2019 Mazda CX-5 CKD launched in Malaysia – five variants, new 2.5 Turbo 4WD; from RM137k to RM178k

After being previewed earlier in the month, the updated Mazda CX-5 range has finally been launched in Malaysia, with five variants available on sale. The line-up starts with the entry-level 2.0 2WD Mid (RM137k), 2.0 2WD High (RM154k), 2.5 2WD High (RM164k), 2.2D 2WD High (RM169k), and 2.5 4WD High (RM178k) – all models are locally assembled at the Inokom plant in Kulim, Kedah.

First, let’s get the juicy bits out of the way. The top-of-the-line 2.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine produces 228 hp at 5,000 rpm and 420 Nm at 2,000 rpm, and it’s mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission with i-Activ all-wheel drive system as standard.

The blown 2.5 litre mill is the most potent unit of the bunch, making 40 hp more than the CX-5 SkyActiv-D’s 2.2 litre turbodiesel engine (outputs 178 hp, 450 Nm), although torque is lower by 30 Nm. Do note that the diesel engine is only available as a 2WD model – the previous 2.2D GLS AWD option has officially been dropped from the range.

In terms of fuel economy, the 2.5 litre turbo petrol has an average fuel consumption of 8.2 litres per 100 km, whereas the 2.5 GLS 2WD with its naturally-aspirated petrol engine is more fuel efficient at 7.3 litres per 100 km. The 2WD diesel is the most frugal of the lot, consuming just 5.5 litres of fuel per 100 km.

The most affordable pair – 2.0 GL and 2.0 GLS – is powered by the same 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 213 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The average fuel consumption is 6.9 litres per 100 km. All variants utilise the same six-speed automatic transmission and benefit from Mazda’s i-Stop idling and G-Vectoring Control Plus (GVC Plus) systems as standard.

For equipment, all variants get automatic LED headlights, LED combination tail lights, LED fog lamps and LED daytime running lights. However, the base 2.0 GL gets bulb-type DRLs and loses features such as keyless entry, powered tailgate, and front parking sensors. Both 2.0 models sit on 17-inch alloys with 225/65 profile rubbers, while the rest ride on 19-inch items with 225/55 Toyo Proxes rubbers.

In the cabin, the biggest difference is the fitment of a new instrument cluster, much like that seen on the new Mazda 3. The gauge’s graphics are slightly different, but in the middle rests a 4.6-inch TFT LCD screen (2.0L models only), while a larger seven-inch unit is fitted on the 2.5 and 2.2D models. Another revision is the climate control layout (dual-zone automatic system is standard, comes with centre air vents).

All models except for the 2.0 GL gets a 360-degree around view camera as standard, while the top two models are the only ones with the new Active Driving Display, which is a relatively crisp windscreen-projected heads-up display.

Otherwise, all models get electronic parking brake with brake hold, multi-function steering wheel, Mazda Connect infotainment system comprising a seven-inch touchscreen with support for Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, Commander Control, and six speakers. Electric powered front seats (10-way driver with memory function, six-way passenger) is available from the 2.0 GLS onwards, including leather upholstery and metal/faux wood trim – the 2.0 GL gets gunmetal trim.

In terms of safety, it’s pretty much identical for all variants. The kit list includes six airbags (front, side and curtain), Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), Traction Control System (TCS), ABS, EBD, Emergency Brake Assist (EBA), Emergency Stop Signal (ESS), Hill Launch Assist (HLA) and Isofix child seat anchors.

Additional features such as Adaptive Front-Lighting System (AFS), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA) and Smart City Brake Support Forward (SCBS F) are available from the 2.0 GLS onwards, though the 2.5 GLS 2WD gains Driver Attention Alert (DAA) and Smart City Brake Support Reverse (SCBS R), which is Mazda speak for autonomous emergency braking (AEB).

Items like Adaptive LED Headlights (ALH), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS) and Lane-Keep Assist System (LAS) are available on the 2.2D GLS AWD and 2.5 Turbo GLS AWD, although Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC) isn’t available on any models as yet.

Lastly, all models come with a five-year or 100,000 km warranty programme with free maintenance package, and customers get to choose from eight exterior colours – Deep Crystal Blue, Sonic Silver, Meteor Grey, Jet Black, Arctic White, Soul Red Crystal, Machine Grey, and Snowflake White Pearl. Do keep in mind that the last three colours are considered premium paint, which cost an additional RM3,000 each, if you fancy.

Available accessories include Skytint safety window film which costs RM1,900, as well as the illuminated sill plates for RM310 (for four pieces). Those opting for the base CX-5 can also upgrade from the fabric seats to leather upholstery for RM2,900, and the GPS navigation system costs an extra RM1,270.

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda CX-5 2.5 Turbo GLS AWD in Soul Red Crystal

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Zuchie on Oct 03, 2019 at 10:13 pm

Jap warrior outclassed BMW X1, Tiguan & 3008.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 37
    • This Jap warrior can only outclass CRV , RAV4 , Harriet , 0Subaru Forester but certainly not the better than the X1, 3008 and Tiguan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
      • No idea abt X1, but do u know, Tiguan doesnt even have the camera behind the windshield for Lane Keeping Assist? I am sure 3008 doesnt too! I believe Zuchie were talking about our market version.

• Proton RV vs Mazda RV on Oct 04, 2019 at 11:36 am

Buy 2019 Proton X70 for RM125k
      Buy 2019 Mazda CX-5 for RM136k

In 2022, your Mazda can sell for RM90k
      In 2022, your Proton can get RM34k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
      • Dupe Buster on Oct 04, 2019 at 3:04 pm

Oh, now trolls can see the future too? Hey, can you see yourself repenting instead of continuing to spew lies? That would be a better future for you, tikus.

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Oct 04, 2019 at 11:53 am

Habis lah Proton X70. Got Tiguan, Got Forester, got this car…..all also more or less same price as Proton X70.

Kesian Malaysians, local car so expensive for the rakyat. Proton X70 in China only RM60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
    • ToyotaBye on Oct 04, 2019 at 6:03 pm

X1 maybe
      but Tiguan? 3008? No way, this CX5’s interior still very old school, exterior wise yes, it’s good

• Not worth on Oct 03, 2019 at 10:34 pm

Terrible Mazda service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
    • rm175k can buy Hyundai Santa Fe. great service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • 4bini on Oct 04, 2019 at 11:46 am

If i buy this car, at least I can park right infront of the kenduri house and walk out with my head high up.

If I buy a China rebadged car, I have to park far away and enter the kenduri house with my head down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
      • Dupe Buster on Oct 04, 2019 at 3:06 pm

Aha, the tikus shows again he never got invited to any kenduri. Well, people don’t usually want a rat into their house.

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Oct 04, 2019 at 11:55 am

At least SC don’t tell you, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton, what do you expect?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Do you know, most Jap brands, including local (i.e. Proton and Perodua), their Service Advisor uses the same wording. “Biasalah bang, ini XXX, what do you expect?” (Change XXX to Proton, Perodua, Mazda, Honda, Toyota, etc.). My advice is, join the FB community and see it urself. It is a trend. One of the characteristics of not enough knowledge to address customers.

• Vader on Oct 03, 2019 at 10:53 pm

So expensip

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 04, 2019 at 12:56 am

still think this is one of the better looking suv’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Hi Matt,
    “The blown 2.5 litre mill is the most potent unit of the bunch, making 40 hp more than the CX-5 SkyActiv-D’s 2.2 litre turbodiesel engine (outputs 178 hp, 450 Nm)”

228-178=50 , why the figure is 40 in the article? typo error?

• eeeriz on Oct 06, 2019 at 8:14 am

You are absolutely right, i have checked in the internet the updated CX-5 2.2D is now 188hp, not 178hp. So, it is typo error.

Author, please verify this. Thank you.

• XC70XC on Oct 04, 2019 at 6:05 am

Been driving the mrs CX-5 Akera Turbo Petrol for few months now. Pretty smooth and powerful when using RON 98 which gives it about 260hp or so. Plenty of kits like the digital centre dash, head up display, active LED headlights, powered tail gate, sunroof, 360 degree camera, AEB, radar cruise aka MRCC, Bose sound system, AC/AA, lane departure warning, rear cross traffic alert system, blind spot monitoring, dual zone climate control, rear air con vents, heated steering wheel, Nappa leather, real wood Zen veneer trim, padded dashboard, front heated and ventilated seats plus rear heated seats. Built in Japan and costs about equivalent RM120k.

• Hayenadeblue on Oct 04, 2019 at 10:27 am

We get all that EXCEPT sunroof, MRCC, Bose speakers, heated steering wheel, Nappa leather upholstery, ventilated/heated seats. We also do not get the front-center air-vents roller-shutter. I believe there are more small items missing too! Syabas Bermaz. **** you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • SoftbankSucks on Oct 04, 2019 at 10:37 am

Definitely cost more than RM140K aka AUD50K on road according to the rates today, but still…

• Hayenadeblue on Oct 04, 2019 at 7:23 am

Just give us option to pay and get the MRCC, without affecting the warranty. At least for the 2.5T. We can pay, la!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • autodriver (Member) on Oct 04, 2019 at 7:43 am

It is dilemma situation to have 2 models of 2.5 where one is NA and another it turbocharged. My friend own a new CX5 2.5NA and I did drive his car for few hours. I find the power is more than enough for daily usage. He told me the 2.5NA average fuel consumption is about 10L/100km even though Mazda quoted 7.3L/100km. His driving style is gentle and 50% mix of highway and city (work as outdoor sales).

Imagine this 2.5T version as mentioned 8.2L/100km which is 12% higher means it will hit more than 11L/100km in real world which is high fuel consumption figure.

• Nope. It should be the other way around.

Modern Turbo engine tends to be very efficient plus of course powerful. More importantly the high torque figure from low rpm means that the driver does not needs to rev the engine quite high. The torque will helps the car surge forward relatively easy. This saves a lot of petrol consumption. Just like high power diesel engine. NA engine on the other hand needs to be rev up the rpm, thus consump more petrol.
      Testing in labs is way different that in the real world environment.

• eeeriz on Oct 06, 2019 at 8:19 am

True! But the tendency for most ppl is to floor the gas when you have turbo inside. It is very addicting and exciting..hehe. Hence, higher FC compared to NA version.

• The test unit likely is done without air conditioning

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 04, 2019 at 1:36 pm

If you are using 230hp, you are burning 230hp worth of fuel. Irregardless of turbo, NA or whatever.

What turbo motors are good for is when you don’t need all 230hp, say when partial throttle cruising and low speed pottering around town.

Ask anyone that owns a turbo car. Boost is addictive. I know an owner with a Forrester XT that keeps complaining why his FC is so high despite driving “gently” ..bugger was on boost all the time. I switched his multi display to show the boost gauge and told him if he wants FC don’t go into boost so much. His FC dropped 20% overnight.

• Does Mazda owner found that beside new Mazda 3, there have no central lock for Mazda vehicle!

• That is not an issue. Simply use the driver’s lock inside to lock/unlock all the doors.

• xoxox on Oct 04, 2019 at 9:08 am

M3 kena bullet…. :=/

• Pak Toh on Oct 04, 2019 at 9:53 am

100,000km warranty? Free maintenance also not enough.

Better take less loan. Less interest to pay can sell off early. No MRCC, wait next Gen CX5 lah.

Proton x70 owner laughing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • monana on Oct 04, 2019 at 11:54 am

Do u know the cost to add MRCC is just around RM4k? Celah gigi aje tu. Like u said, X70, CR-V, Forester, X-Trail owners are laughing looking at the spec of CX-5. Mazda even need to highlight the auto reverse braking. Thats cheaper tech.

• 3 generations already,looks started to fad.

Dont need that extra fancy gadgets & that oversized heavy 19inch stock wheels and that extra turbo boost (mind the maintenance / realiblity of turbo engine since mazda has always been avoiding turbocharging their cars)..

Go for the n/a base model. Mazda had alwyas been know for their handling & confort,swap in a 18inch forged rims (8-15k) and a set of tien or eibach springs (2k) and drive it like a boss..get a driving plessure even a x1 could not match.. unless u willing to throw in the $$ to do-up the x1 ;p..

• granny on Oct 04, 2019 at 11:55 am

Mazda had alwyas been know for their handling & comfort.

Handling yes, comfort no. It’s not any better than Toyota Vios nor Honda City.

• with the current annual updating scheme of the cx-5 , i guess MRCC will only debut next year along with few new models too

But any how, CX5 has the best looks and interior quality among jap competitors now

we need a drag race, put pedal to the metal, bring all turbocharged suvs from all different price range

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Oct 04, 2019 at 3:11 pm

For the very basic 2.0GL spec, better opt for Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 Enhanced. More features (leatherette seats, 360 camera, Android Auto & Apple CarPlay supported infotainment system, keyless entry, 4WD…& no need to worry about engine knocking when using RON 95 petrol). Cheaper too.

• Outalingam Crap on Oct 08, 2019 at 8:02 am

KUDOS to Mazda for that 2.5L Skyactiv Turbo on the CX-5 but CX-8 has NO SUCH ENGINE? Please lah Bermaz!