GALLERY: Locally-assembled G20 BMW 330i in detail

The locally-assembled G20 BMW 330i made its debut this month, half a year after the Malaysian market debut of the latest 3 Series. Local assembly means that the benchmark German sports sedan is now priced RM40,000 less than before, now at RM288,800, down from the RM328,800 sticker of the fully imported car.

Here on the CKD version, the equipment list remains identical, while warranty coverage continues to be a five-year, unlimited-mileage scheme with a five-year free maintenance package as well as a two-year tyre warranty. A key change to the specification of the CKD 330i is a set of revisions to the BMW ConnectedDrive Services offered; these and the Inokom sticker on the driver’s door opening aside, specification is identical.

As with the fully imported G20 3 Series at its arrival into Malaysia, the M Sport exterior package on the CKD car is joined by mid-range adaptive LED headlamps and foglamps, while rolling stock is a set of 18-inch Style 790 M double-spoke Orbit Grey alloy wheels fitted with run-flat tyres.

Whereas the suite of functions including BMW Online, Remote Services, Concierge Services, Apple CarPlay, Intelligent Personal Assistant and Digital Key features were complimentary on the fully imported 330i, these are now offered on a three-month trial period basis, after which subscriptions are at additional cost.

These are RM299 for the Connected Package which includes BMW Online, Remote Services and a Connected+ feature, and RM399 for Concierge Services. Users wishing to integrate iOS devices will need to pay RM513 annually for Apple CarPlay, while the Digital Key will cost RM370 per year.

Elsewhere within the cabin, infotainment comes courtesy of the BMW Live Cockpit Professional setup, with a 10.25-inch display in the centre and a 12.3-inch digital display for the driver. The onboard BMW Operating System 7.0 receives commands via an iDrive rotary controller, the central touchscreen or the Intelligent Personal Assistant voice control.

Upholstery-wise, the locally-assembled 330i gets Vernasca leather in a choice of either black or Cognac, mixed with Tetragon Aluminium trim and black headlining. Standard equipment also includes keyless entry, push-button start, handsfree bootlid opening, triple-zone climate control, cruise control, power-adjustable sports seats with driver’s side memory, 40:20:40 split-folding rear seats, Qi wireless smartphone charging and a 10-speaker, 205-watt HiFi Loudspeaker sound system.

Driver assistance systems still include Parking Assistant including a reversing camera with the Reversing Assist that helps the driver back out of a tight spot by recalling the path taken on the way in previously. Unfortunately, autonomous emergency braking still doesn’t make it to the G20 330i’s kit list.

Powertrain for the CKD 330i is unchanged from the B48 2.0 litre turbo four petrol engine, sending 258 hp and 400 Nm of torque to the rear axle via a ZF eight-speed automatic gearbox. The 0-100 km/h sprint benchmark is done in 5.8 seconds, with rated fuel consumption is from 5.8 to 6.1 litres per 100 km. Suspension continues to be a passive M Sport setup with the lift-related dampers as on the CBU 330i; these provide additional hydraulic damping at the front, and limits compression at the rear.

The range of exterior colours for the CKD G20 BMW 330i is comprised of Alpine White, Black Sapphire and Mineral Grey at present; should you prefer alternatives, the Portimao Blue as seen on the CBU unit we’ve driven will be available from January, while Sunset Orange will be available from March onwards.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Just wondering, is it possible for us to configure the car? For example if i would like to opt for the optional laser light

• Unfortunately no, in Malaysia most cars that are configurable is those RM1Mil+++ cars such as Mercedes Maybach, AMG G63

• Benz Fanboy on Sep 30, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Nope. The C300 has the Multi Beam, the most high tech headlamps from Mercedes Benz.

• Zaman Khan on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Only bodoh people buy BMW now since they started their conjob of subscription for their options.

Whole world is talking about how greedy BMW is trying to do like Microsoft Office 365. Most clever people just buy Microsoft Office 2016. No need subscription.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 64
  • Mohd Aslam on Sep 30, 2019 at 4:17 pm

BYE BYE MERCEDES ! Sales going to get dabao by this car with your bulky round junk ! The suspension on the Merc is so unbearable ! Especially the c350e wobbly and much extra movement any car enthusiasts would choose there over the Merc anyday !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • Zaman Khan on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Overpriced in Malaysia. In overseas, the car is only USD$30k after discounts.

A fresh graduate in the US earns USD4500 per month. So, you can see, US$30k is no big deal.

In Malaysia, the car is RM290k.

A fresh graduate starts at RM1883 (2019 BNM statistics)

So, you can see how pricey this car is in Malaysia. Even Datuk datuk and Tan Sri Tan Sri find it so pricey.

Might as well buy a Mercedes S400h 2017 model for RM240k. Balance just buy another 4 more years warranty from MBM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 69
      • redpilled on Sep 30, 2019 at 9:38 pm

Nice, as Geobbels once said:-
        “If you repeat a lie often enough, people will believe it”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Beemer on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:36 pm

Dude, this car is selling €65k in Munich, including 19% VAT.

• I’d like to buy one from you if you can find this BMW 2019 model for 30kusd after discount, average is about 45-50 usd for this 2019 model.

• BMW Fanboi on Sep 30, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Was looking to get the G20 until I test drove one. The car handles and drives great, but the appalling ride comfort and tin kosong spec is very disappointing.

Test drove the C300 although it does not have the driving dynamics of the 330i, but it drives good enough. The specs of the C300 makes the 330i feels like a last gen product. BMW cheaped out of the G20, such a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
  • G20 no no on Sep 30, 2019 at 4:31 pm

I am a die hard fan of the BMW 3 series. I am withholding the latest purchase is the TOTAL omissions of any active driver assistance package.
    Even the Honda Civic of less than half of its price is equipped with full Honda Sensing package.
    :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 28
  • Izzit lighter than the cbu model? Did they skimped on sound deadening material?
    Worse NVH?

sumbody shud do a video for comparison

• Medic on Sep 30, 2019 at 4:36 pm

Phui!!! You mean to say this ultimate driving machine doesnt have AEB which is available on 40K axia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
    • jibby on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:01 pm

at least when have accident people look at bmw rather than accident in axia. have aeb also fly like myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • BMW Joking on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:02 pm

What’s with the range of BMW connected service on 3 months trial??? It used to come with at least 1-2 years subscription! And for this price still need to pay for Apple CarPlay??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Add A Comment on Oct 01, 2019 at 9:41 am

I stop reading after the 4th paragraph…puiiiii

• Mohd Alif on Oct 01, 2019 at 11:47 pm

RM 288k but the gas pedal position is too offset to the right. You wont sit straight while driving this rhd bmw.

• Very good point to be highlighted. I’m 6′ and my thigh hurts when I drove the G30 anything more than 15min as it was being pressed by the seat side support. I thought I needed to do more adjustment but it is actually because of the gas pedal positioning.

• Nowadays need to pay annual fee to use your own car key??