REVIEW: 2019 Lexus ES 250 in Malaysia, from RM296k

In comes the Lexus ES. The Japanese luxury automaker spared no expense when it comes to building the seventh-generation sedan, and it shows in nearly every aspect, from design to build quality, material selection and driving experience.

Just two variants of the ES 250 are available, starting with Premium at RM299,888 and the Luxury, which is the unit we sampled, at RM332,888. Both models are fully imported from Japan and come with five-years unlimited mileage warranty. There are seven exterior colours to choose from, and two interior colour schemes to boot.

In terms of powertrain, the ES is only available with the latest 2.5 litre Dynamic Force four-cylinder engine, making 204 hp at 6,600 rpm and 247 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm. The direct-injection A25A-FKS petrol unit is paired to an eight-speed Direct Shift conventional automatic transmission, which directs power to the front wheels. The 0-100 km/h is done in 9.1 seconds and top speed is 210 km/h.

For the ES 250 Luxury, the equipment list includes distinctive LED headlights with Adaptive High Beam System and sequential turn signals, 18-inch wheels finished in Hyper Chrome Metallic Coating, 10-way powered front seat with memory function, powered reclining rear seats, three-zone climate control, head-up display, a 12.3-inch centre screen with navigation, and more. Interested? Well, find out what our man Hafriz Shah thinks of it in the video above.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Numan on Nov 01, 2019 at 6:56 pm

(Like) Lexus ES250 Luxury.
    (Dislike) Audi A5 Sportback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 28
    • Sienn on Nov 02, 2019 at 12:47 am

When pipu see the gear stick area, pipu know why this car is light years behind x70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 02, 2019 at 7:31 am

Lexus Malaysia AKA UMW is one greedy company. Global prices for higher spec ES is super cheap

ES250 (200 bhp) is RM335k
      Global price for ES350 (310bhp) is US$39k (RM140k)

Is there any logic? Greedy GLC UMW just so tamak. No wonder our Toyota prices are also super high, same distributor UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • Lets See on Nov 02, 2019 at 11:18 am

Pity us Asians that Japan is treating all of us like a cash cow. We should support our own local brand that gave us good cars like X70 and not give more money to the Japanese. We must stop all support and giving more business to Lexus, Toyota and even Perodua because they send all profits back to Japan so Perodua is just as guilty as an accomplice.

Lets all support our local brands like Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
        • Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 02, 2019 at 2:22 pm

You are right. But it is not a local brand. It is 100% a China car. So, pls thank China and Geely for this product. As it is CBU, all proceeds from the sale of the X70 (known as Boyue goes back to China’ Geely empire.

Thank you so much for making China richer

Perodua is guilty like Toyota because local abang abang run UMW decided that all Malaysians should have unsafe Peroduas. UMW employees failed to demand higher spec cars for the rakyat of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • Karam singh on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:43 pm

In order for lexus ES price to come down, firs govt must remove import tax which is applicable to all cars CBU outside asean.

Secondly, the prices for camry must come down from 180k to 130k.

In order to do so, price for corolla must come down to around 80-90k.

And in order to do that.. toyota must sell the vios at between 50-60k ( a cbu vios 1.3 MT in saudi arabia is selling at a start price of sar44k, about rm48k).

But the government must be brave enough to make our auto market open and transparent. Question is – is li chinrung brave enough?

• vivizurianti on Nov 01, 2019 at 7:09 pm

sooner, lexus will produce their cars with grilles larger than their bumpers.

I dread when frontal accident occurs, the poor owner will pay more for repair, i.e both grille and bumper.

• vodka on Nov 01, 2019 at 10:55 pm

fully agreed. otherwise the poor owner could only afford rear end accident, if without insuran.

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 02, 2019 at 7:34 am

This is no doubt a very good car. I will one day get it. But the secret is, a waiting game. Just wait 2 years, this car will be RM120k.

Not bad, in just two years, from RM335k to RM120k. Past ES250 also same story. The best part is, it will still have 3 more years warranty.

Lexus cars in Malaysia is King of Depreciation. Their LS460L was the best. Brand new selling RM1 million. Within 5 years become RM80k.

This is why many are waiting for the current LS500 now to buy in 5 years time. From RM1 mil can buy RM80k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Norlia on Nov 02, 2019 at 12:00 pm

King of depreciation? Didn’t you say Lexus = Toyota and Toyota have high RV? So which is which? Don’t lie to us.

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 02, 2019 at 2:33 pm

Try to improve your English. Lexus is bad depreciation whilst Toyota is good RV. Pls sharpen your English instead of riding basikal lajak at 3am in the morning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • English Teacher on Nov 02, 2019 at 5:07 pm

You obviously have no idea what is RV and what is depreciation (both relates to each other). Please leave this blog and go improve your English skill instead of riding your bike until 3am in the morning then complain about others with your poor English.

• Seriously ?? on Nov 01, 2019 at 8:24 pm

0-100 km/h in 9.1 sec ?!?!?! They miss the meaning of Luxury

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Bodoh jepun. 2020 model 2.5L make same power as his own 2005 2.5L engine!
    Tutup kedai la.

• Hafriz trying to cover it’s flaw by complementing the seats, that how bad it is, lol.

• FudgeMeSideways on Nov 01, 2019 at 10:31 pm

What on earth are those centre console buttons? Butt ugly.

• C.P. MOHAN on Nov 01, 2019 at 11:04 pm

‘open for booking” people must be IDIOTS to participate like buying something without price, hope the authorities will look into this other than discounts and sales

• Landan on Nov 02, 2019 at 12:36 am

The asking price is too much for that mediocre engine, 0 t0 100 in 9.1 s for 300k. No thanks.

• Ben yap on Nov 02, 2019 at 2:20 am

9.1 secs is slower than the civic turbo. With only half the price, it’s almost a full 1 second faster. Any time my civic can smoke it and I can save goodbye. Not worth the money spend on such a slow car.

• brandon c on Nov 02, 2019 at 1:46 pm

if u buy this car for the speed, clearly u are mentally defective… coming from a civic owner, what do i expect lol

• Landan on Nov 02, 2019 at 11:30 pm

It’s not solely on speed but it is important. It’s like losing your dignity, when a much much cheaper car can easily smoke you. Yes, it may be luxurious but a car is suppose to be driven not for sleeping in. The thing is, for 300k, we should get better engine.

• KJ Lim on Nov 02, 2019 at 10:22 am

What world are we living in without IOS or Android Auto? Gotta be realistic and practical unless you are telling the world that your system is more mature than the 2. And the little touch pad … goodness. You are not seating in the office but a moving vehicle. Lexus has to be smarter. I stop watching the video the minute I heard those … haha … maybe it is just me.

• Lexus is super reliable compared to its german/conti rivals & after sales service is 6-7 stars…

• If you want peace of mind and bullet proof reliability and ultra lux with 6-7 stars customer service….buy this, confirm no issues for 10 years.

If you want pleasure driving but dont mind unreliable cars…get the germans

if decide using your head – Lexus
    If decide based on the the smaller head – Germans…hahahahaha