RON 95 targeted fuel subsidy plan is ready, Cabinet approval soon – electricity bill to determine eligibility

The mechanism involved in the targeted fuel subsidy for RON 95 petrol has reportedly been finalised and will be submitted to the Cabinet for approval in October. Interestingly, the government will apparently use the household electricity bill as one of the factors to determine eligibility, states Sin Chew Daily, as picked up by The Star.

Deputy domestic trade and consumer affairs minister Chong Chieng Jen told the publication that only those who are in the B40 category, with monthly bills of between RM100 and RM200, will qualify for the scheme. “The use of electricity bills is only a reference point,” he said.

He said that those who are eligible will enjoy a RM30 monthly subsidy, or a subsidy of 30 sen for every litre of RON95 petrol capped at 100 litres a month. Motorcyclists, meanwhile, will be given a subsidy of RM12 each month.

The rate is close to that initially proposed during Budget 2019, although the method of dispensation and eligibility has been revised. Then, finance minister Lim Guan Eng said that the government planned to subsidise owners of vehicles and motorcycles with engine capacities below 1,500cc and 125cc respectively a subsidy rate of 30 sen per litre for RON 95 petrol, capped at 100 litres per owner of a vehicle and 40 litres for those with motorcycles.

Chong said the funds will be transferred directly into a recipient’s bank account, in line with the system announced by the government in July, which will see cash being directly given to lower income B40 households already enlisted for the cost of living aid (BSH) scheme, similar to that being done for the current BSH programme.

The fuel subsidy was initially supposed to be announced in Q1 this year, but its introduction was delayed – it was last reported to be ready for roll-out in September. Following its eventual introduction, the price cap on the retail price of RON 95, which stands at RM2.08 per litre, will be removed by the government.

Based on Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations, the current price of RON 95 petrol would be RM2.49 per litre without the price cap in place. At present, the government spends an average of RM133 million each week on fuel subsidies – for the coming week (September 28 to October 4), the government said it will absorb an estimated RM173.26 million in fuel subsidy costs for the period.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 28, 2019 at 3:52 pm

Electricity bill? Rejoice all you rich taikors that have rigged your meters! You are now eligible to get poor ppl subsidies. Now who said cheaters never prosper? They are just sore losers who follow the rules unlike our smart taikors breaking laws left, right, center.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 498 Thumb down 388
    • Singarajah on Sep 28, 2019 at 5:59 pm

This is a stupid plan based on electricity bill. Nearly everyone who are super loaded got parents whose electricity bill is only RM50. Biasalah old people don’t believe in aircon etc so their electricity bill is super cheap.

So all the loaded children now can get subsidy. And most uncles and aunties who bought houses for RM20k each in PJ in the 60s all have a few houses each.

So, the loaded children can use for all their cars.

What a silly plan. I don’t blame the Government. The Government now is the Government 10 years ago. It is the same 1.6 million Government Servants who are not so clever who are giving input to the Minister to make this decision.

Time for us to revamp our Government servants and also the policitians. These abang2 seem to be not so clever. We need foreign intelligence like Li Chunrong who can run our Ministries and Government so that good decisions can come about

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 14
      • redpilled on Sep 30, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Lol, minister are too dumb/stupid to think, must rely on servants. Don’t know or don’t want to request or demand different or more inputs.
        They think so highly of themselves but in the end hau siao. Some more rely on jobless wanker with numerous dupes to defend them and blame the servants following their orders…. What a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
        • Sulaiman Ibrahim on Sep 30, 2019 at 12:55 pm

abang2 Ministers also no brain. Too lazy and pampered for many years, unable to think….

• tongsanmari on Sep 30, 2019 at 2:50 pm

no offence, but is the previous govt any better though? najib may have some great ideas, but what about the rest of the ministers? especially those who play R&R.

• LRT User on Sep 30, 2019 at 3:09 pm

Why yes he did. He came out with MRT1 & MRT2 and supposedly MRT3 but that got cancelled because that wasn’t Madey’s baby.

• Most Government employees are Mara, Uitm or UIA graduates. They don’t have vision for the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 18
        • UTurn M on Sep 30, 2019 at 4:02 pm

Civil servants are not required to have vision for future, they are here to carry out orders from the government. You know who supposed to give vision but only got gostan vision? Our esteemed PH ministers.

• Angry Voters on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:53 pm

Foolish them. only went ahead to clamp down on corruptions and donations. Pffftt

• Ai Tee Pu on Oct 01, 2019 at 9:04 am

Now many Ministers in the new PH Govt are from SRJK(C) also the same. Keep blaming the previous Govt but no vision of their own.
          Why blame the Govt employees? They follow the direction of the Govt of the Day.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 28, 2019 at 9:37 pm

Rich taikors won’t qualify for B40 lol .

• Breaking law or not.. RM30 to those so-called rich taikors is just like small change. They make more than this everyday, some even every hour..

• RM30 per house they owned. Times that for 10 houses they owned and its RM300 per month. Whole year? Rm3,600. Small change? They don’t even pay the samans they owed la.

• JustOpinion on Sep 29, 2019 at 12:13 am

Yeah, there are alot people modified their electric meter reader so that can pay less even more usage every month, especially the riches. Look too obvious can help those rich to take advantage on the poor needs. The poor getting poorer by the rich. Govt should consider and judge by their salary and make sure normal staff, example maybe those rm3k and below. But not those who makan gaji rm3k and below but is a company director n bosses. Company director also can adjust their salary to go lower.

• Awang Selamat on Sep 29, 2019 at 10:18 am

This is to help all the kampung kampung folk. Their bill only RM20 what.

Bandar people like us kena.

• Jeremy on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:17 am

Kampung folks paying RM20 not eligible too. This is a SCAM game by PH once more.

• Typical Malaysian on Sep 29, 2019 at 10:21 am

Keep the low level thinking to yourself.
      Article clearly mentioned thats one of the factors being used.

If one rigged the meter but declare millions at LHDN cnfirm wont get oso. U can say cheat again at LHDN but this clearly show u r living under a coconut shell.

Then all these rich taikor is using engine below the ‘factor’ again?

The absolute best way is eliminate fuel subsidy all together. People will claimed everything will rise up accordingly…Really?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Jeremy on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:16 am

Now without GST, there are ways for business owners to under declare profits hence their LHDN contribution. Don’t just look in silo, mate.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:24 am

You say it as if these rich taikors don’t already knew how to circumvent all these other weak roadblocks, incl that stupid rule of eligible cars <1.5L. Are you one of them?

• Salleh on Sep 29, 2019 at 7:08 pm

Don’t know why we giving all the Mat Motor and Mat Rempit free petrol.

This will just encourage them to be more lazy and not work. This will encourage them to rempit more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Anonymous on Oct 01, 2019 at 12:27 am

Waht free petrol…? Mat Rempit will not get subsidy because none of them own a home thus don’t have electricity bill on their name.

This is a sham by PH Govt… calculating to reduce the intended pool of receipients.

• Can't read? on Sep 29, 2019 at 8:55 pm

Can you read? Electricity bill of those in B40. So not further enriching the wealthy but giving more free cash handouts to make people even more dependent on govt, instead of investing in real education to empower people to get out of B40.

• Smoke Gets In My Eyes on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:48 am

Those who deny it are those who undeservedly will benefit from this huge error in formulation.

• Angry Voters on Sep 30, 2019 at 12:34 am

The truth shall not be buried! Ayo lah! Mari lah kito semuo! Biar puteh tulang jangan puteh mata!

• 1D10T Detector on Sep 30, 2019 at 8:43 am

you must be one of them, no one had thought of that and you come here trotting such a hideous thought…

• Jeremy on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:18 am

People (rich people) have been doing that for years, mate. Do you live under a rock or something?

• Disappointed Rakyat on Sep 28, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Fully screwed up politicians (regardless BN or PH or any other parties). Billions of taxpayers’ money unable to trace back yet coming up with more ways for us to pay even more to the government! MALAYSIA BOLEH! WAWASAN 2020.

• stop selling small cheap cars… everyone can drive and everyidiots just cause accidents…

• Sammy Loo on Sep 28, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Good move, another manifesto to fulfill by the PH government.

Now please remove the exercise duty and taxes for EEV cars including CBU cars. Bring back the Prius C and Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Truth on Sep 30, 2019 at 12:18 pm

EEV incentive and hybrid incentive will remain the same. Therefore, excise duty should also reduce for CBU Cars like Camry, BMW X2, Mercedes A45 and others to ensure it is cheaper

• Abdul Malek on Sep 28, 2019 at 6:04 pm

You are 100% right. Nearly every Datuk or Datin or Tan Sri have rigged their meters. TNB knows about this but those lazy type who work in TNB just take money and keep quiet about this.

• The rich buggers with landed property & solar pv can get further discounts while struggling malaysians living in flats and low cost apartments working online so be SOL out of luck

• markgoh on Sep 28, 2019 at 10:00 pm

how about those big family with 8-10 person stay in 1 house..??
    father + mother + 4 brothers with spouse + children’s

• Almost borders on stupidity. Not sincere at all. Maybe thats the point, makes it hard to get it. Have to have electricity bills match the person names? Rented apartments in owner name? lower income people 6 people in apartment so bill exceed 200?

I am sure there much easier ways to determine income.

• jurujual komplek beli belah on Sep 28, 2019 at 11:53 pm

alamak oi my electricity monthly bill only rm30. I poor b40 no eligible get fuel subsidy ah? I must use more electric bill goes up rm100 to rm200 only can eligibility ah?

• Citizen on Sep 29, 2019 at 1:21 am

Those people keep on looking for loopholes to get money from rakyat. Again, from departure levy and now with fuel subsidy. Obviously they have to find some sources to replace GST income

• Nobita Babi on Sep 29, 2019 at 1:22 am

pas hrge myk naik, rakyat yg buat ehailing utk jana pndapatan tambahan pun makin kurang, pelanggan pun kurang sbb fare sah2 mahal. duit yg rakyat dpt dr hasil ehailing driver ni la slh 1 punca utk rancakkan ekonomi negara dari segi dorg berbelanje kt kedai2, org nk keluar rumah utk berbelanje pun makin kurang sbb kos pengangkutan jadi mahal, peniaga makin kurang pelanggan, ditambah pulak hrge brg makin naik, kuasa beli makin kurang. bile peniaga kurang pelanggan automatik akan buang beberape pekerja utk kurangkn kos operasi disbbkn income perniagaan kurang. income bisnes kurang kerajaan sndiri kurang dpt tax.kurang dpt tax kerajaan xde duit. bapak bodoh klu bnde ni trjadi. byk domino effect blh berlaku pd ekonomi. gaji minimum pun x smpi rm1500 lagi nk buat mcm ni. bodoh pnye idea

• Fireant on Sep 29, 2019 at 1:49 am

Have the Gomen thought through this whole process.. What if the B40 do t even own their own place but rent.. The electricity bill may not be under their name/account.. So the house/apartment owner gets the benefit? Really dumb shit those who thought of this.

• Thaya on Sep 29, 2019 at 7:41 am

Oh no… more ways for people to cheat the system…

• Thaya on Sep 29, 2019 at 7:44 am

Why dont they just get the infromation from LHDN to decide who can or cannot qualify?

• “Chong Chieng Jen told the publication that only those who are in the B40 category, with monthly bills of between RM100 and RM200, will qualify for the scheme.” My monthly electricity bill less than RM30. How this assumption works? What about those people who have 2 or 3 houses that rented? Surely electricity bill is on their name, not tenant.

• Tunerz on Sep 29, 2019 at 11:07 am

My question to the government, those rich who own multiple properties, of whom only spend two days in their Malaysia home to sign cheques will be given subsidies?

• So, by this logic, the poor have to use more electricity to get the subsidy?! 100 per month is more than triple my monthly consumption. I used to be very energy conscious and work towards lowering to the point of full subsidy. Now, not only am I paying more, to boot I have to pay 2.59 per litre? I’m being impoverished by this new plan, so the inefficient can be bailed out. Why not subsidise those who are keen to conserve? Worsening the problem. Malaysia Baru seems to be going off the rails. Plus, how come many B40 can afford astro and expensive streamyx?

• john doe on Sep 29, 2019 at 2:59 pm

hopeless bunch of useless MPs..electric bills…why not the smart phone models used?…

• Anonymous on Sep 29, 2019 at 3:21 pm

That means PH Govt targeting home owners… not individuals in B40 category…!
    This is flawed and seriously lacking as its calculated to reducing the numbers of intended receipients..! A young man without owning his own home, riding a 110cc motorcycle, living with his parents have got no chance..!

The Govt is not being particularly fair especially those in the B40. This is a SHAM…!

• Pakulupapito on Sep 29, 2019 at 3:26 pm

Poor taxpayer…..

• Suffering middle class citizen on Sep 29, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Middle class people are the victims here.. we are the one paying tax and now pay extra for petrol. Plus.. there are people who live with big family under one roof and their electricity bill is more than RM150. But that doesn’t mean they don’t belong to B40 group. This is ridiculous.

• Gabriel on Sep 29, 2019 at 4:25 pm

Electricity bill?? What kind ok stupid is this?
    There is no hope for this malaysia baru. The stinks are too strong…

• Fireant on Sep 29, 2019 at 8:43 pm

Have the Gomen thought throughly this hare brain scheme? What if the B40 don’t own the place where they are residing(renting)… The TNB bill may not be under their name/account.. So how to claim? Stupid or Smart ass?

• calcutta on Sep 30, 2019 at 7:22 am

wah,those rich folks who had adjusted electric meter(there’s lot of them) are now enjoying more benefit

• mujinkun (Member) on Sep 30, 2019 at 7:42 am

We want controlled fuel price, not targeted fuel subsidy.
    Duh!
    Jengkreng!
    #Jengkreng

• This subsidy plan is not efficient at all. Not all rakyat in B40 category has property or electric bill under their name. And many under M40 category their electricity are between RM100 to RM200 because they have rigged their meter. Expect food prices and transport charges will increase when fuel subsidy is removed.

• Gomen #1 supporter on Sep 30, 2019 at 8:53 am

I don’t know why but I found this funny

• WHAT A JOKE ? IF THE PERSON DONT STAY IN THE HOUSE OR RENTED OUT TO THE POOR AND HE DRIVES A LUXURIOUS CAR , HE DESERVE IT TOO ???

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 30, 2019 at 9:31 am

syabas. i pay my taxes, never owe a single cent to gov. and this is how the G rewards you.

• Parang red on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:20 am

I have 3 house , but I only use electric at my first house RM800 per month. My 2nd & 3th house electric bill only RM 20 per month. So I will use my RM20 bill for get subsidy.

• horrayooi on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:21 am

Now if the house owner whose electricity bill is in his son name, what happen. The son is working oversea. This family have 3 old cars, different ownerships. Who is eligible? All the cars. Or only the one working oversea ( no car ). There will be no peaceful family if only one person is eligible. Please clarify YB Chong Chieng Jen. First the suggest the engine capacity system, second to BRIM account only, now this dumb system. Next suggestion ……. please.

• Wahyu Hidayat on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:30 am

This is stupid. A single person with RM1,100/month paycheck can’t afford to buy a house but shared with multiple people they could at least afford a roof over their head, renting a house. The responsibility for bills are shared amongs them. Assuming the house holds 8 people in it, even if one person only contributing RM40, the house will have electric bills at RM320. With that many people under lives under the same roof it’a a common sense that the bill is higher than other houses. Do they deserves the help? Common sense says, “Yes” but the method that the government use right now says, “no”.

The bill method makes zero sense.

• macampondan on Sep 30, 2019 at 12:34 pm

remove fuel cap, grab driver koyak, grab eat foodpanda all koyak, then all food and daily essentials prices koyak… welcome to the real world of shits

• Robinhood on Sep 30, 2019 at 1:21 pm

Actually, what we people most afraid of is INFLATION!! We have experienced that during Tun Abdullah’s time when fuel price wad RM2.70. The whole economy comes to a halt and inflation was so bad. The worse hit will be the B40. What use of your RM30 if everything shot up crazily??? Which minister so pandai??? Mereka ni pakai otak ke atau buntut? Do you think the govt can control price increase? Look at SST now. Is the price lower than GST???

• I confirmed you won’t get my vote for next election.

• Pratheeban on Sep 30, 2019 at 2:28 pm

Well done one term government. Keep rocking

• I am just renting one room from an apartment, so how to determine my electricity usage?.. what’s wrong with the current subsidy mechanism as I am paying tonnes of income tax every year? Who is gonna subsidise my daily expenses by living in urban areas? Urban middle income group are really screwed…

• The most stupid mechanism of all time.

• Realist on Sep 30, 2019 at 3:19 pm

Spending RM1000+ to modify your TNB meter at home to get RM30 monthly petrol subsidy isn’t justified. ROI in 33 months or almost 3 years.
    However, modifying TNB meter saves you at least RM300 per month with 3 airconds running 24 hours. Priorities, people!!

• Rayat on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:01 pm

Ridiculous mechanism….speechless..

• John Doe on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:46 pm

Which of you whiners are going to start rolling and sleeping on the streets to protest again? There are already local idiots starting for Hong Kong. Com’on its time to shine again, go on grab your umbrellas and sleeping bags. I dare you hypocrites.