SPIED: New Volvo V60 T8 Inscription spotted in M’sia

Last year, Volvo unveiled the second-generation V60, which is the second model in its 60 Series line-up after the XC60 SUV. The mid-sized wagon has now been spotted on Malaysian roads thanks to paultan.org reader Zuhril, who snapped a few photos of an example wearing trade plates around Bukit Jelutong, Shah Alam.

Styling-wise, the V60 is very similar to the S60 sedan from the front leading to the B-pillars, with the most prominent (and obvious) difference being the wagon body style. Both 60 Series models share an identical interior, although the V60 offers more boot space due to its shape.

At first glance, one might be inclined to think that the car in the photo above is just the V90, the larger wagon sibling of the V60, but the giveaway here is the V60’s reflectors, which are located on the rear bumper just above the trapezoidal-shaped exhausts.

Volvo V90 (left), V60 (right)

The car seen here appears to be dressed in Inscription trim, as indicated by the silver strip between the exhaust outlets as well as the aluminium finish on the roof rails; cars in R-Design trim get a body coloured lower apron and black roof rails instead.

Meanwhile, the badging on the tailgate points towards a T8 Twin Engine AWD plug-in hybrid powertrain, which is already available with a few Volvo models sold here, including the S90, XC60 and XC90. In the V60, a Drive-E 2.0 litre supercharged and turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine serves up 303 PS (299 hp) at 6,000 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 2,200 to 4,800 rpm.

The mill features a crankshaft-integrated starter/generator (CISG), and is paired with an Aisin-sourced AW TG-81SD eight-speed automatic transmission. It is also augmented by an 88 PS (87 hp)/240 Nm rear electric motor for a total system output of 390 PS (384 hp) and 640 Nm.

Powering the electric motor is a 10.4 kWh lithium-ion battery that is located in the transmission tunnel, as with other Volvo 90 and 60 Series cars based on the Scalable Product Architecture (SPA). When fully charged, the battery is capable of providing up to 49 km of electric-only driving range. The rated fuel consumption for the V60 T8 is 2.1 litres per 100 km based on WLTP regulations.

Will you be looking forward to the arrival of the V60? Or are you the type of person who prefers sedans (or even SUVs) instead of wagons? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

GALLERY: Second-generation Volvo V60

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Another non sellable item on Aug 17, 2019 at 6:01 pm

All the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • vodka on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:40 am

The refinements of a full-size sedan car with the practicality and versatile of an SUV. Best!

• Richard Gomez on Aug 18, 2019 at 7:43 am

I hope our Proton fanboys don’t come here and say our Proton X70 is better than this Volvo.

If this is the case, nobody in the world will spend 5X more and buy a Volvo, instead, they will be buying the X70 only.

• No longer Swede on Aug 18, 2019 at 11:08 am

Over priced Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • badak on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:36 pm

China have smart brain and they are hard workers. Thanks to them, today Proton and Volvo are still alive. If not because of China Geely, maybe 2 years ago Proton already close shops and game over.

• Sequerah Pereira on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:54 pm

I wish I can afford a Volvo. But it is too expensive for me. Even RM123k local Malaysian Proton X70 is also so expensive for me and most Malaysians.

Pity Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Samad Abd Rahman on Aug 18, 2019 at 4:53 pm

I kasihan Volvo. In Malaysia all their models fail big time except the XC90.

Same fate as Proton. All also fail except Saga and X70

Might as well just sell two cars and reduce your plant workers by 80%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
      • Ibrahim on Aug 19, 2019 at 1:40 pm

Salaam Samad. What a sad comment from you……..rationalisation gone mad.

• Volvo owner on Aug 18, 2019 at 11:05 pm

Im the owner of current v60t5 model and i will definatelly be the owner of next model as well..volvo for life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Andrew on Aug 17, 2019 at 6:11 pm

Knowing volvo they will full spec this car like no tommorow
    When u will ever see a wagon than can go 0 to 100 under 5 sec in Malaysia haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Jagjit Singh on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:33 pm

In Malaysia, our best achievement so far is the Proton Arena. This is the closest we have ever got to a wagon!

• What is your obsession with the Arena, RJ? You were born in one? Lost your virginity in one? I can understand if you mention about the Arena in the Hilux article, because they are both work trucks. But in an article about Volvo wagon? Come on, if you have nothing just shut the trolling up.

• Avenger on Aug 17, 2019 at 7:13 pm

A wagon? Gonna be a limited niche segment seller here. Wagons are practically extinct in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • No cross country?

• Saiful Hamdan on Aug 17, 2019 at 10:03 pm

V60 Cross Country. Period.

• Param Cumarasamy on Aug 17, 2019 at 10:50 pm

Volvo is doing well now because of China and Geely. Just like our Proton, if not for China and Geely, by now already masuk longkang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 22
    • Graham on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:13 am

And your point is?

• MyNewToy on Aug 18, 2019 at 1:00 pm

That right, because more than 50% of the Volvo market share of their production is in China.

This is happening to Jaguar Land Rover or JLR, because of sales in China dropped believe of some issues.

• Jaguh on Aug 18, 2019 at 8:03 pm

Im glad that Geely saved Volvo and make them alive again. Same for Proton, we will have more great cars from them coming to our shore!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 17, 2019 at 11:52 pm

R-design please

• If and when the day comes when we no longer have to pay world class price for inferior and unsafe cars and free to choose the choice of car we want, this is one car I can buy without fearing hitting a wandering cow would cost me my life!

• Clueless Newbie on Aug 18, 2019 at 8:31 am

Isn’t there unresolved electrical issues with the Volvo PHEV? Seen many 1 year old XC90 PHEV for sales in the 2nd hand car adverts.

• Mr Hakim on Aug 18, 2019 at 10:16 am

I gonna wait second hand one next year…mesti cheap-cheap

• Tee For on Aug 18, 2019 at 10:42 am

Volvo is well known for their wagon. Let’s Volvo becoming trend setter in form of wagon in Malaysia like good old days. Now consumers are smart and wanted to be different. At right price it will sell well. Come and get my money.

• Warwick Smith on Aug 19, 2019 at 7:26 am

Please a s90 wagon on petrol

• Axeman Everton on Aug 20, 2019 at 11:04 pm

i would buy one definitely

• Sigh... on Aug 24, 2019 at 6:45 pm

Love it but can’t afford it. Will prob be in the 280k range.