Proton X70 Merdeka Edition launched – 62 units only

Proton has revealed the Proton X70 Merdeka Edition, of which only 62 units will be available. The limited edition is in conjunction with Malaysia’s 62nd independence day, which falls on August 31, 2019.

The X70 Merdeka Edition is based on the top Premium 2WD variant, but adds on accessories for a slightly altered appearance. The Flame Red exterior paint you see here is contrasted with a Quartz Black roof (includes A pillars, wing mirrors, area around the glass roof and rear spoiler), and there are door visors and a rear bumper scuff plate.

The latter two items are lifted from the X70’s optional genuine accessories catalogue.

Inside, you’ll find new floor mats and a trunk mat. The set is in black, and has a quilt pattern with red piping. Of course, no special edition is complete without emblems – here, you’ll find one on the tailgate and one inside. The latter, which is located just below the passenger side air con vent, is numbered XX/62.

Two colour options are available – Flame Red, of which there will be 26 units; and 36 units in Snow White. There are no mechanical changes, which means you’ll get a 1.8 litre turbo engine with 181 hp/285 Nm, paired to a six-speed automatic transmission channeling drive to the front wheels.

The Proton X70 Merdeka Edition is priced at RM126,100 on-the-road without insurance, which is RM2,300 more than the Premium 2WD’s sticker price.

GALLERY: Proton X70 Premium 2WD

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hmm, just for a painted roof, accessory items, and an extra badge. Not really worth the extra price, but I guess some will buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Dylan on Aug 16, 2019 at 9:53 pm

Yep, should add a small rubber Jalur Gemilang MY flag secured into front fender of the X70. 1957 units with individual serial no. 0001 – 1957 konpem laku keras mcm Satria Gti dulu2.

• Richard Gomez on Aug 18, 2019 at 7:56 am

Don’t know why we have Merdeka edition when China did all the work. We just rebadged. Rebadger also syiok sendiri is it?

• Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:21 pm

In China, the Proton X70 is RM59k. In Malaysia, Proton X70 is RM123k.

Tak habis habis we Malaysians kena con.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
    • Bernard Kwong on Aug 17, 2019 at 1:51 pm

This is a Geely Boyue. What did Malaysia make?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
      • Everything at the interior

• Sequerah Pereira on Aug 18, 2019 at 1:10 pm

Proton workers never did anything from day 1. Even earlier cars also Mitsubishi rebadged. Now Geely rebadged

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Alan Fong on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:42 pm

Should put China flag logo on the Proton X70 because it is fully made in China.

Don’t know why we put Proton logo on it

• Sequerah Pereira on Aug 18, 2019 at 1:06 pm

Typical Malaysian mentality, orang asing do all the work, we take the credit.

This is why we are 100X backward compared to Singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Totally agreed. X70 is 100% build in China. Whatever success it is brought in by Geely. And so all the Proton fanboys here praising proton as if it is a proton success. shameful.

• Made In China. Merdeka lah sangat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 39
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 144
    • Hadi75 on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:33 am

Well, don’t use or buy anything that is made in china then. You can just buy anything that is made in malaysia. No one is forcing you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Muzaffar Shah on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:39 am

spot on point. What is there to feel proud? Barang Buatan Malaysia ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • This Is just the Proton version of X-Trail X Tremer edition and Mitsubishi Outlander Sport edition

• ayamxxx on Aug 16, 2019 at 7:09 pm

Wah now China made car used for Malaysian Merdeka event?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
    • wawasan2020 on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:57 pm

Anything can happen in boleh land.. “india rejected product” can become hero here.. Why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 21
      • Sugarhill on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:58 am

No need to be racist here bro. We all know what u meant. This is automotive site.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Since when Bajaj motorcycles are a racist item?

• sugarbabes on Aug 19, 2019 at 10:12 am

Cmon.. u know who wawasan was talking abt… hint: preacher

• typical malaysian on Aug 19, 2019 at 2:16 pm

you are a good example of pot calling the kettle black. rejected product, come to malaysia to claim and make it yours, then reject your own product. =)

• skodamalaysia on Aug 16, 2019 at 7:31 pm

Proton should JV with lada from russia & Tata from india not Geely from china

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 50
    • Lada is a dead brand in Russia and Tata is making massive losses on JLR. Why even go near them?

• And becomes Prolada or Tataton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • suomynona on Aug 17, 2019 at 3:14 am

Er, no.

• Tata truck are quite good (namely the new Prima Lx 5530.S tractor unit). But why shall Proton work with a truck manufacturer?

• SUV without AWD is a cripple SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 34
  • john doe on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:34 pm

ripping Malaysian for China GDP…

wake up dude, its a Trading company now without any manufacturing process to contribute to any local Malaysia “Productivity”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • Raja Kamarul on Aug 16, 2019 at 9:16 pm

Either you’re not well versed with economics and Malaysian automotive guidelines, or you’re just another sore competitor losing out. Either way, you’re sulking, PROTON and close to 30000 owners are happy, and the rebirth of PROTON will make many vendors happy too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
    • rally_fan (Member) on Aug 17, 2019 at 10:25 am

trading company? firstly, its still majority owned by malaysians, i think easily 99% of the staff are malaysian, and majority of the vendors are malaysian.. and look at the proton product line-up.. saga, persona, iriz, preve, exora = all designed and developed by proton. x70 = rebadged from china. I fail to see your point.

• choha on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:55 pm

Malaya’s 62nd independence not Malaysia!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 16, 2019 at 11:12 pm

nothing special edition about some carpets u can get from taobao

• Noname on Aug 16, 2019 at 11:47 pm

Throw in some black paint job, carpets and a badge, then slap an whopping extra RM2600. Well spent buddy, well spent.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 17, 2019 at 12:16 pm

…Made in Tongsan or not, as long it is belly good car and best price, Ok la,,,,

• potato on Aug 17, 2019 at 2:23 pm

wow fast fast book 10 units then sell back for a profit in next GE.

• John Loo on Aug 17, 2019 at 3:24 pm

Volvo had done that. With the 940 Merdeka Edition some 25 years ago or so. Nothing new. Shame proton never though of this all the while.

Btw, when was the last time proton had special editions let alone limited edition offered to the public? Sneo R3 Lotus in British racing green is one, but even longer was the wira 1.8 DOHC.

• X70 legend on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:09 pm

Went to book one, by 1pm fully booked.

• Based on the current long waiting list, those who bought these will only get it during Merdeka 2020.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 18, 2019 at 11:48 am

I am quite sure the X70 will come up with, Raya, CNY and Deepavali when the time comes…..With topup prices, of course.

Ppl can go home town gaya-gaya, while Geely becoming kaya-kaya….

• I hope there’s some local engraving art or some thing,62 merdeka badge doesn’t make the car looks like limited edition

• ProtonBest on Aug 20, 2019 at 11:17 am

Typical Malaysian logic…. 2 stories we can see:

1. Proton rebadged Boyue as X70
    – Not Malaysia car. Just a rebadged car, nothing to proud
    2. Perodua rebadged N Japanese cars as N models
    – Malaysia car. Feel so proud

• Charles on Feb 13, 2021 at 4:13 am

6 speed automatic…. If article isn’t wrong does that means……