Next-generation Honda City to officially debut in Thailand on November 25 – turbo engine confirmed

It has been announced that the next-generation Honda City will make its official debut in Thailand on November 25 this year, and the B-segment sedan will indeed be getting a turbocharged engine, just like the first iteration of the City did way back in the 1980s.

According to Honda, the use of a turbocharged engine will provide 33% better fuel efficiency while offering improved performance, although exact specifications remain a secret until the reveal. However, Headlightmag reports that the three-cylinder powerplant will have 1.0 litre displacement (998 cc), with a 73 mm bore and 78.7 mm stroke, as well as a 10:1 compression ratio.

Other aspects of the DOHC engine include direct injection, a BorgWarner single-scroll turbocharger, dual Variable Valve Timing Control (VTC) and Variable Valve Timing and Lift Electronic Control (VTEC) on the intake side. The mill is said to deliver 122 PS at 5,500 rpm and a peak torque of 200 Nm from 2,000 to 4,500 rpm, with a CVT paired to it.

The use of downsized engine is deemed necessary if the City is to comply with Thailand’s Phase 2 Eco Car criteria, which is stricter in fuel economy, emissions and safety terms. Among the conditions are Euro 5 compliance, CO2 emissions below 100 g/km, fuel consumption not exceeding 4.3 litres per 100 km (23.25 km/l), and ABS/EBD/BA/VSA as standard across the range.

In addition to the 1.0L turbo three-pot – which has been used in the Civic in Europe and China for a couple of years now, as sampled in 2015 – the City is also set to be available globally with the dual-motor Intelligent Multi-mode Drive (i-MMD) hybrid powertrain, which is yet to be revealed.

Unfortunately, the announcement wasn’t accompanied by any teaser photos, so the look of the new City continues to be unknown for now. However, it is expected that the sedan will have a softer and more organic demeanour with some cues inspired by the latest Insight, as suggested by previous renders we posted.

The carmaker promises a sportier exterior design that is coupled to a more luxurious and spacious cabin. Sounds intriguing, but we’ll only know more when the all-new City makes its debut in a couple of days, so stay tuned.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton Persona aka Geely binrui > City, Almera, Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
    • Asam laksa on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:24 pm

People got no confident in China cars, this is why Malaysians doesn’t want X70 and choose other game changing Japanese SUVs instead. The same will go for Sedan market, Chinese rebadged Persona will be game over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
      • Calvin on Nov 13, 2019 at 9:09 am

So stuck up with your ancient mentality, meanwhile your Toyota lord is begging for EV tech from China.

• newme on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:36 pm

You say Ford ka, Chevy ka, Mazda ka, even Kia pun ok sikit. This one Proton ripoff of China brand. As like China brand not bad enough, you add Proton which is a ripoff of a China brand. Worst of the worst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Celup King on Nov 13, 2019 at 1:42 am

Ford breakdown king, Chevy unreliable king, Mazda overpriced kaw kaw king, KIA unrefined king, Proton trumps everyone of these kings with its value for money king and superior allrounder king.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • newme on Nov 13, 2019 at 8:48 am

Really? None of the company sold 2 times in 5 years. And all of them are selling more cars than Proton, the ripoff.

• Avenger on Nov 13, 2019 at 12:52 pm

Ford couldn’t managed Volvo Cars and sold it to Geely, Chevy is nonprofitable and pulled out of Asia, Mazda is going downhill by trying to move into luxury branding, KIA lost their No1 spot in USA. So tell me, are they in a better shape than tiny Proton? The answer is a clear no. While Proton has a bright future under Geely, these established brands are deteriorating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • newme on Nov 13, 2019 at 2:33 pm

Still all of them are selling more than Proton. You Geely sales is also going down in China. Belum lagi naik atas sudah turun. Probably launching a facelift Geely GE might help.

• Lolwhut? on Nov 13, 2019 at 3:50 pm

Are you just trying to act dumb or something? Comparing global brands like Ford to Proton? What is your agenda for this so obvious dumb comparison? Does Proton have access to a local consumer market of 300million? Like Engineer below pointed out, don’t be a 3suku and still stuck with this mentality. If you want to whack Proton, do it with some brains.

• Engineer on Nov 13, 2019 at 1:52 am

Too bad nobody trust 3sukus like you.

• *Flash High beam* , owh City turbo @237Kmh … Sila bagi laluan….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Yaris Hilton on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:28 pm

Stock turbo hp torque and gearing is insufficient to reach speed more than 100mph therefore must performs Stage 1 modification if you want to hit that speed safely.

• Proton oh Proton on Nov 12, 2019 at 4:07 pm

I wonder why Malaysia launching a new car always late…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Gheehin Haisan Bhd on Nov 12, 2019 at 4:56 pm

Even Thailand more expensive petrol already EURO 5 compliance meanwhile a few Malaysian is still demanding cheap RM1.50/L EURO 1 petrol may not live through to witness EURO 5 grade petrol launch by year 2050 later.

• Lets See on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:07 pm

We got the current gen City facelift faster than Japan dude. How fast do you want?

• Ghani on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:21 pm

I guess this becoz the cars are sold much cheaper here. For eg) Mazda CX-5 2.5L Turbo launched on Sept3 – RM178k only, the same car launched in Thailand on Nov 01 – RM256K.

• Ah Chong on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:58 pm

Because our market is smaller? Quick search online shows that we’re barely half the size of Thailand or Indonesia.

• pasal malassia ala tongkat cacat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Haidi on Nov 12, 2019 at 7:56 pm

It’s simple, Indonesia is the largest market (by population, and by GDP) in ASEAN, and second goes to Thailand. And automotive industry love Thai because of their attractive scheme. Malaysia, we want to make our own car, that’s also why we have a lot of policies that has opposite effect to attract carmakers from outside Malaysia.

• tongkatali on Nov 12, 2019 at 7:57 pm

sebab malassia ala tongkat catat otak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Celup King on Nov 13, 2019 at 1:44 am

How many dupes you need to create just to say the same sh-t?

• History Bender on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Honda don’t seemed to know their own car generation! Lol!
    FYI the current gen is the 6th iteration of City going way back to the 80’s. Honda mudah lupa….

• Untung Manyak Wang on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:33 pm

Tukar ECU, set 200 HP, tambah sayap, bisa terbang ~~~

:p

• lilytan on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:53 pm

Toyota is the japanese king in thailand. In msia, honda is the king. Yet thailand is still being preferred. In fact, it is universally preferred by all auto makers. Something is wrong somewhere here in this country. Even the not so new G cant do a shit about it.

• Li Peng on Nov 13, 2019 at 3:16 am

Honda sold 127,768 cars in 2018 in Thailand.
      Honda sold 102,282 cars in 2018 in Malaysia.

That’s 25,486 cars more in Thailand.

Now you know why Honda prefer Thailand?

• Will toyota put 1.0 turbo into vios? 1.0 turbo from toyota raize. Or myb 1.2 turbo from chr.

• Li Peng on Nov 12, 2019 at 6:05 pm

20 years after the Europeans now all Japanese come out with turbo’s? Where are the turbo- and downsizing-critics now?

• Have any car manufacturers resolved the intake clogged issue for direct injection turbo? If not, pls provide the oil catch can

• alldisc on Nov 13, 2019 at 11:49 am

The reason is our fuel was low grade with high content of sulphur (hence the euro 1.5 @ euro 2M status).

Euro 4 and above will solve the problem.

• Avenger on Nov 13, 2019 at 12:55 pm

Mercedes, BMW, & Audi don’t have this problem. Their engines must be godlike compared to Japan ain’t it?

• Then why vw provides walnut blasting?

• Karam Singh on Nov 12, 2019 at 7:47 pm

Fuel saving? Says the company which 20 years ago never believed in turbo. Claiming VTEC engines are better, more power and more reliable. Phuiii..

• downsizing is to do with new emissions standards, variable vale tech is still in use, learn la.

• Haidi on Nov 12, 2019 at 7:57 pm

That output and torque number are convincing. :0

• Not a Honda fan personally, but I had to admit, its looks is so good.

• Richard Chu on Nov 12, 2019 at 9:16 pm

A direct injection engine is a no no. Potential long term problem.

• Dong gor on Nov 12, 2019 at 10:03 pm

Civic until now also not officially launched with the price… Ah duiiiii

• Matchy on Nov 13, 2019 at 12:11 am

We probably won’t get the turbo…

• Oldtech on Nov 18, 2019 at 6:21 am

Turbo engine so unreliable, add with motor make it worse. I think better me stay with old and proven tech. Turbo is not for me…