pm

The Civic was a SUB-compact (B-segment) car when it first started. It only moved up a segment starting from the 7th gen.
        The Saga is, and always has been, a B-segment. Where do you get your information from?

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 17, 2019 at 3:17 pm

True. Many so called “car fans” didn’t know that the Saga was in the same segment with Corolla, Civic, Sunny and Lancer back in the 80s. Proton biggest mistake was not renaming the Lancer as new Saga but changed it to Wira and sold it alongside Iswara.

• BOYRACER on Aug 18, 2019 at 11:49 pm

Yes.Proton made some glaring mistakes before such as naming a a newer model by giving it different names such as 1st gen saga was based on the 3rd gen Lancer.Then the 5th gen Lancer was called the Wira and then the 9th gen Lancer was the Inspira.All of this are Lancers and these model grew in size with subsequent models but Proton sold some of them alongside each other. This however becomes a problem.No same model names were retained.
          Take Toyota for example.They started the Corolla name in the 60s as entry level model at firstAs the model grew larger through the years,what did they do? They created a new model placed below the Corolla and called it the Starlet.
          I think Proton should just maintain the model name with every model iteration.

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 18, 2019 at 8:09 am

According to Wikipedia, the Mitsubishi Lancer from which the Saga was based from originally was a SUBCOMPACT car. The definition of a subcompact car is – an American classification for small cars which is broadly equivalent to the B-SEGMENT (Europe) or supermini (Great Britain) classifications.

Also according to Wikipedia, the Honda Civic was a SUBCOMPACT CAR from 1972-2000. It became a C-segment in 2000. So no, the Saga was never a C-segment car, nor was the Civic a C-segment car from the beginning.

• Sohai on Aug 18, 2019 at 9:38 am

Cars are gradually increasing in its size… civic now has the size of an old accord…
      Regardless of what segment you call it, i think is a good point that for under rm40k, you get still a lot of “car” for your money.
      Well done Proton for this facelift effort. In the month of August, makes me feel like buying one and slap a Malaysia plate on it.

• Really on Aug 16, 2019 at 7:50 pm

Unbiased review of the Saga. Certain quarters are going to accuse PT’s team of being paid by Proton, but rest assured there are only a handful of these accusers. Expect comments from dupes by the same few people, but we already know they are the resident trolls. The majority of us has been frequenting the site due to its neutrality and impartiality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
  • Dong gor on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:06 pm

Grab cars have another option now besides Bezza. Frankly, I just hate the ride each time I hiked a Bezza.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
  • Paid Articles on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:16 pm

“It has consistently been one of the strongest offerings in its lineup.”
    Never seen this much butt kissing in a long long time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 102
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:32 pm

Which other Proton model do you think has been consistently better? Do let me know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 10
      • Protoniamah on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:24 pm

None

• End of a Malaysian Saga on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:36 pm

You are right Hafriz… because All other line up failed and never seen again . Did you forget Saga came without rear power windows, passenger airbag and colored bumpers etc even … Saga is not consistent in offerings, it’s only consistent in being offered cheap …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Bashers just cant stand the waves of gud news going to P1. Continue ur unbiased repoting without fear nor favour. Kudos to PT and P1!

• Troll Hunter on Aug 16, 2019 at 11:48 pm

Paid trolls are paid trolls. Just ignore them or ban them, that’s it. Have a nice weekend!

• Avenger on Aug 20, 2019 at 12:01 am

I am shocked that our serial name changing troll has not been banned yet. Great review as always, Jonathan & Hafriz. Don’t let this perennial joker kick you down.

• Tengku Adnan on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:00 am

They have to get the support of majority. This is Malaysia after all.

• Jeremy on Aug 17, 2019 at 10:33 am

You want to see an actual butt kissing? Go see the eye cancer by our game over troll hardselling his Peroduas.

• I have seen quite a lot of butthurt P2 salesmen lately, but you takes the cake.

• FUGLY on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:31 pm

Its one FUGLY looking car … everything about its proportions is like kereta potong sambung balik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 94
    • Only SH like you saying that, the most fugly looking A segment sedan in Malaysia is Bezza.

• Protoniamah on Aug 18, 2019 at 11:23 am

Front bumper trying so hard to be like BMW .
        Steering wheel horn size fit for a truck .
        Headlights taken from a car twice it’s size.
        Side door panels as if designers decided to have everything in one car
        Headunit again trying to emulate BMW.
        Gear shifter that came off a 1990 Nissan Sunny.
        Alloys that really look FUGLY on a SAGA
        Fake exhaust on a 1.3 car is the ultimate joke

Get an identity for goodness sake .. at least the 1993 Saga had one which Malaysians don’t mock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • bisatonggek on Aug 17, 2019 at 6:30 pm

As above

• Dylan Ch'ng on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:58 pm

“the new Saga is a winner. It really is.”

So dear everybody, please don’t even consider the Bezza and Axia. I really must see less of these machines on the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 11
    • Abu toharoh al-firqi on Aug 17, 2019 at 11:42 am

Fuel consumption 14.5km/litre as compared to bezza/axia still can stand tall with 22.5km/litre. Durability n *lasak* is best in its class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Chavez on Aug 18, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Real world Saga fuel consumption vs fake world Bezza fuel consumption. Yeah sure, whatever floats in your fake world.

• Vader on Aug 18, 2019 at 10:44 pm

So says the resident Perodua sales troll.

• Dogbert on Aug 19, 2019 at 1:57 am

Driven Axia E for 3 years, 70% highway 30% town never reached 20km/liter. Best FC is 19.8km/liter balik kampong.

• Adam Lee on Aug 16, 2019 at 9:51 pm

Thank you for pointing out the bad steering in this new Saga. I was looking to trade in my Saga FL and quickly turned off by the steering vagueness at 110km/h. I thought the new model should retain what it does best, refining the Saga by adding more damping, instead of repurpose it to fit the new crowds.

• Muzaffar Mohamad on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:12 pm

As a previous FLX and Viva owner, all I can say is I wish this auto gearbox came along with the VVT engine. Saga was a good package let down by its CVT drive. Various tuning cannot fix that deficiency. This is where the partnership with Geely pays off. With good focus on NVH, this Saga is virtually transformed into a car that punches its weight above its class bracket. I mean not only local A segment. The Hyundai Powertech 4AT, practically similar to Kia Picanto and Hyundai i10, transforms the engine into a decent performer with good gas mileage, 40 plus mpg is impressive for our locally designed engine. Geely also gives input in packaging and pricing for the Saga. This car can give Bezza a run for its money!!!

• Lighter steering ….ok
    4 speed auto……..ok

Seats….somewhat flat without contour in the interest for lumbar support. . ….x
    Laggy initial response of braking action…….x

• Long live Saga

• Ok saga wins over bezza.
    But the engine.. produa has the sweetest midrange capability. Even vvt campro isnt that good at midrange . Revs hard proton exel. But this is familiy car . Need to be nippy in town. Occasionally the racy nature of the campro is inspiring. But only ocassionally.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 16, 2019 at 11:11 pm

this car needs to die. its so horribly outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • Ghani on Aug 16, 2019 at 11:53 pm

Jonathan, if you have trouble at finding the right way to use the brake pedal, do it like I do for my Honda City GM6. Press all the way down until you feel it starting to bite, then modulate from there. Braking & accelerating in a Honda City is like driving a bumper car. Press all the way down at either pedals then modulate from there.

• Surya on Aug 17, 2019 at 8:45 am

Any word on maintenance cost and how frequent it’s needed?

• Benard on Aug 17, 2019 at 8:57 am

2019 Bmw g20 exterior has similarity to 2019 Mercedes A class AMG?

You must be blind!

The saga has copied wholesale the front bumper side scoops, and the whole rear bumper of the mercedes A class AMG!

The bmw g20 exterior does not look anything like the A class AMG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • THANK YOU.

I was waiting for another commentator to point this out because I had the exact same “WTF is he talking” thought when this particular writer typed the funny stuff up there.

• steady on Aug 19, 2019 at 10:54 am

and to realize that the writer is paid to put all that crap. If this person can’t even tell the difference between BMW 3 series and Mercedes A-class, I don’t think I can believe the rest of the things that he wrote in this article.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 19, 2019 at 11:13 am

You folks may want to reread what’s actually written. Comprehension is important, guys ;)

• steady on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:58 pm

The problem is the is nobody is complaining about the vents on the saga bumper being fake. Most of the comments online is about the wholesale copying of A-class AMG bumper vents to the front and rear of the new saga. So what does that has to do with the BMW 3 series??

• If our resident basher have a good grasp of English, he wouldn’t be here earning his measly allowance as a paid troll.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 19, 2019 at 10:51 am

https://paultan.org/2019/05/21/first-drive-2019-g20-bmw-330i-m-sport-rm329k/g20-bmw-3-series-330i-m-sport_ext-14/

• Neutral on Aug 17, 2019 at 10:39 am

The Saga has come a long way. I bought mine back in 1991, the 1.5L with Magma engine which I drove for 10 years without any major problem except the corroded body. Then I upgrade it to a 1.6 L Waja and that’s when my nightmare began. The costly inferior power window motors and the fragile door handles gave me nonstop problems and bled my pocket profusely. That made me vowed not to buy a Proton ever again. I would say the 2019 Saga is undoubtedly value for money, thought I wont buy but I still give it thumb up.

• Abu toharoh al-firqi on Aug 17, 2019 at 11:36 am

Cosmetic change. Engine is still the same. Fuel consumption 14.5km/litre as compared with Bezza @ 22.5km/litre @ 100kph.

• fraz006 on Aug 17, 2019 at 2:59 pm

nice facelift. white looks like mini mercedes.

did customers really complain the cvt box?

• Good to hear the improvements Geely is making in Proton’s line up. That being said I wonder how Proton’s aftersales/service is fairing. Last I checked, Proton had really bad aftersales support.

• Should I change the silverstone tyres right after I get the saga for better quality?

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 18, 2019 at 8:10 am

You should change it to Toyo tires.

• toyo is silverstone on Aug 19, 2019 at 10:56 am

Change to Toyo tires? Toyo tires owns Silverstone tires!

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 19, 2019 at 3:17 pm

Toyo Tires and Silverstone Tires come from two different factories.

• Go for quiter conti tire

• Sohai on Aug 19, 2019 at 9:02 am

If you can afford the extras… i would encourage it.
      15 inch sizing has plenty of choices… you shpuld be able to change all corners for rm600 with good tires.

• Ben Yap on Aug 18, 2019 at 4:07 am

the car’s top speed is about 175kmph to 180 kmph which is slow. it should at least hit 200kmph. my civic turbo can smoke this car with ease.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • School Holidays are over kid

• Azherio on Sep 16, 2019 at 1:29 am

Lol, you’re a joke man. My Boxster S 981 3.4L can smoke your dumbass civic with ease. Why tf compare your care to this lol? You dumb?

• Saga? Campro vvt engine? Eeuuuwww!!

• Ronnie on Aug 18, 2019 at 3:15 pm

both proton and perodua are disgrace car companies, no global presence at all

• Cheung on Aug 18, 2019 at 4:25 pm

The automatic tranny is definitely more responsive than the Punch CVT

• One more thing. Brake peda a bit too high

• true. BLM also high brake pedals. and they dont have foot rest so your left leg will die in long jams.

• John Doe on Aug 19, 2019 at 10:44 am

Iriz smooth going CVT.. U must be joking right?? Highway Yes! but everyday town driving just No..

• “I’ve always fell that the pre-facelifted Saga featured the best implementation of Proton’s CVT to date, responding quickly to throttle input and generally going about its business in a smooth and unobtrusive manner”

Are u seriously lying ? 2016 Saga has serious throttle lag input due to poor CVT setting. I own and sold my Saga after that. Almost 2 year later, Proton only patch up with new software to temporary fix the problem.

• John Gagal on Aug 19, 2019 at 6:57 pm

Perfect car for those with no ambition in life.

• So says the perennial kapcai owner. Go get a real job so you can afford to buy this Saga-licious.

• Yeh. High Brake pedal. Seats lacks of lumbar support. Steering reach distance as well as thin steering wheel for grips are put into one word. ERGONOMIC. so still proton need to improve a lot in this area. Yes ERGONOMIC . To saga project leader . This is crucial…

• Yeh. High Brake pedal. Seats lacks of lumbar support. Steering reach distance as well as thin steering wheel for grips are put into one word. ERGONOMIC. so still proton need to improve a lot in this area. Yes ERGONOMIC . To saga project leader desmond pinto . This is crucial…

• I myself use to own wira. Satria gti. Saga blm saga flx 1.6. Exora cfe and currently saga vvt.
    3 cars were cvt. I need to install shadow e throttle controller which costs me nearly rm400 to purchase it in order to eliminate laggy feel of the throttle imput. So i would say some engineerig fault there.

Another are that are to be lengthly discuss is ERGONOMIC. Human physical interaction with car. Especially in car control and comfort factor

• wow, proudly malaysian. try earn more and get better car. you won’t u turn to plotong

• Look… The initial ideas of Saga (and still) is offering some how affordable car to all. Some may say it cheap, some may say it is expensive. But for less than 40k, i dont see we can expect too much from it. Regardless of its look, design and can i say functionality (gadgets etc..), i still hope proton do well as our national car and we should be proud of that. Yes some might say “proton can only come up with this after so many years??”.. and do get ur reasons to upset. I do not own any proton (or perodua). But i do fancy both automative car industries doing health competition among each other. For me, its easy. If u like it, go for it. If u dont, get others. There is no point of condemning proton or perodua or whatever. Ur own budget define what u drive.

• Michael Boey on Aug 21, 2019 at 4:49 pm

Current I had brought Proton Saga VVT in 29th June 2018. Found out Car engine stopped while driving or reverse very dangerously that lead to loss of life cause car suddenly engine off middle in the road. Behind if got lorry or car will bang at the back lead to accident. On March 2019 send to Proton Service Centre Modern Tune ( Fah Kee Motor ) located at Bercham Ipoh diagnostic Fuel pump malfunction claim need to erase program download again use back. One week later same problem then only change but at the moment claim Saga VVT no spare part replace with Saga FLX fuel pump and the relay as well. Again month of August same problem, Modern Tune ( Fah Kee Motor Bercham Ipoh Perak )inform calim 2nd time lot of work need to submit report to proton HQ. Mechanic just erase the error code claim settle. Same problem happen. Mechanic found out the relay replace previously with different type then do replacement as not willing to change the Saga FLX fuel pump may not belong to Saga VVT car as old version. Need Proton HQ to review the competence of these authorized panel workshop that until today unwilling to replace the correct Saga VVT fuel pump to provide lot of reason. It is critical item car engine stopped middle of the road as the workshop unwilling to write report for 2nd claim as fitted with wrong version of fuel pump.
    Need Proton HQ Manufacturer look into these matters to liase with Modern Tune ( Fah Kee Motor Bercham Ipoh Perak )to do replacement.

• Hello Bezzafanclub…Please join MERDEKA RACE yearly to prove your “power” and compete with SAGA.#sembangkencang#sembangkari#sembangkosong#takgunatalehbla…

• John Jooboh on Jan 31, 2020 at 4:42 am

The mastermind is Desmond John Pinto Proton Vehicle engineer programmer..He is the planner for the facelift and upgrades

• Worcestershire on Mar 21, 2023 at 4:09 am

Honestly, where’s the fast back version of it