MINI John Cooper Works Clubman and Countryman launched in Malaysia – 306 PS; RM359k and RM379k

The introduction of the MINI F54 Clubman facelift today also saw the debut of the MINI John Cooper Works Clubman and F60 Countryman.

The two JCW models, which were unveiled in May this year, are both equipped with a revised BMW B48 engine, the 2.0 litre turbocharged four-pot now offering 306 PS (or 302 hp) at 5,000 to 6,250 rpm and 450 Nm from 1,750 to 4,500 rpm. This is an increase of 75 PS (74 hp) and 100 Nm over the previous JCW power unit.

Paired with an eight-speed Steptronic sports automatic transmission driving all four wheels through the automaker’s ALL4 all-wheel drive system, it’s all good enough to get the JCW Clubman to 100 km/h from standstill in just 4.9 seconds (previously, 6.3 seconds), while the JCW Countryman does the same in 5.1 seconds (previously, 6.6 seconds). Both cars have an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed.

The improved performance comes as a result of extensive enhancements to the powertrain, including the incorporation of a bigger turbocharger, a reinforced crankshaft and a redeveloped air intake duct, among other things.

To keep up with the increase in power, the cooling system has also been upgraded to ensure proper temperature management – on go two external radiators, a larger-volume expansion tank, an independent cooling module mounting, an electric ventilator with increased output, and a third cooling level via a condenser.

The cars also get a newly-developed, model-specific sport exhaust system and a redesigned sport brake system that now contains four-piston, fixed-calliper disc brakes on the rear wheels.

Externally, the JCW Clubman features a restyled front bumper, and there’s also a larger splitter for the front spoiler as well as a new lower grille insert. Additionally, there are now enlarged air intakes at both sides of the bumper to improve cooling efficiency.

Like the regulation Clubman, the JCW also gets a new honeycomb design grille as well as the new LED headlights from the standard car. At the back, there’s a revised bumper and Union Jack design LED tail lights, and the tailpipes have grown larger in diameter, now 95 mm units.

The JCW Countryman also gets a new bumper trim panel with open air intakes on both sides for more efficient cooling of the updated engine, and also gets bigger 85 mm diameter tail pipes.

Both the JCW models are fitted with the same wheel design, in this case a 19-inch JCW Circuit Spoke two-tone unit. Elsewhere, a JCW sport suspension lowers the ride by 10 mm, but the JCW Countryman adds on to this by going the Adaptive Suspension route.

Inside, the two JCW variants come dressed in Carbon Black Dinamica Leather upholstery, and a MINI Yours interior cockpit surface in Piano Black provides illumination in 12 different colours. Aside from JCW specific cues such as the side sills, the cars also come fitted with a panoramic sunroof.

Standard fit equipment on both variants include a head-up display and an 8.8-inch touchscreen Navigation System with a split-screen function, allowing two map views to be displayed at the same time. There’s also a 360-watt Harman Kardon sound system, an electric tailgate, dual-zone automatic air-conditioning and Comfort Access.

Connectivity levels are also up, with the inclusion of a new, in-vehicle 4G SIM card and updated MINI Connected App, which features items such as remote services, Apple Carplay, concierge services and MINI Online.

Safety and driver assistance kit includes front and side driver and front passenger airbags and head airbags for all four outer seats, front/rear Park Distance Control and a rear-view camera. Like the standard Clubman, there’s still no autonomous emergency braking to be found, which does take some of the gloss off.

As for exterior colours, choices available for the JCW Clubman are Rebel Green, White Silver, Midnight Black and Chili Red, while that for the JCW Countryman are Rebel Green, Light White, Midnight Black and Chili Red.

The MINI John Cooper Works Clubman is priced at RM358,888, while the John Cooper Works Countryman goes for RM378,888, both on-the-road without insurance. They come with MINI 4 Years unlimited mileage warranty with free scheduled service.

Check out the full specifications of the MINI John Cooper Works Clubman and John Cooper Works Countryman on CarBase.my .

GALLERY: MINI John Cooper Works Clubman

GALLERY: MINI John Cooper Works Countryman

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• erwin karim on Nov 07, 2019 at 8:27 pm

I thought my Renault Megane RS 280 Cup alredy dam overpriced, until this mini… Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • msia driver on Nov 07, 2019 at 11:36 pm

high power car is not budaya kita, thus will send ridiculous price tag
      for 380k, you can buy 10 biji mivi..ohwaiii

• Sick & Tired on Nov 08, 2019 at 8:23 am

wow. You all voted for this right? You alls made the wrong choice! Kudos to huge increase in car prices.. thx minister. You make our hard lives even more difficult.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 56
      • Lol last I heard there is still no increases on car taxes with the new government while we are promised for 30% reduction for cars since election 2013 and it didn’t materialise and that team lost in the last election and that made 90% of the people most difficult.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • They lied to you. Go see how much Camry prices is compared to 2017. PH promised us RM1.50/l petrol, and abolishing tolls but until now still not fulfilled and they even said it was all fake promises to win votes. They alrdy made 90% of our lives difficult before going to lose next election. That’s even worse as we need to suffer them for few more years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • longjaafar on Nov 08, 2019 at 3:09 pm

What has it got to do with politics? Has anyone been forced to buy this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 08, 2019 at 4:44 pm

ALL car prices are going up not just this car, mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • duke790r on Jan 03, 2020 at 2:07 pm

As a result of weak currency or additional tax imposed by the gov? HUGE DIFFERENCE

• Real LLort on Nov 08, 2019 at 3:18 pm

Why increased car price have to do with voting? Is this an attempt to make people revolt? As much as I don’t like many things in Msia, I’m a proud Msian and always will be whoever the gov is. It’s my own responsibility to make me feel content living in this country rather than being a spoiled brat that wants the gov to give everything to me. Wanna know a secret, last GE I voted PH for parliament and BN for DUN! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 08, 2019 at 4:49 pm

Nobody cares who you voted for, what we care is the majority voted for PH based on the premise that most if not all their promises will come true, but unfortunately they didn’t tell us that it was ALL A JOKE. A JOKE ON THE MALAYSIAN VOTERS!!!

We have jokers in the Parliament and the joke is on us. Now the world is laughing on us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • Real LLort on Nov 09, 2019 at 10:10 am

Jokes on you. I don’t even know what PH’s manifesto is. I voted, people voted, they won, I moved on. You don’t like, go and campaign for the next GE with the party you want to run the country. Don’t just sit down complaining. It makes you look stupid. lol

• azaxasa on Nov 09, 2019 at 10:11 am

Who is “we” ?? If you say “nobody cares who you voted for” then why would anyone care what YOU THINK!??

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2019 at 10:21 pm

Love the power hike which is a huge one and the adaptive suspension on the Countryman but the price also inflated because of it. Not loving the omission of the driver assists though.

• Mini cooper for 300k!perghh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • jambu on Nov 08, 2019 at 8:25 am

champion price positioning!!!

• 7yearsfd1 on Nov 08, 2019 at 8:39 am

this make even cbu g20 a bargain

• Jay Law on Nov 09, 2019 at 5:54 am

Get to test drive before buying my Porsche but this??! No test drives allowed lol

• Johnny Evans on Nov 12, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Overpriced piece of rubbish.