2019 Toyota Corolla launched in Malaysia – two 1.8L variants; Toyota Safety Sense on 1.8G; from RM129k

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has finally launched the 12th-generation Toyota Corolla in Malaysia, which is available in a choice of two variants. While the C-segment sedan is now officially referred to as the Corolla here, all units will still carry the “Altis” badging at the rear on the count of it being fully imported (CBU) from Thailand – the model is marketed as the Corolla Altis there.

Pricing-wise, the range starts of with the 1.8E, which is priced at RM128,888 on-the-road without insurance. Meanwhile, the range-topping 1.8G retails at RM136,888, and all purchases come with a five-year/unlimited-mileage factory warranty.

Buyers are provided with a choice of five exterior finishes – Celestite Grey Metallic, Silver Metallic, Attitude Black, Red Mica Metallic and White Pearl Crystal Shine – with the last option costing an additional RM800.

Under the bonnet, both variants are powered by the familiar 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with Dual VVT-i – this is not the flex fuel version. The naturally-aspirated mill makes 139 PS (137 hp) at 6,400 rpm and 173 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, with drive going to the front wheels via a Shiftmatic CVT with seven virtual speeds. The powertrain also comes with two driver-selectable drive modes – Sport and Eco.

In its latest iteration, the Corolla is now underpinned by the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) GA-C platform, and features an overhauled design which we’ve previously detailed – Malaysia follows the European look. There are also revisions to the vehicle’s dimensions, as the sedan now measures 4,630 mm long (+10 mm), 1,780 mm wide (+5 mm) and 1,435 mm tall (-45 mm); the wheelbase remains identical to the 11th-generation car at 2,700 mm.

On the 1.8E, you’ll get automatic, manual-levelling halogen headlamps, 16-inch alloy wheels (with 205/55 series tyres), LED taillights, a reverse camera as well as front and rear parking sensors and fog lamps as standard equipment.

Other items include keyless entry and start, a 4.2-inch TFT LCD instrument cluster display, single-zone automatic climate control with rear vents, a 6.8-inch touchscreen head unit with six speakers, black fabric upholstery and an eight-way powered driver’s seat.

The 1.8G option naturally has more goodies, including LED projecter headlamps, 17-inch alloy wheels (with 225/45 series tyres), an Optitron meter with a seven-inch display, dual-zone climate control, black leather upholstery, an electronic parking brake (with auto hold), paddle shifters, rear side window sunshades, a Qi wireless charger, a 3D panoramic view monitor and digital video recorders (front and rear).

The last two items are cost options for the 1.8E, and those interested will need to pay an additional RM2,700 for the 3D panoramic view monitor and RM1,100 for the dual DVRs. UMWT also offers a Vehicle Telematics System (VTS) that allows owners to check their vehicle’s real-time location via a mobile app for a further RM1,950, which includes a three-year subscription fee waiver (thereafter it’s RM250 per year).

In terms of safety kit, both the 1.8E and 1.8G come with seven airbags (front, side curtain and driver knee), Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Traction Control (TRC), ABS with EBD and brake assist, Hill-start Assist Control (HAC), Emergency Stop Signal (ESS), tyre pressure monitoring system, and Isofix child seat anchors (rear outer seats).

Once again, it’s the 1.8G that has a wider feature set, as it also gets the Toyota Safety Sense suite of safety and driver assistance systems. These include Pre-Collision System (PCS), Lane Departure Alert (LDA) with Steering Assist & Lane Tracing Assist (LTA), Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC), (Automatic High Beam (AHB) and Blind Spot Monitor (BSM).

The Corolla will compete against the fourth-generation Mazda 3 and soon-to-be-launched Honda Civic FC facelift in the C-segment sedan market. Of the three cars, which one would you prefer? Or is there another option in your mind? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Find full specifications of the Toyota Corolla on CarBase.my.

2019 Toyota Corolla 1.8G in Celestite Grey Metallic

2019 Toyota Corolla 1.8G in White Pearl Crystal Shine

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ongtk on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:21 pm

Mmmm. Just launched? I have seen registered units on the road in Penang, and they are not test drive units. In my opinion, it doesn’t give you that “I want it!” feeling, unlike the Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
    • I agree with you. Despite the current Civic being a 3 year old product, it feels light years ahead in shape/design compared to this new Corolla which looks like it was designed a decade ago.

Finally something the new Corolla has in common with the unpopular Hyundai Elantra; outdated design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 23
      • Korean Fan on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:48 pm

All new Kia Cerato the best looking, and Ioniq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 25
        • WVJ 2528 on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:31 pm

Kia Cerato is better than Ioniq, Elantra and Corolla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
          • JRT 1234 on Oct 09, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Wilson/Mario, Hyundai and Kia are sister companies. They share the same engine and chassis. So one could not be better than the other

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • Malaysia Boleh on Oct 09, 2019 at 8:26 pm

Why only import from Thailand?

• Karipap on Oct 09, 2019 at 11:38 pm

Bro Mario, comparing Kia with Hyundai is trully a game over comparison since both of them are sister companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Uncle Lat on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Civic facelift is outdated. But got multilink rear.
        Paired with 170hp engine getting RM524+ road tax standardized hp based rate. Turbo lag + cvt lag= cannot do short distance pickup. Need planning calmly while driving. Safety features is full spec per Malaysia market availability.

Corrolla is sporty yet comfortable – rare animals. Double wishbone is insane and full of potential. 225 tyre wide like cx-5. Cornering all the way to 120km/h. Design is understated. 1.8L N.A. is sufficient for C segment. Previous gen mostly csegment Malaysia low spec 1.6L. Over spec safety features due to rare millimetre wave radar instead of budget stereo camera for higher accuracy and performance. Adaptive cruise control is dynamic. Full Speed with auto stop and Go.

Mazda3 is sporty But 1.5L and torsion beam.
        2nd row is a pain in the ass to feels like Mazda2’s B segment level comfort. 215 wide tire for 2.0L rm160k is the most kurus tyre for full spec c segment. Safety features better than Honda civic full spec. It’s sufficiently as good as corrolla.
        RM 160k.. Buy it or miss it. CKD mazda don’t have good radars. Low spec aeb and adaptive cruise control, not dynamic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 81
        • 4G63T DSM on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:59 pm

My oh my, such contradiction.

Singing the virtues of a double wishbone suspension yet does not have the power to make it useful. I seriously doubt that the demographic that is attracted to the Altis and find its 136hp sufficient is going to care about that double wishbones.

While the design of the civic is polarizing and may not age well, I find no fault in the drivetrain. The turbo engine is more than responsive enough pottering around town and there is still something left over if you need that little extra.

We are really on to something if Toyota brings its new 2.0L in, then we are really talking. But then, we are looking into D segment money.

My bet is that the Civic will still dominate C segment. That is unless the Korean twins manage to pull a miracle of some sort.

You a Toyota salesman?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
          • He hope to sell his rm160k mazda3 in a way nobody promoted.

Koreans cars are jokes. Their sales is declining globally. Local service center cannot perform too. They are only better at electronics, not mechatronics/mechanics.

But I buy your idea. We all dream to have new generation Toyota 2.0 dynamic force engine. It’s fuel injection is a combined Port injection and direct injection combo. No worries of outdated pure direct injection aka GDI which getting clogged with sludge requiring high maintenance to keep performing. Otherwise, choking performance will happens.

• Corolla way better spec & cheaper than CHR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Vader on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:15 pm

The JP Corolla best interior quality in class.

• paparadzi on Oct 09, 2019 at 11:25 pm

What is the difference between “dynamic cruise control” and “adaptive cruise control”?

• Lolll on Oct 10, 2019 at 1:19 am

Fyi turbo lag and cvt lag doesn’t make it slower than those crappy NA. Tried race it with D.I Mazda3 2.0 and u will know. Best even u race it with Altis 2.0 last gen. See how far it smoke tthem. The engine is much superior and powerful than other Japanese C segment. The only 1 giving Civic Turbo a real threat is Elantra Turbo, but sorry the facelift model omitted that engine from the line up due to poor sales in our market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • 1.5 CVT tiny turbo and you want to talk about smoking here and there? What have you just smoked recently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • Each transmission is unique. Mazda is designed for completely different purpose and targeting specific group of people. It purely nonsensical to compare cars just with the hp and torque figures. Many factors to be considered before comparing the speed of each car… Even the tire size and brand could affect the speed of a car.

• granny on Oct 10, 2019 at 7:31 pm

it totally loose the joy for city drive.

it may be responsive enough for long ditance and pickup still can be sub-10secs to 100km/h.

this lag is enough to make you loose a spot and ppl just ended up cut your Que in Malaysia bumper to bumper drive.

• Dixie on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:09 pm

Bruh clearly it is not made for you. I respect everyone opinions but for me honda civic is too much cluttering. I don’t pretty like that sharp design etc. I’m prefer cars that simple and low profile but most importantly is reliable. Take example as mazda 3 or this corolla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • In terms of branding, ride and handling.
          Corolla – Merc comfort
          Civic – BMW sports
          Mazda3 – Audi cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
          • Rulered on Oct 09, 2019 at 9:14 pm

2020 Nissan Sylphy looks nice too IMHO.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 14, 2019 at 10:39 am

have you tried driving the civic (non type-r version)? there is nothing bmw about its seaweed handling at all

• Rulered on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:44 pm

While Civic is the best selling C segment in Malaysia, Corolla is still the best selling C segment worldwide and surely there’s a reason for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • 4G63T DSM on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Correct. The Corolla is THE best selling car worldwide. And there are many many many good reasons for it. Comfort, reliability, VALUE FOR MONEY. And with the very interesting new 2.0L, a rather interesting drive.

But it is not a bestseller when it comes under UMW it seems. Why then?

Reading through a few comments here seems so much regurgitated marketing training material by Toyota sales people, without filtering what they say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Corolla is only selling well because they price competitively in many country. Where country like Taiwan and many other countries use total stripdown (low spec) Corolla as taxi or rental car due to local assemble with cheap taxation where as Civic are mostly fully import. In USA however, even almost 4 years old Civic outsold New Corolla from Jan2019 to Sept 2019. GOOGLE IT or search FB news of top 10 car sales in USA 2019.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Lolll on Oct 10, 2019 at 1:25 am

Corolla is only selling well because they priced lower than average or competitively in many country. Where country like Taiwan and many other countries use total stripdown (low spec) Corolla as taxi or rental car due to local assemble with cheap taxation where as Civic are mostly fully import. In USA however, even almost 4 years old Civic outsold New Corolla from Jan2019 to Sept 2019. Try search google or FB news of top 10 car sales in USA 2019.

• Lolll on Oct 10, 2019 at 1:27 am

In USA however, even almost 4 years old Civic outsold New Corolla from Jan 2019 to Sept 2019. Try search google or FB news of top 10 car sales in USA 2019.

• In USA however, even almost 4 years old Civic outsold New Corolla from Jan 2019 to Sept 2019. And their quantity isnt joking.. one model are equal or more than perodua 1 year sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Pop corn eaters on Oct 14, 2019 at 7:13 pm

Yeah, and nokia used to be the biggest phone seller in the world as well. have you check the latest statistic on the gap before you make this comment? lets see 2020 if corolla still is the best seller.
          Theres a reason why corolla is the best seller. But there also a reason why the numbers are getting lower and lower

• Light year is a measure of distance, not time.

• anonymous on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:34 pm

UMWT has been applying this strategy on all new Camry and new Vios FL whereby you can on the road cars before the model is officially launched.

• YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Oct 09, 2019 at 8:51 pm

The price is a total rip off.
      Other GLCs close to bankruptcy,only PNB churning out good profits.So UMW,as usual ,will price Toyotas well beyond normal pricing…stupendously ,horrendously,over the moon pricing..Just unacceptable.But hardcore Toyota diehards will give an arm or leg to buy the new Angrier Bird.

• Dato Toyota on Oct 09, 2019 at 10:18 pm

130k for a Corolla ? Once able to buy a Camry.
      It shows how bad the Ringgit is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 14, 2019 at 1:31 am

Best selling compact car in the world

• Yazeed on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:22 pm

(Like) 2019 Mazda3 and Civic FL.
    (Dislike) 2019 Toyota Corolla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 51
    • Kumpul on Oct 09, 2019 at 10:38 pm

No need to have troublesome Turbo engine, as the speed of the car is determine by car driver.

BTW, Corolla is one of the best worldwide car sales, famous for reliable, efficient and effective engine, unlike in boleh land..

All aim for C segment C, small 1.5 turbo, reliability?? But damn awful 3 years design on the road.. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Corolla is only selling well because they price competitively in many country. Where country like Taiwan and some place use total stripdown Corolla as taxi or rental car due to local assemble with cheap taxation where as Civic are mostly fully import. In USA however, even almost 4 years old Civic outsold New Corolla from Jan2019 to Sept 2019. GOOGLE IT or search FB new of top 10 car sales in USA 2019.

• After all its a 10s+ car… Only for uncles n aunties

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • grandpa on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:31 pm

This car you buy today. after 50Yr, hand down to your cucu cicit piut miut still in mint working condition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 27
    • Pak Toh on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:00 pm

Outstanding Japanese. Grand Seiko level, if it’s a Lexus.

• El Ra gawt of Egypt on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:20 pm

Driving this car will eventually became Autistics for seven generations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 29
      • Ruslan Bahari on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:40 pm

Absolutely insensitive joke. There is a time and place for everything but to ridicule spectrum learning disorder sufferers is pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 14
    • Li Peng on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Sometimes the brakes are malfunctioning and you may hit a lorry, but this is not a problem. Your heirs still can sell the parts for a good price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Vader on Oct 09, 2019 at 9:29 pm

Kesian. Toyota cars so overpriced now that 5 generations need to continue paying for it. Better to buy Protons then.

• kereta_lembu on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:46 pm

What’s with the fugly TFT LCD Cluster though? If the designers didn’t find that an issue, then I have an issue with the designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • All civic mazda3 and corrolla comes with 7inch TFT.
      Corrolla big bezel is a missed opportunity as it gives room for ppl badmouthing it. Wise man will retrofit it with latest 10inch Android screen

The bezel gives just enough space for retrofit.. every 2 years can change to new Gen android screen.

Mazda3 is a non touch screen 7 inch is a non-touch screen TV¡! What a turn off for rm140k 1.5L/rm160k 2.0L CBU. With the silhouette dashboard in place, god knows how to retrofit it. Sack the designer¡!

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:28 pm

Retrofit with what? Another Toyota unit available elsewhere that Toyota doesn’t give you because UMW thinks they can get away with it?

Can you reach the screen comfortably from your normal driving position on the Mazda 3? Arms of an ape much?

There is a good reason for a command dial (much to everyone’s chagrin, even Mercedes has been criticized to getting rid of it, and Lexus has been likewise chastised for its control pad). This is also why honda got so much flak for getting rid of buttons and knobs for their entertainment systems.

In all fairness, touchscreens should be disabled during driving anyway, as fumbling over non tactile interfaces is a recipe for an accident.

• That screen makes Saga’s floating screen looks so good. LOL.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • Who in the world could approved that Head Unit? – and then sell it at 130K? Seriously???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • BMW Credit on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:57 pm

I loved the center headunit….so 90’s….

• salgoodguy on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:59 pm

headunit asal boleh sahaja kau sumbat..agak2 la..

• E210 corrolla. Interesting series code for this Toyota Corolla. Corrolla even has 3D 360 panoramic view camera PVC.

Actually this features available in highest spec geely Binyue too. But others don’t have. It’s good that this Toyota captured all high end luxuries features.

1.8L Honda HRV rm125k full spec but kosong. Ohmaigod. Even developing country Thailand spec hrv is better than bolehland.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:46 pm

I will be the first to agree with you the HRV Top line is overpriced and underspeced.

How is the C-HR then? can you remind the folks how much that one cost?

• whatttttts on Oct 10, 2019 at 3:26 pm

With lousy CKD quality and low specs sorry to say HRV top spec no way at top. Corolla much better choice. ride comfort nowhere near. only that i might consider Civic because of price

• newme on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:09 pm

OMG, the head unit is so ugly. If UMW cannot afford to give bigger head unit screen, then don’t give casing that’s so big lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:13 pm

Like the exterior design but hell the HU is fugly.

• Old, outdated, overpriced. Nuff said.

• wonder how to compete with cx5

• Li Peng on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Over 1.6l > No more fuel subsidies > less RV

• Chong on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Don’t dare to make comparison with previous model. Please la! It’s 11 generation + new skin + safety tech + TGNA. And you sell it 129k for base model. It was 110k in 11 gen!

• The headunit,why toyota?people already paying this much,might as well give it a full nice cohesive design in and out..Anyway hope paultan team can convey the message to UMW..

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:36 pm

That’s because Toyota offers the bigger head unit in other markets. UMW as it seems is up to its old devices again. Trying to rip off its customers.

Remember the time they removed ESC in the Camry. Yeah….that.

• John Cho on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:49 pm

Is it me or feels like CT200h owners got their cars at a steal when Lexus decided to dish out 15k discount in 2013? Seems like the current crop of C-segments are priced 130k northwards.

• Kaka' on Oct 09, 2019 at 11:31 pm

Yes agreed… my friend got his CT back in mid-2013 for RM155k otr and apparently its hybrid battery is still under warranty even today. I dont know about you guys but is it worth it to pay more than 130k for a Hon/Toy/Nis/Maz C-seg car..?

• John Tan on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:06 pm

For me, I prefer Corolla Altis than Honda Civic and Mazda 3 because I liked that how it’s looks, it’s still best selling and worth the money to buy it. It also came with Toyota Safety Sense same as Camry, plus the service is better than Honda and Mazda. One of the best looking car in C-segment sedan. So this is the reason why I chose Corolla Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
    • You must be new UMWT SA. Your seniors at least try to be subtle about in when typing comments here.

• Naw bro. They just share the same lousy teacher that taught our so obvious Perodua resident salestroll.

• Civic facelift also came with Honda Sensing what?

• your reply is like UPSR English paper essay

• Monana on Oct 31, 2020 at 9:17 pm

Yep, there are many cases of bad quality in Hondas. Un-even panel gaps, steering rack, oil dilution (not affect our country) and soon u will heard the issue on the turbocharged direct injection cars: dirty intake valves. You will need walnut blasting. Our Corolla still come with port injections (not Dynamic Force engine). OpenPilot also mentioned that Corolla is the best car out-of-the-box. Hondas has crappy steering torque to start with. U need to hack the EPS of a Honda to make it useable with OpenPilot.

Anyone looking to buy a Civic/CRV, pls head on to their FB (FB by the owners). You can see easily the problems. While in a Corolla FB, it is silent from problem. They have problems too, but not too serious. Even CX-5 FB have slightly less problems than the Hondas.

As always, Toyota is the king of reliability. Thank God, the issue with Takata is over.

• Old engine old gearbox. Not even valvematic.

• Haidi on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:44 pm

I was there at Toyota showroom this afternoon to view this Corolla. The rear door/ entry is too narrow in my opinion. And everybody is complaining about the head unit, yes, it is a BIG BIG turn off for me too.

• Fakta on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Seen the car, omg the bezel is huge!

• Shahrul Asri on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:48 pm

I own 2005 Altis 1.8G (117K otr) and still driving it until today. Went to the showroom to have a look at the new 1.8G. Aside to the blow and whistles on its safety, I couldn’t digest for 136K non otr, when I compared with my altis I found :
    1) Cabin space is a bit smaller.
    2) The rear door opening radius is smaller.
    3) Legroom for rear passenger is narrow due to lower seating position.
    4) The head unit is blocking driver’s centre view which is not comfortable for me. Should have installed into the centre dashboard. In addition, the visual area is way too small than its cover which is odd looking and not seamless as compared to most new models out there.

Decision, I guess no new altis for me for now. I’ll wait for facelift if there is any improvements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Uncle Lat on Oct 09, 2019 at 7:19 pm

You are looking for space. Even Honda civic and mazda3 will fail your expectation too. Modern good selling C segments are emphasizing on drive and handling. Nobody will buy your idea 2005 Altis is better than today whole new corrolla, civic or mazda3.

2005 14 years old altis is more spacious, is all thanks to a smaller sofa with insufficient support. Shorter thigh support. You can get this type of sofa from Markets B segment today and get plenty of legrooms. Try to look for Cheapest Almera. It possibly give eqv space you are looking for. Even the manufacturer tyre and rim is about as large. And come with a similar torsion beam setup too.

Otherwise, You need to start looking for a D segment or SUV.

• poor uncle on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:53 pm

nvm, i wait new city better. no need so big car now days everywhere jam. parking also susah.

• Jasont on Oct 09, 2019 at 6:19 pm

Just look at the head unit and compare with Thailand’s Altis? Oh well, very sad indeed. Never driven Proton Saga but at least their 7″ head unit looks decent and tech from 2019. Corolla’s like what’s in a 2016 GLA head unit. Its a 130k car, look at Honda Civic price similar and compare the equipment. Well, there will be drivers that argue “Toyota will outlast every other car and good resale value”?? Is that so?? Well, look at the next 3 months’ sales figure will tell.

• Mun Chan on Oct 09, 2019 at 6:37 pm

the floating head unit is ugly. compare to floating head unit in geely binyue aka X50, and you can straight away tell which one is beauty

• Could have fitted the dashboard with a bigger screen, like the models sold in europe or US , few inches goes a long way……no pun intended

• Sohai on Oct 09, 2019 at 7:09 pm

Move along, move along….nothing to see here

• Msia driver on Oct 09, 2019 at 8:38 pm

The huge bezel is terrifly, actual the it is nice look with thin bezel when u see the US website
    This UMW really spoit it’s original design
    What to do ? As we live in Malaysia
    Still facelift civic all the way or local ckd x70 (if they ckd the boyue pro )

• Saladin on Oct 09, 2019 at 8:56 pm

Too much comment from everybody like expert. Now i ask u all who is really buying this car….. as expected none.

• zzzzz on Oct 09, 2019 at 9:11 pm

The saga head unit looks so much better than this, the designer havent wake up ah

• Lolll on Oct 10, 2019 at 1:23 am

Corolla is only selling well because they price competitively in many country. Where country like Taiwan and many other countries use total stripdown (low spec) Corolla as taxi or rental car due to local assemble with cheap taxation where as Civic are mostly fully import. In USA however, even almost 4 years old Civic outsold New Corolla from Jan2019 to Sept 2019. Try search google or FB news of top 10 car sales in USA 2019.

• Lolll on Oct 10, 2019 at 1:23 am

Corolla is only selling well because they priced lower than average or competitively in many country. Where country like Taiwan and many other countries use total stripdown (low spec) Corolla as taxi or rental car due to local assemble with cheap taxation where as Civic are mostly fully import. In USA however, even almost 4 years old Civic outsold New Corolla from Jan2019 to Sept 2019. Try search google or FB news of top 10 car sales in USA 2019.

• vVivi Zurianti on Oct 10, 2019 at 9:29 am

Confirm that this Toyota….

1) Guaranteed naik harga
    2) Guaranteed lower/old spec compared to Corolla from other countries

• whatttttt on Oct 10, 2019 at 10:07 am

Hi Paultan, can you make active safety features comparison for C-Segment with coming Civic Safety Sense?

• tricycle on Oct 10, 2019 at 10:14 am

Good at least toyota here bring in the drcc, unlike mazda.

But on the engine side, it would be good for Toyota to develop 1.5/1.6 turbo engine for this car segment.

Turbo is fun, period.

• HorsePower Road Tax on Oct 10, 2019 at 7:39 pm

2.0L turbo is fun for both city and highway.
      1.5L is fun for highway. sub1.7k rpm no turbo boost, the car is running on 1500cc, ohmaigod.

from idling sub 700rpm and boosted to 1.7k rpm. this lag without turbo is totally a potong steam in city slow traffic/traffic jam/roundabout drive.

Put to reverse gear, 1500cc is still alright for Civic, but reverse a CR-V huge elephant, sub-1700rpm no turbo, alamak…. reverse @ the slope for car park is a pain in the ass.

Worse thing, ppl is telling that horsepower road tax is being studied and will be implemented soon. 1.5L 170hp is like a 2.4L, road tax will be same soon. RM524++.

I am sure driving a 2.4L is more fun than a turbo.
      no lag for city drive, sudden rev from ilding rpm, it just vroom directly.

• Robinhood on Oct 15, 2019 at 9:58 am

Try the paddle shift and you will get immediate response.

• SoftbankSucks on Oct 10, 2019 at 10:17 am

Ordered 1.8G for my father after comparing with other brands of 1.5TC-P and 2.0 High Plus.

Reasons:
    Full TSS suite for active safety protection, trusted & reliable 2ZR engine with adequate fuel efficiency, more advanced bi-beam headlights for better night driving, subjective design preference.

Relatively small media head unit? He said having FM radio and CarPlay for maps and music when necessary is more than enough.

Overall, suit his needs to travel from point A to B for peace of mind with my budget.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Bryan Toong on Oct 10, 2019 at 7:49 pm

What screen are they providing, think our national car’s provision on this item are far trendier not to mention their own Japanese competitors

• passion on Oct 15, 2019 at 3:32 pm

1.8 NA? Nooooooo!

• this Corolla is getting too expensive, and with the ugly headunit I think Proton’s X70 sounds like a better option!

• Why is car getting more expensive under the new government? There is no price reduction, but just price increase?

• thaya on Oct 22, 2019 at 1:47 pm

That is one ugly dashboard setup…

• Ollie on Oct 31, 2019 at 5:15 pm

In 2019, Malaysians still argue about a junk basic Corolla full of grey plastic and utterly boring, get real and open your eyes, people. its just a cash cow car for Toyota.

• Eric ho on Aug 10, 2020 at 10:54 pm

Overall good car
    My daughter stubborn think Honda is better choice than Toyota, I wish I can recommend to her but I scared she don’t belanja me dinner anymore