Are new tyres stored for 2-3 years “expired goods?”

When it comes to buying tyres, most customers will undoubtedly have heard that there is an expiry date – from the date of manufacture – to look out for when making a purchase. Some claim that you should avoid tyres that are two or three years old altogether, as these are deemed as “expired” goods.

However, how true is this notion? Well, in this article, we’ll attempt to clear the air on the matter to make sure you are well informed the next time you need to replace one of the most important aspects on your vehicle.

Before proceeding further, let’s talk about how you can determine the date of manufacture of a tyre. On the sidewalls of each tyre, there is a stamp known as the DOT (Department of Transportation) code, which includes a four-digit figure.

This figure is the manufacture date. For example, “5018” means the tyre was manufactured on the 50th week of the year 2018, or mid-December 2018. Should you find a tyre with a DOT code that has just three digits, the tyre is made before the year 2000 (avoid these).

Let’s assume that you need to change the tyres on your car today, and when you head on over to the shop, you are being offered tyres with the DOT code “3917”. Referring to our earlier example, this would mean they were made two years ago, around the end of September 2017. So, does that mean they are “expired?” and are past usable life?

According to the United States Rubber Manufacturers Association (RMA), there is currently no standard to determine the expiry date of tyres, as the damage done to each tyre is based on a number of factors like temperature, load, tyre pressure used, the velocity at which the vehicle is travelling and others.

So, to condemn a new (unsold) tyre as being expired only because it was kept in storage for two years (in this instance) isn’t quite accurate, especially as the tyre hasn’t been subjected to any of the factors mentioned earlier.

Be that as it may, the British Rubber Manufacturers Association (BRMA) does recommend that new tyres that have not been used for six years or more should not be fitted to vehicles, and that all tyres exceeding 10 years from the date of manufacture must be replaced or disposed of.

Adding on to this, Michelin states that tyres are not like fruits that go bad if left untouched. The French tyre manufacturer says the “expiry date” of a tyre should be determined from the day it is fitted on a vehicle, and not just from the data of manufacture only. This is because the tyre is only being “worn out” when fitted, subjecting it to the above-mentioned factors, and not while in storage.

When in storage, the tyre faces zero load, but when fitted to a wheel and subjected to air pressure and the demands of driving – braking and accelerating, high speeds, rough roads, sharp objects, heavy loads, changing weather and temperature conditions – these factors have more of an impact on the tyre. For example, even when a vehicle is stationary, the tyres still have to bear the weight of the vehicle itself.

To verify these claims, Michelin conducting tests in three different countries – Germany, Korea and Saudi Arabia – to prove that a tyre that has been stored for three years is still capable of delivering the same level of performance as one that has been freshly supplied from the factory.

In Saudi Arabia, the company’s testing revealed that tyres that were used for one year performed just as well as a tyre that has been stored and unused for 10 years. Meanwhile, to test the characteristic of the tyre compound, Michelin stored a tyre for 20 years at a constant 40 degrees Celsius to simulate the effects of a tyre that has been used for 40,000 km, and it discovered that the compound deteriorated faster when used rather than one that hasn’t been used and is stored properly.

Over in Korea, the company compared newly manufactured tyres with those that had been stored for three years, subjecting them to a string of high speed and incremental speed tests. In Germany, the same comparison was done, but the focus was on rolling resistance.

The results of these tests in both countries showed that there were negligible differences when it came to performance between a tyre that was newly made and one that had been stored for three years. Even so, Michelin did agree with the BRMA’s standpoint that tyres that are 10 years or older from the date of manufacture must be replaced or disposed of.

So, what’s all this hullabaloo about tyre age then? Well, a recent Facebook post has been circulating around claiming that new tyres being sold by stores that were kept in storage for around two to three years are considered “expired” goods, and one should demand a discount for them.

After taking what was discussed earlier into consideration, do you think this is relevant? Have you ever asked the sundry shop owner for a discount on a loaf of bread that expires in three days compared to one that expires in five days?

The fact of the matter is, you don’t need to worry if the tyre being presented to you has been kept in storage for two or three years because its performance is on par with those that just came out of the factory. If anything, a tyre shop running a promotion to clear out tyres that are two or three years old by selling it a lower price provides a good opportunity for some savings, sans the uneasiness.

Sure, everyone wants a tyre with the most recent date of manufacture, but seeing as how tyre shipments may not happen frequently, dealers might be left with stocks that could be one or two or three years old. In this instance, we’re saying that it’s fine to go ahead with your purchase, especially if you desperately need new tyres. Following the BRMA guideline, it’d however be prudent to avoid anything much older than that, even if it can be gotten cheap.

What about used tyres then? Well, we don’t really recommend purchasing such items due to safety concerns, but if you must, pay special attention to the DOT code. Even if the manufacturing date is within reasonable bounds, you have no knowledge of when it was first used by the previous owner, or what the tyre has had to deal with prior, so tread with extreme caution.

In some situations, you might even find a used tyre with quite a bit of tread left on them, but it is a rare occurrence that they have a recent date of manufacture. Additionally, most used tyres are not stored properly by the seller, and could be just tossed into a generic pile and left exposed to the elements for months on end, deteriorating them further.

On a final note, tyres are an important aspect of a car, as those four contact points are what keeps you on the road, so it’s always important to check their condition regularly, including the air pressure and the state of the tread. And when it comes to making the purchase, always buy the best tyres you can afford.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jeremy on Sep 26, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Like cars, who buys 2-3yo tyres at full price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 11
    • panjang on Sep 26, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Not all knows abt tire manufacturing date. Most just go and tell the shop tukar tayar and choose according to price.

• More and more are knowledgeable today, even they know to see the date of manufacturing on the tyre dy.

• For the little knowledge they’d gained, they go about asking for the freshest tyres – less than 6 months eve, as if tyres are perishables and edible…. hahaha…

• Abdul Hakim Rehman on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:19 pm

I noticed many sambung bayar buyers like to buy old tayar because of short of money.

In the first place, we Malaysians should not buy something that is not within our budget. Many buy luxury cars just to balik kampung to show off to Opah, then few months later kena tarik balik or sambung bayar.

Buy according to what you can afford, thus, you can also maintain the car with new tayars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • EDITOR on Sep 27, 2019 at 12:45 pm

Enough of your nonrelevant race insinuations comments here. Please if you have nothing beneficial to say, just don’t say anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • razibar on Dec 21, 2019 at 9:01 pm

the topic is about used tyres and not cars. please focus on the subject matter

• Daniel Tan on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:56 pm

kampung people like to use old tyres and 2nd hand tyres.

• EDITOR on Sep 27, 2019 at 12:49 pm

No issues there. Kampung folks usually go for short distances and does so at slow speed, used or old tyres can still serve them well if budget is tight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Sarjit Singh on Sep 26, 2019 at 8:14 pm

Mat Moto always use cheap thin tayar….that is worse

• Dong gor on Sep 26, 2019 at 5:47 pm

If they are priced the same between STORED and FRESH, and u have a choice, why go for the aged? As simple as that regardless of all this data and assessment

• AkooIm on Sep 26, 2019 at 6:15 pm

I bet tyre shop will print this article and hang somewhere in their shop…

• I think this post is trying too hard to sell the notion that it is alright to buy old products.

For example, Michelin Malaysia provides Tyre warranty for 6 years from date of manufacture. So why would you buy something with only 4yrs left for the same price as something new.

Also, just to point out that most tyres nowadays can probably last 60k km without too much loss in performance. To cover that over 4 years, u would need to use 1,250km per month. Most people probably don’t even travel 10,000km per year on a car. Hence, the lifespan of tyres from date of purchase still do matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • manifestotototo on Sep 26, 2019 at 6:59 pm

Plotekkk ore kito?

• R u try to persuade consumers to buy ur old tyres? Once purchased no return and refund, as a consumer I won’t take the risk…same like sport shoes, the seller give discount 50% for 2-3 years old stock, once u wear it, the rubber will deteriorate exponentially fast and u need to throw away in just few months….sometimes cheap things are not equivalent to good quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • “discount on a loaf of bread that expires in three days compared to one that expires in five days?”

How on earth could u compare a long shelf life consumable to an FMCG? They both have diff supply&demand push-pull factor and usually the cost of disposal for an FMCG is low therefore this market wun gip diskaun. Not like long shelf life goods which incur exp storage cost as it ages. Which why most sellers will wanna sell them off at diskaun, andh which gips reasons for customers to expect diskaun when buying old tayar.

• Tara tara on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:35 pm

Now a day sometimes media news also give a bulls**t news, more like to cover up and helping tyre shop, tyre manufacture to keep gain profit from people. Lying the rakyat to protect those tyre shop business. 2-3 yrs old new tyre that kept in storage was exposed to air, its a rubber, after all will get harden. Just like when we buy new shoe, for example during stock clearance sales, why 2-4 yrs old shoe can gets 50% discount? Even its brand new and well kept in storage. Well usually most people know that its rubber harden. If not, then y can give 50% discount? Plus its not a cincai brand, most are like adidas, nike, asics and so on. So its same goes to tyre. Tyre that already kept for 2-4 yrs should be sell cheaper. Lastime even have news said tyre that already wear for 2-3 yrs are consider expired and no safe, but if allowed people to buy 2-3 yrs old new tyre u say safe? So that people keep changing tyre every once in 2 yrs? Wanna kikis habis rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 27, 2019 at 11:45 am

Believe what you will. We write based on facts and genuine scientific studies.
      Cheers buddy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • GERALD SAW BAN CHOON CHOON on Sep 27, 2019 at 1:32 pm

Interesting that you write on facts but facts from whom? Good journalism always give 2 sides of the picture.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 27, 2019 at 1:57 pm

Facts from genuine studies. This is to clear the misconception that older tyres are “expired goods” and must come with steep discounts, as suggested by that viral post. I believe we’ve covered all the necessary details here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • Like john mentioned above, it is erroneous and highly patronising to compare tyres with FMCG goods. Laying out the facts is good but it should come with context and using the wrong context like above is even worse as more aware of either/both industries.

• John? Hahahaha.. ok. Here is the deal. If the storage is a cool warehouse, then Is ok. Max shelf.life or tyres in malaysia is 4 years.

Problem is when tyre factories export tyres to oversea countries but the container ended up stuck at Port Klang for several.months. do u know what kind of temperature in the container during a hot afternoon? Yes.. it can be between 60-75°C.

This may happen when the destination country is changing season (example winter) when the tyres may not be suitable. This is reason the tyres will be brought back and sold cheaply in Malaysia.

And guess which town is nearest to our main sea port?

Yes. You’re right. Now why tyre price is cheaper there makes sense, isn’t it?

• Basis on Sep 27, 2019 at 2:54 pm

If what we read and see at any review and test done by other countries sush as US, Europe in youtube or their website, their study and test much worth to trust. They did real test. And their result also totally different than our local media had suggest. Even most tyre shop when u ask them to bring out 2019 stock of tyre, they will give u excuse we only have 2018 cos 2019 not yet come stock. They try to persuade u to buy a year or 2 years old tyre, but with full price. Now people are not that cupid.

• razibar on Dec 21, 2019 at 9:04 pm

the reference was only from michelin and no reference about the study done in saudi, korea or germany…just words from the tyre manufacturer…but you generalised that understanding to all other brands. they are not made the same. Are you saying they are as reliable as michelin?

• EDITOR on Sep 27, 2019 at 12:46 pm

Welcome to Pakatan Malaysia!

• Smoke Gets In My Eyes on Sep 27, 2019 at 4:01 pm

New era of fool you once, fool you twice, fool you everytime.

• ahlong on Sep 27, 2019 at 6:11 pm

Shoes different, the problem is with adhesive…

• supersup on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:33 pm

the most BS comment ever read.Compare a shoe rubber with tyre?Try stop a kapchai at 20 metre with your new sport shoes and see what happen.Stupidest bullshit comment ever.You think what?tyre is glue with superglue like sportshoe?you can say tyre is like a pillar but with polyester,nylon,steel and sometime rayon to reinforced the structure.Most tyre sell in Malaysia does come with 5 years warranty except Michelin with 6 years.Finally fresh tyre need to store at least 6 month to maximize it’s performance.

• razibar on Dec 21, 2019 at 9:07 pm

where got tyre come with 5 years warranty? even 2 years also they come with all sorts of conditions to make sure u dont get full refund

• Andrekua on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:39 pm

First of all, I do not think tyre dealers will sell cheap just because their stock is old. Most of the time, it’s cheap because they just want to clear the older series(thread pattern) to make room for newer series.

Previously I also thought tyres will only last 5 years. However I recently came across Continental website which states their tyres could last up to 10 years. I do have a weekend car that came with Continental CSC5 which were manufactured in 2014. It’s 2019 now and I have driven 16K+ with it. It still looks great and did not have any peeling or hardened surface. I’m planning to continue to use it and see if tyres are going to last longer now, given how much tyres technology had advanced.

• That facebook post have good intention. Alot tyre shop just want to cheat.
    Why would u pay full price for old tyre eventhough its still good and not expired?
    Just like u buying new car, u demand discount for last year stock..see that?

• Ir. Haji Mohamad Dalin on Sep 26, 2019 at 8:15 pm

It is better to get newer tyres if possible. Tyre manufacturers need to sell their tyre as many as possible. Of course they will even tell 10 years old is good as new. But as consumer we can choose what the best.

• Eurobeat CD on Sep 26, 2019 at 10:04 pm

Same question, are new windshield wipers stored many years considered expired product?
    Rubber compound degrades?

• Dale Ismail on Sep 26, 2019 at 10:16 pm

buy newer-age tires from other shops if that shop has older ones only; your money and your buying power. forever making issues, having so much free time I guess

• Ji Kao on Sep 27, 2019 at 12:24 am

There are risks of ozone attack on new old stock tyres. This will accelerate the tyres degradation compared to new ones.

• tayar on Sep 27, 2019 at 1:37 pm

new tyre have wax to protect it from oxidization. that is why new tyre still perform same even after few years. when being use the wax will dissapear and oxidization will start to happen.

• Dishanesh on Sep 27, 2019 at 6:00 am

Is the tyre 2018???

• vVivi Zurianti on Sep 27, 2019 at 9:47 am

if you think using “new old stock tyres” is dangerous…..wait till you see the tyre shops openly selling out old-used & worn tyres in Malaysia. Load of cargos come into Malasyia from Japan, containing “branded” used, old and worn tyres. These trasaction is so normal and typical in Malaysia.

Authorities never bothered to check the tyre premises doing shady business. Consumers would buy such tyres, with excuse “no money”. Strangely, they keenly and willingly to use 17″ rims for their cars.

Lots of ppl buying old, used, worn tyres, putting themselves and other road users at high risk.

Malaysia, The BolehLand.

• Generalise on Sep 27, 2019 at 10:25 am

Can we actually generalize the statement from Michelin to apply to other tyre brands? Different brand/series of tyres wear out in different ways when they are put to use by the way…

• Mr. Octopus on Sep 27, 2019 at 10:56 am

Us asians always looking for a reason to get discounts hahaa

• Look south on Sep 27, 2019 at 12:50 pm

The tyre test should be conducted by an independent boady, not by Michelin themselves. Otherwise, results are not credible.

• tayar on Sep 27, 2019 at 1:13 pm

good article. please include about new tyre have wax to protect it from oxidization whereas tyre already on the road loses this protection.

• GERALD SAW BAN CHOON CHOON on Sep 27, 2019 at 1:26 pm

The shop keeper will not give you a discount on expired or almost expired bread because he can return it to the bread manufacturer without a loss. But I am sure you know that bakeries will clear stock at 6 or 7 PM with a big discount otherwise it will be thrown
    away. Additionally, pharmacies will inform customers who buy medication or supplements bearing an early expiration date. It’s called an ethical approach.

• Bernard D Silva on Sep 27, 2019 at 2:53 pm

I cover around 35,000 kms per year and the best I get out of my tyres is 2 years of service. I only use Michelin tyres and also check with the date of manufacture when I change tyres. I am generally okay with a tyre that is less than 1 year old when installed and fortunately my Tyre shop has a high turnover and to date the tyres age between 3-6 months since manufacture. My kids also drive secondhand cars and I always ensure that their tyres are not older than 6-7 years old even if they hardly cover 10Ks per year. It’s okay to use older tyres for City driving under 70kph… highway driving you need better tyres that can handle high speed temperatures.

• Ethan on Sep 27, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Tyres that are brand new are terrible too. Installed tyres that were just manufactured 3 weeks prior. After using for a few weeks, the tyre sidewalls became softer and softer, buckling easily on harder corners. It became so bad that the car experienced severe body roll even on mild easy turns such as highway entry/exit ramps. Had no choice but to return them because it started feeling unsafe. When I asked the tyre shop why was it like that, the explanation was because the the rubber hasn’t had time to stiffen up yet. Applying pressure so soon after manufacture caused the sidewalls to buckle. Their recommendation was to ideally get tyres that are at least 6-12 months old.

In the futures, if I had no choice but to choose tyres that are absolutely brand new vs 2-3 years old, I would rather choose the 2-3 yaar old tyres for safety reasons.

• S. Singh on Sep 28, 2019 at 8:47 am

What u smoking bro..?

Tyres are treated and “stiffen up” before they leave the factory. It would be a nightmare for producers to sell to customers something that’s not ready to be used. Don’t believe bulat2 what everyone says.

• Sabahudin.H on Sep 27, 2019 at 10:51 pm

Just make it simple. As a consumer, we want a good burgain for our money. That mean the latest. If you want to buy 2 or 3 years due date no problem if you want to. But, we need only new Tyre for the money and please, do not spread an article to presude ‘rakyat’ to buy this kind of uncertain condition. If the test made by the brand itself then, it’s another fact that we can trust. However the test made by some group that not even sponsored by the brand.

• Hasan on Sep 28, 2019 at 5:13 am

What about the condition that the aged tyres were stored in , like temperature, humidity, under direct sun !! Nothing mentioned about that!!

• S. Singh on Sep 28, 2019 at 8:44 am

In many (developed) countries products that have been on the shelf for a long time are sold at a discount, that includes bread and food items.

In the article u also did mention that there was difference in the performance between old and new albeit negligible.

If that’s the case and the price for a new and 3 Yr old tyre is the same why would I buy the old one? No brainer isn’t it?

I think admin should come clean and indicate that this article was sponsered.

• Ranjit on Sep 28, 2019 at 11:07 am

How many of you have the impression of tyre shop always being dishonest, always cheating to customers?

• Chris Loke on Sep 29, 2019 at 3:01 pm

Good article. It just suggest to you that old unsold tyres may perform as new tyres, not suggest you to buy an old one. Just buy what ever you like la bro.

• Bonny Wong on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:02 pm

We need to consider the tyres that sit in our car boot as spare as well, these are subjected heat everyday. So am guessing that due caution must be applied when fitting these on in the case of a puncture on a car approaching 10 years. Seems such a pain on the wallet though; replacing a spare tyre that has zero wear due to age.

• lee kai sun on Oct 17, 2019 at 9:48 am

actually I have this shared with me with 1 of my workshop mechanic, fresh tires made within 6months uses up tire threads faster as the rubber are still fresh and soft. normally get a tire which is 6-12 months, could last u longer without losing grip and safety

• Hi, I was offer new unused Michelin tyre with manufacturing date at 2015. Do you think this tyre is safe to use?

• This was a good read and super useful. +1 paultan team

• Nkansah on Nov 26, 2020 at 2:42 am

Rim size 14 the price pls

• Nameless on Feb 18, 2021 at 10:57 am

The performance of the tyres might be the same initially but tyres 3yrs and above will wear prematurely (especially Europe made).

• I need old date dot tyres PCR TBR OTR tyres what ever quantity I will buy

• BrianL on Oct 22, 2021 at 3:28 pm

“After taking what was discussed earlier into consideration, do you think this is relevant? Have you ever asked the sundry shop owner for a discount on a loaf of bread that expires in three days compared to one that expires in five days?” – Yes, bakery shops slash 50% of the price for their breads at the end of the day.

• Later u kena whack by someone who got con for buyung expired tyre baru u tau

• Tulasidas on Jun 02, 2022 at 3:34 pm

Spare wheel new tyre didn’t used till 4.5 years, now can i use ??

• Johnny Teoh on Jun 20, 2022 at 9:52 am

The test done are based in countries with little humidity. Humidity does make materials degrade over time. Why not try test storing the tyres in a wearhouse in Malaysia for 3 years? You will probably see sticky and degrading tyres if the place is not well ventilated

• Add A Comment on Jun 20, 2022 at 12:25 pm

For me is not just about the age of the tyre. It is more of the cost of the tyre. If the seller bought at a cheaper cost 2-3years ago (before price hike) and sell it later at the increased price (after price hike) of the new tyres…that’s unfair and unethical.

• Kelvin Wong on Mar 29, 2024 at 2:10 pm

Personally I’m a tyre shop business owner. Ever since this Facebook post came out, it significantly increase the question from customer regarding the tyre’s manufacture date. I think customer have the right to choose and demand for the latest DOT date, but to mentioned DOT is an indicator for tyre expiry date is completely inaccurate.

Personally I’ve been installing 5-6 years unused tyre in my car, and I’ve been long distance driving from Ipoh-KL very frequently. I see no difference compared to a new tyre that has very new DOT date.
    However our unused tyre are stored in a professional manner ( no sunlight, dry, cool place). Besides I often do tyre maintenance such as balancing, alignment and air pressure check.

I do understand customer are skeptical on old tyres due to unfair price charges, some business owner do charge customer old unused tyre with latest price, but i think customer have the right to request for slightly lower price. Besides, there are several studies and research in Taiwan, prove that new tyres that are 6 month – 1 year from manufacture date has higher durability compared to the fresh one. Untill now 2024, there isn’t any official guidelines to pinpoint tyre expire are related to DOT date, even JPJ malaysia

So, instead of focusing the DOT date of the tyre, it’s more important to focus on the storage of the new bought tyre, tyre thread, tyre measurement as an indicator of tyre safety measurement