REVIEW: 2019 Mazda 3 in Malaysia – from RM140k

There’s just so much to talk about the new Mazda 3. About the car itself, there’s the usual specifications and features, but the main talking points are the fourth-generation car’s looks and price. It’s a CBU import from Japan, and the five variants over two bodystyles (sedan and hatchback) and three trim levels are priced from RM139,620 to RM160,059.

That’s a lot of money – D-segment sedan money for a much smaller 1.5L NA-powered car, in fact. It stands no chance against traditional C-segment rivals and even SUVs when it comes to value for money. But that’s not Mazda’s point. The Hiroshima-based carmaker has always been a little left field, and so is this Mazda 3, which the company wants us to consider as a “premium” product.

Premium. Does this mean that we should evaluate the 3 with the Mercedes-Benz A-Class and BMW 1 Series in mind? But the 1.5L models start the race with a huge output deficit (over 50 hp, over 60 Nm) against the Honda Civic, which doesn’t have any premium aspirations – does premium not include performance? The Mazda’s interior is very nice, even the 1.5L’s, and I love the minimalist Audi-style feel, but there are parts that feel low rent, parts that VW won’t sanction for a Golf, for instance.

REVIEW: 2019 Mazda 3 in Malaysia – from RM140k

See what we said about there being lots to talk about? There’s more, and you’ll see Jonathan Lee raise these points of contention in our video review of the Mazda 3, sampled here in 1.5L Hatchback and 2.0L High Plus Sedan forms.

Not everything about the Mazda 3 divides opinion, though. All of us agree that it’s a stirring drive, especially the 1.5L hatchback, which surprisingly has a rather different character than the 2.0L sedan. Also strikingly obvious is the improvement in refinement and isolation, a weak point in the previous gen. And of course, it looks great – most would be drawn to the bold hatch, but the sedan benefits from better proportions and looks less stubby now.

For most car buyers, the Mazda 3 will be a non-starter due to its price tag – it just doesn’t make sense next to the many options around the RM150k mark. But we reckon that there will be enough buyers convinced by the Mazda’s unique blend of driver and design appeal to shell out the considerable sum. Irrational, but that’s what people do for premium brands. Perhaps Mazda isn’t too crazy after all, eh?

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda 3 2.0 High Plus Sedan

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda 3 1.5L Hatchback

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Veyron Owner on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:21 pm

Premium is not just in the looks, or the tech, or the interior. It relates to brand prestige which imho Mazda is still not there with Mercedes, BMW, or Volvo. Heck even Lexus & Infiniti is not yet there, whatmore Mazda.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 9
    • Ghani Muzaffar on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Mazda like to syiok sendiri. Their cars are overpriced. Sales are diminishing. Mazda 3 and 6 cannot sell already with such high prices. Only their CX5 sells.

This year will see sales of Mazda go down the drain because you got cars like the Tiguan that is Same price as the CX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
    • Jaguh on Sep 19, 2019 at 6:40 pm

True, they claim their product is premium just by overpricing them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • SlapHead on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:36 pm

Everytime I see one of these cars I’ll say, “Ah! Waterfish! Time to sell them forex and money games.”

On a serious note mazda, in your aspirations to premium brand, pricing is the last thing to move. Never thought I’d say this but Japan needs to learn from China now, heck even in cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • I am offended by your “waterfish” statement. Being a highly successful professional with consistent track record in equities and derivatives trading, I certainly am not a waterfish as claimed by you. Yes I just bought a high plus Mazda 3 because I like the look and feel of it and the price is not a concern, so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 44
      • salty much? makan gula la. garam sangat

• Pupper on Sep 20, 2019 at 8:59 am

Successful but bought a mazda 3 hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • successful? on Sep 20, 2019 at 10:07 am

In reality, nobody will see u as a successful professional in your Mazda 3.. lol. At least drive a merz/bmw/audi.. then is consider successful. Btw in KL, even merz & bmw is everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Vedder on Sep 20, 2019 at 11:57 am

Boohoo. Frcp loser bought a Mazda

• The problem with Mazda is they cater to a very niche clientele. If you want something Japanese but a bit more luxurious yet not willing to stump for a Lexus or Infiniti, then Mazdas are your car of choice. Still its neither here nor there because regular Japanese brands would punch in the value for money while stumping a bit more cash and you could get a Mercedes/BMW. Now with their pricing upwards, the choice to go conti is even easier.

• Whale on Sep 22, 2019 at 11:41 pm

Lol you may not be a waterfish but you certainly aint so called highly professional

• RayC216 on Sep 21, 2019 at 3:35 pm

Follow your logic, C-HR owners are actually in deeper water lol.

• The promise of premium is there but the 3 will be hard to swallow in the Malaysian market pricing environment. Only for diehard fans. I wish it and them success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Totally over priced and copycat design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • toyotafan on Sep 19, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Stop trying to speak with Brit accent.

Say la, driving the 1.5 is like driving a kancil. hayo.

u understand zoom zoom for the 2.0 or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
  • Safety Man on Sep 19, 2019 at 7:15 pm

You shouldn’t attempt to sound like a review when your goal is to sound safe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Johnwock on Sep 19, 2019 at 7:54 pm

Lol..a premium 1.5 product….not even 1.5T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Ducky on Sep 19, 2019 at 9:35 pm

Premium-ness is not something logical, and no price, specs, equipment or performance can justify. It’s a connection of the intangible to the tangible product. It’s a stupid choice, yet it’s the best purchase ever by the buyer.
    You can’t brain it if you can’t connect to it.

It’s interesting how ppl compare Mazda’s intentions to established premium makers of Mercedes, BMW, etc.
    They set out to be premium, so the A-Class torsion beam is acceptable (running along the lines of specs vs price) cuz of the badge?
    Hmmm

• Safety Man on Sep 20, 2019 at 8:44 am

Mercedes can get away with it because they have an established stable of high end / high priced / high spec products that sell by the truckloads. That’s their bread and butter. Mazda is not in that category.

• Ducky on Sep 20, 2019 at 10:24 am

The keyword is “established”.
        Mercedes set out TO BE in that category.

In Mazda’s current case, they are GOING upmarket their products hence the vast improvements to material, touch & design.
        I’d say it’s a darn good attempt considering it’s not a premium arm of Mazda doing it; just the same ol’ team.

So what is needed for Mazda to be in “that category”?

• CompareHero on Sep 22, 2019 at 1:52 pm

Mercedez A200 with torsion beam suspension = entry level luxury brand offering.

2019 Mazda3 with torsion beam suspension = downgraded performance at higher price for non-luxury brand.

• Ben Yap on Sep 19, 2019 at 9:40 pm

we don’t care what’s mazda’s stand point and giving excuse that it is a premium car. it’s nonsense and if we compare it with the civic, it loses in value. if we compare with the premium brands, the badge doesn’t carry the value and heck, the materials they use are not even close to premium cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • tatu880 on Sep 19, 2019 at 9:48 pm

Love the review Jonathan. Keep it up!

Its a very nice car indeed. If only its RM30k cheaper.

• gaviny on Sep 20, 2019 at 5:40 am

which D segment can you get at that price that isn’t already 5 years outdated ?

• Jonathon, a very good review, good job!

As for the car, ridiculous price point due to being fully imported. It certainly wont achieve mass appeal to buy because of the pricing.

If it were a CKD offering as an initial offering, then I could envisage it having a bit more mass appeal.

It’ll be a tough slog for the Mazda sales team to get any traction at all in sales numbers.

• Zoom Zoom on Sep 20, 2019 at 9:51 am

1.5 N/A engine, torsion beam, no leather, manual aircond, no keyless entry, no i-activesense, bulb DRL, manual adjustment seat, no paddle shifters etc… These call premium? lol. Basically is just a bigger Mazda 2 with slightly more space & better materials used. Mazda 2 from 74k. almost half the price. It makes more sense for the full spec 2.0 M3 @ 160k

• Ah meng on Sep 20, 2019 at 11:30 am

I already have suprima s.. No need mazda3 hatchback l0rrr

• Vedder on Sep 20, 2019 at 12:12 pm

Looks like the entire video was shot in slow motion

• msia driver on Sep 20, 2019 at 1:49 pm

set up CKD here, just sell 2 CKD models CX5 & mazda3 is enough, no need others models as market here very small.

CX5 starting from 128k
    mazda3 starting from 105k

i guarantee you can beat sale highest records compare other Japanese brands car.

• Zamani on Sep 20, 2019 at 2:33 pm

Currently We will see more mercedes than mazda 2 on the road. In future You will see more maserati than this new mazda 3

• Finally.paultan admit it..it’s not worth it..I would say Mazda can’t be compared to premium brands..they only upgraded themselves to be compared to vw..vw is like in between jap and premium german cars..so Mazda has only reach that level..not premium brands