Honda Malaysia gifts Civic Type R escort car to Agong

Honda Malaysia today presented the Honda Civic Type R to His Majesty Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah. The hot hatch, which will serve as an escort car, is a gift in celebration of the king’s official birthday.

The company also handed over a Honda Civic 1.5T to be used as an escort car by Her Majesty Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah.

“At Honda, we are committed to offer products that are of high value and also advanced in technology to provide joy to our customers. On behalf of Honda Malaysia, I am truly honoured to present the Civic Type R to His Majesty The Yang di-Pertuan Agong for his daily use as an escort car. Adding to the celebration, I am also pleased to present another revolutionary Honda model, the Civic 1.5L Turbo to Her Majesty Raja Permaisuri Agong as an escort car,” said Honda Malaysia MD and CEO Toichi Ishiyama.

The FK8 Civic Type R was the front-wheel drive Nurburgring lap record holder when it was launched in 2017. The six-speed manual-only hot hatch is powered by a 2.0 litre VTEC Turbo engine pushing out 310 hp and 400 Nm of torque to the front axle.

We love the UK-made, aero-heavy RM330,002 white beast here at Driven, and believe it will serve the Agong’s escort team well. See how the Type R fares against hot hatch rivals Renault Megane RS and Volkswagen Golf R on road and track in the latest episode of Driven Web Series.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mr. Octopus on Sep 11, 2019 at 4:45 pm

I don’t think they will replace the Volvos with that Civic. It’s just gonna end up being a back up unit or a toy for the drivers. Most likely the latter…

• anonymous on Sep 11, 2019 at 4:54 pm

#BMF

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 11, 2019 at 5:00 pm

His Majesty wud reached the accident location and swing into action in no time. Daulat Tuanku!

• msia driver on Sep 11, 2019 at 5:06 pm

HM,

my bird-day on next month, kinly pls gift me too…lolzz

• more free privilege for this most privileged guy in msia.
    why cant they donate free van to orphanage house or whichever charity place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Hafiz Hisham on Sep 12, 2019 at 8:21 am

What van does Honda Malaysia has to donate to orphanages?

• newme on Sep 11, 2019 at 5:47 pm

The King deserves reliable, good quality escort ride and not some junk tahap Tongsan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Not your third world level Peroduas too. So, just save your P1 bashing.

• Vw owner on Sep 11, 2019 at 5:51 pm

If I’m agong I drive that myself

• Ben Yap on Sep 11, 2019 at 6:05 pm

Honda Malaysia knows how to butter the right way!

• Honda, why don’t you donate for those who really need it, in Malaysia have a lots of people with sick but lack of money to clinic and hospital, a type R and civic 1.5T worth almost RM450k, just pay to the community to assist those how really need it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • Honda insider on Sep 11, 2019 at 8:14 pm

Stok 2018 tak boleh clear la tuuu tiew

• Our tax money well spent. Good job. smh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • aires on Sep 12, 2019 at 8:24 am

why not give Suprima S Turbo? Buy Malaysian first..

• vVivi Zurianti on Sep 12, 2019 at 9:00 am

Honda Malaysia, there are lots of old folks home, orphan homes in Malaysia that need daily, regular, or emergency transportation.

Could Honda Malaysia give their cars (Honda City low-spec pun OK. 2nd hand oso can) to ease the lives of these unfortunate ones?

Honda Malaysia, what say you?
    After all, we are all human, right?

• Concerned on Sep 12, 2019 at 11:30 am

His escorts have been known to be reckless km the road during escorts, almost knocked a few vehicles including mine. And here comes Honda to make things worse.